Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2022/0199884).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a graphene thermoelectric device comprising:
a substrate (201);
a graphene channel layer (303) formed on the substrate (201) (see fig. 6, para [0083]-[0088]) and including doped graphene (see abstract and para [0090]); and
a first electrode (301) and a second electrode (301) formed on both ends of the graphene channel layer (shown in fig. 6, see para [0088]-[0089]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses a graphene thermoelectric device of claim 1, wherein the graphene channel layer is obtained by doping half or full area of the graphene channel layer (shown in fig. 2 and 6, wherein in fig. 6 the entire channel is doped with one dopant) (see para [0083]-[0090]), which reads on selectively doping a full area of the graphene channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Chemically doped graphene based ternary field effect transistors).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses a graphene thermoelectric device of claim 1, wherein the graphene channel layer is doped n-type (see para [0083]-[0090]).
Wang does not disclose the doped n-type channel is doped with polyethyleneimine (PEI).
Kim is analogous art to Wang as Kim discloses doped graphene to form a p-n junction in electronics (see abstract). Kim discloses polyethyleneimine as an n-type dopant for graphene (see page 1, 2nd column, under Experimental Methods; also page 2, both columns, under Results and Discussion).
The Courts have held that it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select a known material (i.e., PEI), which is based upon its suitability for the intended use (as an n-type dopant for graphene), is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses a graphene thermoelectric device of claim 1, wherein the p-type thermoelectric channel (305) is a p-type organic polymer (see para [0091]).
Wang does not disclose wherein the p-type channel is a graphene channel layer doped with p-type polyacrylic acid (PAA). Wang does disclose graphene as a suitable thermoelectric material (see discussion of claims 1-3).
Kim is analogous art to Wang (see discussion claim 3). Kim discloses a p-type graphene channel doped with p-type polyacrylic acid (PAA) as the p-type leg of a p-n junction (see page 1, column 2, Experimental Method; also page 2, Results and Discussion).
The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute one known device (a p-type PAA doped graphene channel in a p-n junction with n-doped graphene) as taught by Kim) for another known device (i.e., a p-type organic polymer channel in a p-n junction with n-doped graphene as disclosed by Wang), wherein the result is predictable (i.e., a thermoelectric device as disclosed by Wang).
Alternatively, the Courts have held that it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select a known material (i.e., PEI as a graphene dopant as taught by Kim and graphene as a thermoelectric material as taught by Wang), which is based upon its suitability for the intended use (as a p-type doped graphene channel in a graphene p-n junction), is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. An et al. (Doping of graphene with polyethyleneimine and its effects on graphene- based supercapacitors).
JAYNE L. MERSHON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1721
/JAYNE L MERSHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721