DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “42” has been used to designate both an outer contour and a force transmission ring. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the inside". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites, “…fitting for connection to a flexible pipe, comprising…a press sleeve…a chamber directed inwards towards the pipe to be accommodated…a support body connected to the base body and provided with a sealing contour directed outwards towards the pipe to be inserted.” However, it is not clear to the Examiner exact what this means, because it not considered part of the claimed invention. The original disclosure recites, “[t]he fitting 40 has a base body 44 and a press sleeve 41 connected thereto and forming an outer contour 42.”
Regarding claims 30 and 35, the phrases “preferably” and "in particular" render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrases are part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26-29, 31, 33 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2031833, Hutchinson.
In regards to claim 26, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hutchinson discloses a fitting for connection to a flexible pipe, comprising: - a base body (1), - a press sleeve (2) connected to the base body and forming an outer contour, the press sleeve having a chamber directed inwards towards the pipe to be accommodated, - a force transmission ring (3) arranged in the chamber, and - a support body (7) connected to the base body and provided with a sealing contour directed outwards towards the pipe to be inserted, - wherein a portion of the force transmission ring protrudes axially from the press sleeve and forms a portion of the outer contour to be pressed, - wherein the press sleeve together with the force transmission ring and the support body seal the flexible pipe to be connected from the inside.
In regards to claim 27, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hutchinson discloses the force transmission ring is assembled in the press sleeve.
In regards to claim 28, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hutchinson discloses the press sleeve includes the force transmission ring and the support body are arranged at a distance from each other and define an annular space for inserting and receiving the flexible pipe.
In regards to claim 29, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hutchinson discloses the sealing of the fitting against the pipe is ensured without an additional soft seal via the sealing contour and the force transmission by the force transmission ring.
In regards to claim 31, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hutchinson discloses the force transmission ring can be designed as a plastic ring.
In regards to claim 33, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hutchinson discloses the force transmission ring has inwardly projecting cams (19) for guiding and holding the pipe.
In regards to claim 34, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Hutchinson discloses the force transmission ring has a cylindrical section and/or a toothed section for abutment against the pipe to be inserted.
Claim(s) 26-29 and 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4564223, Burrington.
In regards to claim 26, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Burrington discloses a fitting for connection to a flexible pipe, comprising: - a base body (12), - a press sleeve (16) connected to the base body and forming an outer contour, the press sleeve having a chamber directed inwards towards the pipe to be accommodated, - a force transmission ring (18) arranged in the chamber, and - a support body (15) connected to the base body and provided with a sealing contour directed outwards towards the pipe to be inserted, - wherein a portion of the force transmission ring protrudes axially from the press sleeve and forms a portion of the outer contour to be pressed, - wherein the press sleeve together with the force transmission ring and the support body seal the flexible pipe to be connected from the inside.
In regards to claim 27, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Burrington discloses the force transmission ring is assembled in the press sleeve.
In regards to claim 28, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Burrington discloses the press sleeve includes the force transmission ring and the support body are arranged at a distance from each other and define an annular space for inserting and receiving the flexible pipe.
In regards to claim 29, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Burrington discloses the sealing of the fitting against the pipe is ensured without an additional soft seal via the sealing contour and the force transmission by the force transmission ring.
In regards to claim 31, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Burrington discloses the force transmission ring can be designed as a plastic ring.
In regards to claim 32, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Burrington discloses the press sleeve is connected to the base body by force bonding.
In regards to claim 33, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Burrington discloses the force transmission ring has inwardly projecting cams (44) for guiding and holding the pipe.
In regards to claim 34, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Burrington discloses the force transmission ring has a cylindrical section and/or a toothed section for abutment against the pipe to be inserted.
Claim(s) 26-28, 30-32 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20120313369, Ratschmann.
In regards to claim 26, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ratschmann discloses a fitting for connection to a flexible pipe, comprising: - a base body (near 2), - a press sleeve (3) connected to the base body and forming an outer contour, the press sleeve having a chamber directed inwards towards the pipe to be accommodated, - a force transmission ring (10) arranged in the chamber, and - a support body (near 6) connected to the base body and provided with a sealing contour directed outwards towards the pipe to be inserted, - wherein a portion of the force transmission ring protrudes axially from the press sleeve and forms a portion of the outer contour to be pressed, - wherein the press sleeve together with the force transmission ring and the support body seal the flexible pipe to be connected from the inside.
In regards to claim 27, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ratschmann discloses the force transmission ring is assembled in the press sleeve.
In regards to claim 28, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ratschmann discloses the press sleeve includes the force transmission ring and the support body are arranged at a distance from each other and define an annular space for inserting and receiving the flexible pipe.
In regards to claim 30, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ratschmann discloses an additional soft seal (5) is provided, preferably an O-ring or a flat seal.
In regards to claim 31, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ratschmann discloses the force transmission ring can be designed as a plastic ring.
In regards to claim 32, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ratschmann discloses the press sleeve is connected to the base body by force bonding.
In regards to claim 34, in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Ratschmann discloses the force transmission ring has a cylindrical section and/or a toothed section for abutment against the pipe to be inserted.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it illustrates the state of the art.
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679