DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant states that this application is a continuation or divisional application of the prior-filed application. A continuation or divisional application cannot include new matter. Applicant is required to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains the following matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application:
The feature of “an expansion valve coupled to the ammonia inlet of the heat exchange cracking unit, the expansion valve configured to maintain the ammonia in a gaseous state as the ammonia enters the heat exchange cracking unit”, as claimed in independent claims 1, 8, and 15, is not disclosed in the prior-filed application (application serial no. 18/241,321; issued as US 12,467,422). The prior-filed application (at paragraph [00123]) states:
“In an embodiment, the electronic controller can be used to control an electric expansion valve (not depicted in FIG. 19) that is coupled to the inlet 1804 by utilizing readings from the pressure transducer coupled to radial fitting 1814 and/or the thermocouples coupled to radial fittings 1812. Once the gaseous ammonia received by the electric catalyst unit 1800 from the heat exchange catalyst unit has reached the threshold temperature, the electric expansion valve is utilized to maintain the vapor pressure of the gaseous ammonia. At these threshold temperature and pressure values, the electric expansion valve is opened, allowing the ammonia to enter the ceramic tube 1900.” (with emphasis added).
The described “electric expansion valve” pertains to the expansion valve coupled to the gaseous ammonia inlet 1804 of the electric catalyst unit 1800, which is configured to maintain the ammonia in a gaseous state as the ammonia enters the electric catalyst unit 1800.
There is no disclosure of an expansion valve coupled to the ammonia inlet of the heat exchange cracking unit 1418. While FIGs. 14-17 do show a temperature control valve 1410 and a pressure control valve 1414 for controlling the flow of gaseous ammonia into the heat exchange cracking unit 1418, these valves are not “expansion valves”, and the valves 1410, 1414 operate in a manner which differs from an expansion valve (see, e.g., paragraphs [0096] and [00103] of the prior-filed application).
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The feature of “an expansion valve coupled to the ammonia inlet of the heat exchange cracking unit, the expansion valve configured to maintain the ammonia in a gaseous state as the ammonia enters the heat exchange cracking unit”, as claimed in independent claims 1, 8, and 15, should be added to the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, at line 2: --and-- should be inserted after “unit”.
In claim 20, at line 1: --in the-- should be inserted after “formed”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the expansion valve configured to maintain the ammonia in a gaseous state” (at lines 10-12) is unclear because the claim has not set forth that the ammonia was originally in a gaseous state.
Also, the recitations of “the exhaust gas” (twice, at lines 16 and 18) lack proper positive antecedent basis. It is suggested that --gas-- be inserted after “receives exhaust” (at line 6).
Regarding claim 8, the recitation of “the ammonia inlet” (at line 9) lacks proper positive antecedent basis.
Also, the limitation “the expansion valve configured to maintain the ammonia in a gaseous state” (at lines 9-11) is unclear because the claim has not set forth that the ammonia was originally in a gaseous state.
Also, the recitation of “the gas outlet” (at line 18) lacks proper positive antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 15, the recitation of “the ammonia inlet” (at line 10) lacks proper positive antecedent basis.
Also, the limitation “the expansion valve configured to maintain the ammonia in a gaseous state” (at lines 10-12) is unclear because the claim has not set forth that the ammonia was originally in a gaseous state.
The remaining claims are also rejected because they depend from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tampucci et al. (WO 2011/004344 A1) in view of Hobby (US 4,480,595 A).
Regarding claim 1, Tampucci et al. discloses an on-board ammonia cracking system for supplying fuel to an internal combustion engine 20, the system (see Figures) comprising:
an ammonia tank containing ammonia (i.e., a tank 28 in which ammonia is stored; see page 6, lines 15-16);
a heat exchange cracking unit (i.e., a gas-gas heat exchanger 23 defining a heat exchanger/reactor, wherein cells of the heat exchanger/reactor are coated with a catalyst suitable to promote the cracking of ammonia; see page 5, lines 12-15, and page 6, lines 19-25) coupled to the ammonia tank 28, the heat exchange cracking unit 23 having an exhaust inlet (i.e., an inlet for receiving exhaust gas from an internal combustion engine 20; see page 6, lines 19-23), an exhaust outlet (i.e., an outlet for expelling the exhaust gas (H2O + N2) to the atmosphere; see page 6, lines 25-26), an ammonia inlet (i.e., an inlet for receiving ammonia from the ammonia tank 28), and a gas outlet (i.e., an outlet for discharging cracked ammonia (H2+N2)), wherein the heat exchange cracking unit 23 receives exhaust gas from the internal combustion engine 20 via the exhaust inlet, and wherein the exhaust exits the heat exchange cracking unit 23 via the exhaust outlet;
an expansion valve 30 (see page 6, lines 15-17) coupled to the ammonia inlet of the heat exchange cracking unit 23, the expansion valve 30 configured to maintain the ammonia in a gaseous state as the ammonia enters the heat exchange cracking unit 23 (i.e., the expansion valve 30 expands the ammonia from the ammonia tank 28, so that gaseous ammonia can enter the gas-gas heat exchanger 23);
an injection system coupled to the internal combustion engine (i.e., the internal combustion engine 20 will inherently comprises an injection system to enable the disclosed co-feeding of hydrogen and ammonia into the internal combustion engine 20 as fuel); and
a supply line (i.e., a first line for feeding a first part of the ammonia (NH3) from the tank 28 directly to the internal combustion engine 20, wherein the flow of ammonia through the first line is controlled by valve 24; see page 6, line 32, to page 7, line 2) coupled between the ammonia tank 28 and the injection system of the internal combustion engine 20, the supply line providing ammonia from the ammonia tank 28 to the injection system of the internal combustion engine 20;
wherein, if the exhaust gas has reached a temperature sufficient to perform ammonia cracking, the ammonia undergoes a cracking process in the heat exchange cracking unit 23 (i.e., when it reaches a temperature of at least 450 °C, the heat exchanger/reactor 23 is hot enough to produce hydrogen by the thermal cracking of ammonia, and a second part of the ammonia is fed through a second line to the heat exchanger/reactor 23 to perform the cracking process, wherein the flow of ammonia through the second line is controlled by valve 24; see page 5, lines 19-24; page 6, line 19, to page 7, line 5); and
wherein hydrogen resulting from the cracking process (H2+N2) is supplied to the injection system for use as a co-fuel with ammonia from the supply line to power the internal combustion engine 20 (i.e., the hydrogen/nitrogen mixture formed by ammonia cracking is co-fed with the ammonia to the internal combustion engine 20 to power the engine; see page 5, lines 22-24; page 7, lines 2-7).
The on-board ammonia cracking system of Tampucci et al. is the same as the claimed system, except that Tampucci et al. fails to further disclose an electric cracking unit coupled in series to the heat exchange cracking unit 23 via only the gas outlet; wherein, if the exhaust gas has not reached a temperature sufficient to perform ammonia cracking, the ammonia exits the heat exchange cracking unit 23 via the gas outlet and flows to the electric cracking unit, and the ammonia subsequently undergoes the cracking process in the electric cracking unit.
Hobby et al. discloses a system for on-board ammonia cracking for an internal combustion engine (i.e., an auxiliary fuel system adapted for feeding an auxiliary fuel to an internal combustion engine of a vehicle; see FIG. 3-4; column 3, lines 51-62; column 8, line 30, to column 9, line 14), comprising:
an ammonia tank containing ammonia (i.e., an ammonia tank 78);
a heat exchange cracking unit (i.e., a catalytic dissociator 77 comprising a catalyst chamber 84 heated by exhaust gas flowing around the catalyst chamber) fluidly coupled to the ammonia tank 78 and having an exhaust inlet (i.e., an inlet for receiving exhaust gas from an internal combustion engine 75), an exhaust outlet (i.e., an outlet for discharging the exhaust gas to an exhaust pipe and muffler 86), an ammonia inlet (i.e., an inlet for receiving ammonia from line 80), and a gas outlet (i.e., to line 85); wherein the heat exchange cracking unit 77 receives exhaust gas from the internal combustion engine 75 via the exhaust inlet, and wherein the exhaust exits the heat exchange cracking unit 77 via the exhaust outlet; and
specifically, an electric cracking unit (i.e., a second ammonia dissociator 64 comprising a catalyst 74 and electrical heating elements 67; see FIG. 3; column 8, lines 30-34) coupled in series to the heat exchange cracking unit 77 via only the gas outlet (i.e., via only the line 85);
wherein, if the exhaust gas has reached a temperature sufficient to perform ammonia cracking, the ammonia undergoes a cracking process in the heat exchange cracking unit 77 (i.e., the cracking of the ammonia to hydrogen and nitrogen is performed in the catalytic dissociator 77 when sufficient heat, supplied by the hot exhaust gas of the internal combustion engine 75 and detected by a thermal sensor 87, allows for the dissociation of ammonia in the catalytic dissociator 77; see column 4, lines 17-26; column 8, lines 53-58); and
wherein, if the exhaust gas has not reached a temperature sufficient to perform ammonia cracking, the ammonia exits the heat exchange cracking unit 77 via the gas outlet 85 and flows to the electric cracking unit 64, and the ammonia subsequently undergoes the cracking process in the electric cracking unit 64 (i.e., the second ammonia dissociator 64 is used to crack the ammonia until the catalytic dissociator 77 has been sufficiently heated; during the period in which the exhaust gas has not reached a temperature sufficient to perform the ammonia cracking process in the catalytic dissociator 77, the electrical elements 67 in the second ammonia dissociator 64 are activated to heat the catalyst 74 in the second ammonia dissociator 64, so that the ammonia exiting the catalytic dissociator 77 via the line 85 can be dissociated to hydrogen and nitrogen in the second ammonia dissociator 64; see column 4, lines 27-34; column 8, lines 48-68);
wherein hydrogen resulting from the cracking process is supplied to the injection system the internal combustion engine 75 (i.e., for use as an auxiliary fuel).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple an electric cracking unit in series to the heat exchange cracking unit via only the gas outlet in the on-board ammonia cracking system of Tampucci et al. because an additional amount of hydrogen could be generated by cracking the ammonia in the electric cracking unit and fed to the internal combustion engine as fuel while waiting for the exhaust gas to heat up and reach a temperature that was sufficient to perform the ammonia cracking in the heat exchange cracking unit, as taught by Hobby (see column 4, lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 2, Tampucci et al. (see FIG. 2) shows the exhaust gas flows in a first direction through the heat exchange cracking unit 23 (i.e., the exhaust gases received from the internal combustion engine 20 flow from right to left), and the ammonia flows in a second direction, opposite the first direction, through the heat exchange cracking unit 23 (i.e., the ammonia received from the ammonia tank 28 flows from left to right).
Regarding claim 3, Tampucci et al. (see FIG. 2) shows the exhaust gas and the ammonia each flow in opposite directions through the heat exchange cracking unit 23 (i.e., the exhaust gases received from the internal combustion engine 20 flow from right to left, and the ammonia received from the ammonia tank 28 flows from left to right). Tampucci et al. fails to disclose that the heat exchange cracking unit 23 is configured so that the exhaust gas and the ammonia each flow in the same direction through the heat exchange cracking unit.
Hobby et al., however, discloses that the heat exchange cracking unit 77 (see FIG. 4) is configured so that the exhaust gas and ammonia each flow in the same direction through the heat exchange cracking unit 77 (i.e., exhaust gas received from the internal combustion engine 75 flows towards the muffler 86, from left to right, and ammonia received from the ammonia tank 78 flows from the inlet to the outlet of the catalyst chamber 84, also from left to right).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat exchange cracking unit in the modified on-board ammonia cracking system of Tampucci et al. so that the exhaust gas and the ammonia each flow in the same direction through the heat exchange cracking unit, on the basis of suitability for the intended use thereof, because such flow arrangement of the exhaust gas and the ammonia would have also resulted in the heat exchange cracking unit being satisfactorily heated to a temperature that was sufficient to perform the ammonia cracking process in the heat exchange cracking unit, as taught by Hobby et al.
Regarding claim 6, Hobby further discloses that the electric cracking unit 64 includes an electric heater (i.e., electrical heating elements 67; see FIG. 3; column 8, lines 40-43).
Regarding claim 8, Tampucci et al. discloses an on-board ammonia cracking system for supplying fuel to an internal combustion engine 20, the system (see Figures) comprising:
an ammonia tank containing ammonia (i.e., a tank 28 in which ammonia is stored; see page 6, lines 15-16);
a heat exchange cracking unit (i.e., a gas-gas heat exchanger 23 defining a heat exchanger/reactor, wherein cells of the heat exchanger/reactor are coated with a catalyst suitable to promote the cracking of ammonia, and wherein the heat exchanger/reactor is heated by exhaust gases; see page 5, lines 12-15, and page 6, lines 19-25) coupled to the ammonia tank 28, wherein the heat exchange cracking unit 23 receives exhaust gas from the internal combustion engine 20 and receives the ammonia from the ammonia tank 28;
an expansion valve 30 (see page 6, lines 15-17) coupled to the ammonia inlet of the heat exchange cracking unit 23, the expansion valve 30 configured to maintain the ammonia in a gaseous state as the ammonia enters the heat exchange cracking unit 23 (i.e., the expansion valve 30 expands the ammonia from the ammonia tank 28, so that gaseous ammonia can enter the gas-gas heat exchanger 23);
an injection system coupled to the internal combustion engine (i.e., the internal combustion engine 20 will inherently comprises an injection system to enable the disclosed co-feeding of hydrogen and ammonia into the internal combustion engine 20 as fuel);
a supply line (i.e., a first line for feeding a first part of the ammonia (NH3) from the tank 28 directly to the internal combustion engine 20, wherein the flow of ammonia through the first line is controlled by valve 24; see page 6, line 32, to page 7, line 2) coupled between the ammonia tank 28 and the injection system of the internal combustion engine 20, the supply line providing ammonia from the ammonia tank 28 to the injection system of the internal combustion engine 20;
wherein, if the exhaust gas has reached a temperature sufficient to perform ammonia cracking, the ammonia undergoes a cracking process in the heat exchange cracking unit 23 (i.e., when it reaches a temperature of at least 450 °C, the heat exchanger/reactor 23 is hot enough to produce hydrogen by the thermal cracking of ammonia, and a second part of the ammonia is fed through a second line to the heat exchanger/reactor 23 to perform the cracking process, wherein the flow of ammonia through the second line is controlled by valve 24; see page 5, lines 19-24; page 6, line 19, to page 7, line 5);
wherein hydrogen resulting from the cracking process (H2+N2) is supplied to the injection system for use as a co-fuel with ammonia from the supply line to power the internal combustion engine 20 (i.e., the hydrogen/nitrogen mixture formed by ammonia cracking is co-fed with the ammonia to the internal combustion engine 20 to power the engine; see page 5, lines 22-24; page 7, lines 2-7).
The on-board ammonia cracking system of Tampucci et al. is the same as the claimed system, except that Tampucci et al. fails to further disclose an electric cracking unit coupled in series via a single fluid path to the heat exchange cracking unit 23, the electric cracking unit including an electric heater; wherein, if the exhaust gas has not reached a temperature sufficient to perform ammonia cracking, the ammonia exits the heat exchange cracking unit 23 via the gas outlet and flows to the electric cracking unit, and the ammonia subsequently undergoes the cracking process in the electric cracking unit.
Hobby et al. discloses a system for on-board ammonia cracking for an internal combustion engine (i.e., an auxiliary fuel system adapted for feeding an auxiliary fuel to an internal combustion engine of a vehicle; see FIG. 3-4; column 3, lines 51-62; column 8, line 30, to column 9, line 14), comprising:
an ammonia tank containing ammonia (i.e., an ammonia tank 78);
a heat exchange cracking unit (i.e., a catalytic dissociator 77 comprising a catalyst chamber 84 heated by an exhaust gas flowing around the catalyst chamber 84) coupled to the ammonia tank 78, wherein the heat exchange cracking unit 77 receives exhaust gas from the internal combustion engine 75 and receives ammonia from the ammonia tank 78; and
specifically, an electric cracking unit (i.e., a second ammonia dissociator 64 comprising a catalyst 74 and electrical heating elements 67; see FIG. 3; column 8, lines 30-34) coupled in series via a single fluid path (i.e., via only the line 85) to the heat exchange cracking unit 77, the electric cracking unit 64 including an electric heater (i.e., the electrical heating elements 67; see FIG. 3; column 8, lines 40-43);
wherein, if the exhaust gas has reached a temperature sufficient to perform ammonia cracking, the ammonia undergoes a cracking process in the heat exchange cracking unit 77 (i.e., the cracking of the ammonia to hydrogen and nitrogen is performed in the catalytic dissociator 77 when sufficient heat, supplied by the hot exhaust gas of the internal combustion engine 75 and detected by a thermal sensor 87, allows for the dissociation of ammonia in the catalytic dissociator 77; see column 4, lines 17-26; column 8, lines 53-58); and
wherein, if the exhaust gas has not reached a temperature sufficient to perform ammonia cracking, the ammonia exits the heat exchange cracking unit 77 via the gas outlet 85 and flows to the electric cracking unit 64, and the ammonia subsequently undergoes the cracking process in the electric cracking unit 64 (i.e., the second ammonia dissociator 64 is used to crack the ammonia until the catalytic dissociator 77 has been sufficiently heated; during the period in which the exhaust gas has not reached a temperature sufficient to perform the ammonia cracking process in the catalytic dissociator 77, the electrical elements 67 in the second ammonia dissociator 64 are activated to heat the catalyst 74 in the second ammonia dissociator 64, so that the ammonia exiting the catalytic dissociator 77 via the line 85 can be dissociated to hydrogen and nitrogen in the second ammonia dissociator 64; see column 4, lines 27-34; column 8, lines 48-68);
wherein hydrogen resulting from the cracking process is supplied to the injection system of the internal combustion engine 75 (i.e., for use as an auxiliary fuel).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple an electric cracking unit in series via a single fluid path to the heat exchange cracking unit in the on-board ammonia cracking system of Tampucci et al. because an additional amount of hydrogen could be generated by cracking the ammonia in the electric cracking unit and fed to the internal combustion engine as fuel while waiting for the exhaust gas to heat up and reach a temperature that was sufficient to perform the ammonia cracking in the heat exchange cracking unit, as taught by Hobby (see column 4, lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 10, Hobby et al. (see FIG. 4) further discloses that the heat exchange cracking unit 77 is operable to pre-heat the ammonia (i.e., using the hot exhaust gas from the engine 75, when the temperature of the exhaust gas is insufficient for cracking the ammonia but sufficient for pre-heating the ammonia) before the ammonia flows to the electric cracking unit 64 (i.e., via the line 85) to undergo the cracking process in the electric cracking unit 64.
Regarding claim 11, Tampucci et al. discloses that the temperature sufficient to perform the ammonia cracking reaction ranges from 400 °C to 700 °C (i.e., a temperature of at least 450 °C; see page 5, lines 19-24; page 6, lines 19-25).
Regarding claim 12, Hobby et al. discloses that the electric heater is a resistance wire (i.e., the electrical heating elements 67 are resistance wires; see FIG. 3; column 8, lines 40-45).
Regarding claim 13, Tampucci et al. (see FIG. 2) shows the exhaust gas flows in a first direction through the heat exchange cracking unit 23 (i.e., the exhaust gases received from the internal combustion engine 20 flow from right to left), and the ammonia flows in a second direction, opposite the first direction, through the heat exchange cracking unit 23 (i.e., the ammonia received from the ammonia tank 28 flows from left to right).
Regarding claim 14, Tampucci et al. (see FIG. 2) shows the exhaust gas and the ammonia each flow in opposite directions through the heat exchange cracking unit 23 (i.e., the exhaust gases received from the internal combustion engine 20 flow from right to left, and the ammonia received from the ammonia tank 28 flows from left to right). Tampucci et al. fails to disclose that the heat exchange cracking unit 23 is configured so that the exhaust gas and the ammonia each flow in the same direction through the heat exchange cracking unit.
Hobby et al., however, discloses that the heat exchange cracking unit 77 (see FIG. 4) is configured so that the exhaust gas and ammonia each flow in the same direction through the heat exchange cracking unit 77 (i.e., exhaust gas received from the internal combustion engine 75 flows towards the muffler 86, from left to right, and ammonia received from the ammonia tank 78 flows from the inlet to the outlet of the catalyst chamber 84, also from left to right).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat exchange cracking unit in the modified on-board ammonia cracking system of Tampucci et al. so that the exhaust gas and the ammonia each flow in the same direction through the heat exchange cracking unit, on the basis of suitability for the intended use thereof, because such flow arrangement of the exhaust gas and the ammonia would have also resulted in the heat exchange cracking unit being satisfactorily heated to a temperature that was sufficient to perform the ammonia cracking process, as taught by Hobby et al.
Regarding claim 15, Tampucci et al. discloses an on-board ammonia cracking system for supplying fuel to an internal combustion engine 20, the system (see Figures) comprising:
an ammonia tank containing ammonia (i.e., a tank 28 in which ammonia is stored; see page 6, lines 15-16);
a heat exchange cracking unit (i.e., a gas-gas heat exchanger 23 defining a heat exchanger/reactor, wherein cells of the heat exchanger/reactor are coated with a catalyst suitable to promote the cracking of ammonia, and wherein the heat exchanger/reactor is heated by exhaust gases; see page 5, lines 12-15, and page 6, lines 19-25) coupled to the ammonia tank 28, wherein the heat exchange cracking unit 23 receives exhaust gas from the internal combustion engine 20 and receives the ammonia from the ammonia tank 28;
an expansion valve 30 (see page 6, lines 15-17) coupled to the ammonia inlet of the heat exchange cracking unit 23, the expansion valve 30 configured to maintain the ammonia in a gaseous state as the ammonia enters the heat exchange cracking unit 23 (i.e., the expansion valve 30 expands the ammonia from the ammonia tank 28, so that gaseous ammonia can enter the gas-gas heat exchanger 23);
an injection system coupled to the internal combustion engine (i.e., the internal combustion engine 20 will inherently comprises an injection system to enable the disclosed co-feeding of hydrogen and ammonia into the internal combustion engine 20 as fuel); and
a supply line (i.e., a first line for feeding a first part of the ammonia (NH3) from the tank 28 directly to the internal combustion engine 20, wherein the flow of ammonia through the first line is controlled by valve 24; see page 6, line 32, to page 7, line 2) coupled between the ammonia tank 28 and the injection system of the internal combustion engine 20, the supply line providing ammonia from the ammonia tank 28 to the injection system of the internal combustion engine 20;
wherein the ammonia undergoes a cracking process in the heat exchange cracking unit 23 if the exhaust gas has reached a temperature sufficient to perform ammonia cracking (i.e., when it reaches a temperature of at least 450 °C, the heat exchanger/reactor 23 is hot enough to produce hydrogen by the thermal cracking of ammonia, and a second part of the ammonia is fed through a second line to the heat exchanger/reactor 23 to perform the cracking process, wherein the flow of ammonia through the second line is controlled by valve 24; see page 5, lines 19-24; page 6, line 19, to page 7, line 5); and
wherein hydrogen resulting from the cracking process (H2+N2) is supplied to the injection system for use as a co-fuel with ammonia from the supply line to power the internal combustion engine 20 (i.e., the hydrogen/nitrogen mixture formed by ammonia cracking is co-fed with the ammonia to the internal combustion engine 20 to power the engine; see page 5, lines 22-24; page 7, lines 2-7).
The on-board ammonia cracking system of Tampucci et al. is the same as the claimed system, except that Tampucci et al. fails to further disclose an electric cracking unit coupled in series to the heat exchange cracking unit 23 via a single fluid path such that exhaust gas does not flow from the heat exchange cracking unit 23 to the electric cracking unit; wherein, if the exhaust gas has not reached a temperature sufficient to perform ammonia cracking, (1) the ammonia is pre-heated in the heat exchange cracking unit 23; (2) the pre-heated ammonia exits the heat exchange cracking unit 23 and flows to the electric cracking unit; and (3) the pre-heated ammonia undergoes the cracking process in the electric cracking unit.
Hobby et al. discloses a system for on-board ammonia cracking for an internal combustion engine (i.e., an auxiliary fuel system adapted for feeding an auxiliary fuel to an internal combustion engine of a vehicle; see FIG. 3-4; column 3, lines 51-62; column 8, line 30, to column 9, line 14), comprising:
an ammonia tank containing ammonia (i.e., an ammonia tank 78);
a heat exchange cracking unit (i.e., a catalytic dissociator 77 comprising a catalyst chamber 84 indirectly heated by an exhaust gas flowing around the catalyst chamber 84) coupled to the ammonia tank 78, wherein the heat exchange cracking unit 77 receives exhaust gas from the internal combustion engine 75 (i.e., via the exhaust manifold 76) and receives the ammonia from the ammonia tank 78 (i.e., via line 80); and
specifically, an electric cracking unit (i.e., a second ammonia dissociator 64 including a catalyst 74 and electrical heating elements 67; FIG. 3; column 8, lines 30-34) coupled in series to the heat exchange catalyst unit 77 via a single fluid path (i.e., via line 85) such that exhaust gas does not flow from the heat exchange catalyst unit 77 to the electric catalyst unit 64;
wherein the ammonia undergoes a cracking process in the heat exchange cracking unit 77 if the exhaust gas has reached a temperature sufficient to perform ammonia cracking (i.e., the cracking of the ammonia to hydrogen and nitrogen is performed in the catalytic dissociator 77 when sufficient heat, supplied by the hot exhaust gas of the internal combustion engine 75 and detected by a thermal sensor 87, allows for the dissociation of ammonia in the catalytic dissociator 77; see column 4, lines 17-26; column 8, lines 53-58); and
if the exhaust gas has not reached a temperature sufficient to perform ammonia cracking (i.e., when an insufficient temperature is detected by the thermal sensor 87 at the catalytic dissociator 77),
(1) the ammonia is pre-heated in the heat exchange cracking unit 77 (i.e., the hot exhaust gas from the engine 75 is at a temperature sufficient to pre-heat the ammonia that flows through the catalytic dissociator 77, despite being at an insufficient temperature to crack the ammonia flowing through the catalytic dissociator 77);
(2) the pre-heated ammonia exits the heat exchange cracking unit 77 (i.e., via the line 85) and flows to the electric catalyst unit 64; and
(3) the pre-heated ammonia undergoes the cracking process in the electric cracking unit 64 (i.e., the second ammonia dissociator 64 is used to crack the ammonia until the catalytic dissociator 77 has been sufficiently heated; during the period in which the exhaust gas has not reached a temperature sufficient to perform the ammonia cracking process in the catalytic dissociator 77, the electrical elements 67 in the second ammonia dissociator 64 are activated to heat the catalyst 74 in the second ammonia dissociator 64, so that the ammonia exiting the catalytic dissociator 77 via the line 85 can be dissociated to hydrogen and nitrogen in the second ammonia dissociator 64; see column 4, lines 27-34; column 8, lines 48-68);
wherein hydrogen resulting from the cracking process is supplied to the injection system of the internal combustion engine 75 (i.e., for use as auxiliary fuel).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple an electric cracking unit in series to the heat exchange cracking unit via a single fluid path in the on-board ammonia cracking system of Tampucci et al. because an additional amount of hydrogen could be generated by cracking the ammonia in the electric cracking unit and fed to the internal combustion engine as fuel while waiting for the exhaust gas to heat up and reach a temperature that was sufficient to perform the ammonia cracking in the heat exchange cracking unit, as taught by Hobby (see column 4, lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 16, Hobby et al. discloses that the electric catalyst unit 64 includes an electric heater (i.e., electrical heating elements 67; see FIG. 3; column 8, lines 40-43).
Regarding claim 17, Hobby et al. discloses that the electric heater is a resistance wire (i.e., the electrical heating elements 67 are resistance wires; see FIG. 3; column 8, lines 40-43).
Regarding claim 18, Hobby et al. discloses that the electric cracking unit 64 is partially filled with catalyst 74 (see column 8, lines 37-38), wherein the figure shows the electric cracking unit 64 being partially filled with particles of the catalyst 74 (see FIG. 3). Therefore, the electric cracking unit 64 is interpreted as having discrete catalyst media (i.e., discrete particles of the catalyst 74, as opposed to a coating layer) deposited within the electric cracking unit 64.
Regarding claim 19, Tampucci et al. further discloses that the temperature sufficient to perform the ammonia cracking reaction ranges from 400 °C to 700 °C (i.e., a temperature of at least 450 °C; see page 5, lines 19-24; page 6, lines 19-25).
Claims 4, 5, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tampucci et al. (WO 2011/004344 A1) in view of Hobby (US 4,480,595 A), as applied to claim 1 or 15 above, and further in view of Finkelshtain et al. (US 2018/0230006 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Tampucci et al. discloses that channels (i.e., defined by the cells of the gas-gas heat exchanger 23; see page 5, lines 12-15; page 6, lines 19-26) are formed in the heat exchange cracking unit. Tampucci et al., however, fails to disclose that the heat exchange cracking unit 23 further comprises discrete catalyst media deposited in the channels.
Finkelshtain et al. discloses a heat exchange cracking unit (i.e., a heat exchanger reactor for decomposing ammonia; see FIG. 1-3) having an inlet for a heating medium (i.e., via a connection labeled Air + Tail Gas), an outlet for the heating medium (i.e., via a connection labeled Exhaust), an inlet for ammonia to be cracked (i.e., via a connection labeled NH3), and an outlet for cracked ammonia (i.e., via a connection labeled H2 + N2); wherein channels are formed in the heat exchange cracking unit (i.e., channels are formed between the plates of the reactor). Specifically, Finkelshtain et al. discloses that discrete catalyst media is deposited in the channels (i.e., in addition to the plates being coated with ammonia cracking catalyst, the channels formed between the plates include additional wire-mesh catalyst from ammonia cracking (interpreted as discrete catalyst media); see paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the heat exchange cracking unit of Finkelshtain et al. for the heat exchange cracking unit in the modified on-board ammonia cracking system of Tampucci et al. because the heat exchange cracking unit would feature a close coupling between heat transfer and reaction kinetics in a compact structure, temperature gradients in the catalyst can be reduced to a minimum, utilization of the catalyst would be optimized, and the pressure drop inside the reactor would be minimal, as taught by Finkelshtain et al. (see paragraphs [0046], [0049]).
Regarding claim 5, as state above, Finkelshtain et al. discloses that interior surface of the heat exchange cracking unit is coated with a catalyst (i.e., the plates are further coated with ammonia cracking catalyst; see paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 20, Tampucci et al. discloses that channels (i.e., defined by the cells of the gas-gas heat exchanger 23, which are coated with a catalyst suitable to promote the cracking of ammonia; see page 5, lines 12-15; page 6, lines 19-26) are formed in the heat exchange cracking unit. Tampucci et al., however, fails to disclose that the heat exchange cracking unit 23 further comprises discrete catalyst media deposited in the channels.
Finkelshtain et al. discloses a heat exchange cracking unit (i.e., a heat exchanger reactor for decomposing ammonia; see FIG. 1-3) having an inlet for a heating medium (i.e., via a connection labeled Air + Tail Gas), an outlet for the heating medium (i.e., via a connection labeled Exhaust), an inlet for ammonia to be cracked (i.e., via a connection labeled NH3), and an outlet for cracked ammonia (i.e., via a connection labeled H2 + N2); wherein channels are formed in the heat exchange cracking unit (i.e., channels are formed between the plates of the reactor). Specifically, Finkelshtain et al. discloses that discrete catalyst media is deposited in the channels (i.e., in addition to the plates being coated with ammonia cracking catalyst, the channels formed between the plates include additional wire-mesh catalyst from ammonia cracking (interpreted as discrete catalyst media); see paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the heat exchange cracking unit of Finkelshtain et al. for the heat exchange cracking unit in the modified on-board ammonia cracking system of Tampucci et al. because the heat exchange cracking unit would feature a close coupling between heat transfer and reaction kinetics in a compact structure, temperature gradients in the catalyst can be reduced to a minimum, utilization of the catalyst would be optimized, and the pressure drop inside the reactor would be minimal, as taught by of Finkelshtain et al. (see paragraphs [0046], [0049]).
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tampucci et al. (WO 2011/004344 A1) in view of Hobby (US 4,480,595 A), as applied to claim 1 or 8 above, and further in view of Jo et al. (US 2023/0053230 A1).
Tampucci et al. (see Figures) discloses that the heat exchange cracking unit 23 includes an exhaust gas channel (i.e., a path through of the gas-gas heat exchanger 23, through which the exhaust gas received from the internal combustion engine 20 flows) and an ammonia channel (i.e., a path through the gas-gas heat exchanger 23, through which the ammonia received from the tank 28 flows). Tampucci et al., however, fails to disclose that the exhaust gas channel and the ammonia channel are oriented in a perpendicular fashion to one another.
Jo et al. discloses a heat exchange cracking unit (i.e., an integrated heat exchanger reactor module 500 for decomposing ammonia to hydrogen and nitrogen; see FIG. 5A-5D, see paragraphs [0038]-[0050]) having an exhaust inlet (i.e., via a heated combustion gas input manifold 550), an exhaust outlet (i.e., via a combustion gas output manifold 552), an ammonia inlet (i.e., via an ammonia input manifold 540), and a gas outlet (i.e., via a fuel output manifold 542); wherein the heat exchange cracking unit 500 further comprises an exhaust gas channel (i.e., a heat exchange channel 514 through which the combustion gas flows) and an ammonia channel (i.e., a reactor channel 512 through which the ammonia flows). The heat exchange cracking unit 500 has specific utility in a fuel delivery system 100 for supplying hydrogen to an internal combustion engine 310 (see FIG. 3, paragraph [0033]). Specifically, Jo et al. (at paragraph [0048]) states, “While FIGS. 5A-5D illustrate a counter-flow heat exchanger configuration, it is to be understood that other types of flow configurations, such as cross-flow, can be implemented.” (with emphasis).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat exchange cracking unit in the modified on-board ammonia cracking system of Tampucci et al. so that the exhaust gas channel and the ammonia channel were oriented in a perpendicular fashion to one another, on the basis of suitability for the intended use thereof, because a cross-flow arrangement for the flows of exhaust gas and ammonia would have also resulted in the heat exchange cracking unit being satisfactorily heated to a temperature that was sufficient to perform the cracking process in the heat exchange cracking unit, as taught by Jo et al.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A LEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774