This communication is in response to Preliminary Amendment filed on February 17, 2026. Claim 1 is pending. Claims 2-95 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/17/2026 and 5/1/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 of Patent 11,816,112 contains every element of claim 1 of the instant application and as such anticipates claim 1 of the instant application.
“A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). “ ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites:
accessing a stored signature for the first process, wherein the signature includes a plurality of features, and wherein the signature specifies a frequency and weight for each of the plurality of features;
receiving a stream of event data having a plurality of events;
selecting a window of event data that includes a subset of the plurality of events;
calculating a first similarity between the signature for the first process and the event data within the window; and
identifying the first process in the stream of event data when the first similarity is within a predetermined measure of similarity.
Step 1: The claim as a whole falls within one or more statutory categories.
Step 2A prong 1: At least claim 1 recites limitations that are abstract ideas.
The limitation “selecting a window of event data that includes a subset of the plurality of events” is a mental step. One can mentally select a subset of data within a time interval. Thus, the claimed limitation can be performed by the human mind.
The limitations “calculating a first similarity between the signature for the first process and the event data within the window” and “identifying the first process in the stream of event data when the first similarity is within a predetermined measure of similarity” are mental steps. One can mentally calculate a measure of similarity between two sets of data within a time interval and select data based on the calculated measure of similarity. Thus, the claimed limitations can be performed by the human mind.
Step 2A prong 2: Claim 1 recites the limitations “accessing a stored signature for the first process, wherein the signature includes a plurality of features, and wherein the signature specifies a frequency and weight for each of the plurality of features” and “receiving a stream of event data having a plurality of events”. These limitations are additional elements and are insignificant extra-solution activity as retrieval/receiving of data (i.e. mere data gathering) such as 'obtaining information' as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and does not provide integration into a practical application.
Step 2B:
With respect to the " accessing” and “receiving” limitations identified as insignificant extra-solution activity above when re-evaluated these elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by the court cases in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); … OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network);" and thus remains insignificant extra-solution activity that does not provide significantly more.
Therefore, the claim as a whole do not change this conclusion and the claim is ineligible.
To expedite a complete examination of the instant application, the claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 (nonstatutory} above are further rejected as set forth below in anticipation of applicant amending these claims to place them within the four statutory categories of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 7,346,629 issued to Kapur et al (hereafter Kapur), and further in view of US 2020/0206920 by Ma et al (hereafter Ma), both disclosed by Applicant in IDS dated 2/17/2026.
Referring to claim 1, Kapur discloses a method of identifying a first process in a stream of event data [Abstract], the method comprising:
accessing a stored signature for the first process, wherein the signature includes a plurality of features, and wherein the signature specifies a frequency and weight for each of the plurality of features [superunit signatures, stored in unit dictionary 172/406, include signatures of the superunit, relationship attributes between units (concepts), frequency, and membership weights, col. 8, line 32- col. 10, line 21; Fig 4, element 406; superunit seed signature is determined, Fig 7, element 704 and specification; Fig 9 and specification];
receiving event data having a plurality of events [wherein unit dictionary 172 is generated by a concept discovery process based on analysis of a number of previous queries to generate a concept network, col. 8, lines 42-61; query log file 402 is analyzed to generate the concept network, col. 10, lines 44-55];
selecting event data that includes a subset of the plurality of events [superunit seed module 412 performs analysis of the queries using concept network to create clusters of related units that can be used as seeds, col. 12, lines 8-17; seed (initial superunit) received from seed module, col. 17, lines 27-32, Fig 7, element 702];
calculating a first similarity between the signature for the first process and the event data [candidate units (not in the signature or superunit) are evaluated to determine whether they match the signature of the initial superunit, col. 17, lines 33-48, col. 18, lines 1-27, Fig 7, elements 704-706]; and
identifying the first process in the event data when the first similarity is within a predetermined measure of similarity [candidate units that match the signature (e.g. that have a membership score that exceeds some threshold) are added to the superunit, col. 18, lines 28-30, Fig 7, element 708].
Referring to claim 1, Kapur discloses all of the above claimed subject matter, and also discloses that a plurality of previous queries (reads on: events) stored within a query log are analyzed to generate a concept network [col. 8, lines 42-61; col. 10, lines 44-55] however remains silent as to the events being from a received stream of events; and that the subset of event data analyzed for similarity lies within a selected window of event data.
Ma discloses receiving and recording a plurality of event streams, each event stream corresponding to a human user interacting with a computing device to perform one or more tasks [para 22, Fig 3, element 302, para 72] and that a sliding event window of length N corresponding to the expected length (number of events) of traces (tasks) represented in the event streams is identified [para 160]. Ma also discloses that the event stream is concatenated and parsed into subsequences using the sliding window length N and that feature vectors are calculated using a distance metric for each subsequence starting at each position with the event stream [para 161, 163] and that clusters of non-overlapping subsequences are identified according to similarity based on an overall distance matrix [para 163].
Kapur and Ma are analogous art because they are directed to the same field of endeavor- clustering of event data.
It would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the queries within the query log of Kapur to include a stream of event data within a specified window, as taught by Ma because analyzing a stream of query data would enable improving the efficiency of performing repetitive tasks of users over a long period of time and with large numbers of different users' interactions corresponding to a set of tasks performed repeatedly within an enterprise [Ma, para 3, 6].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the queries of Kapur with the streaming event data within a window of Ma because it would achieve predictable results. Furthermore, Kapur's clustering of query (event) data is further refined by Ma's clustering of event (trace) data specifically within a sliding event window of a length N.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Achleitner (US 20210185059) directed to: label guided unsupervised learning based network level application signature generation [Fig 4 and related portions of specification];
Zenz (US 20190379677) directed to: an intrusion detection system including comparison of signatures to determine if a data is of a malicious event [Abstract; Fig 4 and related portions of specification].
CHERYL M SHECHTMANPatent Examiner
Art Unit 2164
/C.M.S/
/AMY NG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2164