DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the recitation “A computer program product comprising program code,” given its broadest reasonable interpretation, encompasses products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as a computer program per se, as often referred to as “software per se” when claimed as a product without any structural recitations. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivet et al. (US 2024/0010197 A1, hereinafter “Vivet”) in view of Matsuoka et al. (JP 2001026226 A, hereinafter “Matsuoka”). The rejections below are based on the machine translation of Matsuoka.
Regarding claim 1, Vivet discloses a computer system for controlling longitudinal movement of an ego vehicle, the computer system comprising processing circuitry configured to:
control the longitudinal movement of the ego vehicle according to a first operating mode, in which vehicle speed is controlled by sending at least one acceleration request to at least one of a propulsion system and a brake system of the ego vehicle, each acceleration request defining a set acceleration of the ego vehicle (Vivet at para. [0037]: “Step 201, "Activ" is a step of activating the adaptive cruise control, the adaptive cruise control being based on an acceleration setpoint calculated from a predetermined inter-vehicle time setpoint, the inter-vehicle time defining a distance between the ego vehicle and a target vehicle in front of the ego vehicle”),
determine that a predefined low-speed condition applies (Vivet at para. [0043]: “Step 204, "DetTiV", is a step of determining an inter-vehicle time calculated from the target information and the ego vehicle information. The inter-vehicle time is obtained periodically by multiplying the inter-vehicle distance by the ego speed”),
However, Vivet does not explicitly state:
control the longitudinal movement of the ego vehicle according to a second operating mode in response to the determining of the predefined low-speed condition, wherein, in the second operating mode, the longitudinal movement is controlled by sending at least one distance request to at least one of the propulsion system and the brake system, each distance request defining a set longitudinal distance that the ego vehicle is to move from a current position of the ego vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Matsuoka teaches:
control the longitudinal movement of the ego vehicle according to a second operating mode in response to the determining of the predefined low-speed condition, wherein, in the second operating mode, the longitudinal movement is controlled by sending at least one distance request to at least one of the propulsion system and the brake system, each distance request defining a set longitudinal distance that the ego vehicle is to move from a current position of the ego vehicle (Matsuoka at para. [0012]: “when the acceleration of the preceding vehicle becomes small and the preceding vehicle is in a state of traveling at a substantially constant speed, the following control is performed by maintaining the inter-vehicle distance with the preceding vehicle by shifting from the acceleration control to the inter-vehicle distance control”; para. [0113]: “step S38, the target vehicle speed is set from the actual inter-vehicle distance and the target inter-vehicle distance. Then, in step S39, the vehicle speed control is performed by the control of the throttle valve and the ECAT control unit 61 based on the target vehicle speed set in step S38”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vivet by adding the second operating mode of Matsuoka with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Vivet in view of Matsuoka is to improve safety in a low speed state.
Regarding claim 2, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer system of claim 1.
Vivet further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the longitudinal movement of the ego vehicle when travelling behind a preceding vehicle (Vivet at para. [0033]: “The device 101 comprises a random-access memory 102 for storing instructions for the implementation by a processor 103”; para. [0037]: “Step 201, "Activ" is a step of activating the adaptive cruise control, the adaptive cruise control being based on an acceleration setpoint calculated from a predetermined inter-vehicle time setpoint, the inter-vehicle time defining a distance between the ego vehicle and a target vehicle in front of the ego vehicle”), the processing circuitry being configured to:
in the first operating mode, determine the at least one acceleration request such that the ego vehicle keeps a set distance or a set time gap to the preceding vehicle (Vivet at para. [0038]: “an adaptive cruise control calculates, at each instant, the acceleration, the acceleration setpoint, that the ego vehicle must have in order for the ego vehicle to follow a predetermined speed while complying with a predetermined inter-vehicle time”).
Matsuoka further teaches in the second operating mode, determine the at least one distance request such that the ego vehicle keeps a set distance or a set time gap to the preceding vehicle (Matsuoka at para. [0012]: “when the acceleration of the preceding vehicle becomes small and the preceding vehicle is in a state of traveling at a substantially constant speed, the following control is performed by maintaining the inter-vehicle distance with the preceding vehicle by shifting from the acceleration control to the inter-vehicle distance control”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vivet by adding the second operating mode of Matsuoka with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Vivet in view of Matsuoka is to improve safety in a low speed state.
Regarding claim 3, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer system of claim 2.
Vivet further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
receive sensor data relating to at least one of: a current speed of the ego vehicle (Vivet at para. [0042]: “The ego speed is information obtained periodically by processing measurements from on-board sensors”), a current acceleration of the ego vehicle, a current distance to the preceding vehicle (Vivet at para. [0039]: “the target information comprising a distance of the target vehicle with respect to the ego vehicle, referred to as target distance, and an acceleration of the target vehicle, referred to as target acceleration. In one procedure, the target information also comprises a speed of the target vehicle, referred to as target speed”; para. [0040]: “The target distance, the target speed, and the target acceleration are information obtained periodically by processing measurements from on-board sensors”), a current speed of the preceding vehicle (Vivet at para. [0040]: “the target speed”), and a current acceleration of the preceding vehicle (Vivet at para. [0040]: “the target acceleration”), and
receive information relating to at least one of a desired time gap and a desired distance to the preceding vehicle (Vivet at para. [0043]: “Step 204, "DetTiV", is a step of determining an inter-vehicle time calculated from the target information and the ego vehicle information. The inter-vehicle time is obtained periodically by multiplying the inter-vehicle distance by the ego speed”),
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the at least one acceleration request (Vivet at para. [0007]: “Activating the adaptive cruise control, wherein said adaptive cruise control is based on an acceleration setpoint calculated from a predetermined inter-vehicle time setpoint, the inter-vehicle time defining a distance between the ego vehicle and a target vehicle in front of the autonomous vehicle”).
Matsuoka further teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the at least one acceleration request and the at least one distance request in the first and second operating modes, respectively, based on the received sensor data and information (Matsuoka at para. [0041]: “1 is a vehicle speed sensor for detecting the vehicle speed of the host vehicle, and 42 is a brake sensor for detecting brake pressure. Reference numeral 43 is an obstacle sensor for detecting an obstacle in front of the own vehicle”; para. [0113]: “step S37, the target inter-vehicle distance is set according to the setting contents of the own vehicle speed and the inter-vehicle time setting switch”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vivet by adding the second operating mode of Matsuoka with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Vivet in view of Matsuoka is to improve safety in a low speed state.
Regarding claim 4, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer system of claim 1.
Vivet further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine that the low-speed condition applies by detecting at least one of: that the ego vehicle travels at a vehicle speed below a threshold speed; that a stop of the ego vehicle at a defined stop position within a predetermined range of the ego vehicle has been requested; that a preceding vehicle travelling ahead of the ego vehicle has come to a stop; that the preceding vehicle travels at a vehicle speed below a threshold speed; and that a distance or time gap between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle is below a threshold distance or time gap (Vivet at para. [0043]: “Step 204, "DetTiV", is a step of determining an inter-vehicle time calculated from the target information and the ego vehicle information. The inter-vehicle time is obtained periodically by multiplying the inter-vehicle distance by the ego speed”; para. [0044]: “Step 205, "DetSgnl", is a step of determining an alert signal from the target information and the ego vehicle information, the alert signal being in an active state when the calculated inter-vehicle time is less than a predetermined percentage of the predetermined inter-vehicle time”), respectively.
Regarding claim 5, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer system of claim 1.
Matsuoka further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
detect that a change from the first operating mode to the second operating mode is requested,
gradually transition from the first operating mode to the second operating mode in response to the detecting of the requested change (Matsuoka at para. [0016]: “when the front of the own vehicle is congested, the transition to the acceleration control is prohibited to perform the inter-vehicle distance control, and the target inter-vehicle distance is set to a predetermined distance regardless of the vehicle speed of the own vehicle” “in the inter-vehicle distance control when the vehicle speed of the host vehicle is higher than the predetermined vehicle speed, the target inter-vehicle distance may be set to be larger as the vehicle speed is higher”; Controlling the vehicle acceleration based on the vehicle speed when the inter-vehicle distance control is activated will result in “gradually transition from the first operating mode to the second operating mode”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vivet by adding the transition of Matsuoka with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Vivet in view of Matsuoka is to improve safety in a low speed state.
Regarding claim 8, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer system of claim 1.
Matsuoka further teaches wherein, in the second operating mode, the at least one distance request further defines a target speed of the ego vehicle at the end of the set longitudinal distance (Matsuoka at para. [0012]: “when the acceleration of the preceding vehicle becomes small and the preceding vehicle is in a state of traveling at a substantially constant speed, the following control is performed by maintaining the inter-vehicle distance with the preceding vehicle by shifting from the acceleration control to the inter-vehicle distance control”; para. [0113]: “step S38, the target vehicle speed is set from the actual inter-vehicle distance and the target inter-vehicle distance. Then, in step S39, the vehicle speed control is performed by the control of the throttle valve and the ECAT control unit 61 based on the target vehicle speed set in step S38”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vivet by adding the target speed of Matsuoka with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Vivet in view of Matsuoka is to improve safety in a low speed state.
Regarding claim 9, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer system of claim 1.
Vivet further discloses a vehicle comprising the computer system of claim 1 (Vivet at para. [0023]: “A second aspect relates to a device comprising a memory unit associated with at least one processor configured to implement the method according to the first aspect”; para. [0024]: “A vehicle including the device is disclosed”).
Regarding claim 11, Vivet discloses a computer-implemented method for controlling longitudinal movement of an ego vehicle, the method comprising:
controlling, by processing circuitry of a computer system, the longitudinal movement of the ego vehicle according to a first operating mode, in which vehicle speed is controlled by sending at least one acceleration request to at least one of a propulsion system and a brake system of the ego vehicle, each acceleration request defining a set acceleration of the ego vehicle (Vivet at para. [0037]: “Step 201, "Activ" is a step of activating the adaptive cruise control, the adaptive cruise control being based on an acceleration setpoint calculated from a predetermined inter-vehicle time setpoint, the inter-vehicle time defining a distance between the ego vehicle and a target vehicle in front of the ego vehicle”),
determining, by the processing circuitry, that a predefined low-speed condition applies (Vivet at para. [0043]: “Step 204, "DetTiV", is a step of determining an inter-vehicle time calculated from the target information and the ego vehicle information. The inter-vehicle time is obtained periodically by multiplying the inter-vehicle distance by the ego speed”),
However, Vivet does not explicitly state:
controlling, by the processing circuitry, the longitudinal movement of the ego vehicle according to a second operating mode in response to the determining of the predefined low-speed condition, wherein, in the second operating mode, the longitudinal movement is controlled by sending at least one distance request to at least one of the propulsion system and the brake system, each distance request defining a set longitudinal distance that the ego vehicle is to move from a current position of the ego vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Matsuoka teaches:
controlling, by the processing circuitry, the longitudinal movement of the ego vehicle according to a second operating mode in response to the determining of the predefined low-speed condition, wherein, in the second operating mode, the longitudinal movement is controlled by sending at least one distance request to at least one of the propulsion system and the brake system, each distance request defining a set longitudinal distance that the ego vehicle is to move from a current position of the ego vehicle (Matsuoka at para. [0012]: “when the acceleration of the preceding vehicle becomes small and the preceding vehicle is in a state of traveling at a substantially constant speed, the following control is performed by maintaining the inter-vehicle distance with the preceding vehicle by shifting from the acceleration control to the inter-vehicle distance control”; para. [0113]: “step S38, the target vehicle speed is set from the actual inter-vehicle distance and the target inter-vehicle distance. Then, in step S39, the vehicle speed control is performed by the control of the throttle valve and the ECAT control unit 61 based on the target vehicle speed set in step S38”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Vivet by adding the second operating mode of Matsuoka with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Vivet in view of Matsuoka is to improve safety in a low speed state.
Regarding claim 12, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 11.
Vivet further discloses wherein the ego vehicle is travelling behind a preceding vehicle (Vivet at para. [0033]: “The device 101 comprises a random-access memory 102 for storing instructions for the implementation by a processor 103”; para. [0037]: “Step 201, "Activ" is a step of activating the adaptive cruise control, the adaptive cruise control being based on an acceleration setpoint calculated from a predetermined inter-vehicle time setpoint, the inter-vehicle time defining a distance between the ego vehicle and a target vehicle in front of the ego vehicle”), and wherein the controlling of the longitudinal movement of the ego vehicle comprises:
in the first operating mode, determining the at least one acceleration request such that the ego vehicle keeps a set distance or a set time gap to the preceding vehicle (Vivet at para. [0038]: “an adaptive cruise control calculates, at each instant, the acceleration, the acceleration setpoint, that the ego vehicle must have in order for the ego vehicle to follow a predetermined speed while complying with a predetermined inter-vehicle time”).
Matsuoka further teaches in the second operating mode, determining the at least one distance request such that the ego vehicle keeps a set distance or a set time gap to the preceding vehicle (Matsuoka at para. [0012]: “when the acceleration of the preceding vehicle becomes small and the preceding vehicle is in a state of traveling at a substantially constant speed, the following control is performed by maintaining the inter-vehicle distance with the preceding vehicle by shifting from the acceleration control to the inter-vehicle distance control”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Vivet by adding the second operating mode of Matsuoka with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Vivet in view of Matsuoka is to improve safety in a low speed state.
Regarding claim 13, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 12.
Vivet further discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the processing circuitry, sensor data relating to at least one of: a current speed of the ego vehicle (Vivet at para. [0042]: “The ego speed is information obtained periodically by processing measurements from on-board sensors”), a current acceleration of the ego vehicle, a current distance to the preceding vehicle (Vivet at para. [0039]: “the target information comprising a distance of the target vehicle with respect to the ego vehicle, referred to as target distance, and an acceleration of the target vehicle, referred to as target acceleration. In one procedure, the target information also comprises a speed of the target vehicle, referred to as target speed”; para. [0040]: “The target distance, the target speed, and the target acceleration are information obtained periodically by processing measurements from on-board sensors”), a current speed of the preceding vehicle (Vivet at para. [0040]: “the target speed”), and a current acceleration of the preceding vehicle (Vivet at para. [0040]: “the target acceleration”), and
receiving, by the processing circuitry, information relating to at least one of a desired time gap and a desired distance to the preceding vehicle (Vivet at para. [0043]: “Step 204, "DetTiV", is a step of determining an inter-vehicle time calculated from the target information and the ego vehicle information. The inter-vehicle time is obtained periodically by multiplying the inter-vehicle distance by the ego speed”),
wherein the determining of the at least one acceleration request (Vivet at para. [0007]: “Activating the adaptive cruise control, wherein said adaptive cruise control is based on an acceleration setpoint calculated from a predetermined inter-vehicle time setpoint, the inter-vehicle time defining a distance between the ego vehicle and a target vehicle in front of the autonomous vehicle”).
Matsuoka further teaches:
wherein the determining of the at least one acceleration request and the at least one distance request in the first and second operating modes, respectively, is performed based on the received sensor data and information (Matsuoka at para. [0041]: “1 is a vehicle speed sensor for detecting the vehicle speed of the host vehicle, and 42 is a brake sensor for detecting brake pressure. Reference numeral 43 is an obstacle sensor for detecting an obstacle in front of the own vehicle”; para. [0113]: “step S37, the target inter-vehicle distance is set according to the setting contents of the own vehicle speed and the inter-vehicle time setting switch”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Vivet by adding the second operating mode of Matsuoka with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Vivet in view of Matsuoka is to improve safety in a low speed state.
Regarding claim 14, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 11.
Vivet further discloses wherein the determining of that the low-speed condition applies comprises detecting at least one of: that the ego vehicle travels at a vehicle speed below a threshold speed; that a stop of the ego vehicle at a defined stop position within a predetermined range of the ego vehicle has been requested; that a preceding vehicle travelling ahead of the ego vehicle has come to a stop; that the preceding vehicle travels at a vehicle speed below a threshold speed; and that a distance or time gap between the ego vehicle and the preceding vehicle is below a threshold distance or time gap (Vivet at para. [0043]: “Step 204, "DetTiV", is a step of determining an inter-vehicle time calculated from the target information and the ego vehicle information. The inter-vehicle time is obtained periodically by multiplying the inter-vehicle distance by the ego speed”; para. [0044]: “Step 205, "DetSgnl", is a step of determining an alert signal from the target information and the ego vehicle information, the alert signal being in an active state when the calculated inter-vehicle time is less than a predetermined percentage of the predetermined inter-vehicle time”), respectively.
Regarding claim 15, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 11.
Matsuoka further teaches further comprising:
detecting, by the processing circuitry or by an electronic propulsion control unit or by an electronic brake control unit, that a change from the first operating mode to the second operating mode is requested (Matsuoka at para. [0016]: “when the front of the own vehicle is congested, the transition to the acceleration control is prohibited to perform the inter-vehicle distance control, and the target inter-vehicle distance is set to a predetermined distance regardless of the vehicle speed of the own vehicle”),
gradually transitioning, by the processing circuitry or by the electronic propulsion control unit or by the electronic brake control unit, from the first operating mode to the second operating mode in response to the detecting of the requested change (Matsuoka at para. [0016]: “in the inter-vehicle distance control when the vehicle speed of the host vehicle is higher than the predetermined vehicle speed, the target inter-vehicle distance may be set to be larger as the vehicle speed is higher”; Controlling the vehicle acceleration based on the vehicle speed when the inter-vehicle distance control is activated will result in “gradually transition from the first operating mode to the second operating mode”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Vivet by adding the transition of Matsuoka with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Vivet in view of Matsuoka is to improve safety in a low speed state.
Regarding claim 18, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 11.
Matsuoka further teaches wherein, in the second operating mode, the at least one distance request further defines a target speed of the ego vehicle at the end of the set longitudinal distance (Matsuoka at para. [0012]: “when the acceleration of the preceding vehicle becomes small and the preceding vehicle is in a state of traveling at a substantially constant speed, the following control is performed by maintaining the inter-vehicle distance with the preceding vehicle by shifting from the acceleration control to the inter-vehicle distance control”; para. [0113]: “step S38, the target vehicle speed is set from the actual inter-vehicle distance and the target inter-vehicle distance. Then, in step S39, the vehicle speed control is performed by the control of the throttle valve and the ECAT control unit 61 based on the target vehicle speed set in step S38”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Vivet by adding the target speed of Matsuoka with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Vivet in view of Matsuoka is to improve safety in a low speed state.
Regarding claim 19, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the method of claim 11.
Vivet further discloses a computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by the processing circuitry, the method of claim 11 (Vivet at para. [0025]: “A computer program is disclosed which comprises instructions suitable for executing the steps of the method, according to the first aspect, when the program is executed by at least one processor”).
Regarding claim 20, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the method of claim 11.
Vivet further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 11 (Vivet at para. [0023]: “A second aspect relates to a device comprising a memory unit associated with at least one processor configured to implement the method according to the first aspect”).
Claims 6-7, 10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vivet in view of Matsuoka further in view of Higashitani et al. (US 2013/0261858 A1, hereinafter “Higashitani”).
Regarding claim 6, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer system of claim 5.
However, Vivet in view of Matsuoka does not explicitly state:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform the gradual transition by:
determining a difference in vehicle acceleration expected to result from switching to the second operating mode,
controlling the vehicle acceleration to gradually reduce the difference, and
switching from the first operating mode to the second operating mode once the difference is below a threshold value.
In the same field of endeavor, Higashitani teaches:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform the gradual transition by:
determining a difference in vehicle acceleration expected to result from switching to the second operating mode (Higashitani at para. [0056]: “A second subtractor 64 calculates the difference D2 [km/his] between the acceleration Δa V from the acceleration sensor 24 and the target acceleration ΔaVtar from the target acceleration table 62”),
controlling the vehicle acceleration to gradually reduce the difference (Higashitani at para. [0068]: “it is possible to gradually change the target acceleration ΔaVtar when the S mode is switched to the N mode or the E mode”), and
switching from the first operating mode to the second operating mode once the difference is below a threshold value (Higashitani at para. [0068]: “it is possible to gradually change the target acceleration ΔaVtar when the S mode is switched to the N mode or the E mode”; The mode is switched when the acceleration reaches the target acceleration, which means the difference is zero (i.e., “the difference is below a threshold value”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vivet in view of Matsuoka by adding the gradual transition of Higashitani with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Vivet in view of Matsuoka further in view of Higashitani is to provide smooth transition between different operation modes.
Regarding claim 7, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer system of claim 1.
Matsuoka further teaches:
wherein the propulsion system comprises at least one electric machine, and wherein, in the second operating mode, the processing circuitry is configured to control the longitudinal movement (Matsuoka at para. [0033]: “Reference numeral 61 is an ECAT (Electronic Controlled Automatic Transmission) control unit in which shift control such as downshifting is performed by the ICCW control unit during traveling control”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vivet in view of Matsuoka by adding the electric machine of Matsuoka with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the system of Vivet in view of Matsuoka is to provide electric operation of vehicles.
However, Vivet in view of Matsuoka does not explicitly state:
determining an advancement of the electric machine that corresponds to the set longitudinal distance,
controlling the electric machine to rotate based on the determined advancement.
In the same field of endeavor, Higashitani teaches:
determining an advancement of the electric machine that corresponds to the set longitudinal distance (Higashitani at para. [0034]: “The ECU 34 controls the inverter 14 based on output signals from the various sensors and the mode selector switch 32, so as to control the output force (motive force) of the motor 12”; para. [0090]: “when the S mode is switched to the E mode, the vehicle speed V is quickly reduced in order to improve electric power consumption, thereby improving the cruising distance of the vehicle 10”),
controlling the electric machine to rotate based on the determined advancement (Higashitani at para. [0090]: “when the S mode is switched to the E mode, the vehicle speed V is quickly reduced in order to improve electric power consumption, thereby improving the cruising distance of the vehicle 10”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vivet in view of Matsuoka by adding the electric machine of Higashitani with a reasonable expectation of success. Specifically, it is obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the system of Vivet in view of Matsuoka to an electric motor vehicle of Higashitani. The motivation to modify the system of Vivet in view of Matsuoka further in view of Higashitani is to provide electric powered vehicles.
Regarding claim 10, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the vehicle of claim 9.
However, Vivet in view of Matsuoka does not explicitly state:
further comprising at least one electric machine configured for propulsion of the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Higashitani teaches:
further comprising at least one electric machine configured for propulsion of the vehicle (Higashitani at para. [0034]: “The ECU 34 controls the inverter 14 based on output signals from the various sensors and the mode selector switch 32, so as to control the output force (motive force) of the motor 12”; para. [0090]: “when the S mode is switched to the E mode, the vehicle speed V is quickly reduced in order to improve electric power consumption, thereby improving the cruising distance of the vehicle 10”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Vivet in view of Matsuoka by adding the electric machine of Higashitani with a reasonable expectation of success. Specifically, it is obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the vehicle of Vivet in view of Matsuoka to an electric motor vehicle of Higashitani. The motivation to modify the vehicle of Vivet in view of Matsuoka further in view of Higashitani is to provide electric powered vehicles.
Regarding claim 16, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 15.
However, Vivet in view of Matsuoka does not explicitly state:
wherein the gradual transition comprises:
determining a difference in vehicle acceleration expected to result from switching to the second operating mode,
controlling the vehicle acceleration to gradually reduce the difference, and
switching from the first operating mode to the second operating mode once the difference is below a threshold value.
In the same field of endeavor, Higashitani teaches:
wherein the gradual transition comprises:
determining a difference in vehicle acceleration expected to result from switching to the second operating mode (Higashitani at para. [0056]: “A second subtractor 64 calculates the difference D2 [km/his] between the acceleration Δa V from the acceleration sensor 24 and the target acceleration ΔaVtar from the target acceleration table 62”),
controlling the vehicle acceleration to gradually reduce the difference (Higashitani at para. [0068]: “it is possible to gradually change the target acceleration ΔaVtar when the S mode is switched to the N mode or the E mode”), and
switching from the first operating mode to the second operating mode once the difference is below a threshold value (Higashitani at para. [0068]: “it is possible to gradually change the target acceleration ΔaVtar when the S mode is switched to the N mode or the E mode”; The mode is switched when the acceleration reaches the target acceleration, which means the difference is zero (i.e., “the difference is below a threshold value”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Vivet in view of Matsuoka by adding the gradual transition of Higashitani with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Vivet in view of Matsuoka further in view of Higashitani is to provide smooth transition between different operation modes.
Regarding claim 17, Vivet in view of Matsuoka teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 11.
Matsuoka further teaches:
wherein the propulsion system comprises at least one electric machine, and wherein, in the second operating mode (Matsuoka at para. [0033]: “Reference numeral 61 is an ECAT (Electronic Controlled Automatic Transmission) control unit in which shift control such as downshifting is performed by the ICCW control unit during traveling control”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Vivet in view of Matsuoka by adding the electric machine of Matsuoka with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Vivet in view of Matsuoka is to provide electric operation of vehicles.
However, Vivet in view of Matsuoka does not explicitly state:
the controlling of the longitudinal movement comprises:
determining an advancement of the electric machine that corresponds to the set longitudinal distance,
controlling the electric machine to rotate based on the determined advancement.
In the same field of endeavor, Higashitani teaches:
the controlling of the longitudinal movement comprises:
determining an advancement of the electric machine that corresponds to the set longitudinal distance (Higashitani at para. [0034]: “The ECU 34 controls the inverter 14 based on output signals from the various sensors and the mode selector switch 32, so as to control the output force (motive force) of the motor 12”; para. [0090]: “when the S mode is switched to the E mode, the vehicle speed V is quickly reduced in order to improve electric power consumption, thereby improving the cruising distance of the vehicle 10”),
controlling the electric machine to rotate based on the determined advancement (Higashitani at para. [0090]: “when the S mode is switched to the E mode, the vehicle speed V is quickly reduced in order to improve electric power consumption, thereby improving the cruising distance of the vehicle 10”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Vivet in view of Matsuoka by adding the electric machine of Higashitani with a reasonable expectation of success. Specifically, it is obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the method of Vivet in view of Matsuoka to an electric motor vehicle of Higashitani. The motivation to modify the method of Vivet in view of Matsuoka further in view of Higashitani is to provide electric powered vehicles.
Conclusion
/JISUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666