Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SOH et al. US 20250245943, in view of HEO et al. US 2021/0191526.
Regarding claims 1, 11, SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-4, discloses an electronic apparatus comprising: a sensor ([0116] The detection unit 190 detects a user's voice, images, or interactions, and may include a camera 191, a microphone 192, and an optical receiver 193); a communicator configured to receive an Ultra Wide-Band (UWB) signal (The communication interface 110. Short-range communication technologies may include, ultra-wideband (UWB) communication); memory storing at least one instruction (memory 130, fig. 3); and at least one processor operatively connected to the sensor (see fig 3, detection unit 190 and memory 130), the communicator (The communication interface 110), and the memory (memory 130), wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, causes the electronic apparatus to: obtain a first candidate location corresponding to a location of an external device, based on the UWB signal received by the communicator (the processor 140 may be configured to execute one or more instructions stored in the memory 130 to obtain location information of the electronic device and identification information of the electronic device by using Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication technology or UWB communication technology); based on a first image obtained through the sensor (see fig. 4, step 410), obtain a second candidate location corresponding to at least one body part in the first image (the processor 140 may be configured to execute one or more instructions stored in the memory 130 to identify a user associated with the electronic device by using location information of the user detected in the image and location information of the electronic device.); and generate a second image based on the location information (see figs. 4, 7, 8, 10, pars. 54, 125, 127, 156-158, 161, 162, 171, 180, 190, 227-229).
HEO et al. US 2021/0191526 disclose FIG. 5, the electronic device 101 may detect a user's gesture and may perform a command based on the detected gesture. The electronic device 101 may change a gesture detection mode according to a distance from the user. For example, when it is determined that a user is located within a designated range, the electronic device 101 may operate in a first gesture mode to detect the user's gesture, and when it is determined that the user is located outside the designated range, the electronic device 101 may operate in a second gesture mode to detect the user's gesture. n operation 410, the processor may determine a first area and a second area based on a user's location. The processor may detect the user's location using one or more sensors. According to various embodiments, the processor may divide the gesture area into the first area and the second area.
It would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the electronic device 101 may operate in a first gesture mode to detect the user's gesture in SOH et al. US 20250245943, as suggested by HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, the motivation in order to detect the user's gesture.
Therefore, the combination of SOH et al. US 20250245943, HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, discloses obtain location information of a user body part of a user corresponding to the external device based on the first candidate location and the second candidate location (see SOH et al. US 20250245943 ((see figs. 4, 7, 8, 10, pars. 54, 125, 127, 156-158, 161, 162, 171, 180, 190, 227-229), HEO et al. US 2021/0191526 (figs. 4, pars. 62, 68. 71, 74, 75).
Regarding claims 2, 12, the combination of SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-5, HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, figs.1- 4, discloses the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: recognize a first hand and a second hand of a user as the at least one body part in the first image; and obtain the second candidate location by identifying a hand that grips the external device among the first hand and the second hand, based on the first candidate location (see SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-5, HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, fig. 6, A user's gesture generated in the second area 630 including a peripheral space within the second distance R.sub.2 and not including the first area 620 may be recognized as a valid gesture by the processor. According to various embodiments, gestures such as a gesture 630a of a user performing a pointing operation with his arm, a gesture 630b of a user performing a handing-over operation with his hand, a gesture 630c of a user performing control using his/her two hands, and the like which are intended to control the electronic device, and thus should be determined as valid gesture commands).
Regarding claims 3, 13, the combination of SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-5, HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, figs.1- 4, discloses the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein a first object is displayed at a location corresponding to the first hand and a second object different from the first object is displayed at a location corresponding to the second hand in the second image (see SOH et al. US 20250245943, 1040, the display device 100 may obtain electronic device identification information and location information of the electronic device 200 by communicating with the electronic device 200. Obtaining identification information and location information of the electronic device 200 by identifying the electronic device 200 via communication with the electronic device 200 is as described in operation 420 of FIG. 4., figs. 1-5, HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, FIG. 9, the processor may recognize user's physical characteristics (e.g., height, length of a body structure, age, presence or absence of a physical disability, etc.) and may apply a gesture area suitable for the user's physical characteristics. The user's physical characteristics may be directly input by the user to the electronic device or may be determined by the processor based on recognized information. The processor may configure, for example, the location and size of the gesture area. For example, the processor may configure the gesture area as the whole body 911, as an upper body 921 or a lower body 923 only, as a head 931, arms 933 and 935 or legs 937 and 939 only, or as two hands 941 and 943 only. In this case, the location and size of the gesture recognition area may be configured differently even within one application).
Regarding claims 4, 14, the combination of SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-5, HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, figs.1- 4, discloses the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to, based on recognizing a plurality of users based on the first image, identify a user gripping the external device among the plurality of users based on the first candidate location, and obtain the second candidate location based on the hand that grips the external device (see SOH et al. US 20250245943, 1040, the display device 100 may obtain electronic device identification information and location information of the electronic device 200 by communicating with the electronic device 200. Obtaining identification information and location information of the electronic device 200 by identifying the electronic device 200 via communication with the electronic device 200 is as described in operation 420 of FIG. 4., figs. 1-5, HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, FIG. 9, the processor may recognize user's physical characteristics (e.g., height, length of a body structure, age, presence or absence of a physical disability, etc.) and may apply a gesture area suitable for the user's physical characteristics. The user's physical characteristics may be directly input by the user to the electronic device or may be determined by the processor based on recognized information. The processor may configure, for example, the location and size of the gesture area. For example, the processor may configure the gesture area as the whole body 911, as an upper body 921 or a lower body 923 only, as a head 931, arms 933 and 935 or legs 937 and 939 only, or as two hands 941 and 943 only. In this case, the location and size of the gesture recognition area may be configured differently even within one application).
Regarding claims 5, 15, the combination of SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-5, HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, figs.1- 4, discloses the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: store the location information and time information in the memory (see SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-5, pars. 156-158, 180, 184, 194, 198); and identify the user body part based on the location information stored in the memory, and obtain the second candidate location based on the user body part (see HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, FIG. 9, pars. 96, 104, 114).
Regarding claims 6, 16, the combination of SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-5, HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, figs.1- 4, discloses the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: compare the location information stored in the memory and the first candidate location; and based on the first candidate location and a location corresponding to the stored location information being equal to or greater than a preset distance, obtain the first candidate location based on the location information stored in the memory (see SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-5, pars. [0163] Referring to FIG. 8, the display device 100 may identify a skeleton corresponding to an electronic device by aligning positions of one or more skeletons detected in a captured image by using a skeleton detection technique with positions of one or more identified electronic devices. The display device 100 may compare the positions of the one or more skeletons with the positions of the one or more electronic devices, and determine that an electronic device and a skeleton correspond to each other when a distance between the electronic device and the skeleton is less than or equal to a threshold. For example, in FIG. 8, when selecting a skeleton corresponding to an electronic device #1, the display device 100 may determine that a skeleton #1 corresponds to the electronic device #1 because the skeleton #1 is the skeleton whose distance from the electronic device #1 is less than or equal to the threshold. Furthermore, when selecting a skeleton corresponding to an electronic device #2, the display device 100 may determine that a skeleton #2 corresponds to the electronic device #2 because the skeleton #2 is the skeleton whose distance from the electronic device #2 is less than or equal to the threshold. When selecting a skeleton corresponding to an electronic device #3, the display device 100 may determine that a skeleton #3 corresponds to the electronic device #3 because the skeleton #3 is the skeleton whose distance from the electronic device #3 is less than or equal to the threshold. In this way, the display device 100 may select a skeleton corresponding to each electronic device in the image, i.e., a skeleton associated with each electronic device); (see HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, FIG. 9, pars. 96, 104, 114).
Regarding claims 7, 17, the combination of SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-5, HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, figs.1- 4, discloses the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to, based on a reception period of the first image being shorter than a reception period of the UWB signal from the external device, obtain the first candidate location corresponding to a current time point based on the location information stored in the memory and a most recently obtained first candidate location (see SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-5, pars FIG. 5B is a reference diagram illustrating a method of identifying an electronic device by using UWB communication technology, according to an embodiment. [0133] According to various embodiments, the display device 100 or the processor 140 of the display device 100 may calculate a distance to an external electronic device via a UWB signal. As described with reference to FIG. 2, the display device 100 may include a UWB antenna 115 of FIG. 5C for performing UWB communication. The UWB antenna 115 of the display device 100 may include at least one processor distinct from the processor 140, and a distance to an external electronic device may be calculated based on a UWB signal. The at least one processor included in the UWB antenna 115 may generate data or information, including time information, based on the UWB signal, and provide the data or information to the processor 140 of the display device 100. The processor 140 may calculate a distance to the external electronic device based on the provided data or information).
Regarding claims 8, 18, the combination of SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-5, HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, figs.1- 4, discloses the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 5, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: identify a user gesture based on the location information stored in the memory and the location information that is obtained; and perform an event corresponding to the user gesture (see SOH et al. US 20250245943, 1040, the display device 100 may obtain electronic device identification information and location information of the electronic device 200 by communicating with the electronic device 200. Obtaining identification information and location information of the electronic device 200 by identifying the electronic device 200 via communication with the electronic device 200 is as described in operation 420 of FIG. 4 ); (see HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, FIG. 5, the electronic device 101 may detect a user's gesture and may perform a command based on the detected gesture. The electronic device 101 may change a gesture detection mode according to a distance from the user. For example, when it is determined that a user is located within a designated range, the electronic device 101 may operate in a first gesture mode to detect the user's gesture, and when it is determined that the user is located outside the designated range, the electronic device 101 may operate in a second gesture mode to detect the user's gesture).
Regarding claims 9, 19, the combination of SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-5, HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, figs.1- 4, discloses the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to: obtain a user pose based on the first image; and obtain the location information based on the user pose and the first candidate location ((see SOH et al. US 20250245943, 1040, the display device 100 may obtain electronic device identification information and location information of the electronic device 200 by communicating with the electronic device 200. Obtaining identification information and location information of the electronic device 200 by identifying the electronic device 200 via communication with the electronic device 200 is as described in operation 420 of FIG. 4 ); (see HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, FIG. 5, the electronic device 101 may detect a user's gesture and may perform a command based on the detected gesture. The electronic device 101 may change a gesture detection mode according to a distance from the user. For example, when it is determined that a user is located within a designated range, the electronic device 101 may operate in a first gesture mode to detect the user's gesture, and when it is determined that the user is located outside the designated range, the electronic device 101 may operate in a second gesture mode to detect the user's gesture).
Regarding claims 10, 20, the combination of SOH et al. US 20250245943, figs. 1-5, HEO et al. US 2021/0191526, figs.1- 4, discloses the electronic apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, further causes the electronic apparatus to identify whether the first candidate location is within the first image, and obtain the second candidate location based on whether the first candidate location is within the first image (SOH et al. US 20250245943, FIG. 8, the display device 100 may identify a skeleton corresponding to an electronic device by aligning positions of one or more skeletons detected in a captured image by using a skeleton detection technique with positions of one or more identified electronic devices. The display device 100 may compare the positions of the one or more skeletons with the positions of the one or more electronic devices, and determine that an electronic device and a skeleton correspond to each other when a distance between the electronic device and the skeleton is less than or equal to a threshold. For example, in FIG. 8, when selecting a skeleton corresponding to an electronic device #1, the display device 100 may determine that a skeleton #1 corresponds to the electronic device #1 because the skeleton #1 is the skeleton whose distance from the electronic device #1 is less than or equal to the threshold. Furthermore, when selecting a skeleton corresponding to an electronic device #2, the display device 100 may determine that a skeleton #2 corresponds to the electronic device #2 because the skeleton #2 is the skeleton whose distance from the electronic device #2 is less than or equal to the threshold. When selecting a skeleton corresponding to an electronic device #3, the display device 100 may determine that a skeleton #3 corresponds to the electronic device #3 because the skeleton #3 is the skeleton whose distance from the electronic device #3 is less than or equal to the threshold. In this way, the display device 100 may select a skeleton corresponding to each electronic device in the image, i.e., a skeleton associated with each electronic device).
Conclusion
/VAN N CHOW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627