DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims, filed on 2/5/26, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Any rejections made in the previous action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Examiner Note: Examiner made several corrections in the below rejections in which the primary art was incorrectly referenced in the body of rejection as Konrad and not Shaefer. The introductory statement of rejection correctly referenced Shaefer, so the intended art should have been clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 18, 23, 24, 26, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer in view of Tarzwell et al, High Voltage Printed Circuit Design & Manufacturing Notebook (2004).
Regarding claim 17 and 26, Schaefer teaches method of making a dielectric material layer, comprising providing a non-woven, inorganic (e.g., glass) fabric reinforcement; impregnating the reinforcement with a crosslinked thermosetting polymer resin (e.g., epoxy); drying the impregnated reinforcement; and pressing the dried impregnated reinforcement to form a dielectric material layer having a thickness of 20-200 microns (abstract; claim 13, figs 1-2). Shaefer further teaches this process is used resulting in working examples resulting in prepreg thickness of 60 microns (i.e., less than 125 and/or 100 microns) (page 4-5, example 1; fig 3).
Schaefer fails to suggest wherein the dielectric material layer is characterized by a thickness reduction of at least 25% relative to a thickness of the non-woven, inorganic fabric reinforcement prior to lamination. However, Schaefer suggests pressing the dielectric material (page 5-7).
Tarzwell teaches in prepregs used for printed circuit boards voids or pockets will degrade the dielectric value seriously; and the trick when pressing multilayer boards, is to get the amount, thickness and flow rate of the prepreg correct. Too high of a percentage of glue in the prepreg will cause it to squish out. Too much prepreg in the build will cause the final pressed thickness to exceed required dimensions. Too little prepreg will cause dry weave from resin starvation and possible inner layer shorts (page 16). It was known in the art at thew time of invention that the non-woven fabric provides the voids or gaps that the glue or resin or resin impregnate; and during the pressing step, these voids or gaps would be reduced.
Therefore, per Tarzwell, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to adjust the thickness reduction or compression of the inorganic non-woven substrate during the pressing step of Schaefer to meet the design requirements of the dielectric material (e.g., final thickness of 20 – 200 microns per Shaefer) while insuring the amount and flow rate of the prepreg is correct to prevent voids or pockets from occurring that would degrade the dielectric value and/or cause dry weave from resin starvation and possible inner layer shorts.
Regarding claim 18, Schaefer teaches the resultant dielectric material layer having a thickness of 20-200 microns (abstract); so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to select a non-woven glass fabric with a starting thickness that would allow the required resultant dielectric material layer final thickness after the pressing and/or laminating step.
Regarding clam 23, Schaefer teaches controlling a thickness of the impregnated reinforcement prior to drying with a squeeze roll (e.g., roller coating system (3)) (abstract; page 4, fig 1)
Regarding claim 24, Schaefer teaches the dielectric or prepeg is laminated to and therein supported by a copper foil and further joined with a release film (abstract; example 1; fig 3).
Regarding claims 27 and 28, Schaefer teaches dielectric material layer having a thickness of 20-200 microns (abstract). This range substantially overlaps that of the instant claims. It has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Schaefer, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05).
Claims 19, 29, 32, and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer and Tarzwell as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Koes (US 2016/0362527 A1)
Schaefer as modified by Tarzwell teaches the method of making the dielectric material of claim 17.
Schaefer as modified by Tarzwell fails to suggest wherein the non-woven, inorganic fabric reinforcement is E-glass, S-2 Glass, R Glass, or ECR Glass, Quartz, L-glass, NE Glass, or D Glass; wherein the crosslinked thermosetting polymer resin is characterized by a dissipation factor (DF) of less than about 0.010; wherein the crosslinked thermosetting polymer resin is a polyphenylene ether (PPE) and/or polyphenylene oxide (PPO) based crosslinked thermosetting polymer resin; and, wherein the dielectric material layer is characterized by a dielectric constant (DK) of those of claims 37-39.
Koes teaches circuit materials including dielectric substrate comprising at least one dielectric material layer comprising a non-woven, inorganic fabric reinforcement; wherein the presence of the poly(TAIC/TAC) particles in the formulations used to manufacture the circuit materials was found to unexpectedly result in an improved balance of properties in the dielectric material, particularly electrical properties for high frequency circuit applications (abstract para 28, 29). Koes further suggests the use of E, S, D, Land NE glass non-wovens in circuit materials (para 54, 72); and the use of poly(phenylene ether) and epoxy as the thermosetting resin (para 48, 52, 57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the dielectric substrates of Koes with the dielectric substrates of Schaefer as modified by Tarzwell for printed circuit boards comprising dielectric substrates with in an improved balance of properties in the dielectric material, particularly electrical properties for high frequency circuit applications.
Koes further teaches the at least one dielectric material layer is characterized by a dielectric constant (DK) of less than 3.5 with a specific range of 2.5 to 3.5 given; and a dissipation factor (D+) of less than 0.0060 (abstract, para 4, 29, 31). These ranges lie within or substantially overlap the range of the instant claims.
It has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Koes, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05).
Claims 20-22 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer and Tarzwell as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Sabic Noryl™ SA9000 Resin Guide (2019).
Schaefer as modified by Tarzwell teaches the method of making the dielectric material of claim 17.
Schaefer as modified by Tarzwell fails to suggest the density of the resin in claims 20-22; and wherein the crosslinked thermosetting polymer resin is a polyphenylene ether (PPE) and/or polyphenylene oxide (PPO) based crosslinked thermosetting polymer resin.
Sabic teaches its NORYL SA9000 resin is a modified, low molecular weight, bi-functional oligomer based on polyphenylene ether (PPE) with vinyl end-groups for use in application areas which include PCB laminates; wherein the resin has a specific gravity of 1.02 (i.e., 1.02 g/cc) (page 2). Sabic further teaches the use of NORYL SA9000 resin may be especially advantageous in insulating materials where very low dielectric properties and decreased moisture absorption are required.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the NORYL SA9000 resin of Sabic with the epoxy resin of Schaefer as modified by Tarzwell, since it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose (MPEP § 2144.06 I). In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the NORYL SA9000 resin of Sabic with the epoxy resin of Schaefer; since substituting known equivalents for the same purpose as recognized in prior art is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.06 II); and, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07). This combination and/or substitution comes with the additional motivation of using a resin with very low dielectric properties and decreased moisture absorption.
Sabic teaches the resin has a specific gravity of 1.02 (i.e., 1.02 g/cc) (page 2) which would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the use of resins with the densities of claims 20-22.
Claims 30, 31, 34, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer and Tarzwell as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Fu (US 2015/0299457 A1).
Schaefer teaches the method of making the dielectric material of claim 17.
Schaefer fails to suggest wherein the crosslinked thermosetting polymer resin further comprises at least one of a flame retardant, a curing agent, a hardener, a filler, and an additive; wherein the crosslinked thermosetting polymer resin is substantially halogen-free; wherein the dielectric material layer is characterized by a glass transition temperature (Tg) of greater than about 150 °C; wherein the dielectric material layer is characterized by a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of less than about 35 ppm in either of the planar directions over a temperature range of about 50 °C to about 220 °C; and, wherein the dielectric material layer is characterized by a tensile modulus in the planar directions of less than about 5 GPa.
Fu teaches epoxy compositions for use in printed circuit boards or plating applications (abstract, para 1, 167) comprising a curable thermoset epoxy resin composition, toughening agent, hardener, and filler (e.g., glass fabric and other fillers); wherein upon curing results in a cured composite product with a balance of properties comprising Tg (glass transition temperature), coefficient of thermal expansion, tensile strength, thermal conductivity, and flame resistance (para 12-17, 31, 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute the epoxy resin of Fu for the epoxy resin of Schaefer as modified by Tarzwell; since substituting known equivalents for the same purpose as recognized in prior art is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.06); and, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07). Furthermore, the substitution of the epoxy resin of Fu for the epoxy resin of Schaefer as modified by Tarzwell would provide the printed circuit board of Schaefer as modified by Tarzwell with a dielectric substrate composite that has with a balance of properties comprising Tg (glass transition temperature), coefficient of thermal expansion, tensile strength, thermal conductivity, and flame resistance.
Fu teaches the use of non-halogen flame retardants (para 77, 84) which would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention wherein the crosslinked thermosetting polymer resin is substantially halogen-free. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to forego the use of halogen containing compounds to keep the circuit boards, in case of fire, generating harmful gases.
Fu teaches the composite should have a Tg of from about 100° C to about 300° C (para 109); its finished product can have a tensile strength of up to about 250 MPa (i.e., less than 5 GPa) (para 114); and the dielectric material layer is characterized by a coefficient of thermal expansion of from about 0 ppm/° C. to about 80 ppm/° C. at a temperature of from about −50° C. to about 85° C (claim 11). These ranges substantially overlap that of the instant claims. It has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Fu, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05).
Furthermore, Fu teaches adjusting the size and shapes of the filler used in its compositions (para 66) to optimize the viscosity of the curable composition, the coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE), modulus, strength, and/or heat or thermal conductivity of the cured composition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to adjust the size and shape of the fillers in the composition of Fu to optimize the viscosity of the curable composition, the coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE), modulus, strength, and/or heat or thermal conductivity of the cured composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that Tarzwell is directed to reducing voids or pockets in the prepreg, not to reducing the thickness of the prepreg; and there is absolutely no teaching in Tarzwell of reducing the thickness of the prepreg at least 25% relative to a thickness of the prepreg prior to pressing.
This is not persuasive since Tarzwell teaches in prepregs used for printed circuit boards voids or pockets will degrade the dielectric value seriously; and the trick when pressing multilayer boards, is to get the amount, thickness and flow rate of the prepreg correct. Too high of a percentage of glue in the prepreg will cause it to squish out. Too much prepreg in the build will cause the final pressed thickness to exceed required dimensions. Too little prepreg will cause dry weave from resin starvation and possible inner layer shorts (page 16). It was known in the art at thew time of invention that the non-woven fabric provides the voids or gaps that the glue or resin or resin impregnate; and during the pressing step, these voids or gaps would be reduced.
Tarzwell recognizes thickness during pressing (i.e., reducing the thickness of the prepreg or arriving at a final thickness) as a result-effective variable, so it can be optimized. “[A] a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation” (MPEP § 2144.05 II B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to adjust the thickness reduction or compression of the inorganic non-woven substrate during the pressing step to meet the design requirements of the dielectric material (e.g., final thickness of 20 – 200 microns per Shaefer) while insuring the amount and flow rate of the prepreg is correct to prevent voids or pockets from occurring that would degrade the dielectric value and/or cause dry weave from resin starvation and possible inner layer shorts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NATHAN VAN SELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/NATHAN L VAN SELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783