DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 15, 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13, 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 439, 368. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 15 and 22 are claiming the same invention as recited in claims 1, 13 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12, 439, 368.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 15-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 15 and 22 recite wherein the first information is used to determine a first time period, and a time domain position of the first time period is associated with a time domain position of a second time period, wherein the first time period is located adjacent to the second time period, and that the first time period is located adjacent to the second time period comprises at least one of the following: the first time period and the second time period form a continuous time period; or a time interval between the first time period and the second time period is less than or equal to a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is less than or equal to: aT/N+a, T is a paging cycle, and N is a quantity of paging frames in one paging cycle; a=1 or a is predefined by a protocol, and a is determined based on a higher layer parameter or predefined by a protocol; and wherein the first time period is associated with positioning measurement or sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission, and the second time period is associated with the PEI. However, the “or” recited in the claim is not exclusive since the less than part of the claim includes zero which makes the first and second time period continuous.
The dependent claims are also rejected since they depend on rejected respective independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 15-17, 20-24 is/are rejected under under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (hereinafter He)(US 2022/0225237) in view of Ma et al. (hereinafter Ma)(2021/0089921).
Regarding claim 1, He teaches a method, comprising: when a time of measurement overlaps with a detection time of a paging early indication (PEI), performing, by a terminal device, at least one of the measurement or detecting of the PEI(P[0056], UE for determining that the PEI occasion is invalid based on the PEI occasion overlapping with downlink reference signal; P[0068], reference signal measurements; also Fig. 1; base station to UE).
He did not teach specifically based on a priority of the PEI, at least one of the measurement or detecting of the PEI, transmitting, by the terminal device, first information to a positioning device in a core network, wherein the first information is used to determine a first time period, and a time domain position of the first time period is associated with a time domain position of a second time period, wherein the first time period is located adjacent to the second time period, and that the first time period is located adjacent to the second time period comprises at least one of the following: the first time period and the second time period form a continuous time period; or a time interval between the first time period and the second time period is less than or equal to a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is less than or equal to: aT/N+a, T is a paging cycle, and N is a quantity of paging frames in one paging cycle; a=1 or a is predefined by a protocol, and a is determined based on a higher layer parameter or predefined by a protocol; and wherein the first time period is associated with positioning measurement or sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission, and the second time period is associated with the PEI.
However, Ma teaches in an analogous art based on a priority of the PEI, at least one of the measurement or detecting of the PEI, transmitting, by the terminal device, first information to a positioning device in a core network, wherein the first information is used to determine a first time period, and a time domain position of the first time period is associated with a time domain position of a second time period, wherein the first time period is located adjacent to the second time period, and that the first time period is located adjacent to the second time period comprises at least one of the following: the first time period and the second time period form a continuous time period; or a time interval between the first time period and the second time period is less than or equal to a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is less than or equal to: aT/N+a, T is a paging cycle, and N is a quantity of paging frames in one paging cycle; a=1 or a is predefined by a protocol, and a is determined based on a higher layer parameter or predefined by a protocol; and wherein the first time period is associated with positioning measurement or sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission, and the second time period is associated with the PEI (P[0127], PEI detection opportunities overlaps with at least one of the following resource, an SSB resource, an SMTC window, measurement gap, positioning reference signal system message), a random response window, a CORESET 0, or a predefined time-frequency resource; [0340] When the data transmission resource is an SSB time-frequency resource, the priority of the data transmission resource and the priority of the first resource are determined by a PEI-related time-frequency resource; P[0344] For example, when a resource overlap/collision occurs between the PEI and another signaling/signal (including, but not limited to, the SSB, the CSI-RS), which results in a monitoring failure, the UE monitors the PO); P[0323]; [0047] A system frame number (SFN) of the PF satisfies the following condition:
(SFN+PF_offset)×T=(T/N)×(UE_ID×N); P[0048] SFN denotes the system frame number of the PF, PF offset denotes an offset for the PF, UE_ID denotes an identification (ID) number of the UE, and T denotes a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle. N denotes the number of PFs within the DRX cycle).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method based on a priority of the PEI, at least one of the measurement or detecting of the PEI, transmitting, by the terminal device, first information to a positioning device in a core network, wherein the first information is used to determine a first time period, and a time domain position of the first time period is associated with a time domain position of a second time period, wherein the first time period is located adjacent to the second time period, and that the first time period is located adjacent to the second time period comprises at least one of the following: the first time period and the second time period form a continuous time period; or a time interval between the first time period and the second time period is less than or equal to a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is less than or equal to: aT/N+a, T is a paging cycle, and N is a quantity of paging frames in one paging cycle; a=1 or a is predefined by a protocol, and a is determined based on a higher layer parameter or predefined by a protocol; and wherein the first time period is associated with positioning measurement or sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission, and the second time period is associated with the PEI in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, He teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method, wherein the performing, by a terminal device, at least the measurement or detecting of the PEI is determined based on a priority of the measurement. However, Ma teaches in an analogous art wherein the performing, by a terminal device, at least the measurement or detecting of the PEI is determined based on a priority of the measurement(P[0334], overlaps and received data according to priority; P[0344], overlap/ collision PEI and CSI-RS signal; in the measurement gap). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the performing, by a terminal device, at least the measurement or detecting of the PEI is determined based on a priority of the measurement in order to have improved power saving.
Regarding claim 3, He in view of Ma teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein that the performing, by a terminal device, the at least one of the measurement or detecting of the PEI is determined based on a priority of the measurement comprises: if the priority of the measurement meets a first condition, performing, by the terminal device, the measurement, and skipping detecting of the PEI; or if the priority of the measurement does not meet a first condition, detecting, by the terminal device, the PEI, and skipping the measurement(P[0334], overlaps and received data according to priority; P[0344], overlap/ collison PEI and CSI-RS signal; in the measurement gap).
Regarding claim 6, He teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the detection time of the PEI is: a time comprising a plurality of detection occasions of the PEI; or one detection occasion of the PEI(P[0040], PEI is sent one or more slots prior to a paging).
Regarding claim 7, He teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state(P[0073], UE is in the RRC idle or inactive mode).
Claims 15 and 22 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Claims 20-21, 27 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 6-7 and 6 respectively.
Claims 16-17, 23-24 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 2-3 and 2-3 respectively.
Claim(s) 4-5, 18-19, 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (hereinafter He)(US 2022/0225237) in view of Ma et al. (hereinafter Ma)(2021/0089921) and Maleki et al. (hereinafter Maleki)(2021/0089921).
Regarding claim 4, He in view of Ma teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method, wherein the method further comprises: when the terminal device performs the measurement and skips detecting of the PEI, performing, by the terminal device, paging detection in a paging cycle indicated by the PEI. However, Maleki teaches in an analogous art wherein the method further comprises: when the terminal device performs the measurement and skips detecting of the PEI, performing, by the terminal device, paging detection in a paging cycle indicated by the PEI (P[0029-0034], skip monitoring of Pei occasions; measurements performed to determine the parameters shown in P[0030-0034]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the method further comprises: when the terminal device performs the measurement and skips detecting of the PEI, performing, by the terminal device, paging detection in a paging cycle indicated by the PEI in order to have improved power saving.
Regarding claim 5, He in view of Ma and Maleki teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein at least one of a following behavior of the terminal device is predefined by a protocol: performing, by the terminal device, the measurement, and skipping detecting of the PEI; or when the terminal device performs the measurement and skips detecting of the PEI, performing, by the terminal device, the paging detection in the paging cycle indicated by the PEI (Maleki: P[0029-0034], skip monitoring of PEI occasions based on measurements performed to determine the parameters shown in P[0030-0034]).
Claims 18-19, 25-26 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 4-5 and 4-5 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647