DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The amendment made to the specification, filed on 5/15/2026 is accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kick et al. (Pub. No.: US 2005/0222576 A1; hereinafter “Kick”).
Kick discloses the following regarding claim 1: an expandable sheath for protecting a surface of a blood vessel from the introduction of a medical device within the blood vessel, the sheath comprising: an elongated inner member (14) movable between an unexpanded (Figs. 1A-1B; para. 0035) and an expanded (Figs. 2A-2B; para. 0035) configuration, the inner member including a first circumferential portion (portion of element 14 located closer to the label for element 12) adjacent a proximal end of the inner member (Figs. 1A, 2A) and a second circumferential portion (portion of element 14 located closer to the label for element 30) extending in a distal direction from the first circumferential portion (Figs. 1A, 2A), the second circumferential portion is helically coiled (Figs. 1A-1B) around a longitudinal axis (central axis of element 14) of the inner member (Figs. 1A-1B) and forming a central lumen (30) therethrough, at least the second circumferential portion of the inner member including first (inner edge) and second (outer edge) longitudinal edges, where in the unexpanded configuration the first and second longitudinal edges overlap (Figs. 1A-1B), and movement of the inner member toward the unexpanded configuration causes an outer surface of an underlying portion (outer surfaces of the helical coil) of the inner member to slide along an inner surface of a corresponding overlying portion of the inner member and reduces the circumferential overlap of the first and second longitudinal edges (Figs. 1A-2B; paras. 0036-0038, 0047); an elastomeric outer member extending over the inner member (para. 0053); and a hub (12) provided at a proximal end of the sheath (Fig. 2A), where a proximal end of the inner member and outer member are coupled to the hub (Fig. 2A).
Kick discloses the following regarding claim 2: the sheath of claim 1, wherein, when the inner member is in the expanded configuration, a gap is formed between the first and second longitudinal edges along at least a portion of a length of the inner member (Figs. 2A-2B).
Kick discloses the following regarding claim 3: the sheath of claim 2, wherein the portion of the inner member extends from a distal end of the inner member in a direction toward a proximal end of the inner member (Figs. 1A, 2A).
Kick discloses the following regarding claim 4: the sheath of claim 1, wherein at least a portion of an outer diameter of the inner member steadily decreases in a direction toward a distal end of the inner member (Fig. 3B; para. 0065).
Kick discloses the following regarding claim 5: the sheath of claim 1, wherein the inner member is composed of a relatively stiff polymeric material such that the inner member is composed of a material having a greater stiffness than the outer member (paras. 0047, 0053).
Kick discloses the following regarding claim 6: the sheath of claim 1, wherein the elastomeric outer member forms a continuous cylindrical layer (Figs. 1A-2B; para. 0053), wherein the first circumferential portion is cylindrical (Figs. 1A-2B).
Kick discloses the following regarding claim 7: the sheath of claim 1, wherein the inner member is positioned within a lumen (formed by the outer-most portion of the sheath over element 14) formed by the elastomeric outer member, and positioned in contact with an inner surface of the lumen of the elastomeric outer member (para. 0053).
Kick discloses the following regarding claim 8: the sheath of claim 1, wherein the elastomeric outer member exerts a compressive force onto the inner member to bias the inner member toward the unexpanded configuration (para. 0053, when the device is in its contracted configuration, the physical presence of the outer member provides a compressive force), wherein the second circumferential portion is helically coiled in a single circumferential direction (Figs. 1A-1B; para. 0053).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANN HU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774