DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1–4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taniguchi (US Pub. # 20220171312).
Regarding claim 1, Taniguchi teaches, “An image forming apparatus (Fig. 1, 2, 3) comprising: an image forming portion (between ref. # 8 and 9) that forms an image on a recording medium (P); a sheet feeding portion (12) that feeds the recording medium to the image forming portion; a discharge portion (18) that discharges the recording medium having the image formed thereon in the image forming portion; a sheet conveyance passage (area between 12, 8/9, 18) that connects together the image forming portion, the sheet feeding portion, and the discharge portion; a branch conveyance passage (area into 21 branching away from area between 12, 8/9, and 18) that branches off the sheet conveyance passage; a conveyance guide (35) that forms part of a conveyance surface of the sheet conveyance passage at an intersection between the sheet conveyance passage and the branch conveyance passage (35 forms part of a conveyance surface at an intersection between 12, 8/9, 18 and area into 21; see para. [0024–0033]); and a pair of assist rollers (13a, 13b) that conveys the recording medium along the sheet conveyance passage, wherein the conveyance guide (35) is supported so as to be swingable about a swing axis (35a) in a direction in which the conveyance guide retracts from the conveyance surface of the sheet conveyance passage, and one (13a on 35; see Fig. 3 of the pair of assist rollers is fixed to a shaft (13a on shaft, ref. # not labeled) extending parallel to the swing axis (13a and 35a extend parallel to each other; see Fig. 2, 3) and is rotatably supported on the conveyance guide (13a rotatably supported on 35).”
Regarding claim 2, Taniguchi teaches, “wherein the shaft extends over an entire width of the conveyance guide along an axial direction of the swing axis (see Fig. 3; shaft holding 13a, extending over entire width of 35 along axial direction of 35a).”
Regarding claim 3, Taniguchi teaches, “wherein one of the pair of assist rollers is located in a middle part of the conveyance guide along an axial direction of the swing axis (see Fig. 3, ref. # 13a in middle of 35 along axial direction of 35a).”
Regarding claim 4, Taniguchi teaches, “wherein the swing axis and a center of gravity of the conveyance guide are set so as to produce a moment that makes the conveyance guide swing under an own weight thereof in a direction in which the conveyance guide retracts from the conveyance surface of the sheet conveyance passage (35a and cog of 35 are set to produce a moment that makes 35 swing under its own weight in a direction in which 35 retracts; see Fig. 2, 3 and para. [0027–0033]).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi (US Pub. # 20220171312) in view of Tokunaga et al. (CN 102023535 A), hereinafter referred to as Tokunaga.
Regarding claim 5, Taniguchi does not appear to teach, “wherein in a section orthogonal to the swing axis, rotary shafts of the pair of assist rollers and the swing axis are aligned on a straight line.” However, Tokunaga teaches rotary shafts of a pair of assist rollers (Fig. 2, 3; interpreted here as shafts of ref. # 5D in contact with roller 71) and a swing axis (722 of 72) aligned on a straight line (see positioning of 5D, 71, 722 and shafts thereof in Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Taniguchi’s invention to include wherein in a section orthogonal to the swing axis, rotary shafts of the pair of assist rollers and the swing axis are aligned on a straight line.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Taniguchi’s invention for at least the purpose of ensuring adequate and proper pressure between conveyance members when pressed against each other, while allowing ease of separation when clearing a paper jam or for maintenance purposes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO–892 form. The references cited herewith teach image forming apparatuses with conveyance members having configurations similar to the present application.
/RYAN D WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852