DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to amendment filed on 08/17/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 2017/0300736) in view of Pedder et al. (US 2018/0081441).
Regarding claim 1, Song discloses a display device (100, fig. 1, para. 0056) comprising:
a substrate (a rear surface or an entire area of the display 160, for example, in a form of a substrate or a sheet, para. 0058) comprising a top portion and a side portion extending from a side of the top portion (fig. 1, para. 0057, the electronic device 100 may be of an edge type in which at least one of side of the electronic device 100 gradually curves toward a periphery of the electronic device 100);
a display layer (165, fig. 3B, para. 0073) disposed on a surface of the substrate in the top portion and the side portion of the substrate;
a sensor electrode layer (the display panel 165 may include a touch panel. A signal circuit related to the driving of the touch panel may be disposed on the display panel extension 165_1, and the touch panel driving IC may be disposed in and integrated with the display driving module 160a 1) comprising sensor electrodes (1105, fig. 11A, para. 0161) and disposed on the display layer in the top portion of the substrate; and
an optical sensor (180, fig. 3B, para. 0086) disposed on an opposite surface of the substrate in the top portion of the substrate.
Song does not specifically disclose a sound generator disposed on an opposite surface of the substrate in the top portion of the substrate, wherein the sound generator outputs sound by vibrating the substrate.
In a similar field of endeavor of display device, Pedder discloses a sound generator (212, fig. 2A) disposed on an opposite surface of the substrate in the top portion of the substrate, wherein the sound generator outputs sound by vibrating the substrate (para. 0072).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sound generator as taught by Pedder in the system of Song in order to provide haptic feedback to a user.
6. Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song and Pedder in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0224963) and further in view of Chai et al. (US 2016/0328057).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Song and Pedder does not specifically disclose a conductive pattern disposed on the display layer in the side portion of the substrate.
In a similar field of endeavor of touch display device, Lee discloses a conductive pattern disposed on the display layer in the side portion of the substrate (the touch panel 123_a disposed in the side surface area A2, fig. 1B, para. 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the conductive pattern as taught by Lee in the system of Song in order to increase sensing area to the side surfaces of the electronic device, which provide users more convenient.
The combination of Song, Pedder and Lee does not specifically disclose the conductive pattern is an antenna.
In a similar field of endeavor of touch display device, Chai discloses conductive pattern is an antenna (para. 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the antenna as taught by Chai in the system of Song, Depper and Lee in order to provide high conductivity integrated together with the touch sensor in the touch panel display stack-up structure, which to be optimized for antenna performance but without significant visual impact.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Song, Pedder, Lee and Chai discloses a pressure sensor (121, figs. 3B) disposed on the opposite surface of the substrate in the side portion (A2) of the substrate (paras. 0049-0050 of Lee).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song, Pedder in view of Lee et al. and Chai and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2020/0154560).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Song, Pedder, Lee and Chai does not specifically disclose the pressure sensor comprises in a thickness direction of the substrate.
In a similar field of endeavor of touch display device, Chang discloses a pressure sensor (200, fig. 2) comprises:
a first base member (210) and a second base member (206) facing each other; a driving electrode and a sensing electrode disposed on the first base member (para. 0035); and
a ground potential layer (208) disposed on the second base member and overlapping the driving electrode and the sensing electrode in a thickness direction of the substrate (para. 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pressure sensor as taught by Chang in the system of Song, Pedder, Lee and Chai in order to allows for a thin pressure sensor that is accurate.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Song, Pedder, Lee and Chai discloses the pressure sensor (200, fig. 2 of Chang) comprises:
a first base member (210) and a second base member (206) facing each other; a driving electrode and a sensing electrode disposed on the first base member (para. 0035 of Chang); and
a pressure sensing layer (206) disposed on the second base member and overlapping the driving electrode and the sensing electrode in a thickness direction of the substrate, wherein the pressure sensing layer includes fine metal particles in a polymer resin (para. 0040 of Chang).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok (US 2018/0122863) in view of Yoon et al. (US 2019/0259351).
Regarding claim 7, Bok discloses a display device (DD1, figs. 13, 14A and 14B) comprising:
a display panel (DD-DA) comprising a first display area (NBA2), a second display area (NBA1), and a folding area (BA) disposed between the first display area and the second display area (paras. 0159-0160); and
an optical sensor (FPS corresponding to FPA on the display panel) disposed on a surface of the display panel (DD-DA, wherein
the first display area (NBA2) and the second display area (NBA1) overlap each other when the display panel is folded at the folding area (para. 0160), and
the optical sensor (FPS) is disposed in a sensor area FPA) of the first display area (NBA2).
Bok does not specifically disclose each of the first display area and the second display area comprises pin holes or transmissive areas which transmits light in the first display area and the second display area, and wherein the optical sensor comprises a light-receiving area overlapping the pin holes or the transmissive areas of the first display area and pin holes or transmissive areas of the second display area in a thickness direction of the display panel when the display panel is folded at the folding area.
In a similar field of endeavor of display device, Yoon discloses each of the first display area and the second display area comprises pin holes or transmissive areas (441a and 441b, fig. 4D) which transmits light in the first display area and the second display area (para. 0159), and
wherein the optical sensor (411b) comprises a light-receiving area overlapping the pin holes or the transmissive areas of the first display area and pin holes or transmissive areas of the second display area in a thickness direction of the display panel when the display panel is folded at the folding area (paras. 0155-0157).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transmissive areas as taught by Yoon in the system of Bok in order to allow light detecting in any opening as well as folding mode of the device.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok in view of Yoon et al. and further in view of Pedder.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Bok and Yoon does not specifically disclose the display device comprises a short axis in a first direction and a long axis in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and
wherein the optical sensor overlaps the sound generator in the second direction.
In a similar field of endeavor of display device, Pedder discloses the display device comprises a short axis in a first direction and a long axis in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and
wherein the optical sensor (222, 224) overlaps the sound generator (212) in the second direction (para. 0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the overlapping as taught by Pedder in the system of Bok and Yoon in order to save space and improve the appearance of the electronic device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on at least one reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629