DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonutti et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0142509 A1; hereinafter “Bonutti”) in view of JP 2005537856 A (hereinafter “the ‘856 reference”).
Bonutti teaches the following regarding claim 1: an expandable sheath for protecting a surface of a blood vessel from the introduction of a medical device within the blood vessel (para. 0081), the sheath comprising: an elongated inner member (204) (e.g., Figs. 33-43) movable between an unexpanded and an expanded configuration (paras. 0081-0082), the inner member including a first circumferential portion (portion of element 204 located closer to cylindrical elements 112, 114, as shown in Fig. 13) adjacent a proximal end of the inner member (e.g., Figs. 33-43) and a second circumferential portion (portion of element 204 located closer to the nose cone of elements 112, 114, as shown in Fig. 13) extending in a distal direction from the first circumferential portion (e.g., Figs. 33-43), the second circumferential portion is helically coiled around a longitudinal axis (central axis of element 204) of the inner member (e.g., Figs. 33-43) and forming a central lumen (central opening) therethrough, at least the second circumferential portion of the inner member including first (please see the example in annotated Figure A, below) and second (e.g., Figure A) longitudinal edges, where in the unexpanded configuration the first and second longitudinal edges overlap (e.g., Figure A), and movement of the inner member toward the expanded configuration causes an outer surface of an underlying portion (outer surfaces of the helical coil) of the inner member to slide along an inner surface of a corresponding overlying portion of the inner member and reduces the circumferential overlap of the first and second longitudinal edges (e.g., Figs. 33-43; paras. 0003-0006, 0081-0084); wherein a longitudinally extending edge (Figure A) of the first circumferential portion is offset from the first longitudinal edge of the second circumferential portion in a circumferential direction (Figure A); an outer member (sleeve/band) extending over the inner member (para. 0066); and a hub (112, 114) provided at a proximal end of the sheath (Fig. 13), where a proximal end of the inner member and outer member are coupled to the hub (Fig. 13).
Regarding claims 1 and 6-8, Bonutti teaches the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above. It does not explicitly recite that the sleeve/band outer member is elastomeric. The ‘856 reference teaches that it is well known in the art that an outer sheath member comprises a continuous cylindrical layer and an elastomeric material (Figs. 1-8; pgs. 2-3 of the provided translation), for the purpose of allowing the user to more easily insert devices into a patient by utilizing the material’s elasticity and physical properties to accommodate the vasculature and the other devices. The device is placed in a lumen formed by the elastomeric outer member, and positioned in contact with an inner surface of the lumen of the elastomeric outer member (Figs. 1-8). The elastomeric outer member exerts a compressive force onto the inner member to bias the inner member toward the unexpanded configuration (pgs. 2-4, when the device is in its contracted configuration, the physical presence of the outer member provides a compressive force). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the outer member of Bonutti to comprise an elastomer and have the claimed configuration, as taught by the ‘856 reference, in order to utilize the material’s elasticity and physical properties to accommodate the vasculature and the other inserted devices. In addition, it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, in the instant case, replacing one type of sheath material for another, is generally considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Figure A.
Bonutti teaches the following regarding claim 2: the sheath of claim 1, wherein, movement of the inner member between the unexpanded and expanded configurations, changes a circumferential spacing between the first and second longitudinal edges along at least a portion of a length of the inner member (e.g., Figs. 33-43; paras. 0081-0084, as the inner member expands, the first and second longitudinal edges unwind and move further apart, creating a larger circumferential spacing).
Bonutti teaches the following regarding claim 3: the sheath of claim 1, wherein an opening is formed along a portion of the inner member when the inner member is in the expanded configuration, the portion extends from a distal end of the inner member in a direction toward a proximal end of the inner member (para. 0098).
Bonutti teaches the following regarding claim 4: the sheath of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of an outer diameter of the inner member steadily decreases in a direction toward a distal end of the inner member (Figs. 33-43).
Bonutti teaches the following regarding claim 5: the sheath of claim 1, wherein the inner member is composed of a relatively stiff polymeric material such that the inner member is composed of a material having a greater stiffness than the outer member (para. 0068; and pgs. 2-3 of the ‘856 reference).
Bonutti teaches the following regarding claim 6: the sheath of claim 1, wherein the first circumferential portion is cylindrical (e.g., Figs. 20-24, 33-43).
Bonutti teaches the following regarding claim 7: the sheath of claim 1, wherein the inner member is positioned within a lumen formed by the elastomeric outer member, and positioned in contact with an inner surface of the lumen of the elastomeric outer member (para. 0066).
Bonutti teaches the following regarding claim 8: the sheath of claim 1, wherein the second circumferential portion is helically coiled in a single circumferential direction (e.g., Figs. 33-43).
Conclusion
/ANN HU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774