DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the support member". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Did Applicant intend this to be “the holding member”? The claim will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 8,066,274).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a sheet feed device, comprising: a feed roller (see below) that rotates when a driving force is transmitted thereto, thereby conveying a sheet (S1); and a retard roller 102 that is pressed against the feed roller to form a nip portion and that conveys the sheet while separating the sheet from another sheet, wherein the retard roller includes: a roller main body 1021 that rotates about a rotation axis; a shaft 1024 that is attached to the roller main body and extends along the rotation axis; a torque limiter 1023 that switches the roller main body between rotation and stopping; a holding member (see below) that is disposed on one side of the roller main body in an axial direction thereof and that supports the shaft; and a restriction member (see below) that is disposed on another side of the roller main body in the axial direction thereof, that includes a locking portion (see col. 7, lines 42-44 – the shaft is fixed on the retard roller frame) locked to the shaft, and that restricts movement of the roller main body in the axial direction thereof, and the roller main body is swingably supported via a first support portion (see below) provided in the holding member and a second support portion (see below) provided in the restriction member, and the roller main body is pressed against the feed roller (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the sheet feed device according to claim 1, wherein the first support portion is disposed at each of two positions (see below) in the holding member.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the sheet feed device according to claim 1, wherein the restriction member (see above) is a member separate from a member constituting the torque limiter 1023, and the member constituting the torque limiter is disposed inside the roller main body 1021. See Fig. 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ohno (US 2019/0300307).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses everything claimed, except wherein the image forming apparatus prints an image on the sheet fed from the sheet feed device. Ohno teaches the use of an image forming apparatus 20 that prints an image on a sheet fed from a sheet feed device 10, in order to form images on sheets. Ohno, par. 26-27. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use an image forming apparatus that prints an image on the sheet fed from the sheet feed device, in the device of Chen, as taught by Ohno, in order to form images on sheets.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, Chen does not disclose everything claimed, including wherein the restriction member is constituted by part of the torque limiter, in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ichikawa (US 11,111,093) discloses a sheet feeding device having a separation roller and a retard roller.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759