DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11, 13-15, and 18-22 have been considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new reference, Yao, that is relied on in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-5, 11, 13-14, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0188075 (hereinafter Tran), in view of Yao et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2026/0025827 (hereinafter Yao).
Regarding claim 1, Tran discloses a method for wireless communication (disclosed is a method for wireless communication, according to Abstract, [0026]), comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, first information from a network device in a non- terrestrial network (NTN), wherein the first information indicates a length of a first time period, and the length of the first time period is associated with joint channel estimation (a UE receives, from a gNB, an indication of the length of a time domain window [“first information”] that is associated with joint channel estimation, according to [0172]-[0173], whereby the UE and gNB may be part of an NTN, according to [0237]), wherein the length of the first time period includes one or more of: a segment length of segmented pre-compensation, a length of a nominal time domain window, or a length of an actual time domain window (the indicated length of time is the length of a time domain window [“actual time domain window”], according to [0172]-[0173]).
Tran does not expressly disclose sending, by the terminal device, third information to the network device, wherein the third information indicates whether the terminal device performs the joint channel estimation, and wherein the third information is associated with a comparison result between a measurement value of a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the terminal device and a threshold of the RSRP.
Yao discloses sending, by the terminal device, third information to the network device, wherein the third information indicates whether the terminal device performs the joint channel estimation, and wherein the third information is associated with a comparison result between a measurement value of a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the terminal device and a threshold of the RSRP (a UE determines whether said UE is capable of joint channel estimation, whereupon said UE transmits, to a network device, a report of said UE’s capability of joint channel estimation, according to [0142]-[0143], whereby said joint channel estimation capability report is triggered by said UE detecting a signal with an RSRP below a threshold, according to [0147]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tran with Yao by sending, by the terminal device, third information to the network device, wherein the third information indicates whether the terminal device performs the joint channel estimation, and wherein the third information is associated with a comparison result between a measurement value of a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the terminal device and a threshold of the RSRP.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve channel estimation accuracy (Yao: [0139]).
Regarding claim 18, Tran discloses a method for wireless communication (disclosed is a method for wireless communication, according to Abstract, [0026]), comprising:
sending, by a network device in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), first information to a terminal device, wherein the first information indicates a length of a first time period, and the length of the first time period is associated with joint channel estimation (a gNB sends, to a UE, an indication of the length of a time domain window [“first information”] that is associated with joint channel estimation, according to [0172]-[0173], whereby the UE and gNB may be part of an NTN, according to [0237]), wherein the length of the first time period includes one or more of: a segment length of segmented pre-compensation, a length of a nominal time domain window, or a length of an actual time domain window (the indicated length of time is the length of a time domain window [“actual time domain window”], according to [0172]-[0173]).
Tran does not expressly disclose receiving, by the network device, third information from the network device, wherein the third information indicates whether the terminal device performs the joint channel estimation, and wherein the third information is associated with a comparison result between a measurement value of a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the terminal device and a threshold of the RSRP.
Yao discloses receiving, by the network device, third information from the network device, wherein the third information indicates whether the terminal device performs the joint channel estimation, and wherein the third information is associated with a comparison result between a measurement value of a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the terminal device and a threshold of the RSRP (a UE determines whether said UE is capable of joint channel estimation, whereupon said UE transmits, to a network device, a report of said UE’s capability of joint channel estimation, according to [0142]-[0143], whereby said joint channel estimation capability report is triggered by said UE detecting a signal with an RSRP below a threshold, according to [0147]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tran with Yao by receiving, by the network device, third information from the network device, wherein the third information indicates whether the terminal device performs the joint channel estimation, and wherein the third information is associated with a comparison result between a measurement value of a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the terminal device and a threshold of the RSRP.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve channel estimation accuracy (Yao: [0139]).
Claim 20 recites the apparatus, comprising at least one processor; and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the programming instructions, when executed (Tran discloses that the UE comprises a controller that executes stored software, according to [0214], [0216], Fig. 22 [elements 2200 and 2206]), cause the apparatus to perform the method recited in claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tran and Yao discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Tran discloses that the length of the actual time domain window is associated with one or more of:
the length of the nominal time domain window;
an event that destroys one or both of power consistency and phase continuity; or
the segment length of the segmented pre-compensation (each time domain window has a length that is not more than the overall length of multiple PUSCH transmissions [“associated with … the length of the nominal time domain window”], according to Abstract, [0025], [0217]).
Regarding claim 3, since the claim upon which this claim depends recites options for a step written in the alterative and the option to which this claim is directed is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tran and Yao discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Tran discloses that the first information is associated with an estimated value of a first parameter, and the first parameter is associated with a requirement for DMRS bundling (DMRS symbol bundling is limited to being within the length of a time domain window for joint channel estimation, according to [0162], whereby joint channel estimation necessitates a phase error that is less than around a few degrees [“first parameter”], according to [0164]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tran and Yao discloses all the limitations of claim 4. Additionally, Tran discloses that the first parameter includes one or more of: a timing error; a Doppler shift error; or a phase difference (joint channel estimation necessitates a phase error [“phase difference”] that is less than around a few degrees, according to [0164]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Tran and Yao discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Tran discloses that the first information is received via one or more of: a broadcast message, radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or downlink control information (DCI) (the length of time domain window is indicated by RRC, according to [0180]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Tran and Yao discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Tran discloses sending, by the terminal device, second information to the network device, wherein the second information indicates a length of a second time period (the UE determines the length of one or more time domain windows for joint channel estimation and transmits an indication of these lengths to the gNB, according to [0213]); and
performing the joint channel estimation based on the length of the second time period (the time domain window length is used for joint channel estimation, according to [0203], [0213]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Tran and Yao discloses all the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Tran discloses that the terminal device determines the length of the second time period based on one or more of: location information of the terminal device; capability information of the terminal device; location information of the network device; or motion state information of a satellite (the UE determines lengths of one or more time domain windows for joint channel estimation based on UE capability, according to [0213]).
Claim 19 does not differ substantively from claim 2, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Tran and Yao discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Tran does not expressly disclose that the third information is determined based on a coverage capability of the terminal device.
Yao discloses that the third information is determined based on a coverage capability of the terminal device (the joint channel estimation capability report is triggered by said UE detecting a signal with an RSRP below a threshold ([0139] of the specification of the instant invention states that “the coverage capability of the terminal device may include reference signal receiving power (RSRP).”), according to [0147]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tran as modified by Yao with Yao such that the third information is determined based on a coverage capability of the terminal device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve channel estimation accuracy (Yao: [0139]). Claim 22 does not differ substantively from claim 21, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 21.
6. Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran in view of Yao as applied to claim 4 above, further in view of Duan et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0341562 (hereinafter Duan)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Tran and Yao discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
Neither Tran nor Yao expressly discloses that the estimated value of the first parameter is associated with one or both of delay drift and Doppler shift.
Duan discloses that the estimated value of the first parameter is associated with one or both of delay drift and Doppler shift (a Doppler measurement is calculated based on a DMRS, according to [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tran as modified by Yao with Duan such that the estimated value of the first parameter is associated with one or both of delay drift and Doppler shift.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate calculation of a UE’s position (Duan: [0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tran, Yao, and Duan discloses all the limitations of claim 6.
Neither Tran nor Yao expressly discloses that one or both of the delay drift and the Doppler shift are associated a movement characteristic of a satellite.
Duan discloses that one or both of the delay drift and the Doppler shift are associated a movement characteristic of a satellite (the Doppler measurement is in relation to reference signals from a satellite base station, according to [0095]-[0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tran as modified by Yao as modified by Duan with Duan such that one or both of the delay drift and the Doppler shift are associated a movement characteristic of a satellite.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to facilitate calculation of a UE’s position (Duan: [0004]-[0005]).
7. Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran in view of Yao as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Ma et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0119776 (hereinafter Ma).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tran and Yao discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Neither Tran nor Yao expressly discloses that the first information is associated with a reference point in a current serving cell.
Ma disclose that the first information is associated with a reference point in a current serving cell (DMRS bundling by a satellite base station is supported when an elevation angle of a beam center of a transmit beam satisfies a threshold, according to [0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tran as modified by Yao with Ma such that the first information is associated with a reference point in a current serving cell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain channel consistency (Ma: [0120]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tran, Yao, and Ma discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
Neither Tran nor Yao expressly discloses that the reference point is associate with an elevation angle of a satellite in the current serving cell.
Ma discloses that the reference point is associate with an elevation angle of a satellite in the current serving cell (DMRS bundling by a satellite base station is supported when an elevation angle of a beam center of a transmit beam satisfies a threshold, according to [0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tran as modified by Yao as modified by Ma with Ma such that the reference point is associate with an elevation angle of a satellite in the current serving cell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain channel consistency (Ma: [0120]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Tran, Yao, and Ma discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
Neither Tran nor Yao expressly discloses that the current serving cell includes a first terminal device and a second terminal device, wherein a capability of the first terminal device is lower than a capability of the second terminal device.
Ma discloses that the current serving cell includes a first terminal device and a second terminal device, wherein a capability of the first terminal device is lower than a capability of the second terminal device (disclosed are a plurality of UEs, whereby some of these UEs have GPS capability, while other UEs lack GPS capability, according to [0096], Fig. 1 [elements 120a, 120b, 120c, and 120e]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tran as modified by Yao as modified by Ma with Ma such that the current serving cell includes a first terminal device and a second terminal device, wherein a capability of the first terminal device is lower than a capability of the second terminal device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to reduce costs.
8. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran in view of Yao as applied to claim 11 above, further in view of Liu et al., WO 2020052462 A1 (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Tran and Yao discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
Neither Tran nor Yao expressly discloses that the second information is a difference between the length of the first time period and the length of the second time period.
Liu discloses that the second information is a difference between the length of the first time period and the length of the second time period (disclosed is a wireless communication method that uses a target time length that is equal to the difference between the time length of a first time window and the time length of a first time interval, according to Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tran as modified by Yao with Liu such that the second information is a difference between the length of the first time period and the length of the second time period.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve a resource utilization rate (Liu: Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645