Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in reply to the office action of 7/29/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
1. The modification changes Phalen’s principle of operation (In re Gordon; In re Ratti). Applicant argues that Phalen’s air bearing exists to reduce friction and enable sliding, that the proposed modification requires Phalen to serve as a securement layer resisting movement, and that a modification changing the basic principle under which a device operates cannot support obviousness. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The argument assumes that securement and the air bearing must operate at the same time. Neither claims 1 nor claim 10 requires that. Claim 1 recites that air flow is “provided” to the chamber in the transferring step, and only there during the positioning and surgical steps no air is provided, Phalen’s exit holes 40 pass no air, and no air bearing exists. Phalen’s principle of operation is not that the sheet always slides but that the sheet slides when and only when air is supplied through holes 40 (Phalen: col. 3 lines 50-60). Between transfers Phalen’s sheet remains beneath the patient and rests on the underlying surface, which is its intended use as a repositioning sheet. The combination uses Phalen in the same sequence claim 1 recites and makes no structural change to the device. Nothing is reconstructed and no principle is altered. Even Applicant’s own method contains the feature the applicant calls a contradiction and resolves it the same way, by supplying air only for transfer.
2. Modification renders Phalen unsatisfactory for its intended purpose and requires substantial reconstruction. Applicant invokes the related principles that a modification may not render the primary reference unsatisfactory for its intended purpose or require substantial reconstruction. Phalen’s intended purpose is to support a patient on a high-friction surface, and when air is supplied to permit lateral transfer on an air bearing. The combination preserves both operations: the patient is supported on layer 110 during the procedure and is transferred on the air bearing afterward. No element of Phalen is removed, redesigned or disabled. Placing the sheet on a surgical table, anchoring it, and tilting the table is a change of use environment not a reconstruction of the device.
3. Augustine teaches away. Applicant cites Augustine’s statement that a slide sheet left on top of the friction elements negates securement and must be removed before Trendelenburg positioning (Augustine: col. 33 lines 45-65), and argues that Phalen introduces exactly the sliding layer Augustine warns against. The cited passage concerns a low-friction slide sheet interposed between the patient and the friction surface. Phalen’s patient interface is high friction layer 110, which resists patient slippage (Phalen: col. 3 ). Phalen’s low-friction behavior is at the underside, exists only while air is supplied, and in the combination is addressed by Augustine’s own anchoring of the support to the table. Augustine does not criticize or discredit a device with a high-friction patient surface anchored to the table; that is the arrangement Augustine describes.
4. Physical capability alone does not establish obviousness (In re Gianelli). Applicant argues that the examiner has shown only that Phalen’s layer 110 could resist slippage, not that a PHOSITA would use a device designed for lateral transfer as a Trendelenburg securement device. The rationale is not one of capability. Augustine supplied the need, patient slippage relative to the table in Trendelenburg positioning (Augustine: col. 7 lines 40-65). A PHOSITA seeking to secure a patient in Trendelenburg while preserving the ability to transfer that patient afterward would have had reason to use Phalen’s device on Augustine’s table.
5. Amended claim 1: fixed relative to the operating surface. Applicant argues that holding the patient fixed relative to the device does not hold the patient fixed relative to the operating surface when the device is designed to slide on that surface, and that no combination teaches a single device both fixed to the table and transferable on an air bearing. The examiner respectfully disagrees: First the device does not slide during the positioning and surgical steps because no air is supplied. Second, in the combination the device is anchored to the table as Augustine teaches (Augustine: FIG. 1) With the device fixed to the table and the patient held to the device by high friction layer 110, the non-skid surface maintains the patient fixed relative to both the device and the operating surface.
6. The Miller rationale lacks record support (In re Kahn). Applicant argues that the prior action’s stated benefits of “lower profile” and “simplified fabrication” are not found in Miller. The rationale has been restated below on the basis of Miller’s express teachings: forming the air conduit by a strip bonded to the base sheet eliminates external air hoses and connections and reduces the cost of materials and labor of the air distribution system (Miller: col. 1 lines 45-65; col. 2 lines 1-30).
7. Claim 10: the examiner equivocates between replacing and supplementing. The examiner commits to a single modification: replacing Phalen’s socks 80, 82, with Miller’s bonded-strip channel. Phalen’s own claims recite socks “separate and distinct from” the layers does not weigh against substitution.
8. Claim 10: Miller’s strip 76 is not “a portion of” the base sheet. Applicant argues that strip 76 is a separate piece of material bonded to the base sheet 22 and therefore cannot be a portion of the same panel. The argument is inconsistent with the claim language and applicant’s own disclosure. Claim 10 recites a channel “defined by a first material layer coupled to a second material layer.” Two layers coupled to one another are two pieces of material joined together; any channel is formed of more than one piece. Applicant’s specification describes channel 86 in exactly these terms, as “a first material layer 88a coupled to a second material layer 88b, such as a portion of the top panel 20 and/or bottom panel 22” in [0054]. Under BRI consistent with that disclosure, a panel is a laminated structure and layer bonded to one face of a panel is a portion of that panel.
9. Claim 20: Applicant notes that the prior action listed claim 20 as rejected without stating a ground. The ground is set forth below. It applies Augustine’s Trendelenburg teaching, which the prior action already expressly relied on in rejecting claim 1 and which applicant argued in the reply, and relies on no new reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10828216 issued to Phalen in view of U.S. Patent No. 10765580 issued to Augustine.
Regarding claim 1,
Phalen discloses a method of … positioning an inflatable transfer device on an operating surface (Phalen: FIG. 3 sheet (12) positioned on (42)) a top panel, a bottom panel coupled to the top panel to define an inflatable chamber therebetween (Phalen: FIGS. 3-4 upper layer (36) joined to lower layer (38) via a seal (140)) a plurality of perforations formed in the bottom panel, the plurality of perforations in fluid communication with the inflatable chamber (Phalen: FIGS. 2 and 4, air exit holes 40 formed in lower layer 38; see col. 3 lines 50-60 air exits through the holes 40) and a non-skid surface coupled to the top panel; (Phalen: FIG. 3 high friction layer (110)) positioning a patient on the inflatable transfer device (Phalen: FIGS. 3-4 patient (31) on sheet (12)) transferring the inflatable transfer device to a second surface, wherein the inflatable device is transferred by providing an air flow to the inflatable chamber to generate an air bearing beneath the bottom panel of the inflatable device. (Phalen: FIGS. 2 and 4, air exit holes 40 in lower layer 38 form an air bearing; see also col. 3 lines 50-60, the bearing formed by air exiting through holes 40 so that the sheet and patient may be shifted laterally onto a nearby surface)
Phalen does not appear to disclose positioning the inflatable transfer device and the operating surface at an angle with respect to the horizontal, wherein the non-skid surface maintains the patient in a fixed position relative to the inflatable transfer device and the operating surface at the angle, or performing a surgical procedure.
However, Augustine positioning the inflatable transfer device and the operating surface at an angle with respect to the horizontal, wherein the non-skid surface maintains the patient in a fixed position relative to the inflatable transfer device and the operating surface at the angle, (Augustine: FIGS. 1-2 and 7A 7B having friction enhancing elements that maintain the patient in at an angle with respect to the horizontal; see also FIG. 1 and col. 10 lines 1-25, the support is anchored to the surgical table so that it is itself fixed relative to the table when tilted; see col. 7 lines 40-65, patient slippage relative to the table during Trendelenburg positioning is the problem addressed) or performing a surgical procedure. (Augustine: Abstract: “A patient securing overlay is provided that includes a sheet of fabric for supporting a patient's torso on a surgical table.”)
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inflatable patient repositioning sheet of Phalen in the surgical Trendelenburg positioning environment taught by Augustine. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Phalen’s high-friction inflatable transfer sheet as the patient-support/positioning surface in Augustine’s angled surgical procedure, since doing so would maintain the patient against sliding during Trendelenburg positioning while preserving Phalen’s known post-procedure air-assisted transfer function.
Regarding claim 4,
Phalen in view of Augustine discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising anchoring the inflatable transfer device to the operating surface prior to positioning the inflatable transfer device and the operating surface at the angle with respect to the horizontal. (Augustine: FIG. 1)
Regarding claim 7,
Phalen in view of Augustine discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the non-skid surface of the inflatable transfer device includes a high-friction foam material. (Augustine: Abstract; Background, High-friction foam is a conventional non-skid material “An example of such friction-enhancing elements may be a PVC foam or silicone rubber applied as a pattern of three-dimensional raised dots onto a sheet of fabric” and col. 11 lines 10-15 “The friction-enhancing elements 34 include but are not limited to: PVC foams, viscoelastic PVC foams, silicone, viscoelastic polyurethane foams, other viscoelastic polymeric foams, urethane, PVC, as well as other polymers and rubbers.)
Regarding claim 8,
Phalen in view of Augustine discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the inflatable transfer device includes a plurality of stringers, and a top edge of each of the plurality of stringers is coupled to the top panel and a bottom edge of each of the plurality of stringers is coupled to the bottom panel. (Phalen: FIGS. 1 and 4 internal walls/baffles 116 connecting the substrate (upper) layer and the lower layer to form tubes (50))
Regarding claim 9,
Phalen in view of Augustine discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the inflatable transfer device is inflated while performing the surgical procedure. (Phalen: FIG. 4 Phalen’s device is inflated with the support (42))
Claim(s) 2-3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10828216 issued to Phalen in view of U.S. Patent No. 10765580 issued to Augustine further in view of U.S. Patent No. 8464720 issued to Pigazzi.
Regarding claim 2,
Phalen in view of Augustine discloses the method of claim 1.
Phalen in view of Augustine does not appear to disclose wherein the angle is between 15 and 25 degrees with respect to the horizontal.
However, Pigazzi discloses wherein the angle is between 15 and 25 degrees with respect to the horizontal. (Pigazzi: col. 5 lines 25-37 talks about varying the angle between 0 and 45 degrees)
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to carry out the angled positioning of Phalen in view of Augustine at the Trendelenburg and steep-Trendelenburg angles taught by Pigazzi, with a reasonable expectation of success, to achieve the recognized surgical Trendelenburg position as already taught in Augustine.
Regarding claim 3,
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Pigazzi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the angle is between 25 and 45 degrees with respect to the horizontal. (Pigazzi: col. 5 lines 25-37 talks about varying the angle between 0 and 45 degrees)
Regarding claim 5,
Phalen in view of Augustine discloses the method of claim 4.
Phalen in view of Augustine does not appear to disclose wherein anchoring the inflatable transfer device comprises coupling at least one fastener attached to the operating surface to an anchor loop coupled to at least one of the top panel and the bottom panel.
However, Pigazzi discloses wherein anchoring the inflatable transfer device comprises coupling at least one fastener attached to the operating surface to an anchor loop coupled to at least one of the top panel and the bottom panel. (Pigazzi: FIGS. 1, 3A-3B and 6 the fasteners 104 attach the pad to the table via hook and loop straps engaging loops on the pad see col. 5 lines 25-46)
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to anchor Phalen’s device to the operating table via Pigazzi’s rail/loop securement during Trendelenburg positioning to prevent sliding during the surgical procedure.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10828216 issued to Phalen in view of U.S. Patent No. 10765580 issued to Augustine further in view of U.S. Patent No. 10709626 issued to Gomez.
Regarding claim 6,
Phalen in view of Augustine discloses the method of claim 4.
Phalen in view of Augustine does not appear to disclose wherein anchoring the inflatable transfer device includes positioning at least one foam rail patch in contact with a portion of the operating surface, and the foam rail patch is coupled to at least one of the top panel or the bottom panel.
However, Gomez disclose wherein anchoring the inflatable transfer device includes positioning at least one foam rail patch in contact with a portion of the operating surface, and the foam rail patch is coupled to at least one of the top panel or the bottom panel. (Gomez: claim 1 “An apparatus for positioning a patient in a gravity dependent surgical position on a surgical table, the apparatus comprising: a base having a top surface and a bottom surface, the bottom surface having a strip of pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA) and one or more foam strips disposed along the periphery of the bottom surface disposed thereon for inhibiting movement of the bottom surface relative to the table when the table is placed in the gravity dependent surgical position;” and FIG. 6 (121, 124))
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the bottom panel of Phalen’s inflatable transfer device with Gomez’s peripheral foam anti-skid strip(s), in contact with the operating surface, to inhibit movement of the device relative to the operating table during the angled/Trendelenburg positioning taught by Augustine with a reasonable expectation of success, since Gomez already teaches that foam strips prevent a patient-support device from sliding on the table when placed in a gravity dependent surgical position (claim 1 Gomez).
Claim(s) 10-12, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10828216 issued to Phalen in view of U.S. Patent No. 10765580 issued to Augustine further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6073290 issued to Miller.
Regarding claim 10,
Phalen discloses positioning an inflatable transfer device on an operating surface, (Phalen: FIG. 3 sheet (12) positioned on (42)) the inflatable transfer device comprising: a top panel, a bottom panel coupled to the top panel to define an inflatable chamber therebetween (Phalen: FIGS. 3-4 upper layer (36) joined to lower layer (38) via a seal (140)) a non-skid surface coupled to the top panel, (Phalen: FIG. 3 high friction layer (110)) an air manifold including an air flow channel defining an air intake and at least one air outflow, the at least one air outflow in fluid communication with the inflatable chamber (Phalen: FIG. 1, air delivery socks 80, 82 receiving air from the inlet ports and directing it through openings 84, 86 into the inflatable tubes) positioning a patient on the inflatable transfer device (Phalen: FIGS. 3-4 (31))
Phalen does not appear to disclose positioning the inflatable transfer device and the operating surface at an angle with respect to the horizontal, wherein the non-skid surface maintains the patient in a fixed position relative to the inflatable transfer device and the operating surface when the inflatable transfer device and the patient are positioned at the angle, with respect to the horizontal … an air flow channel that is defined by a first material layer coupled to a second material layer, both the first material layer and the second material layer being only one of the top panel or the bottom panel;
However, Augustine positioning the inflatable transfer device and the operating surface at an angle with respect to the horizontal, wherein the non-skid surface maintains the patient in a fixed position relative to the inflatable transfer device and the operating surface when the inflatable transfer device and the patient are positioned at the angle, with respect to the horizontal (Augustine: FIGS. 1-2 and 7A 7B having friction enhancing elements that maintain the patient in at an angle with respect to the horizontal; see also FIG. 1 and col. 10 lines 1-25, the support is anchored to the surgical table so that it is itself fixed relative to the table when tilted; see col. 7 lines 40-65, patient slippage relative to the table during Trendelenburg positioning is the problem addressed) or performing a surgical procedure. (Augustine: Abstract: “A patient securing overlay is provided that includes a sheet of fabric for supporting a patient's torso on a surgical table.”)
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inflatable patient repositioning sheet of Phalen in the surgical Trendelenburg positioning environment taught by Augustine. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Phalen’s high-friction inflatable transfer sheet as the patient-support/positioning surface in Augustine’s angled surgical procedure, since doing so would maintain the patient against sliding during Trendelenburg positioning while preserving Phalen’s known post-procedure air-assisted transfer function.
Phalen in view of Augustine does not appear to disclose an air flow channel that is defined by a first material layer coupled to a second material layer, both the first material layer and the second material layer each being a portion of the same one of the top panel or the bottom panel
However, Miller discloses an air flow channel that is defined by a first material layer coupled to a second material layer, both the first material layer and the second material layer each being a portion of the same one of the top panel or the bottom panel (Miller: col. 4 lines 15-27 “First and second air-permeable foam filled conduits 70, 72 respectively are each defined by a strip 76 of sheet material, which may be the same or similar material as the base sheet 22, bonded or welded to the lower surface 74 of the base sheet 22.” The strip and base sheet together defining the conduit; both layers are layers of the same panel, base sheet, with the conduit formed on one face of that panel,the conduit having an inlet and orifices through which air is supplied to the inlet and distributed to the cells (Miller: Abstract; col. 4)
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Phalen’s inflatable transfer sheet by replacing Phalen’s separate air-delivery sock with Miller’s bonded-sheet air conduit construction. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to do so since an integral bonded-sheet conduit eliminates the separate hose-like conduit components and their connections and reduces the material and labor cost of the air distribution system (Miller: col. 1 lines 45-65 and col. 2 lines 1-30)
Regarding claim 11,
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising performing a surgical procedure while the patient is at the angle with respect to the horizontal. (Augustine: FIG. 1)
Regarding claim 12,
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising transferring the inflatable transfer device to a second surface, wherein the inflatable transfer device is transferred by providing an air flow to the inflatable chamber to generate an air bearing beneath the bottom panel of the inflatable transfer device. (Phalen: col. 2 lines 37-55)
Regarding claim 17,
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the inflatable transfer device includes a plurality of stringers, and a top edge of each of the plurality of stringers is coupled to the top panel and a bottom edge of each of the plurality of stringers is coupled to the bottom panel. . (Phalen: FIGS. 1 and 4 internal walls/baffles 116 connecting the substrate (upper) layer and the lower layer to form tubes (50))
Regarding claim 18,
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the inflatable transfer device is inflated while performing the surgical procedure. (Phalen: FIG. 4 Phalen’s device is inflated with the support (42))
Regarding claim 19,
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the inflatable transfer device is inflated by coupling an air inflow device to the air manifold. (Phalen: FIG. 1 (14))
Regarding claim 20,
Phalen in view of Augustine and Miller discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the patient is positioned at a Tredelenburg position (Augustine: Abstract; FIGS. 1-2, 7A-7B; col. 7 lines 40-65, the patient securing overlay supports the patient on the surgical table in the Trendelenburg position, with the friction-enhancing elements preventing slippage at that angle).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10828216 issued to Phalen in view of U.S. Patent No. 10765580 issued to Augustine further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6073290 issued to Miller further in view of U.S. Publication No. 20210093502 issued to Thompson.
Regarding claim 13,
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller discloses the method of claim 10.
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller does not appear to disclose wherein the inflatable transfer device further includes a perineal cutout at an inferior end of the inflatable transfer device.
However, Thompson discloses wherein the inflatable transfer device further includes a perineal cutout at an inferior end of the inflatable transfer device. (Thompson: FIG. 6B (63))
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inflatable transfer device of the combination with a perineal cutout at its inferior end as taught by Thompson in order to permit surgical access to the patient’s perineum during the procedure.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10828216 issued to Phalen in view of U.S. Patent No. 10765580 issued to Augustine further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6073290 issued to Miller further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6073291 issued to Davis 291.
Regarding claim 14,
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller discloses the method of claim 10.
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller does not appear to disclose wherein the air manifold defines an air inlet and at least two air outflow paths, and an outlet of one of the at least two air outflow paths is larger than an outlet of another one of the at least two air outflow paths.
However, Davis discloses the air manifold defines an air inlet and at least two air outflow paths, and an outlet of one of the at least two air outflow paths is larger than an outlet of another one of the at least two air outflow paths. (Davis 291: FIG. 16 (61, 63) see also col. 26 lines 66- col 27 line 11 “However, the present inventor has now found that superior results may be had, so far as even inflation is concerned, if the sock 53 is, as shown in FIG. 16, provided with essentially only two orifices 61 and 63, orifice 61 being near the inlet orifice in perimeter wall 15 into which the fitting 57 of hose 55 fits, and orifice 63, which is at least one third larger but less than one half larger in size than orifice 61, is provided at the far end of the sock 53, but facing inwardly toward the main body 12 of the transfer apparatus. This arrangement of orifices places the larger orifice farther from the air inlet and serves to much better distribute pressurized air evenly within the body portion 12 of the transfer apparatus 11.”)
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the air manifold/outlet arrangement of the Phalen/Augustine/Miller device with differently sized outlets as taught by Davis 291. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to apply the known technique of outlet-sizing which improves the distribution of pressurized air within the inflatable transfer apparatus.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10828216 issued to Phalen in view of U.S. Patent No. 10765580 issued to Augustine further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6073290 issued to Miller further in view of U.S. Publication No. 20070000048 to Davis.
Regarding claim 15,
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller discloses the method of claim 10.
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller does not appear to disclose wherein the non-skid surface is releasably coupled to the top panel.
However, Davis discloses wherein the non-skid surface is releasably coupled to the top panel. (Davis 048: [0075] discloses a “sheet of low friction material attached to it lowest most … transfer mattress” and that “it may be attached to the bottom surface … by hook and felt fasteners 179”)
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller by having the non-skid sheet of Phalen releasably attached as taught by Davis 048 in order to allow for changing out the sheet whenever it gets dirty or its friction properties begin to wear over time.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10828216 issued to Phalen in view of U.S. Patent No. 10765580 issued to Augustine further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6073290 issued to Miller further in view of U.S. Patent No. 8464720 issued to Pigazzi.
Regarding claim 16,
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller discloses the method of claim 10.
Phalen in view of Augustine in view of Miller does not appear to disclose wherein the inflatable transfer device further includes an anchor loop configured to provide an attachment point for coupling the inflatable transfer device to a support surface.
However, Pigazzi discloses wherein anchoring the inflatable transfer device comprises coupling at least one fastener attached to the operating surface to an anchor loop coupled to at least one of the top panel and the bottom panel. (Pigazzi: FIGS. 1, 3A-3B and 6 the fasteners 104 attach the pad to the table via hook and loop straps engaging loops on the pad see col. 5 lines 25-46)
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to anchor Phalen’s device to the operating table via Pigazzi’s rail/loop securement during Trendelenburg positioning to prevent sliding during the surgical procedure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM C ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673