DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 09/29/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 2 and 14 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-13, and 15 are still pending in this application, with claims 1 being independent.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: claims 6-8 recite "an opaque layer" and "the opaque layer", while the specification describes only an "opaque component" (16, paragraphs 0009, 0011, 0012, and 0044).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the diffusing structure arranged on the exit surface of the transparent component together with the opaque layer arranged on a side of the diffusing structure facing away from the exit surface (claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Fig. 3 shows the diffusing structure 11 on the exit surface 14 covered by the reflective layer 15, and Fig. 5 shows the opaque component 16 with the diffusing structure 11 on the entry surface 13. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubosc (US 2016/0245475 A1 Hereinafter Dubosc) in view of Moynier et al. (WO 2016/110623 A1 Hereinafter Moynier).
Regarding claim 1, Dubosc teaches a lighting device (1, Figs. 1 and 2, paragraphs 0057 and 0058) for the rear of a motor vehicle (V, paragraph 0058), comprising:
a first light source (4, Fig. 3A, paragraph 0068) and a second light source (9 and or auxiliary light soruces Fig. 7A, paragraph 0082-0085);
a housing (21, Fig. 2, paragraphs 0061 and 0080) on or in which the first light source and the second light source are arranged (paragraphs 0068, 0080, and 0085);
a cover panel (18, Figs. 2 and 3A, paragraph 0062) joined to the housing, the cover panel being at least partially transparent (paragraph 0073) and having a first exit surface (8, Fig. 3B, paragraph 0072) for light (6 and 7, Fig. 3A) emitted downward by the first light source and a second exit surface (20, Fig. 7A, paragraph 0085) for light emitted rearward by the second light source, wherein, in an installed state (Figs. 1 and 2, paragraphs 0057 and 0058) of the lighting device, the light emitted by the first light source emerges at least partially downward (Fig. 3A, paragraphs 0072 and 0076) from the housing through the first exit surface of the cover panel, and the light emitted by the second light source emerges at least partially rearward (Fig. 7A, paragraph 0085, specifically propagated directly toward the outside space without being reflected on the reflecting zone 3) from the housing through the second exit surface of the cover panel; and
a reflection device (3, Figs. 3A and 5, paragraphs 0063 and 0076) outside of the housing, such that the light emitted downward from the housing through the first exit surface strikes the reflection device and is at least partially reflected by the reflection device and propagates away (Fig. 3A, paragraph 0076) from the motor vehicle;
wherein the light emitted by the first light source, after emerging downward from the housing through the first exit surface of the cover panel and being reflected rearward by the reflection device, generates a taillight function (paragraph 0058, specifically signaling the position of the vehicle V from the rear face RF) in at least a central section (Figs. 5 and 7B, paragraph 0022) of the lighting device, and wherein the light emitted by the second light source, after emerging rearward (Fig. 7A, paragraph 0085) from the housing through the second exit surface of the cover panel,
Dubosc fails to teach generates a brake light function in a lateral edge section of the lighting device.
However, Moynier teaches a lighting device (100, Fig. 2, paragraphs 0038 and 0039) for the rear of a motor vehicle (V, Figs. 3 and 4, paragraphs 0038 and 0050). Moynier also teaches a first light source (40, Fig. 2, paragraph 0043) and a second light source (60, Fig. 2, paragraph 0042);
a housing (70, Fig. 2, paragraph 0039) on or in which the first light source and the second light source are arranged;
a cover panel (30, 51, 70, 71, and 73; Fig. 2) joined to the housing, the cover panel being at least partially transparent and have a first exit surface (30, Fig. 2, paragraph 0044, specifically the at least partially transparent face 30 of the bottom 73 of the housing) for light (F40, Fig. 2, paragraph 0043) emitted downward by the first light source, and a second exit surface (71, Fig. 2) for light emitted rearward by the second light source, wherein, in an installed state of the lighting device, the light emitted by the first light source emerges at least partially downward from the housing through the first exit surface of the cover panel, and the light emitted by the second light source emerges at least partially rearward from the housing through the second exit surface of the cover panel (Fig. 2); and
a reflection device (SR, Fig. 2, paragraph 0043, specifically the reflecting surface SR of the extension portion 50) outside of the housing, such that the light emitted downward from the housing through the first exit surface strikes the reflection device and is at least partially reflected (paragraphs 0043, 0044, and 0051) by the reflection device and propagates away from the motor vehicle;
wherein the light emitted by the second light source, after emerging rearward from the housing through the second exit surface (71, Fig. 2, paragraphs 0041 and 0042) of the cover panel, generates a brake light function (paragraph 0042, specifically a stop light function) in a lateral edge section (FAG, Figs. 3 and 4, paragraphs 0038 and 0050, specifically the left rear light on the left rear wing of the vehicle V) of the lighting device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the brake light function in a lateral edge section of Moynier to the device of Dubosc, in order to give the same housing a directly emitted stop signal at the rear corner of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 3, Dubosc teaches wherein the reflection device (3, Fig. 3A, paragraph 0063) has a diffusing structure (paragraphs 0017 and 0065, specifically a reflecting material having reflection properties of diffuse type).
Regarding claim 4, Dubosc teaches wherein the reflection device (3, Fig. 3A, paragraph 0063) has a transparent component (paragraphs 0018 and 0064) which has an entry surface (paragraph 0065) for light (6 and 7, Fig. 3A, paragraph 0076) emitted through the cover panel (18, Fig. 3A, paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 5, Dubosc teaches wherein a diffusing structure (paragraph 0017, specifically reflecting material of diffuse type) is arranged on the entry surface (paragraph 0065) of the transparent component (paragraphs 0018 and 0064) or on an exit surface (paragraph 0065) of the transparent component.
Regarding claim 6, Dubosc teaches wherein the reflection device (3, Fig. 3A, paragraph 0063) has a reflective layer (paragraph 0065, specifically a thin aluminum layer vacuum-deposited on the wall) or an opaque layer (paragraphs 0023 and 0065, specifically a reflection rate of at least 30%) which at least partially reflects incident light.
Regarding claim 7, Dubosc teaches wherein the reflective layer (paragraph 0065) or the opaque layer (paragraphs 0023 and 0065) is arranged on an exit surface (paragraph 0065, specifically deposited on the inner surface of the outer wall) of the transparent component (paragraphs 0018 and 0064).
Regarding claim 9, Dubosc teaches wherein the reflective layer (paragraph 0065) is arranged on the transparent component (paragraphs 0018, 0064, and 0065).
Regarding claim 10, Dubosc teaches a first reflector (paragraph 0072, specifically a set of mirrors in the interior of the protuberance 2) in the housing (21, Fig. 2, paragraph 0061), wherein the light emitted by the first light source (4, Fig. 3A, paragraph 0068) is at least partially reflected by the first reflector onto the first exit surface (8, Fig. 3B, paragraph 0072, specifically the set of mirrors focusing the light beams on the light output surface 8).
Regarding claim 11, Dubosc fails to teach a second reflector in the housing, wherein the light emitted by the second light source is at least partially reflected by the second reflector onto the second exit surface.
However, Moynier further teaches a second reflector (60, Fig. 2, paragraph 0042, specifically the parabolic reflector at the center of which the bulb of the light source 60 is positioned) in the housing (70, Fig. 2, paragraph 0042), wherein the light emitted by the second light source (60, Fig. 2, paragraph 0042) is at least partially reflected by the second reflector onto the second exit surface (71, Fig. 2, paragraph 0042, specifically emitting the light beam F60 toward the glass 71).
Regarding claim 12, Dubosc teaches the second light source comprises two second light sources (Paragraphs 0082-0085, specifically it’s a plurality of LEDs);
the second exit surface comprises two second exit surfaces (the area of 20 which emits the light of each of the light sources), the two second exit surfaces being disposed in a lateral edge section of the rear of the motor vehicle (Figs. 4, 5, and 7).
Regarding claim 13, Dubosc teaches wherein the reflection device (3, Fig. 3A, paragraph 0063) extends over the entire width (paragraph 0022, specifically the reflecting zone extending over all the rear face of the utility vehicle) of the motor vehicle.
Regarding claim 15, Dubosc teaches wherein the reflection device (3, Fig. 3A, paragraphs 0063 and 0076) is disposed on an outside of the housing (21, Fig. 2, paragraphs 0061 and 0080) such that, in the installed state (1, Figs. 1 and 2, paragraphs 0057 and 0058), the reflection device (3, Fig. 3A) extends downwards below the first exit surface (8, Fig. 3A, paragraph 0072).
Dubosc fails to teach the reflection device forms an angle of between 30° and 80° with the first exit surface.
Examiner takes official notice in pointing out that it would be obvious to include having the reflection device of Dubosc form an angle of between 30 degrees and 80 degrees with the first exit surface in order to provide a desired reflection direction of the downward-emerging taillight toward the rear. Additionally, it is generally shown in Fig. 4B.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubosc (US 2016/0245475 A1 Hereinafter Dubosc) in view of Moynier et al. (WO 2016/110623 A1 Hereinafter Moynier) and Di Trapani (US 2017/0146218).
Regarding claim 8, Dubosc fails to teach the diffusing structure relative to both the transparent component and the reflection device at the same time.
Di Trapani teaches the diffusing structure (14, Fig. 14) is arranged on the exit surface (back surface of 98, Fig. 14, Paragraph 0113) of the transparent component opposite of the entry surface (the side of 98 with 20 passing into it, Fig. 14), wherein the reflection device (12, Fig. 14) has an opaque layer which at least partially reflects incident light, and wherein the opaque layer is arranged on a side of the diffusing structure facing away from the exit surface (Fig. 14, Paragraph 0113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have replaced the transparent and reflective surface of Dubosc with the transparent, diffuser, and reflective device of Di Trapani, in order to diffuse the light as desired for a given application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,3-13, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Johnson et al. (US 11,603,037 B1) teaches a vehicle applique lighting system whose hidden light source emits light vertically downward onto a reflector that extends past the lower side of the applique cover. Anderson (US 2017/0129386 A1) teaches a vehicle light assembly that sends a beam across a gap to a separate reflector assembly having a diffusive lens cover. Totani et al. (US 7,883,249 B2) teaches a rear combination lamp having a tail/stop lamp part above a turn lamp part in one thick light guide lens. Valcamp et al. (US 2006/0285348 A1) teaches a vehicular light assembly with a reflector that directs light of two lighting circuits through two regions of an outer lens. Chambers et al. (US 8,235,569 B2) teaches a vehicle light assembly with LEDs for brake, tail, and license plate functions on one printed circuit board.
Conclusion
/ERIC T EIDE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875