DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this Final Rejection. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Priority
Application 19/348,469 filed 10/02/2025 claims priority to provisional application 19/348,469 filed 10/02/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-20 are directed to a system, method, or product which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Claims 1, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites a method and computing device for generating a document based on iterations. For Claims 1, and 10 the limitations of (Claim 1 being representative):
[…]:
accessing a knowledge repository database to retrieve a plurality of […] knowledge objects, the knowledge objects representing organizational knowledge;
receiving, from an ingestion subsystem, a plurality of […] request objects, the request objects being included in a request;
generating, by an object management subsystem, a structured proposal framework including a plurality of […] strategy objects, the strategy objects being based on the plurality of knowledge objects and on the plurality of request objects; and
generating, by a response generation subsystem, the […] response document based on the […] strategy objects and on an iterative interaction with a […] model, wherein the iterative interaction further comprises:
constructing sets of […] generated prompts, each […] generated prompt being constructed by combining, according to a set of instructions, one or more of a template fragment, a syntactic rule, or a phrase scaffold with one or more variables that reference respective ones of the plurality of […] strategy objects;
inputting sets of non-user generated prompts into the […] model; and
receiving an output for each set of the non-user generated prompts from the […] model
The above limitations are reciting a process of receiving data associated with a request, generating a proposal framework based on the data, and further generating a document based on iterative interactions. These limitations under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations) but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a system implemented by a processor (computer) the claimed invention amounts to the abstract idea stated above. Absent to the digital objects, digital document, large language model, and non-user generated prompt, this claim encompasses accessing a database to retrieve a plurality of organizational knowledge, receiving a plurality of request objects, generating a structured proposal framework including a strategy, and generating a document based on the strategy with iterative interactions, steps that could conventionally be performed by an administrative or development department personnel as part of known grant or funding writing. A person could manually review data, draft a proposal, and then write a document based on the draft. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers legal and commercial interactions between parties, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, Claims 1, and 10 recite an abstract idea. (Step 2A- Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1, and 10 recites the additional elements of one or more processors (Claims 1), memory (Claims 1), digital knowledge objects (Claims 1, and 10), digital request objects (Claims 1, and 10), digital strategy objects (Claims 1, and 10), digital response document (Claims 1, and 10), and non-user generated prompts (Claims 1 and 10). These additional elements are not described by the applicant and are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., one or more generic computers performing a generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Regarding iteratively interacting with a large language model to generate a response document with non-user generated prompts, the broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation amounts to the mere requirement to "apply" the abstract idea of generating response documents using a large language model with non-user generated prompts, since the model is recited at a high level of generality, the model is merely invoked as a tool to perform the existing process of generating response documents, and since the claim recites only the solution or outcome of using the model without reciting details as to how the solution is accomplished. Accordingly, even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claims 1, and 10 are directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO: the additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of one or more processors (Claims 1), memory (Claims 1), digital knowledge objects (Claims 1, and 10), digital request objects (Claims 1, and 10), digital strategy objects (Claims 1, and 10), digital response document (Claims 1, and 10), large language model (Claims 1, and 10) and non-user generated prompts (Claims 1 and 10), to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not provide significantly more. As such claims 1, and 10 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more).
Dependent Claims 2-9, and 11-20 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea of independent claims 1, and 10 as discussed above and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide an inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination. Claim(s) 2 and 11 merely describe(s) determining a proposal strategy based on the plurality of strategy objects and on a system-implemented proposal management methodology and set of instructions for generating a first set of non-user generated prompts and refining the proposal strategy based on first outputs responsive to the first set of non-user generated prompts. Claim(s) 3 and 12 merely describe(s) determining an annotated proposal outline based on the refined proposal strategy, the annotated proposal outline aligning with the request objects and the refined proposal strategy, for generating a second set of non-user generated prompts, and refining the annotated proposal outline based on second outputs responsive to the second set of non-user generated prompts. Claim(s) 4 and 13 merely describe(s) generating a third set of non-user generated prompts, each corresponding to a portion of the response document as defined by the refined annotated proposal outline, and populating each portion of the response document based on third outputs responsive to the third set of non-user generated prompts, according to the refined annotated proposal outline and aligned with the request objects and the refined proposal strategy. Claim(s) 5 and 14 merely describe(s) knowledge objects selected from a group consisting of organization information, past proposal documents, capability statements, and performance records. Claim(s) 6 and 15 merely describe(s) the request objects selected from a group consisting of instructions, evaluation criteria, and compliance requirements. Claim(s) 7 and 16 merely describe(s) the strategy objects selected from a group consisting of a table of contents, solution points, organization information, instructions and evaluation criteria, compliance requirements, past performance data, thematic elements, customer pain points, and competitor intelligence. Claim(s) 8 and 17 merely describe(s) a differentiator used in at least one of the determining of the proposal strategy and the determining of the annotated proposal outline, and the differentiators derived based on a plurality of digital strategy objects selected from a group consisting of: the solution points strategy object, the instructions and evaluation criteria strategy object, the compliance requirements strategy object, the past performance strategy object, the customer pain points strategy object, the organization information strategy object, and the competitor intelligence strategy object. Claim(s) 9 merely describe(s) generating non-user generated challenge prompts to interact with a second model to verify the outputs received from the first model, and generating a supporting document corresponding to the response document, the supporting document including summarization of outputs from the second model received in response to the non-user generated challenge prompts. Claim(s) 18 merely describe(s) a plurality of knowledge objects are received from a knowledge repository database, and wherein the plurality of request objects are received from an ingestion subsystem. Claim(s) 19 merely describe(s) generating non-user generated challenge prompts to interact with a second model to verify the outputs received from the model. Claim(s) 20 merely describe(s) generating a supporting document corresponding to the response document, the supporting document including summarization of outputs from the second model received in response to the non-user generated challenge prompts. Therefore claims 2-9, and 11-20 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
Dependent Claim(s) 9, and 20 recite limitations that further define the abstract idea noted in independent claims 1, and 10. In addition, it recites the additional element of a digital supporting document. The digital supporting document is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computing component. Even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claims 2-9 and 11-20 include the additional elements of a digital strategy objects, digital request objects, digital response document, digital knowledge objects, and large language models. The digital strategy objects, digital request objects, digital response document, digital knowledge objects, and large language model are analyzed in the same manner as the digital strategy objects, digital request objects, digital response document, digital knowledge objects, and large language model in the independent claim and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons above. Therefore, dependent claims 2-9, and 11-20 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 12493634 B1), in view of Dhindsa (US 20250348686 A1), and in further view of Edwards (US 20240394481 A1) .
Regarding Claim 1, and Claim 10
Chen discloses, A computerized system for generating a digital response document, the computerized system comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computerized system to perform operations comprising: (Chen Col. 1 Line 66 – Col. 2 Line 20).
accessing a knowledge repository database to retrieve a plurality of digital knowledge objects, the knowledge objects representing organizational knowledge; “Customer data 200 is imported into the data management module 142 from customer machine 102. The customer data may include: Previously completed RFPs Product documentation Sales materials (e.g., pitch decks, battle cards) Security policies and audit documentation Competitor documentation Other relevant information Existing knowledge bases (e.g., Q&A library)" (Chen Col. 2 Lines 42-51). “Storing the customer data chunks, the context strings and the metadata in a database” (Chen Claim 1).
receiving, from an ingestion subsystem, a plurality of digital request objects, the request objects being included in a request; "The answer module 144 then analyzes the extracted questions to determine if they require RFP/RFI compatibility analysis (e.g., checking compliance with requested features) 314" (Chen Col. 7 Lines 39-41). “Customer machine 102 includes a processor 110 connected to input/output devices 112 via a bus 114” (Chen Col. 2 Lines 4-5). “A computer implemented method includes importing customer data including previously completed requests for proposals, product documentation, sales materials, security policies and competitor documentation. The customer data is analyzed to form categories” (Chen Col. 1 Lines 43-47).
generating, by an object management subsystem, a structured proposal framework including a plurality of digital strategy objects, the strategy objects being based on the plurality of knowledge objects and on the plurality of request objects; and "After data import through import interface 202, the data is analyzed 204 and placed into categories, such as pitch deck, product information, answered Q&A, marketing website materials and other designated categories. By way of example, the system analyzes the data and deploys different strategies for processing, including: Analyzing long-form documents (e.g., product update documents) Processing structured data (e.g., Excel files of completed RFP Q&A) Handling web-based content (e.g., marketing website materials)" (Chen Col. 2 Lines 52-63).
generating, by a response generation subsystem, the digital response document based on the digital strategy objects and on an iterative interaction with a large language model (LLM), wherein the iterative interaction further comprises: "Throughout this process, the system leverages a combination of Large Language Models (LLMs) provided by third party providers and fine-tuned open source LLMs (which can be self-hosted, on-premise, or cloud-based) to ensure optimal performance and flexibility" (Chen Col. 7 Line 66-Col. 8 Line 3) "The user is prompted to run autogeneration on the RFP, which will initiate an AI-based first-draft populating of answers (“AI autogeneration”) to the questions" (Chen Col. 8 Lines 59-61).
Chen discloses generating proposals from requests, but fails to disclose, constructing sets of non-user generated prompts, each non-user generated prompt being constructed by combining, according to a set of instructions, one or more of a template fragment, a syntactic rule, or a phrase scaffold with one or more variables that reference respective ones of the plurality of digital strategy objects, inputting sets of non-user generated prompts into the LLM; and receiving an output for each set of the non-user generated prompts from the LLM. Dhindsa discloses generating a document having multiple chunks of text that collectively form the document, and prompting a LLM to generate chunks of text. Dhindsa further discloses, inputting sets of non-user generated prompts into the LLM; and "Concurrent with and/or after the previous steps have determined/selected example chunk(s) 14, step 112 can be performed by formulating the request to first LLM 34 by first prompt module 32 and/or by other components of system 10. Along with step 112, process 100 can have step 114, which is to assemble the request (i.e., the information included in the request) that includes the prompt that can state the desired purpose of the to-be-generated chunk 28, the context that provides information dependent upon topical information 16, and the at least one example chunk 14. Step 112 can include formulating/determining the contents of the request as well as organizing and/or otherwise devising the request to first LLM 34 so that first LLM 34 performs the desired tasks, returns/retrieves the desired information, etc. in the desired format, configuration, organization, etc. (e.g., first LLM 34 generates one of first chunk 28A, second chunk 28B, and Nth chunk 28C)." (Dhindsa Par. 0046).
receiving an output for each set of the non-user generated prompts from the LLM "After first LLM 34 accesses, receives, and/or otherwise uses the request that includes the prompt, the context, and the example chunk(s) 14, process 100 can include step 118. Step 118 can include generating chunk 28 of text dependent upon topical information 16 and, potentially, among other information. Step 118 can be performed via various methods and/or with aid from, for example, the internet and/or other sources. Step 118 can include generating chunk 28 that includes one or multiple textual sentences, paragraphs, etc. that accomplish the desired purpose as set out in the prompt of the request." (Dhindsa Par. 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the document generating system of Chen with inputting sets of non-user generated prompts into the LLM and receiving outputs of Dhindsa since the creation of such documents can be tedious and time consuming, resulting in errors when performed without the proper knowledge, experience, and information (Dhindsa Par. 0002).
The combination of Chen and Dhindsa disclose a document generating system with non-user generated prompts but fail to disclose constructing sets of non-user generated prompts, each non-user generated prompt being constructed by combining, according to a set of instructions, one or more of a template fragment, a syntactic rule, or a phrase scaffold with one or more variables that reference respective ones of the plurality of digital strategy objects. Edwards discloses generating prompts for instructing large language models to perform specific tasks. Edwards further discloses, constructing sets of non-user generated prompts, each non-user generated prompt being constructed by combining, according to a set of instructions, one or more of a template fragment, a syntactic rule, or a phrase scaffold with one or more variables that reference respective ones of the plurality of digital strategy objects "At a second stage, each candidate prompt template, thus generated, is tested. Specifically, each candidate prompt template is used to generate a plurality of test prompts. The input data used with each test prompt is taken from a repository in which is stored a plurality of “pre-labelled” items of input data. These are items of input data that are stored with some form of label data which corresponds to some property of the input data. For example, the data items may be fragments of text data, and the labels may correspond with the “intent” conveyed in the text data (for example “sending remittance data”; “querying invoice”; “explaining lack of payment”, etc). (Edwards Par. 0032). "The input data for each test prompt is provided by data from the labelled data database 109b." ( Edawards Par. 0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the document generating system with non-user generated prompts of Chen and Dhindsa with constructing sets of non-user generated prompts by combining instructions and a template fragment with one or more variables that reference respective ones of the plurality of data objects of Edwards so large sets of ‘validated’ prompts can be generated with little or no human intervention which is particularly useful in settings such as enterprise-scale accounting systems where many workflows comprise of numerous, varied tasks (Edwards Par. 0034).
Regarding Claim 18,
The combination of Chen and Dhindsa disclose the computerized method of claim 10, as shown above. Chen further discloses, wherein the plurality of digital knowledge objects are received from a knowledge repository database, and “Customer data 200 is imported into the data management module 142 from customer machine 102. The customer data may include: Previously completed RFPs Product documentation Sales materials (e.g., pitch decks, battle cards) Security policies and audit documentation Competitor documentation Other relevant information Existing knowledge bases (e.g., Q&A library)" (Chen Col. 2 Lines 42-51). “Storing the customer data chunks, the context strings and the metadata in a database” (Chen Claim 1).
wherein the plurality of digital request objects are received from an ingestion subsystem. "The answer module 144 then analyzes the extracted questions to determine if they require RFP/RFI compatibility analysis (e.g., checking compliance with requested features) 314" (Chen Col. 7 Lines 39-41). “Customer machine 102 includes a processor 110 connected to input/output devices 112 via a bus 114” (Chen Col. 2 Lines 4-5). “A computer implemented method includes importing customer data including previously completed requests for proposals, product documentation, sales materials, security policies and competitor documentation. The customer data is analyzed to form categories” (Chen Col. 1 Lines 43-47).
Claim(s) 2, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 12493634 B1), in view of Dhindsa (US 20250348686 A1), in view of Edwards (US 20240394481 A1), in view of Badjatiya (US 20250335775 A1), and in further view of Madisetti (US 12405977 B1).
Regarding Claim 2, and Claim 11
The combination of Chen, Dhindsa, and Edawards disclose the computerized system of claim 1, and computerized method of claim 10, as shown above. The combination of Chen, Dhindsa, and Edwards fail to disclose generating a first set of non-user generated prompts, refining the proposal strategy based on first outputs responsive to the first set of non-user generated prompts wherein the refining comprises iteratively adjusting the proposal strategy based on successive outputs from the LLM until a target alignment threshold is met. Badjatiya discloses dynamically creating refining user prompts based on user input. Badjatiya further discloses, determine a proposal strategy based on the plurality of digital strategy objects and on a system implement proposal management methodology and set of instruction for generating a first set of non-user generated prompts " The subject matter described herein involves techniques for assisting users in crafting detailed and contextually rich prompts that are optimized for LLM interaction. In one example, a system leverages a structured prompt builder that dynamically guides users through the process of refining their initial query into a well-formed prompt. This is achieved by presenting users with a series of selectable intent indicators that represent different facets or subtopics related to their query" (Badjatiya Par. 0025). "The prompt builder user interface 808 features a series of top-level intent indicators, such as "History," "Plan a Trip," "Politics," and "Culture," each representing a potential avenue for exploration within the broader context of the Amsterdam query 804. These intent indicators 810 are visually distinct, designed to stand out and draw the user's eye, encouraging interaction. The user can select any of these intent indicators to refine their search, signaling to the system the specific direction they wish to take their inquiry about Amsterdam" (Badjatiya Par. 0084).
Refine the proposal strategy based on first outputs responsive to the first set of non-user generated prompts "As users select these intent indicators, the system intelligently incorporates them into the evolving prompt, ensuring that the final input to the LLM is both comprehensive and precise. The techniques presented herein simplify the process of engaging with LLMs by automating the prompt refinement process. Users are no longer required to have an in-depth understanding of how to structure their queries for LLMs. Instead, they are supported by an intuitive interface that incrementally builds a detailed and specific prompt as they interact with the system. This user-friendly approach democratizes access to LLMs, making it easier for individuals from all backgrounds to benefit from the advanced capabilities of these models. Whether a user is seeking an in-depth explanation on a complex topic, or they need current information on a recent event, the system facilitates a seamless interaction with the LLM, leading to more satisfying and productive experiences" (Badjatiya Par. 0025-0026). "The system (e.g., the prompt writer 122) then, at operation 712, generates a prompt based on the user query and the selected intent indicator. If the system had previously generated a prompt, the selection of a subsequent intent indicator would cause the system to update the exiting prompt to reflect the search intent associated with the newly selected intent indicator. Accordingly, the system updates the prompt to reflect the refined search intent, dynamically generating a more targeted query that will be used to solicit detailed and relevant responses from the AI-based search assistant. This operation exemplifies the interactive nature of the prompt builder, allowing the user to seamlessly narrow down the scope of their search to match their specific interests and requirements" (Badjatiya Par. 0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the document generating system of Chen, Dhindsa, and Edwards with determining a proposal strategy based on the plurality of digital strategy objects and on a system-implemented proposal management methodology and set of instructions for generating a first set of non-user generated prompts and refining the proposal strategy based on first outputs responsive to the first set of non-user generated prompts of Badjatiya to save time but also makes information more accessible to users who may not have the expertise or inclination to conduct extensive research (Badjatiya Par. 0018).
The combination of Chen, Dhindsa, Edwards, and Badjatiya disclose a proposal strategy based on a plurality of digital data objects and refinement of user-generated prompts. The combination of Chen, Dhindsa, Edwards, and Badjatiya fail to disclose wherein the refining comprises iteratively adjusting the proposal strategy based on successive outputs from the LLM until a target alignment threshold is met. Madisetti discloses improving the performance of LLMs. Madisetti further discloses, wherein the refining comprises iteratively adjusting the proposal strategy based on successive outputs from the LLM until a target alignment threshold is met. "If the decision is to continue the iteration, the process moves to step 3618, where the top K of the ranked blocks/chunks are selected, where K is a configurable parameter, typically between 10 to 50%. This selection process ensures that only the most relevant and coherent content is carried forward to the next iteration. The selected blocks/chunks then undergo a clustering operation at step 3618. This step groups related content together, further refining the organization of the information based on semantic similarities. At step 3622, new batches are formed from these clustered blocks, creating a more focused and refined set of inputs for the next iteration. These new batches are then fed back into the LLM processing stage 3610, beginning the next iteration cycle. The iterative process 3608 continues until the termination criteria are met, at which point the process concludes, outputting the final condensed version of the document 3616. This output represents a distilled version of the original long document, containing the most relevant and coherent information as determined by the iterative attention focusing process of the LASER system" (Madisetti Col. 22 Line 59 -Col. 23 Line 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the document generating system of Chen, Dhindsa, Edwards, and Badjatiya with the refinement comprising adjusting the proposal strategy based on successive outputs from the LLM until a target alignment threshold is met of Madisetti to gradually focus on the most relevant and coherent information (Madisetti Col. 23 Line 20-21).
Subject Matter Distinguishable from Prior Art
Regarding dependent claim 3 and 12, Badjatiya teaches determining an annotated proposal outline based on the refined proposal strategy, the annotated proposal outline aligning with the digital request objects and the refined proposal strategy, for generating a second set of non-user generated prompts (Par. 0090) and refining the annotated proposal outline based on second outputs responsive to the second set of non-user generated prompts (Par. 0091). The combination of Chen, Dhindsa, Edwards, Badjatiya, and Madisetti fails to disclose the annotated proposal outline comprising a plurality of sections, each section being tagged with one or more of the digital request objects and one or more of the digital strategy objects. It would have been non obvious at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the annotated proposal outline comprising a plurality of sections being tagged with one or more of the digital request object and one or more of the digital strategy objects, in combination with the rest of the claim limitations. Dependent claims 4-8 and 13-17 would also be allowable over prior art due to their dependencies on claim 3 and claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/16/2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 101, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amended independent claims recite a specific manner of generating a digital response document, and not merely the result of doing so by constructing sets of non-user generated prompts. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims are using the large language model with non-user generated prompts as a tool to perform the abstract idea. The Applicant has not identified any specific technological mechanism for how the large language model is performed that would distinguish it from outputting data using generic computing components (apply it). The claim recites the desired result without specifying a technical improvement.
The Applicant further argues that the amended claims are not fairly characterized as reciting a method of human activity, and that a person does not construct sets of prompts by programmatically combining instruction-defined template fragments, syntactic rules, or phrase scaffolds with variables that reference respective digital strategy objects, input those constructed prompt sets into a large language model, and receive a respective output for each set, further arguing that the operations are not a commercial or legal interaction, an agreement, or a marketing or sales activity. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) states that a claimed invention is directed to certain methods of organizing human activity if the identified claim elements contain limitations that encompass fundamental economic principles or practices, commercial or legal interactions, or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The Examiner submits that the identified claim elements represent commercial or legal interactions that a person or persons, with or without the aid of a computer, would follow to access a database to retrieve a plurality of knowledge objects representing organizational knowledge, receiving a plurality of request objects, generating a proposal framework including a plurality of strategy objects being based on the knowledge objects and request objects, and generating a response document based on the strategy objects and iterative interactions. Because the claim elements fall under commercial or legal interactions that a person or persons would follow to create a formal solicitation [Par. 0003-0004], the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea.
The Applicant further argues that even if the claims were found to recite an abstract idea that is not integrated into a practical application, they recite significantly more because the recited construction of prompts is not well-understood, routine, or conventional activity. The rejection does not rely on an assertion that the additional elements are well-understood, routine, or conventional. MPEP 2106.05(d) states, "If the additional element (or combination of elements) is a specific limitation other than what is well- understood, routine and conventional in the field, for instance because it is an unconventional step that confines the claim to a particular useful application of the judicial exception, then this consideration favors eligibility. If, however, the additional element (or combination of elements) is no more than well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, which is recited at a high level of generality, then this consideration does not favor eligibility." Since the rejection does not rely on this consideration to show that the claims are ineligible, the applicant's arguments are not persuasive because the consideration is based on the additional elements and it overlaps with the improvement consideration (MPEP 2106.05(a), and mere instructions to apply an exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The Applicant further argues that the dependent claims reinforce eligibility. Further arguing that Claims 2 and 11 are based the prompt-construction operations and is refined by “iteratively adjusting the proposal strategy based on successive outputs from the LLM until a target alignment threshold is met”, and is not the mere invocation of a tool. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Iterative adjustments from the LLM do not reflect an improvement to technology used to process the data, but rather use the LLM as a tool to perform the abstract analysis of iteratively adjusting the proposal strategy. Therefore the claim does not recite significantly more.
The Applicant further argues that Claims 3 and 12 build on the refined strategy by reciting an annotated proposal outline “comprising a plurality of sections, each section being tagged with one or more of the digital request objects and one or more of the digital strategy objects”, here driving the generation of section-specific prompts. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim does not recite any technical improvement in large language models. The claim is generating prompts based on annotated and categorized data. Therefore the claim does not recite significantly more. None of the applicant's arguments over 35 U.S.C. 101 are persuasive and claims 1-20 remain rejected for being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Applicant's arguments filed 09/16/2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection has been updated above in light of the amendments therefore making the arguments presented moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/SANGEETA BAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626