DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to 08/20/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
This Office action is non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10-11, 13-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US Patent 10,332,446 B2), hereinafter Chen, in view of Kim et al. (US Patent 9,748,321), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a display device (see fig. 21) comprising: a substrate (substrate, e.g., 2110-see fig. 21); a driving transistor disposed on the substrate and comprising a polycrystalline semiconductor layer (T1 is a driving transistor (see fig. 3) implemented as a P-type low-temperature polysilicon (LTPS) transistor-see fig. 14 and [col. 3, ll. 35-41]); a first insulating layer disposed on the driving transistor (see fig. 14-insulation layer that covers gate electrode of the LTPS transistor); a compensation transistor disposed on the first insulating layer (third transistor T3 (see fig. 3) is a compensation transistor implemented as an N-type oxide semiconductor transistor disposed on the insulation layer covering the gate electrode of the LTPS transistor-see fig. 14), connected to the driving transistor (T3 is coupled to T1-see fig. 5), and comprising an oxide semiconductor layer (third transistor T3 comprise an oxide semiconductor layer-see fig. 14 and [col. 3, ll. 46-51]); a second insulating layer disposed on the compensation transistor (see fig. 14-at least one insulating layer is disposed on the oxide semiconductor); a driving voltage line (PLVDD or PLVSS-see fig. 3).
Chen does not appear to expressly disclose the driving voltage line disposed on the second insulating layer and configured to transmit a driving voltage; and a first light blocking member disposed in a same layer as the driving voltage line and overlapping the oxide semiconductor layer of the compensation transistor.
Kim, for example, in fig. 5 with description in [col. 15, ll. 18-40] teaches a third conductive layer L4 disposed on a first insulating layer 217 and may include a driving voltage line PL (driving voltage line) and a second light-shielding member 270 (light blocking member), wherein the light shielding member 270 overlaps a compensation active pattern A3 of a compensation TFT T3 (see fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim with the invention of Chen by including a light blocking member disposed in a same layer as a driving voltage line, as taught by Kim, in order to shield incident light from reaching a thin film transistor (TFT) disposed below the light shielding member (see [col. 5, ll. 49-53]).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses a display device (see fig. 21) comprising: a substrate (substrate, e.g., 2110-see fig. 21); a driving transistor disposed on the substrate and comprising a polycrystalline semiconductor layer (T1 is a driving transistor (see fig. 3) implemented as a P-type low-temperature polysilicon (LTPS) transistor-see fig. 14 and [col. 3, ll. 35-41]); a switching transistor disposed on the substrate, connected to the driving transistor, and comprising a polycrystalline semiconductor layer (fifth transistor T5, which can be an oxide semiconductor transistor or a low-temperature poly-silicon (LTPS) transistor-see figs. 3 and 14 and [col. 4, ll. 27-29]); a first insulating layer disposed on the driving transistor and the switching transistor (see fig. 14-insulation layer that covers gate electrode of the LTPS transistor); a compensation transistor disposed on the first insulating layer, connected to the driving transistor, and comprising an oxide semiconductor layer (third transistor T3 (see fig. 3) is a compensation transistor implemented as an N-type oxide semiconductor transistor disposed on the insulation layer covering the gate electrode of the LTPS transistor (see fig. 14), and T3 is coupled to both the gate and source of T1); a second insulating layer disposed on the compensation transistor (see fig. 14-at least one insulating layer is disposed on the oxide semiconductor).
Chen teaches a wire configured to transmit a direct-current voltage (see fig. 3-PLVDD is a direct-current driving voltage), however, Chen does not appear to expressly disclose a wire disposed on the second insulating layer and configured to transmit a direct-current voltage; and a first light blocking member disposed in a same layer as the wire and overlapping the oxide semiconductor layer of the compensation transistor.
Kim, for example, in fig. 5 with description in [col. 15, ll. 18-40] teaches a third conductive layer L4 disposed on a first insulating layer 217 and may include a driving voltage line PL (driving voltage line) and a second light-shielding member 270 (light blocking member), wherein the light shielding member 270 overlaps a compensation active pattern A3 of a compensation TFT T3 (see fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim with the invention of Chen by including a light blocking member disposed in a same layer as a driving voltage line, as taught by Kim, in order to shield incident light from reaching a thin film transistor (TFT) disposed below the light shielding member (see [col. 5, ll. 49-53]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Chen discloses wherein the driving transistor comprises a gate electrode disposed on the polycrystalline semiconductor layer (T1 is a driving transistor (see fig. 3) implemented as a P-type low-temperature polysilicon (LTPS) transistor-see fig. 14 and [col. 3, ll. 35-41]), and the compensation transistor comprises a gate electrode disposed between the first insulating layer and the oxide semiconductor layer (third transistor T3 (see fig. 3) is a compensation transistor implemented as an N-type oxide semiconductor transistor disposed on the insulation layer covering the gate electrode of the LTPS transistor-see fig. 14).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Chen discloses further comprising: an initialization transistor disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, connected to the gate electrode of the driving transistor, and comprising an oxide semiconductor layer (fourth transistor T4 (initialization transistor) is an oxide semiconductor transistor (see [col. 4, ll. 24-25]) and disposed as shown in fig. 14, and is connected to the gate of T1 (see fig. 3)); an initialization voltage line connected to the initialization transistor and configured to transmit an initialization voltage (T4 is connected to reference signal (REF)-see fig. 3 and [col. 3, ll. 67-col. 4, ll. 1]).
Chen does not appear to expressly disclose teach and a second light blocking member disposed in a same layer as the driving voltage line and overlapping the oxide semiconductor layer of the initialization transistor.
However, Kim teaches disposing a light blocking member 270 to overlap a compensation active pattern A3g (see fig. 5 with description in [col. 15, ll. 31-40]), therefore, placing an additional light blocking member above another active layer of compensation transistor (or any other transistor) constitutes mere duplication of parts. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP2144.04 (VI)(B)). In this case, the result is the same, which is preventing incident light from reaching the compensation active pattern (or active pattern of any transistor shielded by the shielding member 270), which results in minimizing well-known leakage current issues.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Chen discloses further comprising: a third insulating layer (see fig. 14, which illustrates at least two insulating layers above the oxide semiconductor transistor); a light emitting diode disposed on the third insulating layer and comprising a first electrode, a light emission member disposed on the first electrode, and a second electrode disposed on the light emission member (see figs. 3 and 14-light emitting diode D1 (fig. 3) is necessarily disposed on one of the insulation layers above the oxide semiconductor transistor shown in fig. 14); a bypass transistor disposed between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, connected between the initialization voltage line and the first electrode, and comprising an oxide semiconductor layer (see, for example, fig. 5, which discloses a fourth transistor T4 connected between the anode (terminal b) of the light emitting diode D1 (first electrode) and initialization voltage REFS).
Chen does not appear to expressly disclose and a third light blocking member disposed in a same layer as the driving voltage line and overlapping the oxide semiconductor layer of the bypass transistor.
However, Kim teaches disposing a light blocking member 270 to overlap a compensation active pattern A3g (see fig. 5 with description in [col. 15, ll. 31-40]), therefore, placing an additional light blocking member above another active layer of compensation transistor (or any other transistor) constitutes mere duplication of parts. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP2144.04 (VI)(B)). In this case, the result is the same, which is preventing incident light from reaching the compensation active pattern (or active pattern of any transistor shielded by the shielding member 270), which results in minimizing well-known leakage current issues.
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses further comprising: a storage capacitor connected between the wire and the gate electrode of the driving transistor, wherein the direct-current voltage is a driving voltage (storage capacitor Cst connected between driving voltage PLVDD and gate of T1 (driving transistor)-see fig. 3).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Chen discloses wherein the driving transistor comprises a first electrode and a second electrode disposed in the polycrystalline semiconductor layer of the driving transistor and spaced apart from each other (T1 is a driving transistor (see fig. 3) implemented as a P-type low-temperature polysilicon (LTPS) transistor-see fig. 14 and [col. 3, ll. 35-41]), the compensation transistor comprises a first electrode and a second electrode disposed on the oxide semiconductor layer of the compensation transistor and spaced apart from each other third transistor T3 (see fig. 3) is a compensation transistor implemented as an N-type oxide semiconductor transistor disposed on the insulation layer covering the gate electrode of the LTPS transistor-see fig. 14), and the first electrode of the compensation transistor is connected to the first electrode of the driving transistor, and the second electrode of the compensation transistor is connected to the gate electrode of the driving transistor (see fig. 3, wherein T3 is connected between gate and source of first transistor T1 (driving transistor)).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses further comprising: a data line extending in a first direction and configured to transmit a data voltage (data line (Data)-see fig. 3 and [col. 4, ll. 15); and a switching transistor disposed between the substrate and the first insulating layer, connected between the data line and the driving transistor, and comprising a polycrystalline semiconductor layer (fifth transistor T5, which can be an oxide semiconductor transistor or a low-temperature poly-silicon (LTPS) transistor-see figs. 3 and 14 and [col. 4, ll. 27-29]).
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses further comprising: a data line extending in a first direction, connected to the switching transistor, and configured to transmit a data voltage (data line (DATA)-see fig. 3).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Kim is further relied upon to teach wherein the second insulating layer comprises an organic material (see, for example, fig. with description in [col. 12, ll. 44-53], which teaches an insulating layer 120 that covers a third conductive pattern L4 and is formed of an acryl-based organic material and an organic insulating material such as polyimide or benzocyclobutene (BCB)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim with the invention of Chen by using an organic insulating material for any of the insulation layers, such as the second insulation layer, as taught by Kim, as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claims 2, 8-9, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kim, and further in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. 2016/0247452), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Chen in view of Lim does not appear to expressly teach wherein the first light blocking member extends from the driving voltage line (wire in claim 12 equated to driving voltage line).
Lee is relied upon to teach wherein the first light blocking member extends from the driving voltage line (see, for example, figs. 5 and 7, wherein, driving voltage line 172 that transfers driving voltage ELVDD, and formed substantially parallel to data line Dm (171), includes first shielding electrode 172a and second shielding electrode 172b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the inventions of Chen and Lee such that the first light blocking member extends from the driving voltage line, as taught by Lee, therefore, shielding electrodes transferring the driving voltage (ELVDD) having a constant magnitude are disposed between a first data connecting member 174 connected to driving gate electrode 155a and the data lines 171, accordingly, crosstalk between the gate signal and the data signal can be prevented (see [0066]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee is further relied upon to teach wherein the driving voltage line comprises a first voltage line extending in the first direction and a second voltage line extending in a second direction crossing the first direction (see, for example, figs. 5 and 7, wherein, driving voltage line 172 that transfers driving voltage ELVDD, and formed substantially parallel to data line Dm (171), includes first shielding electrode 172a and second shielding electrode 172b), and the first light blocking member is disposed in a same layer as the first voltage line (see figs. 5-7, wherein, driving voltage line 172 and shielding electrodes (172a, 172b) disposed on the same layer 160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the inventions of Chen and Kim such that the driving voltage line comprises a first voltage line extending in the first direction and a second voltage line extending in a second direction crossing the first direction, as taught by Lee, therefore, shielding electrodes transferring the driving voltage (ELVDD) having a constant magnitude are disposed between a first data connecting member 174 connected to driving gate electrode 155a and the data lines 171, accordingly, crosstalk between the gate signal and the data signal can be prevented (see [0066]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee is further relied upon to teach wherein the first light blocking member extends from the first voltage line in the second direction (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 19, Lee is further relied upon to teach wherein the wire extends in the first direction, and the first light blocking member extends from the wire in a second direction crossing the first direction (see fig. 5-172 is driving voltage line, and 172a and 172b are blocking lines).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the inventions of Chen and Kim such that the wire extends in the first direction, and the first light blocking member extends from the wire in a second direction crossing the first direction, as taught by Lee, therefore, shielding electrodes transferring the driving voltage (ELVDD) having a constant magnitude are disposed between a first data connecting member 174 connected to driving gate electrode 155a and the data lines 171, accordingly, crosstalk between the gate signal and the data signal can be prevented (see [0066]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US Patent 10,020,354 B2).
/SARDIS F AZONGHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627