DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the unlabeled boxes shown in Fig. 6 of the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels [e.g., see: MPEP 608.02(b)].
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “injection member” in claims 1-15, “ignition element” in claims 1-8 and 10-15, and “control unit” in claims 1-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0231077 to Matsumoto et al. (hereinafter: “Matsumoto”).
With respect to claim 1, Matsumoto teaches an ignition system (apparent from at least Figs. 1-4) configured for use on a vehicle (as discussed by at least ¶ 0032), the vehicle comprising a power unit (e.g., 1) including one or more combustion chamber (6), the ignition system comprising: an injection member (e.g., 15) configured to deliver fuel to an ignition zone within the combustion chamber (as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 2 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0042-0045); an ignition element (e.g., 16) configured to ignite fuel within the ignition zone (as depicted by at least Figs. 1 & 2 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0042-0045); and a control unit (e.g., 100) configured to operate the injection member and the ignition element in a first ignition phase [e.g., during a first combustion cycle, such as when the first combustion cycle corresponds to Fig. 6(a) (or a definable portion thereof), or such as when the first combustion cycle corresponds to Fig. 6(d) (or a definable portion thereof), or such as when the first combustion cycle corresponds to Fig. 18(b) (or a definable portion thereof)] including ignition of a first delivery of fuel provided to the combustion chamber by the injection member and a second ignition phase [e.g., during a second combustion cycle, such as when the second combustion cycle corresponds to Fig. 6(d) (or a definable portion thereof), or such as when the second combustion cycle corresponds to Fig. 18(a) (or a definable portion thereof)] including ignition of a second delivery of fuel provided to the combustion chamber by the injection member (as depicted by at least Figs. 4-6 & 18 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0057-0061).
With respect to claim 2, Matsumoto teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to operate the injection member to deliver a first amount of fuel in the first delivery of the first ignition phase and to deliver a second amount of fuel in the second delivery of the second ignition phase (apparent from at least Figs. 6 & 18 and as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1).
With respect to claim 3, Matsumoto teaches the ignition system of claim 2, wherein the second amount of fuel delivered in the second delivery of the second ignition phase is greater than the first amount of fuel delivered in the first delivery of the first ignition phase (apparent from at least Fig. 6 and as discussed in detail above with respect to claims 1 and 2).
With respect to claim 4, Matsumoto teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to operate the injection member and the ignition element in the first ignition phase at a first time and the second ignition phase at a second time (apparent from at least Figs. 6 & 18 and as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1).
With respect to claim 5, Matsumoto teaches the ignition system of claim 4, wherein the first time of the first ignition phase corresponds to an intake stroke of the combustion chamber [apparent from at least Fig. 18(b) in view of at least ¶ 0184-0185 and as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1].
With respect to claim 6, Matsumoto teaches the ignition system of claim 4, wherein the first time of the first ignition phase corresponds to a compression stroke of the combustion chamber [apparent from at least Fig. 18(b) in view of at least ¶ 0184-0185 and as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1].
With respect to claim 7, Matsumoto teaches the ignition system of claim 4, wherein the second time of the second ignition phase corresponds to a power stroke (e.g., “expansion stroke”) of the combustion chamber [apparent from at least Fig. 6(a) in view of at least ¶ 0072-0073 and as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1].
With respect to claim 8, Matsumoto teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the injection member and the ignition element are configured to form the ignition zone within an area corresponding to 50% or less of a diameter of the combustion chamber (apparent from at least Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 9, Matsumoto teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the ignition element extends to a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel (e.g., via “air-fuel mixture”) delivered to the combustion chamber [claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I), and apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, and a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (e.g., see: MPEP 2114_II), and “wherein the ignition element extends to a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber” only further defines structure of the “ignition element” by indicating that the “ignition element” extends to a location (i.e., “a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber”) via recitation of “extends to,” such that “a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber” only sets forth the manner in which the claimed “ignition system” is intended to be employed, and such that “a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber” does not necessarily further limit the claimed “ignition system” (or an element thereof) to a particular structure; even so, apparent from at least Fig. 2 in view of at least ¶ 0001, 0011, 0034, 0042 & 0045].
With respect to claim 11, Matsumoto teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the injection member extends to a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber [claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I), and apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, and a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (e.g., see: MPEP 2114_II), and “wherein the injection member extends to a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” only further defines structure of the “injection member” by indicating that the “injection member” extends to a location (i.e., “a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber”) via recitation of “extends to,” such that “a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” only sets forth the manner in which the claimed “ignition system” is intended to be employed, and such that “a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” does not necessarily further limit the claimed “ignition system” (or an element thereof) to a particular structure; even so, apparent from at least Fig. 2 in view of at least ¶ 0044].
With respect to claim 12, Matsumoto teaches the ignition system of claim 11, wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry [“wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” only further defines “a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” of “wherein the injection member extends to a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” in claim 11, such that “wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” only sets forth the manner in which the claimed “ignition system” is intended to be employed, and such that “wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” does not necessarily further limit the claimed “ignition system” (or an element thereof) to a particular structure (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I & 2114_II, as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 11)].
With respect to claim 13, Matsumoto teaches the ignition system of claim 1, comprising an intake port (e.g., 9 or 9A or 9B) configured to provide air to the combustion chamber (apparent from at least Figs. 1-3 in view of at least ¶ 0038-0039) and one or more of the intake port and the combustion chamber is configured to swirl an air-fuel mixture within the combustion chamber (apparent from at least Fig. 3 in view of at least ¶ 0038-0039; because the intake port is configured to swirl an air-fuel mixture within the combustion chamber and the combustion chamber is configured to swirl an air-fuel mixture within the combustion chamber are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives).
With respect to claim 14, Matsumoto teaches a vehicle comprising: a power unit including one or more combustion chamber; and the ignition system of claim 1 (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 1).
With respect to claim 15, Matsumoto teaches a method for ignition of fuel for a vehicle, the vehicle comprising a power unit including one or more combustion chamber, the method comprising: providing the ignition system of claim 1; and operating the injection member and the ignition element in the first ignition phase including the first delivery of fuel to the combustion chamber and the second ignition phase including the second delivery of fuel to the combustion chamber (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 1).
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0123251 to Ochi et al. (hereinafter: “Ochi”).
With respect to claim 1, Ochi teaches an ignition system (apparent from at least Fig. 1) configured for use on a vehicle (as discussed by at least ¶ 0042), the vehicle comprising a power unit (e.g., 1) including one or more combustion chamber (apparent from at least Fig. 1 in view of at least ¶ 0002 & 0007; via 2), the ignition system comprising: an injection member (e.g., 21) configured to deliver fuel to an ignition zone within the combustion chamber (as depicted by at least Figs. 1, 3 & 4 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0046-0048 & 0058-0060); an ignition element (e.g., 22) configured to ignite fuel within the ignition zone (as depicted by at least Figs. 1, 3 & 4 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0046-0048, 0063-0064 & 0066-0069); and a control unit (e.g., 100) configured to operate the injection member and the ignition element in a first ignition phase (e.g., a first combustion cycle, or a first intake stroke, or a first compression stroke) including ignition of a first delivery of fuel provided to the combustion chamber by the injection member and a second ignition phase (e.g., the first combustion cycle, or the first intake stroke, or the first compression stroke, or a second combustion cycle, or a second intake stroke, or a second compression stroke) including ignition of a second delivery of fuel provided to the combustion chamber by the injection member (as depicted by at least Figs. 1, 3 & 4 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0046-0048, 0058-0060, 0063-0064 & 0066-0069).
With respect to claim 2, Ochi teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to operate the injection member to deliver a first amount of fuel in the first delivery of the first ignition phase and to deliver a second amount of fuel in the second delivery of the second ignition phase (apparent from at least Figs. 3 & 4).
With respect to claim 3, Ochi teaches the ignition system of claim 2, wherein the second amount of fuel delivered in the second delivery of the second ignition phase is greater than the first amount of fuel delivered in the first delivery of the first ignition phase (apparent from at least Figs. 3 & 4).
With respect to claim 4, Ochi teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to operate the injection member and the ignition element in the first ignition phase at a first time and the second ignition phase at a second time (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 1).
With respect to claim 5, Ochi teaches the ignition system of claim 4, wherein the first time of the first ignition phase corresponds to an intake stroke of the combustion chamber (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claims 1 and 4).
With respect to claim 6, Ochi teaches the ignition system of claim 4, wherein the first time of the first ignition phase corresponds to a compression stroke of the combustion chamber (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claims 1 and 4).
With respect to claim 8, Ochi teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the injection member and the ignition element are configured to form the ignition zone within an area corresponding to 50% or less of a diameter of the combustion chamber (apparent from at least Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 9, Ochi teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the ignition element extends to a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber [claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I), and apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, and a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (e.g., see: MPEP 2114_II), and “wherein the ignition element extends to a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber” only further defines structure of the “ignition element” by indicating that the “ignition element” extends to a location (i.e., “a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber”) via recitation of “extends to,” such that “a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber” only sets forth the manner in which the claimed “ignition system” is intended to be employed, and such that “a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber” does not necessarily further limit the claimed “ignition system” (or an element thereof) to a particular structure; even so, apparent from at least Fig. 1].
With respect to claim 11, Ochi teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the injection member extends to a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber [claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I), and apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, and a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (e.g., see: MPEP 2114_II), and “wherein the injection member extends to a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” only further defines structure of the “injection member” by indicating that the “injection member” extends to a location (i.e., “a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber”) via recitation of “extends to,” such that “a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” only sets forth the manner in which the claimed “ignition system” is intended to be employed, and such that “a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” does not necessarily further limit the claimed “ignition system” (or an element thereof) to a particular structure; even so, apparent from at least Fig. 1].
With respect to claim 12, Ochi teaches the ignition system of claim 11, wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry [“wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” only further defines “a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” of “wherein the injection member extends to a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” in claim 11, such that “wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” only sets forth the manner in which the claimed “ignition system” is intended to be employed, and such that “wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” does not necessarily further limit the claimed “ignition system” (or an element thereof) to a particular structure (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I & 2114_II, as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 11)].
With respect to claim 14, Ochi teaches a vehicle comprising: a power unit including one or more combustion chamber; and the ignition system of claim 1 (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 1).
With respect to claim 15, Ochi teaches a method for ignition of fuel for a vehicle, the vehicle comprising a power unit including one or more combustion chamber, the method comprising: providing the ignition system of claim 1; and operating the injection member and the ignition element in the first ignition phase including the first delivery of fuel to the combustion chamber and the second ignition phase including the second delivery of fuel to the combustion chamber (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 1).
Claims 1-9, 11, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0090552 to Yoneya et al. (hereinafter: “Yoneya”).
With respect to claim 1, Yoneya teaches an ignition system (apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 2) configured for use on a vehicle (as discussed by at least ¶ 0022), the vehicle comprising a power unit (apparent from at least Fig. 1 in view of at least ¶ 0041; e.g., “internal combustion engine”) including one or more combustion chamber (1), the ignition system comprising: an injection member (e.g., 10a) configured to deliver fuel to an ignition zone (e.g., 10c) within the combustion chamber (as depicted by at least Figs. 1, 2, 3d & 4 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0042-0043, 0047-0048, 0050-0051 & 0053); an ignition element (e.g., 10b) configured to ignite fuel within the ignition zone (as depicted by at least Figs. 1, 2, 3d & 4 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0042-0043, 0047-0048, 0050-0051 & 0053); and a control unit (e.g., 11) configured to operate the injection member and the ignition element in a first ignition phase (e.g., a first combustion cycle, or a first intake stroke, or a first compression stroke, or the first intake stroke and the first compression stroke together, or a first expansion stroke, or the first compression stroke and the first expansion stroke together, or the first intake stroke, the first compression stroke, and the first expansion stroke together) including ignition of a first delivery of fuel provided to the combustion chamber by the injection member and a second ignition phase (e.g., the first combustion cycle, or the first intake stroke, or the first compression stroke, or the first intake stroke and the first compression stroke together, or the first expansion stroke, or the first compression stroke and the second expansion stroke together, or the first intake stroke, the first compression stroke, and the first expansion stroke together, or a second combustion cycle, or a second intake stroke, or a second compression stroke, or the second intake stroke and the second compression stroke together, or a second expansion stroke, or the second compression stroke and the second expansion stroke together, or the second intake stroke, the second compression stroke, and the second expansion stroke together) including ignition of a second delivery of fuel provided to the combustion chamber by the injection member (as depicted by at least Figs. 1, 3d & 4 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0044-0045, 0047-0048, 0050-0051 & 0053).
With respect to claim 2, Yoneya teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to operate the injection member to deliver a first amount of fuel in the first delivery of the first ignition phase and to deliver a second amount of fuel in the second delivery of the second ignition phase (apparent from at least Figs. 3d-4 and as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1).
With respect to claim 3, Yoneya teaches the ignition system of claim 2, wherein the second amount of fuel delivered in the second delivery of the second ignition phase is greater than the first amount of fuel delivered in the first delivery of the first ignition phase (apparent from at least Figs. 3d-4 and as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1; e.g., when the “first delivery phase” corresponds to the first intake stroke or the first compression stroke, and the “second delivery phase” corresponds to the second combustion cycle, or the second intake stroke and the second compression stroke together, or the second compression stroke and the second expansion stroke together, or the second intake stroke, the second compression stroke, and the second expansion stroke together).
With respect to claim 4, Yoneya teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to operate the injection member and the ignition element in the first ignition phase at a first time and the second ignition phase at a second time (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 1).
With respect to claim 5, Yoneya teaches the ignition system of claim 4, wherein the first time of the first ignition phase corresponds to an intake stroke of the combustion chamber (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claims 1 and 4).
With respect to claim 6, Yoneya teaches the ignition system of claim 4, wherein the first time of the first ignition phase corresponds to a compression stroke of the combustion chamber (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claims 1 and 4).
With respect to claim 7, Yoneya teaches the ignition system of claim 4, wherein the second time of the second ignition phase corresponds to a power stroke of the combustion chamber (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claims 1 and 4).
With respect to claim 8, Yoneya teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the injection member and the ignition element are configured to form the ignition zone within an area corresponding to 50% or less of a diameter of the combustion chamber (apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 2 in view of at least ¶ 0010-0011 & 0042).
With respect to claim 9, Yoneya teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the ignition element extends to a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber [claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I), and apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, and a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (e.g., see: MPEP 2114_II), and “wherein the ignition element extends to a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber” only further defines structure of the “ignition element” by indicating that the “ignition element” extends to a location (i.e., “a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber”) via recitation of “extends to,” such that “a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber” only sets forth the manner in which the claimed “ignition system” is intended to be employed, and such that “a tip including an ignition surface configured to be in contact with fuel delivered to the combustion chamber” does not necessarily further limit the claimed “ignition system” (or an element thereof) to a particular structure; even so, apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 2 in view of at least ¶ 0017-0018, 0026 & 0047].
With respect to claim 11, Yoneya teaches the ignition system of claim 1, wherein the injection member extends to a head (e.g., 10d) defining a plurality of outlets (e.g., 10e) configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber [claim scope is not limited by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I), and apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does, and a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (e.g., see: MPEP 2114_II), and “wherein the injection member extends to a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” only further defines structure of the “injection member” by indicating that the “injection member” extends to a location (i.e., “a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber”) via recitation of “extends to,” such that “a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” only sets forth the manner in which the claimed “ignition system” is intended to be employed, and such that “a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” does not necessarily further limit the claimed “ignition system” (or an element thereof) to a particular structure; even so, apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 2 in view of at least ¶ 0047].
With respect to claim 12, Yoneya teaches the ignition system of claim 11, wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry [“wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” only further defines “a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” of “wherein the injection member extends to a head defining a plurality of outlets configured to direct fuel to the combustion chamber” in claim 11, such that “wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” only sets forth the manner in which the claimed “ignition system” is intended to be employed, and such that “wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” does not necessarily further limit the claimed “ignition system” (or an element thereof) to a particular structure (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I & 2114_II, as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 11); even so, as discussed by at least ¶ 0047].
With respect to claim 14, Yoneya teaches a vehicle comprising: a power unit including one or more combustion chamber; and the ignition system of claim 1 (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 1).
With respect to claim 15, Yoneya teaches a method for ignition of fuel for a vehicle, the vehicle comprising a power unit including one or more combustion chamber, the method comprising: providing the ignition system of claim 1; and operating the injection member and the ignition element in the first ignition phase including the first delivery of fuel to the combustion chamber and the second ignition phase including the second delivery of fuel to the combustion chamber (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto in view of EP 1557918 A1 to Niessner et al. (hereinafter: “Niessner”).
With respect to claim 10, Matsumoto teaches the ignition system of claim 9; however, Matsumoto appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the ignition element includes a coating applied to the ignition surface of the tip of the ignition element, the coating including a catalyst configured to facilitate ignition of fuel delivered to the combustion chamber.
Niessner teaches an analogous ignition system (apparent from at least Fig. 1) having an ignition element (apparent from at least Fig. 1; e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 together; e.g., “spark plug”) including a coating (3.2) applied to an ignition surface (e.g., at 3.1) of a tip (e.g., at 3.1) of the ignition element, the coating including a catalyst configured to facilitate ignition of fuel delivered to a combustion chamber (apparent from at least Fig. 1; the catalytic coating 3.2 promotes oxidation of soot particles at the “spark plug,” thereby preventing shunting to facilitate ignition at a combustion chamber side of the “spark plug”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the ignition system of Matsumoto with the teachings of Niessner such that the ignition element includes a coating applied to the ignition surface of the tip of the ignition element, the coating including a catalyst configured to facilitate ignition of fuel delivered to the combustion chamber to beneficially promote oxidation of soot particles at the ignition element, thereby preventing shunting to facilitate ignition at the combustion chamber.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochi in view of EP 1557918 A1 to Niessner et al. (hereinafter: “Niessner”).
With respect to claim 10, Ochi teaches the ignition system of claim 9; however, Ochi appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the ignition element includes a coating applied to the ignition surface of the tip of the ignition element, the coating including a catalyst configured to facilitate ignition of fuel delivered to the combustion chamber.
Niessner teaches an analogous ignition system (apparent from at least Fig. 1) having an ignition element (apparent from at least Fig. 1; e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 together; e.g., “spark plug”) including a coating (3.2) applied to an ignition surface (e.g., at 3.1) of a tip (e.g., at 3.1) of the ignition element, the coating including a catalyst configured to facilitate ignition of fuel delivered to a combustion chamber (apparent from at least Fig. 1; the catalytic coating 3.2 promotes oxidation of soot particles at the “spark plug,” thereby preventing shunting to facilitate ignition at a combustion chamber side of the “spark plug”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the ignition system of Ochi with the teachings of Niessner such that the ignition element includes a coating applied to the ignition surface of the tip of the ignition element, the coating including a catalyst configured to facilitate ignition of fuel delivered to the combustion chamber to beneficially promote oxidation of soot particles at the ignition element, thereby preventing shunting to facilitate ignition at the combustion chamber.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneya in view of EP 1557918 A1 to Niessner et al. (hereinafter: “Niessner”).
With respect to claim 10, Yoneya teaches the ignition system of claim 9; however, Yoneya appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the ignition element includes a coating applied to the ignition surface of the tip of the ignition element, the coating including a catalyst configured to facilitate ignition of fuel delivered to the combustion chamber.
Niessner teaches an analogous ignition system (apparent from at least Fig. 1) having an ignition element (apparent from at least Fig. 1; e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 together; e.g., “spark plug”) including a coating (3.2) applied to an ignition surface (e.g., at 3.1) of a tip (e.g., at 3.1) of the ignition element, the coating including a catalyst configured to facilitate ignition of fuel delivered to a combustion chamber (apparent from at least Fig. 1; the catalytic coating 3.2 promotes oxidation of soot particles at the “spark plug,” thereby preventing shunting to facilitate ignition at a combustion chamber side of the “spark plug”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the ignition system of Yoneya with the teachings of Niessner such that the ignition element includes a coating applied to the ignition surface of the tip of the ignition element, the coating including a catalyst configured to facilitate ignition of fuel delivered to the combustion chamber to beneficially promote oxidation of soot particles at the ignition element, thereby preventing shunting to facilitate ignition at the combustion chamber.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0277237 to Imai (hereinafter: “Imai”), in the alternative to the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto.
With respect to claim 12, as discussed in detail above in the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), Matsumoto teaches each and every limitation of the “ignition system” of claim 12 so as to anticipate the claim under a broadest reasonable interpretation. However, in such a case where Applicant is able to persuasively argue that recitation of “wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” necessarily further limits the claimed “ignition system” and/or in such a case where “wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” is differently interpreted as necessarily further limiting the claimed “ignition system” under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it is further noted that Matsumoto does not appear to teach that one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry, and it is further noted that Imai teaches an analogous injection member having one or more outlet of a plurality of outlets including a conical geometry in the alternative to another geometry, such as a cylindrical geometry, to beneficially enhance a discharging property of the one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets, such as to increase a penetration force (apparent from at least Figs. 2 & 21 in view of at least ¶ 0143).
Therefore, even if “wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” is differently interpreted as necessarily further limiting the claimed “ignition system” under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the ignition system of Matsumoto with the teachings of Imai, if even necessary, such that one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry to beneficially enhance a discharging property of the one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets, such as to increase a penetration force.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochi in view of Imai, in the alternative to the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ochi.
With respect to claim 12, as discussed in detail above in the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), Ochi teaches each and every limitation of the “ignition system” of claim 12 so as to anticipate the claim under a broadest reasonable interpretation. However, in such a case where Applicant is able to persuasively argue that recitation of “wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” necessarily further limits the claimed “ignition system” and/or in such a case where “wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” is differently interpreted as necessarily further limiting the claimed “ignition system” under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it is further noted that Ochi does not appear to teach that one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry, and it is further noted that Imai teaches an analogous injection member having one or more outlet of a plurality of outlets including a conical geometry in the alternative to another geometry, such as a cylindrical geometry, to beneficially enhance a discharging property of the one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets, such as to increase a penetration force (apparent from at least Figs. 2 & 21 in view of at least ¶ 0143).
Therefore, even if “wherein one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry” is differently interpreted as necessarily further limiting the claimed “ignition system” under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the ignition system of Ochi with the teachings of Imai, if even necessary, such that one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets includes a conical geometry to beneficially enhance a discharging property of the one or more outlet of the plurality of outlets, such as to increase a penetration force.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form.
/JOHN M ZALESKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747