DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 10 and 16 are objected to because “determining a plurality of node label” should be amended to --determining a plurality of node labels--. Appropriate correction is required.
Pertinent Prior Art
20210182659
Pars. 72-76, 89
Graph database of a taxonomy of categories
20200011784
Pars. 20, 36
Graph based taxonomy for asset monitoring across various domains
The following are prior art references made of record but not currently relied upon:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 includes, with emphasis, “aggregating one or more attribute values to generate at least one aggregated attribute value.” By definition, an aggregate is a grouped storage of two or more elements/values. However, because this limitation encompasses aggregating only one value, it is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 2-20 are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1-20 are directed to one of the eligible categories of subject matter.
With respect to independent claim 1, 9 and 15, the generating, linking cover performance of the limitations manually and/or in the mind (mental processes abstract idea). The aggregation (i.e. storing) limitation is recited at a high level of generality and does not add meaningful limitations to the abstract idea; these limitations are directed to insignificant extra solution activities. The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the exception in a computer environment using generic computer functions or components. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to dependent claim 3, 11, 17 the generating covers performance of the limitations manually and/or in the mind (mental processes abstract idea). The receiving is recited at a high level of generality and does not add meaningful limitations to the abstract idea; these limitations are directed to insignificant extra solution activities. The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the exception in a computer environment using generic computer functions or components. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
With respect to dependent claims 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 16, 19, 20 the generate, determine, linking over performance of the limitations manually and/or in the mind (mental processes abstract idea). No additional elements are recited and so the claims do not provide a practical application and are not considered to be significantly more. The claims are not eligible.
With respect to dependent claims 12, 18 storing steps are recited at a high level of generality and do not add meaningful limitations to the abstract idea. The claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the exception in a computer environment using generic computer functions or components. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12455924 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are encompassed by the patented claims; instant claims 1-20 are broader in scope than patented claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 arerejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9686308 B1, hereinafter Srivastava.
As per claim 1, Srivastava discloses a method comprising:
generating a plurality of node data objects within a graph-based taxonomy (see at least col. 10, lines 35-45 and last par., col. 13, line 35, col. 17, lines 9-12 for nodes representing a domain and domain categories within a graph-based taxonomy generated in response to user inputted content);
generating an attribute data object representing an attribute (col. 7, lines 43-46; col. 8, lines 6-14; col. 10, line 33; col. 18, lines 1-3, col. 19, lines 1-4 and 30-34);
linking the attribute data object to one or more node data objects of the plurality of node data objects according to one or more relationships corresponding to a selected node data object (see rejection of previous limitation); and
aggregating one or more attribute values to generate at least one aggregated attribute value for the attribute according to the attribute data object linked to the one or more node data objects within the graph-based taxonomy (see rejection above and col. 7, line 42-46 and col. 18, lines 54-60).
As per claim 2, Srivastava discloses The method of claim 1, wherein generating the plurality of node data objects within the graph-based taxonomy comprises: determining a plurality of node label for the plurality of node data objects (see rejection of generating limitation of claim 1 and at least fig.’s 2-3 and col. 8, last sentence, col. 9, lines 2-3, 6-8, col. 10, lines 58-62); and generating at least one node comprising at least one node label of the plurality of node labels (see rejection of generating limitation of claim 1 and at least fig.’s 2-3 and col. 8, last sentence, col. 9, lines 2-3, 6-8).
As per claim 3, Srivastava discloses The method of claim 1, wherein generating the attribute data object comprises:
receiving a request to assign the attribute to the selected node data object (col. 8, lines 15-25, 31, 32, 63-67); and
generating the attribute data object, wherein the attribute data object is configured to determine, based on additional input, the aggregated attribute values (see rejection of claim 1 including at least col. 7, line 42 and col. 18, lines 54-60).
As per claim 4, Srivastava discloses The method of claim 1, wherein:
generating the attribute data object comprises storing a plurality of aggregation operation types for the attribute within the attribute data object (col. 7, line 42; col. 8, lines 6-14; col. 9, first par.; col. 18, lines 54-60); and
linking the attribute data object to the one or more node data objects comprises storing, in response to additional input, an indication of a selected aggregation operation type of the plurality of aggregation operation types in the one or more node data objects (see rejection of previous limitation including col. 7, lines 43-46; col. 19, lines 1-4 and 30-34).
As per claim 5, Srivastava discloses The method of claim 1, wherein linking the attribute data object to the one or more node data objects comprises generating, within the selected node data object, a parent set comprising one or more node identifiers for one or more additional node data objects with a parent relationship to the selected node data object (see rejection of previous limitation including col. 7, lines 43-46; col. 19, lines 1-4 and 30-34 wherein updating or adding new nodes means that after the adding, one node is a parent and one is a child).
As per claim 6, Srivastava discloses The method of claim 1, wherein linking the attribute data object to the one or more node data objects comprises generating, within the selected node data object, a child set comprising one or more node identifiers for one or more additional node data objects with a child relationship to the selected node data object (see rejection of previous limitation including col. 7, lines 43-46; col. 19, lines 1-4 and 30-34 wherein updating or adding new nodes means that after the adding, one node is a parent and one is a child).
As per claim 7, Srivastava discloses The method of claim 1, wherein linking the attribute data object to the one or more node data objects comprises: determining that an additional node data object of the plurality of node data objects inherits the attributes of the selected node data object (see col. 15, lines 7-21 and fig. 4); and linking the attribute data object to the additional node data object by storing an attribute identifier of the attribute data object in the additional node data object (see col. 15, lines 7-21 and fig. 4).
As per claim 8, Srivastava discloses the method of claim 1, wherein aggregating the one or more attribute values to generate the aggregated attribute values comprises: determining that the one or more node data objects are linked to the attribute data object (col. 7, line 42-56; col. 18, lines 46-55); and generating the aggregated attribute values by aggregating the one or more attribute values extracted from attribute metadata in the one or more node data objects according to an aggregation operation indicated by the one or more node data objects (col. 7, line 42-56; col. 18, lines 46-55).
As per claims 9-20, they are analogous to claims above and therefore likewise rejected.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20180357296 A1, hereinafter Michel.
As per claim 1, Michel discloses A method comprising:
generating a plurality of node data objects within a graph-based taxonomy (pars. 14, 18-29 wherein root, intermediate and leaf nodes are arranged as trees);
generating an attribute data object representing an attribute (pars. 30-35 wherein settlement point data objects contain selected characteristics and aggregation algorithms);
linking the attribute data object to one or more node data objects of the plurality of node data objects according to one or more relationships corresponding to a selected node data object (pars. 15, 33-37 wherein settlement point linked to selected nodes and their hierarchy paths); and
aggregating one or more attribute values to generate at least one aggregated attribute value for the attribute according to the attribute data object linked to the one or more node data objects within the graph-based taxonomy (pars. 32, 42-44, 51-52 wherein selected operations aggregate characteristic values from linked nodes).
As per claim 2, Michel discloses The method of claim 1, wherein generating the plurality of node data objects within the graph-based taxonomy comprises: determining a plurality of node label for the plurality of node data objects (pars. 14, 24-28); and generating at least one node comprising at least one node label of the plurality of node labels (pars. 14, 24-28 wherein nodes are displayed with standardized names and identifiers).
As per claim 3, Michel discloses The method of claim 1, wherein generating the attribute data object comprises: receiving a request to assign the attribute to the selected node data object (pars. 33-36, 42-44, 51-52); and generating the attribute data object, wherein the attribute data object is configured to determine, based on additional input, the aggregated attribute values (pars. 33-36, 42-44, 51-52 wherein users select nodes, characteristics, and algorithms and settlement points are created).
As per claim 4, Michel discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: generating the attribute data object comprises storing a plurality of aggregation operation types for the attribute within the attribute data object (pars. 30-36); and linking the attribute data object to the one or more node data objects comprises storing, in response to additional input, an indication of a selected aggregation operation type of the plurality of aggregation operation types in the one or more node data objects (pars. 30-36 disclose selectable aggregation algorithms are associated with selected characteristics).
As per claim 5, Michel discloses The method of claim 1, wherein linking the attribute data object to the one or more node data objects comprises generating, within the selected node data object, a parent set comprising one or more node identifiers for one or more additional node data objects with a parent relationship to the selected node data object (pars. 20-29, 36-37 wherein canonical node paths identify and maintain parent relationships).
As per claim 6, Michel discloses The method of claim 1, wherein linking the attribute data object to the one or more node data objects comprises generating, within the selected node data object, a child set comprising one or more node identifiers for one or more additional node data objects with a child relationship to the selected node data object (pars. 20-26 wherein parent nodes maintain identified dependent child nodes).
As per claim 7, Michel discloses The method of claim 1, wherein linking the attribute data object to the one or more node data objects comprises: determining that an additional node data object of the plurality of node data objects inherits the attributes of the selected node data object (pars. 15, 36-37); and linking the attribute data object to the additional node data object by storing an attribute identifier of the attribute data object in the additional node data object (pars. 15, 36-37 disclose that settlement point includes selected nodes and their related hierarchy paths).
As per claim 8, Michel discloses The method of claim 1, wherein aggregating the one or more attribute values to generate the aggregated attribute values comprises: determining that the one or more node data objects are linked to the attribute data object (pars. 36, 39-44); and generating the aggregated attribute values by aggregating the one or more attribute values extracted from attribute metadata in the one or more node data objects according to an aggregation operation indicated by the one or more node data objects (pars. 36, 39-44 disclose linked node characteristic values are aggregated using the associated algorithm).
As per claims 9-20, they are analogous to claims above and therefore likewise rejected.
Conclusion
/SYED H HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154