DETAILED ACTION
Previous Office Action Now Vacated
The Non-Final Office Action of 06/22/2026 included a typographical error on page 11 with regards to the Korukonda reference. The publication number has been corrected to recite U.S. Publication No. 2019/0090842). As a result, the Office Action of 06/22/2026 has been vacated and replaced with the instant office action and the PERIOD FOR REPLY has been reset.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2026 has been entered and fully considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 12, 13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton (U.S. publication No. 2021/0169417) hereinafter “Burton” in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0302766) hereinafter “Liu”.
Regarding claim 1, Burton discloses a band system for affixing one or more wearable ultrasound devices, [see abstract of Burton and FIGs. 1A-1B] the band system comprising:
one or more mounts, [see [0105] and FIGs. 1A-1B; any of the mounts in the figure (i.e. somfit mounts)] wherein each mount is defined by a horizontal plane [the plane parallel to the skin of the patient is the horizontal plane] and a longitudinal axis that is vertical to the horizontal plane [the axis is the perpendicular axis to the patient’s skin],
straps tied to the one or more mounts, [see [1763]; the probe which is part of a wearable device attaches with a strap to the patient or buckle] wherein the straps are adjustable to wrap around a subject so that the subject can wear the one or more mounts, [see [1763] disclosing a spring loaded or motor controlled positioning that would adjust the strap to allow for tight positioning] wherein each mount houses a wearable ultrasound device such that, by virtue of wearing the one or more mounts [see FIG. 1A-1B], each wearable ultrasound device is placed with sufficient acoustic coupling with the subject’s skin. [see [1763] disclosing providing pressure to the skin surface to allow for unimpeded transmission and reflection of ultrasound signals]
Burton does not expressly disclose wherein each mount encloses a respective knob operable to rotate around the longitudinal axis and tilt about the horizontal plane;
Liu, directed to attaching an ultrasound probe directly to a patient skin [see abstract of Liu] further discloses wherein each mount encloses a respective knob operable to rotate around the longitudinal axis and tilt about the horizontal plane; [see Fig. 3; the rotary knob 330; see [0003], [0028] and [0034]-[0035] of Liu]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton such that each mount encloses a respective knob operable to rotate around the longitudinal axis and tilt about the horizontal plane according to the teachings of Liu in order to allow for tightening an loosening of the detection part 120 based on needs [see [0035] of Liu]
Regarding claim 4, Burton in view of Liu discloses all the limitation of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1]
Liu further discloses that at least one wearable ultrasound device is sized and shaped for attachment to a corresponding knob. [see FIG. 3; the wearable ultrasound device is designed for attachment to the rotary knob 330]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton such that at least one wearable ultrasound device is sized and shaped for attachment to a corresponding knob according to the teachings of Liu in order to allow for tightening an loosening of the detection part 120 based on needs [see [0035] of Liu]
Regarding claim 12, Burton in view of Liu discloses all the limitation of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1]
Liu further discloses that a locking mechanism on each mount and operable to lock the respective knob enclosed therein so that an orientation of an ultrasound device of the one or more wearable ultrasound devices with respect to the subject’s skin is fixed. [see Fig. 3; the rotary knob 330; see [0003], [0028] and [0034]-[0035] of Liu; the rotary knob can be turned to be tightened to lock the position of the ultrasound device with respect to the skin]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton as modified by Liu such that it further includes a locking mechanism on each mount and operable to lock the respective knob enclosed therein so that an orientation of an ultrasound device of the one or more wearable ultrasound devices with respect to the subject’s skin is fixed according to the teachings of Liu in order to allow for tightening an loosening of the detection part 120 based on needs [see [0035] of Liu]
Regarding claim 13, Burton in view of Liu discloses all the limitation of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1]
Liu further discloses that the locking mechanism comprises: a nut coupled to a mount of the one or more mounts for regulating tension on the straps tied to the mount; and a latch togglable between a first position to fix an orientation of a respective knob, and a second position release the orientation of the knob. [see Fig. 3; the rotary knob 330; see [0003], [0028] and [0034]-[0035] of Liu; the rotary knob can be turned to be tightened to lock the position of the ultrasound device with respect to the skin]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton as modified by Liu such that the locking mechanism comprises: a nut coupled to a mount of the one or more mounts for regulating tension on the straps tied to the mount; and a latch togglable between a first position to fix an orientation of a respective knob, and a second position release the orientation of the knob according to the teachings of Liu in order to allow for tightening an loosening of the detection part 120 based on needs [see [0035] of Liu]
Regarding claim 16, Burton in view of Liu discloses all the limitation of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 1]
Liu further discloses that each mount is embedded with markings to respectively indicate a degree of rotation and an angle for tilt. [see rotary knob 330 includes indentation markings that show the degree of rotation of the knob; see FIG. 3]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton as modified by Liu such that each mount is embedded with markings to respectively indicate a degree of rotation and an angle for tilt according to the teachings of Liu in order to allow for tightening an loosening of the detection part 120 based on needs [see [0035] of Liu]
Regarding claim 17, Burton in view of Liu discloses all the limitation of claim 16 [see rejection of claim 16]
Liu further discloses that the markings are provided in a first number of intervals for rotational degrees and a second number of intervals for tilting angles. [see FIG. 3; the indentations of the rotary knob are in equal intervals]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton as modified by Liu such that the markings are provided in a first number of intervals for rotational degrees and a second number of intervals for tilting angles according to the teachings of Liu in order to allow for tightening an loosening of the detection part 120 based on needs [see [0035] of Liu]
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton (U.S. publication No. 2021/0169417) hereinafter “Burton” in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0302766) hereinafter “Liu” as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Halmann et al. (U.S. publication No. 2010/0063398) hereinafter “Halmann”.
Regarding claim 2, Burton in view of Liu discloses all the limitation of claim 1 [see rejection of claim 16]
Burton in view of Liu does not disclose that one or more actuating devices arranged on a mount of the one or more mounts or a knob of the one or more respective knobs, wherein the one or more actuating devices are configured to rotate the knob around the longitudinal axis and tilt the knob about the horizontal plane.
Halmann, directed towards a motorized ultrasound probe [see abstract of Halmann] further discloses that one or more actuating devices arranged on a mount of the one or more mounts or a knob of the one or more respective knobs, wherein the one or more actuating devices are configured to rotate the knob around the longitudinal axis and tilt the knob about the horizontal plane. [see [0041] and [0049] of Halmann]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton as modified by Liu such that tone or more actuating devices arranged on a mount of the one or more mounts or a knob of the one or more respective knobs, wherein the one or more actuating devices are configured to rotate the knob around the longitudinal axis and tilt the knob about the horizontal plane according to the teachings of Halmann in order to make volumetric imaging easier and optimized [see [003]-[005] of Halmann]
Regarding claim 3, Burton in view of Liu discloses all the limitation of claim 16 [see rejection of claim 16]
Halmann further disclsoes the one or more actuating devices are configured to control a direction of ultrasound emanating from the wearable ultrasound device by at least one of the rotation of the knob or the tilting of the knob. [see [0041] of Halmann]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton as modified by Liu such that the one or more actuating devices are configured to control a direction of ultrasound emanating from the wearable ultrasound device by at least one of the rotation of the knob or the tilting of the knob according to the teachings of Halmann in order to make volumetric imaging easier and optimized [see [003]-[005] of Halmann]
Claims 5-6, 8-11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton (U.S. publication No. 2021/0169417) hereinafter “Burton” in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0302766) hereinafter “Liu” as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Rothberg et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0383660) hereinafter “Rothberg”.
Regarding claim 5, Burton in view of Liu further discloses that at least one wearable ultrasound device, when placed in sufficient contact with the subject’s skin, . [see [1763] of Burton disclosing providing pressure to the skin surface to allow for unimpeded transmission and reflection of ultrasound signals]
Burton does not disclose expressly that the ultrasound device provides a separate view of an internal region of the subject.
Rothberg, directed towards attachable ultrasound probes to skin [see abstract of Rothberg] further discloses that the ultrasound device provides a separate view of an internal region of the subject. [see [0049]-[0050] of Rothberg]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton such that the ultrasound device provides a separate view of an internal region of the subject according to the teachings of Rothberg in order to provide real-time images of the organ for diagnosis [see [0004]-[0005] of Rothberg]
Regarding claim 6, Burton in view of Liu further discloses that the internal region comprises at least one of: a heart region, an abdominal region, a neck region, a joint region, an extremity region, a lung region, and a head region. [see FIGs. 1A-1B of Burton; the regions include a wrist, a heart, a hand, a head, etc]
Regarding claim 8, Burton in view of Liu an Rothberg discloses all the limitations of claim 5 [see rejection of claim 5]
Rothberg further discloses that at least one wearable ultrasound device is coupled to a control system configured to drive the at least one wearable ultrasound device for imaging the internal region of the subject. [see [0093]-[0095] of Rothberg]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton as modified by Liu and Rothberg further such that at least one wearable ultrasound device is coupled to a control system configured to drive the at least one wearable ultrasound device for imaging the internal region of the subject according to the teachings of Rothberg in order to provide adjustable parameters for each image [see [0093] of Rothberg]
Regarding claim 9, Burton in view of Liu and Rothberg discloses all the limitations of claim 8 [see rejection of claim 8]
Rothberg further discloses that the control system comprises at least one of: a matching and tuning element [see [0055]; matching coupling], an amplifier circuit, and a beamformer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton as modified by Liu and Rothberg further such that the control system comprises at least one of: a matching and tuning element, an amplifier circuit, and a beamformer according to the teachings of Rothberg in order to provide the best unimpeded connection to the body [see [0004]-[0005] of Rothberg]
Regarding claim 10, a Burton in view of Liu and Rothberg discloses all the limitations of claim 8 [see rejection of claim 8]
Rothberg further discloses that an electrical interface connecting an ultrasound device of the one or more wearable ultrasound devices to the control system. [see [0093]-[0095] of Rothberg]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton as modified by Liu and Rothberg such that an electrical interface connecting an ultrasound device of the one or more wearable ultrasound devices to the control system according to the teachings of Rothberg in order to provide adjustable parameters for each image [see [0093] of Rothberg]
Regarding claim 11, Burton in view of Liu an Rothberg discloses all the limitations of claim 8 [see rejection of claim 8]
Rothberg further discloses that the control system has a form factor sufficiently small for fitting on a mount or a knob. [see circuit board 1018; see FIG. 10]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton as modified by Liu and Rothberg such that the control system has a form factor sufficiently small for fitting on a mount or a knob according to the teachings of Rothberg in order to provide a small profile for the device [see [0090] of Rothberg]
Regarding claim 14, Burton in view of Liu an Rothberg discloses all the limitations of claim 8 [see rejection of claim 8]
Burton further discloses that a mount of the one or more mounts and at least one strap of the straps are composed of biocompatible materials designed for prolonged skin contact and comfort. [see [0055] of Rothberg]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton as modified by Liu further such that that a mount of the one or more mounts and at least one strap of the straps are composed of biocompatible materials designed for prolonged skin contact and comfort according to the teachings of Rothberg in order to allow ease of use for the user [see [0055] of Rothberg]
Regarding claim 15, Burton in view of Liu and Rothberg discloses all the limitations of claim 8 [see rejection of claim 8]
Rothberg further discloses that an ultrasound device of the one or more wearable ultrasound devices housed within a mount comprises one of: a phased array, a linear array, a curved array, a matrix array, or a reconfigurable array. [see [0047] of Rothberg]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton as modified by Liu and Rothberg such that an ultrasound device of the one or more wearable ultrasound devices housed within a mount comprises one of: a phased array, a linear array, a curved array, a matrix array, or a reconfigurable array according to the teachings of Rothberg in order to provide different shapes for the ultrasound transducer for different focusing abilities [see [0072] of Rothberg]
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton (U.S. publication No. 2021/0169417) hereinafter “Burton” in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0302766) hereinafter “Liu” Rothberg et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0383660) hereinafter “Rothberg” as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Korukonda et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0090842) hereinafter “Korukonda”.
Regarding claim 7, Burton in view of Liu and Rothberg discloses all the limitations of claim 5 [see rejection of claim 5]
Burton in view of Liu and Rothberg does not expressly discloses that a composite view of the internal region is generated based on the separate views from respective wearable ultrasound devices.
Korukonda, directed towards imaging using a plurality of probes [see abstract of Korukonda] further discloses a composite view of the internal region is generated based on the separate views from respective wearable ultrasound devices. [see [0028] and [0032] of Korkunda; see also FIG. 7, step 320 and [0061]]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill level in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the mounting system of Burton as modified by Liu and Rothberg further such that a composite view of the internal region is generated based on the separate views from respective wearable ultrasound devices according to the teachings of Korkunda in order to provide a bigger picture of the area for diagnosis using multiple probe [see [0034] of Korkunda]
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MARJAN SABOKTAKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
08/05/26