DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
Amendments change scope and boundaries of previous claim set, thereby necessitating a new grounds.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to below claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9, 15-16, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rawlinson (CN 104648267 B) in view of Xing (CN 105895042 A).
With respect to claim 1, Rawlinson discloses: a method for operating a display system (Rawlinson: figs. 1-4, 8-15, & 17-18, disclosed in ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0039], ¶ [0041]- ¶ [0053]; please note, the seat, display, all the circuitry, and connecting rods/linkage system = claimed display system), the method comprising:
moving a user using a moving device comprising a moving unit configured to support the user (Rawlinson: figs. 1-4, 8-15, & 17-18, disclosed in ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0039], ¶ [0041]- ¶ [0053]; please note, the seat = claimed moving device, that includes the rods/linkages with respect to the display = claimed moving unit);
determining a viewing angle of the user based on movement information of the moving unit; obtaining one of compensation parameters corresponding to the viewing angle from a memory of the display system; and generating compensation data for a display device based on the one of the compensation parameters (Rawlinson: figs. 1-4, 8-15, & 17-18, memory 817, disclosed in ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0039], ¶ [0041]- ¶ [0053]; please note, compensation values are respectfully based on user’s sitting position, and modifies display image position to be in a viewable position).
Rawlinson fails to disclose: wherein the compensation parameters include values for correcting a color deflection pattern visible in an image displayed by the display device, the values including offset values or gamma correction values for adjusting luminance of light emitted by a sub-pixel of the display device.
However, Xing discloses: wherein the compensation parameters include values for correcting a color deflection pattern visible in an image displayed by the display device, the values including offset values or gamma correction values for adjusting luminance of light emitted by a sub-pixel of the display device (Xing: figs. 3-4, disclosed in abstract & ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0045]).
Xing and Rawlinson are considered to be analogous art because both are in the same field of endeavor related to liquid crystal displays (LCDs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the display system, as taught by Rawlinson, to include: wherein the compensation parameters include values for correcting a color deflection pattern visible in an image displayed by the display device, the values including offset values or gamma correction values for adjusting luminance of light emitted by a sub-pixel of the display device, as taught by Xing, in order to improve offset color (Xing: abstract).
With respect to claim 7, Rawlinson in combination above discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising: outputting an image through the display device based on the compensation data; receiving sub-viewing angle data regarding a changed viewing angle that is different from the viewing angle; determining a second one of the compensation parameters corresponding to the changed viewing angle; and generating second compensation data based on the second one of the compensation parameters (Rawlinson: figs. 1-4, 8-15, & 17-18, memory 817, disclosed in ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0039], ¶ [0041]- ¶ [0053]; please note, compensation values are respectfully based on user’s sitting position, and modifies display image position to be in a viewable position; additionally, please note, figs. 11-12 with respect to changing a sub-viewing horizontal viewing angle).
With respect to claim 9, Rawlinson discloses: a display system (Rawlinson: figs. 1-4, 8-15, & 17-18, disclosed in ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0039], ¶ [0041]- ¶ [0053]; please note, the seat, display, all the circuitry, and connecting rods/linkage system = claimed display system) comprising:
a display device for outputting an image based on compensation data; a moving device comprising a moving unit configured to support a user of the display device and to move the user (Rawlinson: figs. 1-4, 8-15, & 17-18, disclosed in ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0039], ¶ [0041]- ¶ [0053]; please note, display device 101, the seat = claimed moving device, that includes the rods/linkages with respect to the display = claimed moving unit; additionally, please note, display image position is modified to be in a viewable position); and
a compensating device configured to provide the compensation data to the display device, and comprising: a memory configured to store compensation parameters respectively corresponding to viewing angles; and a compensation data generator configured to determine a viewing angle of the user based on movement information of the moving unit, to obtain one of the compensation parameters corresponding to the viewing angle from the memory, and to generate the compensation data based on the one of the compensation parameters (Rawlinson: figs. 1-4, 8-15, & 17-18, memory 817 & compensation data generator 805, disclosed in ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0039], ¶ [0041]- ¶ [0053]; please note, compensation values are respectfully based on user’s sitting position, and modifies display image position to be in a viewable position).
Rawlinson fails to disclose: wherein the compensation parameters include values for correcting a color deflection pattern visible in an image displayed by the display device, the values including offset values or gamma correction values for adjusting luminance of light emitted by a sub-pixel of the display device.
However, Xing discloses: wherein the compensation parameters include values for correcting a color deflection pattern visible in an image displayed by the display device, the values including offset values or gamma correction values for adjusting luminance of light emitted by a sub-pixel of the display device (Xing: figs. 3-4, disclosed in abstract & ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0045]).
Xing and Rawlinson are considered to be analogous art because both are in the same field of endeavor related to liquid crystal displays (LCDs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the display system, as taught by Rawlinson, to include: wherein the compensation parameters include values for correcting a color deflection pattern visible in an image displayed by the display device, the values including offset values or gamma correction values for adjusting luminance of light emitted by a sub-pixel of the display device, as taught by Xing, in order to improve offset color (Xing: abstract).
With respect to claim 15, Rawlinson in combination above discloses: the display system of claim 9, wherein the display device is implemented as a vehicle display device (Rawlinson: figs. 1-4, 8-15, & 17-18, disclosed in ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0039], ¶ [0041]- ¶ [0053]; please note, title).
With respect to claim 16, Rawlinson discloses: an electronic device (Rawlinson: figs. 1-4, 8-15, & 17-18, disclosed in ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0039], ¶ [0041]- ¶ [0053]; please note, the seat, display, all the circuitry, and connecting rods/linkage system = claimed electronic device) comprising:
a processor (Rawlinson: figs. 1-4, 8-15, & 17-18, processor 805, disclosed in ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0039], ¶ [0041]- ¶ [0053]);
a display device configured to display an image according to a control of the processor; and a moving device comprising a moving unit configured to support a user of the display device and to move the user (Rawlinson: figs. 1-4, 8-15, & 17-18, disclosed in ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0039], ¶ [0041]- ¶ [0053]; please note, display device 101, the seat = claimed moving device, that includes the rods/linkages with respect to the display = claimed moving unit; additionally, please note, display image position is modified to be in a viewable position),
wherein the processor: comprises a memory configured to store compensation parameters respectively corresponding to viewing angles; is configured to determine a viewing angle of the user based on movement information of the moving unit; is configured to obtain one of the compensation parameters corresponding to the viewing angle from the memory; is configured to generate compensation data based on the one of the compensation parameters; and is configured to provide the generated compensation data to the display device (Rawlinson: figs. 1-4, 8-15, & 17-18, memory 817 & processor 805, disclosed in ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0039], ¶ [0041]- ¶ [0053]; please note, compensation values are respectfully based on user’s sitting position, and modifies display image position to be in a viewable position).
Rawlinson fails to disclose: wherein the compensation parameters include values for correcting a color deflection pattern visible in an image displayed by the display device, the values including offset values or gamma correction values for adjusting luminance of light emitted by a sub-pixel of the display device.
However, Xing discloses: wherein the compensation parameters include values for correcting a color deflection pattern visible in an image displayed by the display device, the values including offset values or gamma correction values for adjusting luminance of light emitted by a sub-pixel of the display device (Xing: figs. 3-4, disclosed in abstract & ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0045]).
Xing and Rawlinson are considered to be analogous art because both are in the same field of endeavor related to liquid crystal displays (LCDs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the display system, as taught by Rawlinson, to include: wherein the compensation parameters include values for correcting a color deflection pattern visible in an image displayed by the display device, the values including offset values or gamma correction values for adjusting luminance of light emitted by a sub-pixel of the display device, as taught by Xing, in order to improve offset color (Xing: abstract).
With respect to claim 20, Rawlinson in combination above discloses: the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to: output the image through the display device based on the compensation data; receive sub-viewing angle data regarding a changed viewing angle that is different from the viewing angle; determine a second one of the compensation parameters corresponding to the changed viewing angle; and generate second compensation data based on the second one of the compensation parameters (Rawlinson: figs. 1-4, 8-15, & 17-18, memory 817, disclosed in ¶ [0035]- ¶ [0039], ¶ [0041]- ¶ [0053]; please note, compensation values are respectfully based on user’s sitting position, and modifies display image position to be in a viewable position; additionally, please note, figs. 11-12 with respect to changing a sub-viewing horizontal viewing angle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rawlinson in combination above in view of Ma (CN 115431890 A).
With respect to claim 6, Rawlinson in combination above discloses: the method of claim 1, but fails to disclose: wherein the determining the viewing angle comprises: capturing an image of an eye of the user; generating visual sensing data based on the image; and determining the viewing angle based on the visual sensing data.
However, Ma discloses: wherein the determining the viewing angle comprises: capturing an image of an eye of the user; generating visual sensing data based on the image; and determining the viewing angle based on the visual sensing data (Ma: fig. 1, element 101, disclosed in ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0047], ¶ [0055]- ¶ [0056], & claims 1, 5, & 6).
Ma and Rawlinson in combination above are considered to be analogous art because both are in the same field of endeavor related to display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method for operating the display system of claim 1, as taught by Rawlinson, to include a camera and additional functionality/compensation data that respectfully provides - wherein the determining the viewing angle comprises: capturing an image of an eye of the user; generating visual sensing data based on the image; and determining the viewing angle based on the visual sensing data, as taught by Ma, in order to improve sensing quality of the passenger (Ma: ¶ [0028]).
With respect to claim 14, Rawlinson in combination above discloses: the display system of claim 9, but fails to disclose: wherein the display device comprises a camera configured to capture an image of an eye of the user, and wherein the compensating device is configured to generate visual sensing data based on the image, and to determine the viewing angle based on the visual sensing data.
However, Ma discloses: wherein the display device comprises a camera configured to capture an image of an eye of the user, and wherein the compensating device is configured to generate visual sensing data based on the image, and to determine the viewing angle based on the visual sensing data (Ma: fig. 1, element 101, disclosed in ¶ [0045]- ¶ [0047], ¶ [0055]- ¶ [0056], & claims 1, 5, & 6).
Ma and Rawlinson in combination above are considered to be analogous art because both are in the same field of endeavor related to display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the display system of claim 9, as taught by Rawlinson, to include a camera and additional functionality/compensation data that respectfully provides - wherein the display device comprises a camera configured to capture an image of an eye of the user, and wherein the compensating device is configured to generate visual sensing data based on the image, and to determine the viewing angle based on the visual sensing data, as taught by Ma, in order to improve sensing quality of the passenger (Ma: ¶ [0028]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 8, 10-13, & 17-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Duane N. Taylor Jr.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2626
/DUANE N TAYLOR JR/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626