Detailed Action
Double Patenting
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,451,058 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application – Claim 1
USPatent 12,451,058 B2 – Claims 1 & 2
A display apparatus, comprising:
A display apparatus, comprising:
a display panel including an active area in which a plurality of pixels including a plurality of sub pixels is disposed and a non-active area disposed so as to enclose the active area; and
a display panel including an active area in which a plurality of pixels including a plurality of sub pixels is disposed and a non-active area disposed so as to enclose the active area; and
a mode controller which is disposed in the active area and configured to supply a mode signal to the plurality of sub pixels,
a mode controller which is disposed in the active area and which supplies a mode signal to the plurality of sub pixels,
wherein each of the plurality of sub pixels includes: a first light emitting diode; a first lens which refracts light from the first light emitting diode; a second light emitting diode which emits a same color light as the first light emitting diode; and a second lens which refracts light from the second light emitting diode and has a shape different from a shape of the first lens.
wherein the mode controller is disposed between adjacent the plurality of pixels.
(Claim 3) The display apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the first mode controllers and the second mode controllers are divided into a plurality of parts disposed between the plurality of sub pixels.
The instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
This discussion further applies to claims 2, 3, 4 of the instant application and claims 2, 5, 4 of the patent application respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dai et al (PGPUB 2024/0321191 A1).
As to claim 1, Dai (Fig. 1) teaches, a display apparatus (display panel 100), comprising:
a display panel (display panel 100) including an active area (display area aaa) in which a plurality of pixels (pixel circuits 3 and light-emitting element rows 2) including a plurality of sub pixels (i.e. three subpixels shown per pixel in Figs. 1 and 12) is disposed and a non-active area (non-display area) disposed so as to enclose the active area (Fig. 1, ¶ 37, 38); and
a mode controller (shift register circuits 40) which is disposed in the active area and configured to supply a mode signal (scan signal SCAN and emitting control lines EMIT) to the plurality of sub pixels (¶ 62, 122),
wherein the mode controller is disposed between adjacent the plurality of pixels (¶ 62, 63).
As to claim 2, Dai (Figs. 8, 10) teaches, wherein the mode controller includes:
a plurality of first mode controllers (scan shift register circuit 401)configured to supply a first mode signal (i.e. scan signal via SCAN)(¶ 93); and
a plurality of second mode controllers (light-emitting control shift register circuit 402) configured to supply a second mode signal (light emitting control signal via EMIT)(¶ 94),
wherein the active area includes a plurality of areas divided in a row direction, (Fig. 1: i.e. multiple areas of pixels that runs horizontally) and the plurality of first mode controllers and the plurality of second mode controllers are disposed one by one for each of the plurality of areas (Fig. 1: i.e. pixel and shift register alternately disposed in vertical direction).
As to claim 3, Dai (Fig. 7) teaches,
a first mode signal line (i.e. horizontal line from scan shift register circuit 401 as shown in Fig. 7) which extends in the row direction and connected to the plurality of first mode controllers configured to transmit the first mode signal to the plurality of sub pixels (¶ 78); and
a second mode signal line (i.e. horizontal line from light emitting control shift register circuit as shown in Fig. 9) which extends in the row direction and connected to the plurality of second mode controllers configured to transmit the second mode signal to the plurality of sub pixels (¶ 78).
As to claim 4, Dai (Figs. 8 and 10) teaches,
a power line (i.e. lines for VGH and VGL) disposed in an area between the plurality of sub pixels excluding an area in which the plurality of first mode controllers and the plurality of second mode controllers are disposed (Figs. 8 and 10: i.e. power lines VGH and VGL are provided to shift register, which is placed between different rows of pixels).
As to claim 5, Dai (Fig. 5) teaches, wherein the first mode controller is
divided into a 1-1-th mode controller, a 1-2-th mode controller, and a 1-3-th mode controller to be disposed in every area (Fig. 5: i.e. there are at least 3 or more shift registers in each horizontal areas as shown in Fig. 5); and
the second mode controller is divided into a 2-1-th mode controller, a 2-2-th mode controller, and a 2-3-th mode controller to be disposed in every area (Fig. 12: i.e. there are a plurality of light emitting control shift register).
As to claim 6, Dai (Figs. 7 and 9) teaches a first connection line connects the 1-1-th mode controller and the 1-2-th mode controller (Figs. 7 and 8: i.e. latch modules 4011, 4012 are connected to each other),
a second connection line connects the 1-2-th mode controller and the 1-3-th mode controller (Figs. 7 and 8: i.e. latch modules 4012 and 4013 are connected to each other);
a third connection line connects the 2-1-th mode controller and the 2-2-th mode controller (Fig. 10: i.e. latch modules 4021 and 4022 are connected to each other); and
a fourth connection line connects the 2-2-th mode controller and the 2-3-th mode controller (Fig 10: i.e. different light emitting control shift registers connect to same input signal such as NEXT).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Shikina et al (PGPUB 2011/0284881).
As to claim 7, Dai (Fig. 1) teaches the active area includes a plurality of areas divided in a matrix (Fig. 1).
Dai does not specifically teach wide-view mode and narrow-view mode.
Shikina (Figs. 8, 10) teaches, the mode controller configured to independently control driving of each of the plurality of areas in any one of a wide-view mode (i.e. mode having a wide viewing angle characteristic) or a narrow-view mode (high front luminance priority mode).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Shikina’s pixel structure into Dai’s pixel structure, so as to provide different viewing angle modes based on user’s situation (¶ 172).
As to claim 8, Dai (Fig.4) teaches, wherein each of the plurality of sub pixels (pixel 3) includes:
a first light emitting diode (light-emitting elements 20) configured to emit light by a driving current (drive current)(¶ 37);
a driving transistor (third transistor M3 is a drive transistor) configured to control the driving current (¶ 43);
a first emission control transistor (seventh transistor M7) which is connected between the driving transistor and the first light emitting diode (light-emitting elements 20) and configured to be turned on to transmit the driving current to the first light emitting diode (Fig. 4).
Dai does not specifically teach a second light emitting diode and a second emission control transistor.
Shikina (Fig. 6) teaches, a second light emitting diode (organic EL element B 27) configured to emit light by the driving current (¶ 36);
a second emission control transistor (TFT M$) which is connected between the driving transistor and the second light emitting diode and configured to be turned on to transmit the driving current to the second light emitting diode (¶ 73).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Shikina’s pixel structure into Dai’s pixel structure, so as to provide different viewing angle modes based on user’s situation (¶ 172).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai and Shikina as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al (PGPUB 2015/0048333 A1).
As to claim 9, Dai teaches the apparatus of claim 8 but does not specifically teach a lens.
Shikina (Figs. 7, 8) teaches, a first lens (Fig. 8) but does not specifically teach a second lens for adjusting viewing angle.
Choi (Fig. 3) teaches, wherein each of the plurality of sub pixels further includes:
a first lens (i.e. lens for red and green pixel 230a and 230b) disposed on the first light emitting diode which refracts light emitted from the first light emitting diode so that a first viewing angle is limited to a first direction and a second direction (Fig. 3: i.e. light beam is illuminated forward and slanted angles); and
a second lens (i.e. lens for red and green pixels 230c) disposed on the second light emitting diode which refracts light emitted from the second light emitting diode so that a second viewing angle is limited to only the first direction (Fig. 15: i.e. lens for pixel 230c illuminates forward only).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Choi’s method of different lens for generating different viewing angles into Dai’s display as modified with the teaching of Shikina, which achieves two different viewing angles with only one lens and absence of lens, so as to improve light efficiency of light generated (¶ 49) by accurately directing light direction.
Inquiry
/SANGHYUK PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623