DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to application filed on 7-24-26. Claims 1-28 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-11, 13-18 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0321016 to KHALIGH et al. (“KHALIGH”).
Regarding claim 1, KHALIGH discloses a system for modular power conversion and routing (Figs.1-2F and 3B), comprising: a plurality of modules (half-bridge circuits, shown in Figs.2A-2F), wherein each of the plurality of modules comprises a plurality of switches (a top and bottom switch on each half-bridge, shown in Figs.2A-2F); a plurality of power conversion subsystems (110-1, 114-2, 114-1, 114-3), wherein each of the plurality of power conversion subsystems comprise two or more of the plurality of modules (bridge type 5 each having three half bridges, shown in Fig.2E), a plurality of windings (three windings for each port, shown in Fig.3B), and at least one port (input/outputs of 106/116 to each three-phase winding structure); wherein each port of the at least one port is galvanically isolated from every other port of the at least one port (via the multi-port transformer; see Fig.3B); at least one stack (e.g. 108-1, 104-1), wherein each of the at least one stack comprises two or more of the plurality of power conversion subsystems (e.g. Bridge type-1, which may include a full bridge 202a having two half-bridge circuits shown in Fig.2A and Bridge type 5, which also includes multiple half-bridge circuits shown in Fig.2E); and a controller (122) operable to control an amount of power supplied to or sourced from each port (by controlling the input/output voltages and current, which thus controls an amount of power according to Ohm’s law P=V*I; see [0062], [0113] and [0114]); wherein each of the at least one port is operable to connect to at least one source and/or load (each port of the transformer 312 connected to a source or load; see Fig.3B and Fig.1, [0063]).
Regarding claim 2, KHALIGH discloses the controller detects a fault ([0107]) using at least one fault detection algorithm ([0128], optimization algorithm of choice as objective functions to evaluate different combinations of circuit parameters).
Regarding claim 3, KHALIGH discloses the two or more of the plurality of power conversion subsystems in the at least one stack are operable to be bypassed ([0061], the multi-port converter can be adapted for energy routing in next-generation smart DC homes) if the controller detects the fault ([0107], By controlling the ripple and power flow from the PPB port, the pulsating power AC ripple can be actively canceled).
Regarding claim 4, KHALIGH discloses the system comprises three or more stacks, wherein three of the three or more stacks are each operable to align with one phase of a three phase AC source (fig. 3B. three-phase AC input) and/or load.
Regarding claim 5, KHALIGH discloses the system is operable to realign with a single phase of the three-phase AC source (fig. 3B, three-phase AC input and single-phase output) and/or load without turning off when a fault occurs in one of the three or more stacks ([0107], the modular connection may still offer improved failure tolerance, serviceability, and/or efficiency, in some embodiments).
Regarding claim 6, KHALIGH discloses the at least one source and/or load includes at least one medium voltage (MV) source ([0061], multiple voltage levels) and/or load.
Regarding claim 7, KHALIGH discloses the at least one source and/or load comprises an AC source and/or load and a DC source and/or load (each port of the transformer 312 connected to a source or load; see Fig.3B and Fig.1, [0063]), wherein one of the plurality of power conversion subsystems comprises two or more ports (input/outputs of 106/116 to each three-phase winding structure), and wherein the AC source and/or load and the DC source and/or load are both operable to connect to the one of the plurality of power conversion subsystems via the two or more ports (via the multi-port transformer; see Fig.3B).
Regarding claim 10, KHALIGH discloses the system is operable to perform transient impedance evaluation for each port ([0138], proposed decoupled power flow control method together with the hybrid PI and feed-forward control can more tightly regulate the output voltage during all relevant load transients).
Regarding claim 11, KHALIGH discloses the controller comprises at least one main controller, wherein the at least one main controller is operable to communicate with an Energy Management System (EMS) and/or a grid controller (122).
Regarding claim 13, KHALIGH discloses a method for modular power conversion and routing (Figs.1-2F and 3B), comprising: connecting two or more of a plurality of modules (half-bridge circuits, shown in Figs.2A-2F) to a plurality of windings (three windings for each port, shown in Fig.3B) and at least one galvanically isolated port (via the multi-port transformer; see Fig.3B), creating a power conversion subsystem (110-1, 114-2, 114-1, 114-3); wherein the plurality of modules each comprise a plurality of switches (a top and bottom switch on each half-bridge, shown in Figs.2A-2F); wherein each port of the at least one port (input/outputs of 106/116 to each three phase winding structure) is galvanically isolated from every other port of the at least one port (via the multi-port transformer; see Fig.3B); connecting two or more of a plurality of power conversion subsystems (110-1, 114-2, 114-1, 114-3) to create at least one stack (e.g. 108-1, 104-1); a controller (122) controlling an amount of power supplied to or sourced from each port (by controlling the input/output voltages and current, which thus controls an amount of power according to Ohm’s law P=V*I; see [0062], [0113] and [0114]); and connecting each of the at least one port to at least one source and/or load (each port of the transformer 312 connected to a source or load; see Fig.3B and Fig.1, [0063]).
Regarding claim 14, KHALIGH discloses the controller detects a fault using at least one fault ([0107], By controlling the ripple and power flow from the PPB port, the pulsating power AC ripple can be actively canceled) detection algorithm ([0128], optimization algorithm of choice as objective functions to evaluate different combinations of circuit parameters).
Regarding claim 15, KHALIGH discloses the controller bypasses ([0061], the multi-port converter can be adapted for energy routing in next-generation smart DC homes) the two or more of the plurality of power conversion subsystems in the at least one stack if the controller detects the fault ([0107], By controlling the ripple and power flow from the PPB port, the pulsating power AC ripple can be actively canceled).
Regarding claim 16, KHALIGH discloses the at least one source and/or load includes at least one medium voltage (MV) source ([0061], multiple voltage levels) and/or load.
Regarding claim 17, KHALIGH discloses the at least one source and/or load comprises an AC source and/or load and a DC source and/or load (each port of the transformer 312 connected to a source or load; see Fig.3B and Fig.1, [0063]), wherein one of the plurality of power conversion subsystems comprises two or more ports, and wherein the AC source and/or load and the DC source and/or load are both operable to connect to the one of the plurality of power conversion subsystems via the two or more ports (via the multi-port transformer; see Fig.3B).
Regarding claim 18, KHALIGH discloses the controller dampening oscillations in the DC source and/or load using a connected battery ([0061], multi-port converter can be adapted for power distribution in a data center, for example, to interface AC input to battery storage).
Regarding claim 21, KHALIGH discloses performing transient impedance ([0138], proposed decoupled power flow control method together with the hybrid PI and feed-forward control can more tightly regulate the output voltage during all relevant load transients) evaluations for each of the plurality of windings.
Regarding claim 22, KHALIGH discloses at least one of the plurality of modules includes a DC link capacitor ([0060], direct DC-link-capacitor).
Regarding claim 23, KHALIGH discloses the controller communicating with an Energy Management System (EMS) and/or a grid controller (122).
Regarding claim 24, KHALIGH discloses a system for modular power conversion and routing (Figs.1-2F and 3B), comprising: a plurality of modules (half-bridge circuits, shown in Figs.2A-2F), wherein each of the plurality of modules comprises a plurality of switches (a top and bottom switch on each half-bridge, shown in Figs.2A-2F); a plurality of power conversion subsystems (110-1, 114-2, 114-1, 114-3), wherein each of the plurality of power conversion subsystems comprise two or more of the plurality of modules (bridge type 5 each having three half bridges, shown in Fig.2E), a plurality of windings (three windings for each port, shown in Fig.3B), and at least one galvanically isolated port (via the multi-port transformer; see Fig.3B); at least one stack (e.g. 108-1, 104-1), wherein each of the at least one stack comprises two or more of the plurality of power conversion subsystems; and a controller (122) operable to control an amount of power supplied to (by controlling the input/output voltages and current, which thus controls an amount of power according to Ohm’s law P=V*I; see [0062], [0113] and [0114]) or sourced from each galvanically isolated port (by controlling the input/output voltages and current, which thus controls an amount of power according to Ohm’s law P=V*I; see [0062], [0113] and [0114]); wherein each port of the at least one port is galvanically isolated from every other port of the at least one port (via the multi-port transformer; see Fig.3B); wherein each of the at least one galvanically isolated port (via the multi-port transformer; see Fig.3B) is operable to connect to at least one AC or DC source and/or load (each port of the transformer 312 connected to a source or load; see Fig.3B and Fig.1, [0063]); and wherein the controller is operable to detect the power available and/or the power demand from each of the at least one AC or DC source and/or load (each port of the transformer 312 connected to a source or load; see Fig.3B and Fig.1, [0063]).
Regarding claim 25, KHALIGH discloses the at least one AC or DC source and/or load comprises a medium-voltage (MV) source and a low-voltage (L V) load ([0084], multi-port power electronic converters interface the AC grid ( e.g., coupled to port 502) to the high-voltage (HV) battery (e.g., coupled to
port 512a), and one or more low-voltage (LV) batteries).
Regarding claim 26, KHALIGH discloses the system comprises three or more stacks, wherein three of the three or more stacks are each operable to align with one phase of a three phase AC source (fig. 3B. three-phase AC input) and/or load.
Regarding claim 27, KHALIGH discloses the controller is operable to dampen oscillations in a DC source and/or load (each port of the transformer 312 connected to a source or load; see Fig.3B and Fig.1, [0063]) of the at least one AC or DC source and/or load using a connected battery ([0061], multi-port converter can be adapted for power distribution in a data center, for example, to interface AC input to battery storage).
Regarding claim 28, KHALIGH discloses each of the plurality of power conversion subsystems further comprises a bypass circuit ([0061], the multi-port converter can be adapted for energy routing in next-generation smart DC homes).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 12 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 8 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 8, especially wherein each of the plurality of power conversion subsystems further comprises at least one high frequency contactor, wherein the at least one high frequency contactor connects the two or more of the plurality of modules with the plurality of windings.
Claim 12 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 12, especially wherein the controller is operable to command soft switching of the
plurality of switches.
Claim 19 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 19, especially further comprising connecting the two or more of the plurality of
modules with the plurality of windings using at least one high frequency contactor.
Response to argument
Applicant’s argument filed on 7-24-26 with respect to claims 1-7, 10-11, 13-18 and 21-28 has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
43. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/RYAN JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836