Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/20/2026 and 06/02/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-8, 11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO et al. (US 2020/0225522) hereinafter “GAO” in view of KWON et al. (US 2025/0221284) hereinafter “KWON”.
As per claim 1, GAO discloses a display integration equipment, comprising:
a display device (paragraph 0048), comprising: a plurality of display modules (FIG. 1) comprising a liquid crystal layer (FIG. 4, bistable liquid crystal layer 1121);
a controller signally connected to the display device, and the controller configured to control the display device to display an image data (paragraph 0020, Since the electrochromic member 112 can be controlled, for example by a processor or processing circuit, to switch between the light transmitting state and the auxiliary display state, when the electrochromic member 112 is in the light transmitting state, the electrochromic member 112 may have a transparent color, and the front camera 12 may cooperate with the electrochromic member 112 to obtain the lights to achieve the photographing function; see also paragraph 0019); and
at least one camera device (FIG. 1, front camera 12) disposed…away from the display modules (see FIG. 1), and the at least one camera device configured to capture an image through the display device (paragraph 0027, When a user needs to use the front camera 12, the electrochromic encapsulation glass is powered off and becomes transparent, such that the front camera 12 can obtain lights through the light transmitting hole 1111 to complete the photographing function).
However, GAO does not explicitly disclose a light absorption module disposed on a side of the display modules; at least one camera device disposed on a side of the light absorption module, the at least one camera device signally connected to the controller.
In the same field of endeavor, KWON discloses a light absorption module disposed on a side of the display modules (FIG. 6, light-blocking layer 300; paragraph 0105, The light-blocking layer 300 may include a light-blocking material that can selectively absorb light in the visible wavelength range (380 to 780 nm) by absorbing or reflecting it and transmit light in the infrared wavelength range (780 nm or more)); at least one camera device disposed on a side of the light absorption module (see FIG. 6), the at least one camera device signally connected to the controller (paragraph 0092, The main circuit board MP may be electrically connected to the display panel 100 through the flexible printed circuit board FPCB and may send/receive signals to/from the driver chip IC. The main circuit board MP may provide image data, control signals, supply voltage, etc. to the display panel 100 or the flexible circuit board FPCB).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by GAO, with those of KWON, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed both references are related to a display assembly that can show images while also letting a camera look through the display, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result. This rationale applies to all combination of GAO and KWON used in this Office Action unless otherwise noted.
As per claim 3, GAO and KWON disclose the display integration equipment of claim 1, wherein the at least one camera device is disposed on at least one through hole of the light absorption module (see FIG. 1 of GAO and FIG. 6 of KWON).
As per claim 5, GAO discloses wherein each of the display modules further comprises: two transparent conductive layers disposed on two surfaces of the liquid crystal layer, respectively; and two protective layers disposed on two surfaces of the two transparent conductive layers away from the liquid crystal layer, respectively (FIG. 4; paragraphs 0024 and 0026, the electrochromic member 112 includes a bistable liquid crystal layer 1121 and a transparent conductive film layer 1122 arranged on each side of the bistable liquid crystal layer 1121…a protective layer 1123 may be arranged on a side of the transparent conductive film layer 1122 facing away from the bistable liquid crystal layer 1121).
As per claim 6, KWON discloses wherein the light absorption module comprises: a light absorption layer configured to absorb a visible light through the display modules; wherein the light absorption layer is made of an infrared penetrable material (FIG. 6, light-blocking layer 300; paragraph 0105, The light-blocking layer 300 may include a light-blocking material that can selectively absorb light in the visible wavelength range (380 to 780 nm) by absorbing or reflecting it and transmit light in the infrared wavelength range (780 nm or more)).
As per claim 7, GAO discloses wherein the display modules are stacked, and the display modules are configured to display different colors, respectively (FIG. 1 and paragraphs 0019-0021).
As per claim 8, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 1 are applicable for claim 8; in addition, GAO discloses a liquid crystal layer comprising a plurality of pixels (paragraph 0024).
As per claim 11, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 3 are applicable for claim 11.
As per claims 13-14, arguments analogous to those applied for claims 5-6 are applicable for claims 13-14.
7. Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO et al. (US 2020/0225522) in view of KWON et al. (US 2025/0221284) in further view of FU et al. (US 2021/0160414) hereinafter “FU”.
As per claim 2, GAO and KWAN disclose the display integration equipment of claim 1; however, GAO or KWAN do not explicitly disclose wherein a transmittance of each of the display modules at an infrared wavelength range is larger than 15%.
In the same field of endeavor, FU discloses wherein a transmittance of each of the display modules at an infrared wavelength range is larger than 15% (paragraph 0018).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by GAO and KWON, with those of FU, because all references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed all references are related to a display assembly that can show images while also letting a camera look through the display, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result.
As per claim 10, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 2 are applicable for claim 10.
8. Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO et al. (US 2020/0225522) in view of KWON et al. (US 2025/0221284) in further view of Won et al. (US 2025/0138356) hereinafter “Won”.
As per claim 4, GAO and KWON disclose the display integration equipment of claim 1, wherein… the display device is a cholesteric liquid crystal display (the bistable liquid crystal layer 1121 of GAO); however, GAO or KWON do not explicitly disclose wherein the camera device is an infrared camera.
In the same field of endeavor, Won discloses wherein the camera device is an infrared camera (FIG. 9; paragraphs 0038 and 0045).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by GAO and KWON, with those of Won, because all references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed all references are related to a display assembly that can show images while also letting a camera look through the display, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result.
As per claim 12, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 4 are applicable for claim 12.
9. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO et al. (US 2020/0225522) in view of KWON et al. (US 2025/0221284) in further view of Doane et al. (US 2007/0152928) hereinafter “Doane”.
As per claim 9, GAO and KWON disclose the display integration equipment of claim 8; however, GAO or KWON do not explicitly disclose wherein the pixels comprise: a plurality of first pixels disposed at intervals; a plurality of second pixels disposed at intervals; and a plurality of third pixels disposed at intervals; wherein the first pixels, the second pixels and the third pixels are parallel disposed in sequence and configured to display different colors, respectively.
In the same field of endeavor, Doane discloses wherein the pixels comprise: a plurality of first pixels disposed at intervals; a plurality of second pixels disposed at intervals; and a plurality of third pixels disposed at intervals; wherein the first pixels, the second pixels and the third pixels are parallel disposed in sequence and configured to display different colors, respectively (see FIGs. 14, 15a, and 15b; paragraphs 0123-0124 and 0126).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bistable liquid crystal layer of GAO in view of Doane, by using a three layer RGB (red, green, blue) stack; thus, allowing the entire area of the display to be used as a reflection surface and making maximum use of available light for brightness (Doane; paragraphs 0011 and 0023).
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (US-20130241890-A1, US-20180079370-A1, US-20210408148-A1, US-20210202878-A1, US-20210405432-A1, US-20210405446-A1, US-20210223607-A1, US-20200192142-A1, US-20200166789-A1, US-20230341600-A1, US-20220141363-A1, US-20210151425-A1, US-20200292882-A1, US-20200052028-A1, CN-112346270-B, CN-112462549-B, KR-20240073840-A, RU-2814462-C2, CN-113945950-B, CN-112531127-B, CN-114488647-B, WO-2021227775-A1)
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED JEBARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482