Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 15 recite the limitation "the BAAS program". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of Application No. 19/243,402 by Pratt et al. (US Patent No. 12,462,263) in view of Palatov (US 20220255148) and Eker et al. (US Patent No. 8,534,544). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Referring to claim 1,
Pratt teaches:
A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS), the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells, the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to: (Pratt claim 1 A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery having a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, a management system (MS) and a circuit element in communication with the MS, the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a first cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a second cell of the one or more cells, the circuit element being electrically coupled to the first battery terminal and the second battery terminal, the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to:)
determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol; (Pratt claim 1 determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery based on at least one of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol, the digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCAs) of the vehicle battery; determine, based on the digital asset, information associated with a battery as a service (BAAS) program and a confirmation corresponding to one or more export validations and one or more import validations of the vehicle battery; and trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, the digital asset, and the information)
and activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle, by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal. (Pratt claim 1 trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, the digital asset, and the information, enabling the vehicle battery includes causing the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal)
Pratt does not teach the vehicle battery having a housing,
However, Palatov, which is directed to a removable high voltage battery module having a means to check whether an attempted use of the module is authorized, and to deter unauthorized use, teaches the vehicle battery having a housing, (See Palatov Figure 1 and paragraphs 57-61 teaching FIG. 1 is a representative diagram showing battery pack 5 having a pack controller 40 which is communicatively coupled to an authentication controller 50 by means of a communications link 45. Each pack controller 40 is assigned a unique ID at the time of manufacture. For embodiments of battery packs 5 which are installed in a vehicle, the authentication controller 50 may be a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) being communicatively coupled to a vehicle key and communications link 45 may be Controller Area Network (CAN) bus or similar… A plurality of removable modules 10 are illustrated… Pack controller 40 is communicatively coupled to control bus connectors 700 of modules 10 via control bus 70. The pack controller 40 is the source of commands that are received by each of controllers 900 comprised within modules 10. The positive terminals 200 and negative terminals 300 of modules 10 are electrically coupled to positive power bus 20 and negative power bus 30 by means of sockets 25. External electrical load such as an inverter, or an external electrical source such as a charger, is customarily electrically coupled to power bus 20 and power bus 30. FIG. 2 is a conceptual illustration of the features of a battery module 10 of the present invention. The enclosure 100 is illustrated containing a plurality of cells 400, a positive terminal 200 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 500, and negative terminal 300 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 600. Relays 500 and 600 are controllably coupled to module controller 900, which is further communicatively coupled to control bus connector 700. Some embodiments of the present invention, which are not illustrated, may have only one relay to control the connection of the plurality of cells to only one of the terminals, while the other of the terminals is connected to the plurality of cells either directly or through a fusible link. The Examiner is interpreting the enclosure is a housing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt to incorporate the vehicle battery having a housing as taught in Palatovwith the motivation of incorporating the battery in a variety of locations. (Palatov paragraph 61)
Pratt in view of Palatov does not teach or suggest the second identifier being based on the first identifier
However, Eker, which is directed to authenticating a manufactured product with a mobile device, teaches the second identifier being based on the first identifier (Eker column 1 lines 42-50 teaching an article of manufacture includes a first identifier includes an at least partially random feature that cannot be economically duplicated, results from manufacture of the article and is defined to uniquely distinguish the individual article from other articles of the same kind, and a second identifier created using the first identifier and a cryptographic key; where the first identifier and the second identifier are both readable by a camera of a mobile computing device. The first identifier and the second identifier may be visible to a human eye.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Palatov to incorporate the second identifier being based on the first identifier as taught in Eker with the motivation of utilizing different techniques for reducing counterfeiting associated with a manufactured product based on the usage of multiple identifiers incorporating the battery in a variety of locations. (Eker column 1 lines 7-50)
Referring to claim 2,
Pratt further teaches further comprising a digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCA) of the vehicle battery, the validity being further based on the one or more LCAs of the vehicle battery. (Pratt claim 1 digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCAs) of the vehicle battery; determine, based on the digital asset, information associated with a battery as a service (BAAS) program and a confirmation corresponding to one or more export validations and one or more import validations of the vehicle battery; and trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, the digital asset, and the information)
Referring to claim 3,
Pratt further teaches wherein the one or more LCAs are selected from a group consisting of one or more import validations, one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery. (Pratt Claim 2 wherein the one or more LCAs are selected from a group consisting of the one or more import validations, the one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery.)
Referring to claims 4 and 18,
Pratt further teaches wherein the one or more export validations are based on a governmental regulation of exportation of the vehicle battery from a predetermined country, and the one or more import validations are based on a governmental regulation of importation of the vehicle battery from a predetermined country. (Pratt Claim 9 wherein the one or more export validations are based on a governmental regulation of exportation of the vehicle battery from a predetermined country, and the one or more import validations are based on a governmental regulation of importation of the vehicle battery from a predetermined country)
Referring to claim 5,
Pratt further teaches wherein: the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a certificate of authenticity of the vehicle battery based on the digital asset and the information; and disable the vehicle battery based on the certificate of authenticity being determined to be invalid. (Pratt Claim 3 wherein one or both of: the processing circuitry is further configured to determine a certificate of authenticity of the vehicle battery based on the digital asset and the information; and the triggering of the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery is further based on the certificate of authenticity.)
Referring to claims 6 and 13,
Pratt further teaches wherein: the processing circuitry is further configured to: perform an anti-counterfeit action based on the digital asset and the information; and disable the vehicle battery based on the anti-counterfeit action. (Pratt Claim 4 the processing circuitry is further configured to perform an anti-counterfeit action based on the digital asset and the information; and the triggering of the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery is further based on the anti-counterfeit action.)
Referring to claims 7 and 14,
Pratt further teaches wherein: the processing circuitry is further configured to: establish or terminate ownership of the vehicle battery based on the digital asset and the information; and disable the vehicle battery based on terminated ownership. (Pratt Claim 5 the processing circuitry is further configured to establish or terminate the ownership of the vehicle battery based on the digital asset and the information; and the triggering of the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery is further based on the established or terminated ownership.)
Referring to claims 8, 17, and 20,
Pratt further teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: obtain a battery-person association based on information associated with the digital asset and a person associated with the vehicle battery; and grant a warranty service available to the person and the vehicle battery based on the battery-person association. (Pratt Claim 8 wherein the processing circuit is further configured to one or both of: obtain a battery-person association based on information associated with the digital asset and a person associated with the vehicle battery; and grant a warranty service available to the person and the vehicle battery based on the battery-person association.)
Referring to claim 9,
Pratt further teaches wherein the digital asset is a non-fungible token (NFT). (Pratt Claim 10 wherein the digital asset is a non-fungible token (NFT).)
Referring to claims 10 and 16,
Pratt further teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine an indication indicating a license to use the vehicle battery is valid or revoked based on the digital asset, the information, the first identifier, and the second identifier; and cause transmission of the indication. (Pratt Claim 7 wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine an indication indicating a license to use the vehicle battery is valid or revoked based on the digital asset, the information, the first identifier, and the second identifier; and cause transmission of the indication.)
Referring to claims 11 and 15,
Pratt further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:transfer ownership of the vehicle battery from a battery manufacturer to a battery user, the transferred ownership corresponding to the BAAS program and one or more performance metrics of the vehicle battery. (Pratt Claim 6 wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: transfer the ownership of the vehicle battery from a battery manufacturer to a battery user, the transferred ownership corresponding to the BAAS program and one or more performance metrics of the vehicle battery.)
Referring to claim 12,
Pratt teaches A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery having a housing incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS), the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells, (Pratt claim 1 A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery having a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, a management system (MS) and a circuit element in communication with the MS, the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a first cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a second cell of the one or more cells, the circuit element being electrically coupled to the first battery terminal and the second battery terminal)
the battery further comprising a digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCA) of the vehicle battery, the digital asset being a non-fungible token (NFT), the one or more LCAs being selected from a group consisting of one or more import validations, one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery, (Pratt claim 1 the digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCAs) of the vehicle battery; Pratt claim 2 wherein the one or more LCAs are selected from a group consisting of the one or more import validations, the one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery, and Pratt claim 10 wherein the digital asset is a non-fungible token (NFT).)
the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to: determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on: a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol; (Pratt claim 1 the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to: determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery based on at least one of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol, the digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCAs) of the vehicle battery; determine, based on the digital asset, information associated with a battery as a service (BAAS) program and a confirmation corresponding to one or more export validations and one or more import validations of the vehicle battery; and trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, the digital asset, and the information)
and the one or more LCAs of the vehicle battery; (Pratt claim 1 the digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCAs) of the vehicle battery; determine, based on the digital asset, information associated with a battery as a service (BAAS) program and a confirmation corresponding to one or more export validations and one or more import validations of the vehicle battery; and trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, the digital asset, and the information)
and activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle, by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal. (Pratt claim 1 trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, the digital asset, and the information, enabling the vehicle battery includes causing the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal)
Pratt does not teach the vehicle battery having a housing,
However, Palatov teaches the vehicle battery having a housing, (See Palatov Figure 1 and paragraphs 57-61 teaching FIG. 1 is a representative diagram showing battery pack 5 having a pack controller 40 which is communicatively coupled to an authentication controller 50 by means of a communications link 45. Each pack controller 40 is assigned a unique ID at the time of manufacture. For embodiments of battery packs 5 which are installed in a vehicle, the authentication controller 50 may be a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) being communicatively coupled to a vehicle key and communications link 45 may be Controller Area Network (CAN) bus or similar… A plurality of removable modules 10 are illustrated… Pack controller 40 is communicatively coupled to control bus connectors 700 of modules 10 via control bus 70. The pack controller 40 is the source of commands that are received by each of controllers 900 comprised within modules 10. The positive terminals 200 and negative terminals 300 of modules 10 are electrically coupled to positive power bus 20 and negative power bus 30 by means of sockets 25. External electrical load such as an inverter, or an external electrical source such as a charger, is customarily electrically coupled to power bus 20 and power bus 30. FIG. 2 is a conceptual illustration of the features of a battery module 10 of the present invention. The enclosure 100 is illustrated containing a plurality of cells 400, a positive terminal 200 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 500, and negative terminal 300 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 600. Relays 500 and 600 are controllably coupled to module controller 900, which is further communicatively coupled to control bus connector 700. Some embodiments of the present invention, which are not illustrated, may have only one relay to control the connection of the plurality of cells to only one of the terminals, while the other of the terminals is connected to the plurality of cells either directly or through a fusible link. The Examiner is interpreting the enclosure is a housing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt to incorporate the vehicle battery having a housing as taught in Palatov with the motivation of incorporating the battery in a variety of locations. (Palatov paragraph 61)
Pratt in view of Palatov does not teach or suggest the second identifier being based on the first identifier
However Eker teaches the second identifier being based on the first identifier (Eker column 1 lines 42-50 teaching an article of manufacture includes a first identifier includes an at least partially random feature that cannot be economically duplicated, results from manufacture of the article and is defined to uniquely distinguish the individual article from other articles of the same kind, and a second identifier created using the first identifier and a cryptographic key; where the first identifier and the second identifier are both readable by a camera of a mobile computing device. The first identifier and the second identifier may be visible to a human eye.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Palatov to incorporate the second identifier being based on the first identifier as taught in Eker with the motivation of utilizing different techniques for reducing counterfeiting associated with a manufactured product based on the usage of multiple identifiers incorporating the battery in a variety of locations. (Eker column 1 lines 7-50)
Referring to claim 19,
A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS), the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells, the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to: (Pratt claim 1 A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery having a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, a management system (MS) and a circuit element in communication with the MS, the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a first cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a second cell of the one or more cells, the circuit element being electrically coupled to the first battery terminal and the second battery terminal, the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to:)
determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery, the digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCA) of the vehicle battery, the digital asset being a non-fungible token (NFT), the one or more LCAs being selected from a group consisting of one or more import validations, one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery; (Pratt claim 1 determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery based on at least one of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol, the digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCAs) of the vehicle battery; Pratt claim 2 wherein the one or more LCAs are selected from a group consisting of the one or more import validations, the one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery, and Pratt claim 10 wherein the digital asset is a non-fungible token (NFT).)
determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on: a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol; (Pratt claim 1 the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to: determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery based on at least one of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol, the digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCAs) of the vehicle battery; determine, based on the digital asset, information associated with a battery as a service (BAAS) program and a confirmation corresponding to one or more export validations and one or more import validations of the vehicle battery; and trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, the digital asset, and the information)
and the one or more LCAs of the vehicle battery; (Pratt claim 1 the digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCAs) of the vehicle battery; determine, based on the digital asset, information associated with a battery as a service (BAAS) program and a confirmation corresponding to one or more export validations and one or more import validations of the vehicle battery; and trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, the digital asset, and the information)
and activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle, by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal. ((Pratt claim 1 trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, the digital asset, and the information, enabling the vehicle battery includes causing the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal)
Pratt does not teach the vehicle battery having a housing,
However, Palatov teaches the vehicle battery having a housing, (See Palatov Figure 1 and paragraphs 57-61 teaching FIG. 1 is a representative diagram showing battery pack 5 having a pack controller 40 which is communicatively coupled to an authentication controller 50 by means of a communications link 45. Each pack controller 40 is assigned a unique ID at the time of manufacture. For embodiments of battery packs 5 which are installed in a vehicle, the authentication controller 50 may be a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) being communicatively coupled to a vehicle key and communications link 45 may be Controller Area Network (CAN) bus or similar… A plurality of removable modules 10 are illustrated… Pack controller 40 is communicatively coupled to control bus connectors 700 of modules 10 via control bus 70. The pack controller 40 is the source of commands that are received by each of controllers 900 comprised within modules 10. The positive terminals 200 and negative terminals 300 of modules 10 are electrically coupled to positive power bus 20 and negative power bus 30 by means of sockets 25. External electrical load such as an inverter, or an external electrical source such as a charger, is customarily electrically coupled to power bus 20 and power bus 30. FIG. 2 is a conceptual illustration of the features of a battery module 10 of the present invention. The enclosure 100 is illustrated containing a plurality of cells 400, a positive terminal 200 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 500, and negative terminal 300 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 600. Relays 500 and 600 are controllably coupled to module controller 900, which is further communicatively coupled to control bus connector 700. Some embodiments of the present invention, which are not illustrated, may have only one relay to control the connection of the plurality of cells to only one of the terminals, while the other of the terminals is connected to the plurality of cells either directly or through a fusible link. The Examiner is interpreting the enclosure is a housing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt to incorporate the vehicle battery having a housing as taught in Palatov with the motivation of incorporating the battery in a variety of locations. (Palatov paragraph 61)
Pratt in view of Palatov does not teach or suggest the second identifier being based on the first identifier
However Eker teaches the second identifier being based on the first identifier (Eker column 1 lines 42-50 teaching an article of manufacture includes a first identifier includes an at least partially random feature that cannot be economically duplicated, results from manufacture of the article and is defined to uniquely distinguish the individual article from other articles of the same kind, and a second identifier created using the first identifier and a cryptographic key; where the first identifier and the second identifier are both readable by a camera of a mobile computing device. The first identifier and the second identifier may be visible to a human eye.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Palatov to incorporate the second identifier being based on the first identifier as taught in Eker with the motivation of utilizing different techniques for reducing counterfeiting associated with a manufactured product based on the usage of multiple identifiers incorporating the battery in a variety of locations. (Eker column 1 lines 7-50)
Claims 1-7, 9, 12-14, and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of Application No. 18/322,873 by Pratt et al. (US Patent No. 12,367,499) in view of Palatov (US 20220255148) and Eker et al. (US Patent No. 8,535,544). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Referring to claim 1,
Pratt teaches:
A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, and a management system (MS), the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to: (Pratt claim 1 A vehicle battery device comprising: a vehicle battery having a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, a management system (MS) and a circuit element in communication with the MS, the circuit element being electrically coupled to the first battery terminal and the second battery terminal, the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to:)
determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol; (Pratt claim 1 determine a first identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the associated vehicle battery to be uniquely distinct from other vehicle batteries; determine a second identifier, the second identifier being: different from the first identifier; an electronically retrievable identifier; confidential; and ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol; and determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery based on at least one of the first identifier and the second identifier, the digital asset defining life cycle attributes (LCAs) for commercial validation or governmental validation, the LCAs addressing commercial use of the vehicle battery or governmental formalities of the vehicle battery, the LCAs that address the commercial use being selected from a first group comprising at least recycling of the vehicle battery, replacement of the vehicle battery, and operational performance of the vehicle battery, the recycling of the vehicle battery being associated with recycling information including a recycling entity, the LCAs including one or more sourcing certifications of one or more materials used to manufacture the vehicle battery, the one or more sourcing certifications certifying that the one or more materials are free of labor abuse; and trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, and the digital asset, )
and activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle, by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal. based on the first identifier, the second identifier, and the digital asset, wherein enabling the vehicle battery includes causing the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal)
Pratt does not teach the vehicle battery having a housing, one or more cells, the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells
However Palatov teaches the vehicle battery having a housing, one or more cells, the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells (See Palatov Figure 1 and paragraphs 57-61 teaching FIG. 1 is a representative diagram showing battery pack 5 having a pack controller 40 which is communicatively coupled to an authentication controller 50 by means of a communications link 45. Each pack controller 40 is assigned a unique ID at the time of manufacture. For embodiments of battery packs 5 which are installed in a vehicle, the authentication controller 50 may be a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) being communicatively coupled to a vehicle key and communications link 45 may be Controller Area Network (CAN) bus or similar… A plurality of removable modules 10 are illustrated… Pack controller 40 is communicatively coupled to control bus connectors 700 of modules 10 via control bus 70. The pack controller 40 is the source of commands that are received by each of controllers 900 comprised within modules 10. The positive terminals 200 and negative terminals 300 of modules 10 are electrically coupled to positive power bus 20 and negative power bus 30 by means of sockets 25. External electrical load such as an inverter, or an external electrical source such as a charger, is customarily electrically coupled to power bus 20 and power bus 30. FIG. 2 is a conceptual illustration of the features of a battery module 10 of the present invention. The enclosure 100 is illustrated containing a plurality of cells 400, a positive terminal 200 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 500, and negative terminal 300 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 600. Relays 500 and 600 are controllably coupled to module controller 900, which is further communicatively coupled to control bus connector 700. Some embodiments of the present invention, which are not illustrated, may have only one relay to control the connection of the plurality of cells to only one of the terminals, while the other of the terminals is connected to the plurality of cells either directly or through a fusible link. The Examiner is interpreting the enclosure is a housing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt to incorporate the vehicle battery having a housing, one or more cells, the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells as taught in Palatov with the motivation of incorporating the battery in a variety of locations and defining what the terminals are connected to. (Palatov paragraph 61)
Pratt in view of Palatov does not teach or suggest the second identifier being based on the first identifier
However Eker teaches the second identifier being based on the first identifier (Eker column 1 lines 42-50 teaching an article of manufacture includes a first identifier includes an at least partially random feature that cannot be economically duplicated, results from manufacture of the article and is defined to uniquely distinguish the individual article from other articles of the same kind, and a second identifier created using the first identifier and a cryptographic key; where the first identifier and the second identifier are both readable by a camera of a mobile computing device. The first identifier and the second identifier may be visible to a human eye.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Palatov to incorporate the second identifier being based on the first identifier as taught in Eker with the motivation of utilizing different techniques for reducing counterfeiting associated with a manufactured product based on the usage of multiple identifiers incorporating the battery in a variety of locations. (Eker column 1 lines 7-50)
Referring to claim 2,
Pratt further teaches further comprising a digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCA) of the vehicle battery, the validity being further based on the one or more LCAs of the vehicle battery. (Pratt claim 1 determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery based on at least one of the first identifier and the second identifier, the digital asset defining life cycle attributes (LCAs) for commercial validation or governmental validation, trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, and the digital asset, the LCAs )
Referring to claim 3,
Pratt further teaches wherein the one or more LCAs are selected from a group consisting of one or more import validations, one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery. (Pratt Claim 4 wherein the LCAs that address governmental formalities of the vehicle battery are selected from a third group consisting of import validations of the vehicle battery, export validations of the vehicle battery, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, servicing of the vehicle battery,)
Referring to claims 4 and 18,
Palatov further teaches wherein the one or more export validations are based on a governmental regulation of exportation of the vehicle battery from a predetermined country, and the one or more import validations are based on a governmental regulation of importation of the vehicle battery from a predetermined country. (Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themsthemselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so. The examiner is interpreting that NFTs may be programmed with a smart contract governing the requisite conditions for conducting a transaction based on the recorded metadata.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Eker to incorporate wherein the one or more export validations are based on a governmental regulation of exportation of the vehicle battery from a predetermined country, and the one or more import validations are based on a governmental regulation of importation of the vehicle battery from a predetermined country as taught in Palatov with the motivation of incorporating various attributes regarding a battery for authentication. (Palatov paragraph 111 and 133)
Referring to claim 5,
Palatov further teaches wherein: the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a certificate of authenticity of the vehicle battery based on the digital asset and the information; (Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so. The examiner is interpreting that NFTs may be programmed with a smart contract governing the requisite conditions for conducting a transaction based on the recorded metadata.)
and disable the vehicle battery based on the certificate of authenticity being determined to be invalid. (Palatov paragraphs 53-54 teaching passive state” means a battery module state in which all relays are disabled, and which requires the reception of a valid command message from an authorized pack controller in order to transition to an active state. Transition from a first passive state to another passive state may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or responsive to a command and may require authentication. “Active state” means a battery module state in which one or more relays are under active control of the module controller responsive to monitored operating conditions such as measured current, measured voltage, measured temperature, activated duration time period expiration, and the like. Transitions between active states, of from active states to passive states, may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or command and may require authentication. Palatov paragraphs 76-78 teaching the A battery module is configured to have distinct programmed states by means of storing an executable program in non-volatile memory associated with module controller 900… The illustrated states are of two types: passive states, which include LOCKED, UNLOCKED and ISOLATED, and active states which include CHARGING and ENABLED. The names of the states used herein are descriptive for the purpose of distinguishing between the illustrated states and are not limiting. In active states, one or more relays are actively controlled by module controller 900 responsive to monitored operating conditions and further responsive to any programmed parameters associated with the specific state. Control bus port 700 is monitored for reception of valid command messages by the module controller 900. Palatov paragraph 80 teaching transition from one state to another state may be initiated by the module controller 900 responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40 (FIG. 1). An authorized pack controller 40 has a unique ID which is on a list of authorized pack controllers maintained by the module controller 900. In embodiments wherein multiple lists of authorized controllers are maintained, each list may correspond to a specific set of state transitions the listed pack controllers 40 are authorized to command, which may be distinct from the set of state transitions that controllers listed on another list are authorized to command. Palatov paragraph 84 teaching the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) may transition from a passive state to another passive state responsive to a monitored condition. From a passive state, the module controller 900 may only transition to an active state responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40. Palatov paragraph 92 teaching the illustrated embodiment allows charging of a module that is in a LOCKED state in order that a module may be maintained in a safe state of charge even in the absence of authentication. In other embodiments, the transition to CHARGING state may require authentication to further deter unauthorized use or to ensure compatibility of the module with the charging apparatus. This may be particularly desirable for modules that are capable of being configured to operate at more than one voltage, as disclosed in the referenced application. Palatov paragraphs 96-97 teaching a list of authorized controllers 40 may be received by a secure message, compiled through previous authenticated installations as disclosed herein, or by another method such as programming during manufacture of the module. In some embodiments of programmed states, only pack controllers 40 that are identified on a specific authorized list, or have specific authorization attributes recorded in the list, may command transitions to another state. In such states commands from pack controllers not identified on the list are disregarded. Palatov paragraph 103 teaching once obtained, the authentication certificate is communicated by pack controller 40 to the specific module 10 to authenticate the identity of the pack controller 40 to the module controller 900 comprised within the module at block 506, said controller 900 having the unique MIN for which authentication certificate was obtained. At block 507, a determination is made whether the certificate is valid. Once authenticated (the YES condition), the unique ID of the pack controller 40 at block 508 may be added by the module controller 900 to a list of authorized command source IDs, in order that further authentication not be required for commands received from the pack controller having said unique ID. If not authenticated (the NO condition), further commands from the pack controller 40 are rejected at block 509. Palatov paragraph 114 teaching authorization data in embodiments employing blockchain technologies is obtained or generated by accessing the token data structure, wallet data structures between which the ownership of all or a part of a token is being transferred, and the secure blockchain ledger. The terms ‘ownership’ and ‘control’ as they pertain to blockchain tokens are used interchangeably herein. In the context of the disclosures and claims made herein, authorization data indicates in the affirmative if the SC conditions are met and proof of ownership and intent to transfer are confirmed. If one or more predetermined conditions for the transfer are not met, authorization data is deemed to indicate in the negative. Palatov paragraphs 116-120 teaching a key unique feature of the battery modules of the present invention and the battery packs comprised thereof is the fact that the control of each battery module's connection to a common power bus rests solely within the battery module, responsive to the computer program algorithm being executed by the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) implementing a plurality of programmed states. A command is issued by the pack controller 40 substantially simultaneously to all module controllers 900 to transition to a programmed state. Each module controller 900 then individually makes an election to accept the command or reject it responsive to monitored conditions and the methods disclosed herein, exercising control over the connection by controlling relays 500 and 600 (FIG. 3). An example of such election is illustrated in block 507 of FIG. 5. Additional examples of the control being exercised by the module controller 900 over the connection of the corresponding module 10 to the power busses 20 and 30 (FIG. 1) include the controlling at least one of the relays responsive to monitored conditions in active states, and the transitions from active states to inactive states responsive to monitored conditions, as illustrated in FIG. 4 and disclosed the direct control that each battery module of the present invention has over its connection to a power bus, and consequently its function with respect to transfer of electrical energy, provides the novel utility of the alteration of removable battery module functionality responsive to information securely received from an authentication controller accessing a blockchain database. Further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Together the components and methods of the modular battery system taught herein enable the positive control over the use of a module responsive to information comprised in the associated NFT and the associated blockchain ledger of the transactions carried out on the NFT by SCs, as further detailed hereinbelow.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Eker to incorporate wherein: the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a certificate of authenticity of the vehicle battery based on the digital asset and the information; and disable the vehicle battery based on the certificate of authenticity being determined to be invalid as taught in Palatov with the motivation of controlling operation of the based on various attributes for determining the authenticity of a battery. (Palatov paragraphs 103, 114, and 116-120)
Referring to claims 6 and 13,
Palatov further teaches wherein: the processing circuitry is further configured to: perform an anti-counterfeit action based on the digital asset and the information; (Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so. The examiner is interpreting that NFTs may be programmed with a smart contract governing the requisite conditions for conducting a transaction based on the recorded metadata.)
and disable the vehicle battery based on the anti-counterfeit action. (Palatov paragraphs 53-54 teaching passive state” means a battery module state in which all relays are disabled, and which requires the reception of a valid command message from an authorized pack controller in order to transition to an active state. Transition from a first passive state to another passive state may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or responsive to a command and may require authentication. “Active state” means a battery module state in which one or more relays are under active control of the module controller responsive to monitored operating conditions such as measured current, measured voltage, measured temperature, activated duration time period expiration, and the like. Transitions between active states, of from active states to passive states, may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or command and may require authentication. Palatov paragraphs 76-78 teaching the A battery module is configured to have distinct programmed states by means of storing an executable program in non-volatile memory associated with module controller 900… The illustrated states are of two types: passive states, which include LOCKED, UNLOCKED and ISOLATED, and active states which include CHARGING and ENABLED. The names of the states used herein are descriptive for the purpose of distinguishing between the illustrated states and are not limiting. In active states, one or more relays are actively controlled by module controller 900 responsive to monitored operating conditions and further responsive to any programmed parameters associated with the specific state. Control bus port 700 is monitored for reception of valid command messages by the module controller 900. Palatov paragraph 80 teaching transition from one state to another state may be initiated by the module controller 900 responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40 (FIG. 1). An authorized pack controller 40 has a unique ID which is on a list of authorized pack controllers maintained by the module controller 900. In embodiments wherein multiple lists of authorized controllers are maintained, each list may correspond to a specific set of state transitions the listed pack controllers 40 are authorized to command, which may be distinct from the set of state transitions that controllers listed on another list are authorized to command. Palatov paragraph 84 teaching the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) may transition from a passive state to another passive state responsive to a monitored condition. From a passive state, the module controller 900 may only transition to an active state responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40. Palatov paragraph 92 teaching the illustrated embodiment allows charging of a module that is in a LOCKED state in order that a module may be maintained in a safe state of charge even in the absence of authentication. In other embodiments, the transition to CHARGING state may require authentication to further deter unauthorized use or to ensure compatibility of the module with the charging apparatus. This may be particularly desirable for modules that are capable of being configured to operate at more than one voltage, as disclosed in the referenced application. Palatov paragraphs 96-97 teaching a list of authorized controllers 40 may be received by a secure message, compiled through previous authenticated installations as disclosed herein, or by another method such as programming during manufacture of the module. In some embodiments of programmed states, only pack controllers 40 that are identified on a specific authorized list, or have specific authorization attributes recorded in the list, may command transitions to another state. In such states commands from pack controllers not identified on the list are disregarded. Palatov paragraph 103 teaching once obtained, the authentication certificate is communicated by pack controller 40 to the specific module 10 to authenticate the identity of the pack controller 40 to the module controller 900 comprised within the module at block 506, said controller 900 having the unique MIN for which authentication certificate was obtained. At block 507, a determination is made whether the certificate is valid. Once authenticated (the YES condition), the unique ID of the pack controller 40 at block 508 may be added by the module controller 900 to a list of authorized command source IDs, in order that further authentication not be required for commands received from the pack controller having said unique ID. If not authenticated (the NO condition), further commands from the pack controller 40 are rejected at block 509. Palatov paragraph 114 teaching authorization data in embodiments employing blockchain technologies is obtained or generated by accessing the token data structure, wallet data structures between which the ownership of all or a part of a token is being transferred, and the secure blockchain ledger. The terms ‘ownership’ and ‘control’ as they pertain to blockchain tokens are used interchangeably herein. In the context of the disclosures and claims made herein, authorization data indicates in the affirmative if the SC conditions are met and proof of ownership and intent to transfer are confirmed. If one or more predetermined conditions for the transfer are not met, authorization data is deemed to indicate in the negative. Palatov paragraphs 116-120 teaching a key unique feature of the battery modules of the present invention and the battery packs comprised thereof is the fact that the control of each battery module's connection to a common power bus rests solely within the battery module, responsive to the computer program algorithm being executed by the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) implementing a plurality of programmed states. A command is issued by the pack controller 40 substantially simultaneously to all module controllers 900 to transition to a programmed state. Each module controller 900 then individually makes an election to accept the command or reject it responsive to monitored conditions and the methods disclosed herein, exercising control over the connection by controlling relays 500 and 600 (FIG. 3). An example of such election is illustrated in block 507 of FIG. 5. Additional examples of the control being exercised by the module controller 900 over the connection of the corresponding module 10 to the power busses 20 and 30 (FIG. 1) include the controlling at least one of the relays responsive to monitored conditions in active states, and the transitions from active states to inactive states responsive to monitored conditions, as illustrated in FIG. 4 and disclosed the direct control that each battery module of the present invention has over its connection to a power bus, and consequently its function with respect to transfer of electrical energy, provides the novel utility of the alteration of removable battery module functionality responsive to information securely received from an authentication controller accessing a blockchain database. Further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Together the components and methods of the modular battery system taught herein enable the positive control over the use of a module responsive to information comprised in the associated NFT and the associated blockchain ledger of the transactions carried out on the NFT by SCs, as further detailed hereinbelow.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Eker to incorporate wherein: the processing circuitry is further configured to: perform an anti-counterfeit action based on the digital asset and the information; and disable the vehicle battery based on the anti-counterfeit action as taught in Palatov with the motivation of controlling operation of the based on various attributes for determining the authenticity of a battery. (Palatov paragraphs 103, 114, and 116-120)
Referring to claims 7 and 14,
Palatov further teaches wherein: the processing circuitry is further configured to: establish or terminate ownership of the vehicle battery based on the digital asset and the information; (Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so. The examiner is interpreting that NFTs may be programmed with a smart contract governing the requisite conditions for conducting a transaction based on the recorded metadata.)
and disable the vehicle battery based on terminated ownership. (Palatov paragraphs 53-54 teaching passive state” means a battery module state in which all relays are disabled, and which requires the reception of a valid command message from an authorized pack controller in order to transition to an active state. Transition from a first passive state to another passive state may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or responsive to a command and may require authentication. “Active state” means a battery module state in which one or more relays are under active control of the module controller responsive to monitored operating conditions such as measured current, measured voltage, measured temperature, activated duration time period expiration, and the like. Transitions between active states, of from active states to passive states, may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or command and may require authentication. Palatov paragraphs 76-78 teaching the A battery module is configured to have distinct programmed states by means of storing an executable program in non-volatile memory associated with module controller 900… The illustrated states are of two types: passive states, which include LOCKED, UNLOCKED and ISOLATED, and active states which include CHARGING and ENABLED. The names of the states used herein are descriptive for the purpose of distinguishing between the illustrated states and are not limiting. In active states, one or more relays are actively controlled by module controller 900 responsive to monitored operating conditions and further responsive to any programmed parameters associated with the specific state. Control bus port 700 is monitored for reception of valid command messages by the module controller 900. Palatov paragraph 80 teaching transition from one state to another state may be initiated by the module controller 900 responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40 (FIG. 1). An authorized pack controller 40 has a unique ID which is on a list of authorized pack controllers maintained by the module controller 900. In embodiments wherein multiple lists of authorized controllers are maintained, each list may correspond to a specific set of state transitions the listed pack controllers 40 are authorized to command, which may be distinct from the set of state transitions that controllers listed on another list are authorized to command. Palatov paragraph 84 teaching the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) may transition from a passive state to another passive state responsive to a monitored condition. From a passive state, the module controller 900 may only transition to an active state responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40. Palatov paragraph 92 teaching the illustrated embodiment allows charging of a module that is in a LOCKED state in order that a module may be maintained in a safe state of charge even in the absence of authentication. In other embodiments, the transition to CHARGING state may require authentication to further deter unauthorized use or to ensure compatibility of the module with the charging apparatus. This may be particularly desirable for modules that are capable of being configured to operate at more than one voltage, as disclosed in the referenced application. Palatov paragraphs 96-97 teaching a list of authorized controllers 40 may be received by a secure message, compiled through previous authenticated installations as disclosed herein, or by another method such as programming during manufacture of the module. In some embodiments of programmed states, only pack controllers 40 that are identified on a specific authorized list, or have specific authorization attributes recorded in the list, may command transitions to another state. In such states commands from pack controllers not identified on the list are disregarded. Palatov paragraph 103 teaching once obtained, the authentication certificate is communicated by pack controller 40 to the specific module 10 to authenticate the identity of the pack controller 40 to the module controller 900 comprised within the module at block 506, said controller 900 having the unique MIN for which authentication certificate was obtained. At block 507, a determination is made whether the certificate is valid. Once authenticated (the YES condition), the unique ID of the pack controller 40 at block 508 may be added by the module controller 900 to a list of authorized command source IDs, in order that further authentication not be required for commands received from the pack controller having said unique ID. If not authenticated (the NO condition), further commands from the pack controller 40 are rejected at block 509. Palatov paragraph 114 teaching authorization data in embodiments employing blockchain technologies is obtained or generated by accessing the token data structure, wallet data structures between which the ownership of all or a part of a token is being transferred, and the secure blockchain ledger. The terms ‘ownership’ and ‘control’ as they pertain to blockchain tokens are used interchangeably herein. In the context of the disclosures and claims made herein, authorization data indicates in the affirmative if the SC conditions are met and proof of ownership and intent to transfer are confirmed. If one or more predetermined conditions for the transfer are not met, authorization data is deemed to indicate in the negative. Palatov paragraphs 116-120 teaching a key unique feature of the battery modules of the present invention and the battery packs comprised thereof is the fact that the control of each battery module's connection to a common power bus rests solely within the battery module, responsive to the computer program algorithm being executed by the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) implementing a plurality of programmed states. A command is issued by the pack controller 40 substantially simultaneously to all module controllers 900 to transition to a programmed state. Each module controller 900 then individually makes an election to accept the command or reject it responsive to monitored conditions and the methods disclosed herein, exercising control over the connection by controlling relays 500 and 600 (FIG. 3). An example of such election is illustrated in block 507 of FIG. 5. Additional examples of the control being exercised by the module controller 900 over the connection of the corresponding module 10 to the power busses 20 and 30 (FIG. 1) include the controlling at least one of the relays responsive to monitored conditions in active states, and the transitions from active states to inactive states responsive to monitored conditions, as illustrated in FIG. 4 and disclosed the direct control that each battery module of the present invention has over its connection to a power bus, and consequently its function with respect to transfer of electrical energy, provides the novel utility of the alteration of removable battery module functionality responsive to information securely received from an authentication controller accessing a blockchain database. Further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Together the components and methods of the modular battery system taught herein enable the positive control over the use of a module responsive to information comprised in the associated NFT and the associated blockchain ledger of the transactions carried out on the NFT by SCs, as further detailed hereinbelow.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Eker to incorporate wherein: the processing circuitry is further configured to: establish or terminate ownership of the vehicle battery based on the digital asset and the information; and disable the vehicle battery based on terminated ownership as taught in Palatov with the motivation of controlling operation of the based on various attributes for determining the authenticity of a battery. (Palatov paragraphs 103, 114, and 116-120)
Referring to claim 9,
Pratt further teaches wherein the digital asset is a non-fungible token (NFT). (Pratt Claim 2 wherein the digital asset is a non-fungible token (NFT).)
Referring to claim 12,
Pratt teaches vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery having a housing incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS), the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells, (Pratt claim 1 A vehicle battery device comprising: a vehicle battery having a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, a management system (MS) and a circuit element in communication with the MS, the circuit element being electrically coupled to the first battery terminal and the second battery terminal, the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to:)
the battery further comprising a digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCA) of the vehicle battery, the digital asset being a non-fungible token (NFT), the one or more LCAs being selected from a group consisting of one or more import validations, one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery, (Pratt claim 1 determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery based on at least one of the first identifier and the second identifier, the digital asset defining life cycle attributes (LCAs) for commercial validation or governmental validation, the LCAs addressing commercial use of the vehicle battery or governmental formalities of the vehicle battery, the LCAs that address the commercial use being selected from a first group comprising at least recycling of the vehicle battery, replacement of the vehicle battery, and operational performance of the vehicle battery, the recycling of the vehicle battery being associated with recycling information including a recycling entity, the LCAs including one or more sourcing certifications of one or more materials used to manufacture the vehicle battery, the one or more sourcing certifications certifying that the one or more materials are free of labor abuse; Pratt claim 2 wherein the digital asset is a non-fungible token. Pratt claim 3 wherein the LCAs that address commercial use of the vehicle battery are further selected from a second group consisting of component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, servicing of the vehicle battery, repair of the vehicle battery, conditions of use of the vehicle battery, reliability of the vehicle battery, functionality of the vehicle battery, programs and information relating to the vehicle battery, and combinations thereof. Pratt claim 4 wherein the LCAs that address governmental formalities of the vehicle battery are selected from a third group consisting of import validations of the vehicle battery, export validations of the vehicle battery, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, servicing of the vehicle battery, repair of the vehicle battery, replacement of the vehicle battery,)
the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to: determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on: a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol; ; (Pratt claim 1 determine a first identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the associated vehicle battery to be uniquely distinct from other vehicle batteries; determine a second identifier, the second identifier being: different from the first identifier; an electronically retrievable identifier; confidential; and ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol; and determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery based on at least one of the first identifier and the second identifier, the digital asset defining life cycle attributes (LCAs) for commercial validation or governmental validation, the LCAs addressing commercial use of the vehicle battery or governmental formalities of the vehicle battery, the LCAs that address the commercial use being selected from a first group comprising at least recycling of the vehicle battery, replacement of the vehicle battery, and operational performance of the vehicle battery, the recycling of the vehicle battery being associated with recycling information including a recycling entity, the LCAs including one or more sourcing certifications of one or more materials used to manufacture the vehicle battery, the one or more sourcing certifications certifying that the one or more materials are free of labor abuse; and trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, and the digital asset, )
and the one or more LCAs of the vehicle battery; (Pratt claim 1 the digital asset defining life cycle attributes (LCAs) for commercial validation or governmental validation, trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, and the digital asset,)
and activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle, by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal ((Pratt claim 1 trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, the digital asset, and the information, enabling the vehicle battery includes causing the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal)
Pratt does not teach the vehicle battery having a housing, one or more cells, the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells
However Palatov teaches the vehicle battery having a housing, one or more cells, the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells (See Palatov Figure 1 and paragraphs 57-61 teaching FIG. 1 is a representative diagram showing battery pack 5 having a pack controller 40 which is communicatively coupled to an authentication controller 50 by means of a communications link 45. Each pack controller 40 is assigned a unique ID at the time of manufacture. For embodiments of battery packs 5 which are installed in a vehicle, the authentication controller 50 may be a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) being communicatively coupled to a vehicle key and communications link 45 may be Controller Area Network (CAN) bus or similar… A plurality of removable modules 10 are illustrated… Pack controller 40 is communicatively coupled to control bus connectors 700 of modules 10 via control bus 70. The pack controller 40 is the source of commands that are received by each of controllers 900 comprised within modules 10. The positive terminals 200 and negative terminals 300 of modules 10 are electrically coupled to positive power bus 20 and negative power bus 30 by means of sockets 25. External electrical load such as an inverter, or an external electrical source such as a charger, is customarily electrically coupled to power bus 20 and power bus 30. FIG. 2 is a conceptual illustration of the features of a battery module 10 of the present invention. The enclosure 100 is illustrated containing a plurality of cells 400, a positive terminal 200 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 500, and negative terminal 300 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 600. Relays 500 and 600 are controllably coupled to module controller 900, which is further communicatively coupled to control bus connector 700. Some embodiments of the present invention, which are not illustrated, may have only one relay to control the connection of the plurality of cells to only one of the terminals, while the other of the terminals is connected to the plurality of cells either directly or through a fusible link. The Examiner is interpreting the enclosure is a housing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt to incorporate the vehicle battery having a housing, one or more cells, the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells with the motivation of incorporating the battery in a variety of locations. (Palatov paragraph 61)
Pratt in view of Palatov does not teach or suggest the second identifier being based on the first identifier
However Eker teaches the second identifier being based on the first identifier (Eker column 1 lines 42-50 teaching an article of manufacture includes a first identifier includes an at least partially random feature that cannot be economically duplicated, results from manufacture of the article and is defined to uniquely distinguish the individual article from other articles of the same kind, and a second identifier created using the first identifier and a cryptographic key; where the first identifier and the second identifier are both readable by a camera of a mobile computing device. The first identifier and the second identifier may be visible to a human eye.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Palatov to incorporate the second identifier being based on the first identifier as taught in Eker with the motivation of utilizing different techniques for reducing counterfeiting associated with a manufactured product based on the usage of multiple identifiers incorporating the battery in a variety of locations. (Eker column 1 lines 7-50)
Referring to claim 19,
Pratt teaches A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS), the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells, the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to: (Pratt claim 1 A vehicle battery device comprising: a vehicle battery having a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, a management system (MS) and a circuit element in communication with the MS, the circuit element being electrically coupled to the first battery terminal and the second battery terminal, the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to:)
determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery, the digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCA) of the vehicle battery, the digital asset being a non-fungible token (NFT), the one or more LCAs being selected from a group consisting of one or more import validations, one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery; (Pratt claim 1 determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery based on at least one of the first identifier and the second identifier, the digital asset defining life cycle attributes (LCAs) for commercial validation or governmental validation, the LCAs addressing commercial use of the vehicle battery or governmental formalities of the vehicle battery, the LCAs that address the commercial use being selected from a first group comprising at least recycling of the vehicle battery, replacement of the vehicle battery, and operational performance of the vehicle battery, the recycling of the vehicle battery being associated with recycling information including a recycling entity, the LCAs including one or more sourcing certifications of one or more materials used to manufacture the vehicle battery, the one or more sourcing certifications certifying that the one or more materials are free of labor abuse; Pratt claim 2 wherein the digital asset is a non-fungible token. Pratt claim 3 wherein the LCAs that address commercial use of the vehicle battery are further selected from a second group consisting of component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, servicing of the vehicle battery, repair of the vehicle battery, conditions of use of the vehicle battery, reliability of the vehicle battery, functionality of the vehicle battery, programs and information relating to the vehicle battery, and combinations thereof. Pratt claim 4 wherein the LCAs that address governmental formalities of the vehicle battery are selected from a third group consisting of import validations of the vehicle battery, export validations of the vehicle battery, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, servicing of the vehicle battery, repair of the vehicle battery, replacement of the vehicle battery,)
determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on: a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol; (Pratt claim 1 determine a first identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the associated vehicle battery to be uniquely distinct from other vehicle batteries; determine a second identifier, the second identifier being: different from the first identifier; an electronically retrievable identifier; confidential; and ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol; and determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery based on at least one of the first identifier and the second identifier, the digital asset defining life cycle attributes (LCAs) for commercial validation or governmental validation, the LCAs addressing commercial use of the vehicle battery or governmental formalities of the vehicle battery, the LCAs that address the commercial use being selected from a first group comprising at least recycling of the vehicle battery, replacement of the vehicle battery, and operational performance of the vehicle battery, the recycling of the vehicle battery being associated with recycling information including a recycling entity, the LCAs including one or more sourcing certifications of one or more materials used to manufacture the vehicle battery, the one or more sourcing certifications certifying that the one or more materials are free of labor abuse; and trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, and the digital asset)
and the one or more LCAs of the vehicle battery; (Pratt claim 1 the digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCAs) of the vehicle battery; determine, based on the digital asset, information associated with a battery as a service (BAAS) program and a confirmation corresponding to one or more export validations and one or more import validations of the vehicle battery; and trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, the digital asset, and the information)
and activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle, by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal. (Pratt claim 1 trigger the circuit element to enable or disable the vehicle battery based on the first identifier, the second identifier, and the digital asset, wherein enabling the vehicle battery includes causing the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal)
Pratt does not teach the vehicle battery having a housing, one or more cells, the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells
However Palatov teaches the vehicle battery having a housing, one or more cells, the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells (See Palatov Figure 1 and paragraphs 57-61 teaching FIG. 1 is a representative diagram showing battery pack 5 having a pack controller 40 which is communicatively coupled to an authentication controller 50 by means of a communications link 45. Each pack controller 40 is assigned a unique ID at the time of manufacture. For embodiments of battery packs 5 which are installed in a vehicle, the authentication controller 50 may be a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) being communicatively coupled to a vehicle key and communications link 45 may be Controller Area Network (CAN) bus or similar… A plurality of removable modules 10 are illustrated… Pack controller 40 is communicatively coupled to control bus connectors 700 of modules 10 via control bus 70. The pack controller 40 is the source of commands that are received by each of controllers 900 comprised within modules 10. The positive terminals 200 and negative terminals 300 of modules 10 are electrically coupled to positive power bus 20 and negative power bus 30 by means of sockets 25. External electrical load such as an inverter, or an external electrical source such as a charger, is customarily electrically coupled to power bus 20 and power bus 30. FIG. 2 is a conceptual illustration of the features of a battery module 10 of the present invention. The enclosure 100 is illustrated containing a plurality of cells 400, a positive terminal 200 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 500, and negative terminal 300 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 600. Relays 500 and 600 are controllably coupled to module controller 900, which is further communicatively coupled to control bus connector 700. Some embodiments of the present invention, which are not illustrated, may have only one relay to control the connection of the plurality of cells to only one of the terminals, while the other of the terminals is connected to the plurality of cells either directly or through a fusible link. The Examiner is interpreting the enclosure is a housing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt to incorporate the vehicle battery having a housing, one or more cells, the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells as taught in Palatov with the motivation of incorporating the battery in a variety of locations and defining what the terminals are connected to. (Palatov paragraph 61)
However Eker teaches the second identifier being based on the first identifier the second identifier being based on the first identifier (Eker column 1 lines 42-50 teaching an article of manufacture includes a first identifier includes an at least partially random feature that cannot be economically duplicated, results from manufacture of the article and is defined to uniquely distinguish the individual article from other articles of the same kind, and a second identifier created using the first identifier and a cryptographic key; where the first identifier and the second identifier are both readable by a camera of a mobile computing device. The first identifier and the second identifier may be visible to a human eye.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Palatov to incorporate the second identifier being based on the first identifier as taught in Eker with the motivation of utilizing different techniques for reducing counterfeiting associated with a manufactured product based on the usage of multiple identifiers incorporating the battery in a variety of locations. (Eker column 1 lines 7-50)
Claims 8, 17, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of Application No. 18/322,873 by Pratt et al. (US Patent No. 12,367,499) in view of Palatov (US 20220255148), Eker et al. (US Patent No. 8,535,544), and Beckmann et al. (WO 2020072069A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Referring to claims 8, 17, and 20,
Palatov further teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: obtain a battery-person association based on information associated with the digital asset and a person associated with the vehicle battery; (Palatov paragraph 47 teaching “Module Identification Number”, “MIN” means a unique ID that is assigned to a battery module by the module manufacturer. A MIN may be recorded in a database by the module manufacturer, industry agency. Palatov paragraph 111 teaching an example embodiment authenticates transactions and tracks assets, including physical devices having unique identifier (ID) by means of secure electronic tokens and distributed secure ledgers, collectively and interchangeably referred to herein as blockchain technologies. Blockchain technologies are an embodiment of an Internet database used for storing and accessing information pertaining to devices with unique IDs as disclosed herein.in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 119 teaching further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Eker to incorporate wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: obtain a battery-person association based on information associated with the digital asset and a person associated with the vehicle battery as taught in Palatov with the motivation of using various attributes in assessing ownership of a battery. (Palatov paragraphs 111 and 133)
Pratt in view of Palatov and Eker does not teach or suggest and grant a warranty service available to the person and the vehicle battery based on the battery-person association.
However, Beckmann, which is directed to industrial asset performance token utilizing a secure, distributed ledger, teaches and grant a warranty service available to the person and the vehicle battery based on the battery-person association. (Beckmann paragraphs 40-41 teaching at 240, a performance token contract may be created in accordance with the industrial asset performance prediction. According to some embodiments, performance tokens (e.g.,“coins) associated with the performance token contract may be exchanged via a secure, distributed transaction ledger. Note that the performance token contract might include contract rules, exchange rules, a contract balance, at least one key consumption parameter, a reference to the industrial asset performance model, etc. According to some embodiments, the performance token contract might be associated a fixed-time warranty or a fixed-usage warranty. At 250, the system may record information about the performance token contract via a secure, distributed transaction ledger. The transaction ledger might be associated with, for example, blockchain technology. According to some embodiments, actual industrial asset parameters are measured by sensors and used to update the performance token contract via the secure, distributed transaction ledger. Moreover, a change to the industrial asset (e.g ., an installation of replacement batteries) may be used to update the performance token contract via the transaction ledger. In this way, parties may query the performance token contract via the secure, distributed transaction ledger to determine a current state of the asset. Beckmann paragraph 44 teaching the system 600 may allow for contract creation 610 in accordance with rules and a performance model. A“life model contract” for an industrial asset battery might include, for example, a contract balance ( e.g . , a number of tokens or coins) representing remining battery life. Note that contract rules maybe defined as warranty agreements and key consumption parameters of the battery life may be stored in blockchain along with a reference to battery life models. Sensor data 622 may be collected from the field and used by a performance model 620 to update the contract 620. Users may then query the blockchain (via contract execution 630) to determine the remining life of battery along with a description of past usage. According to some embodiments, events associated with key life stages may be emitted when appropriate. Beckmann paragraphs 51-52 teaching one embodiment may comprise a battery lifing example referred to as a“life coin.” As a battery is used, the storage capacity of the energy storage system typically degrades until battery replacements are required to maintain a minimum capacity. The battery replacement schedule is typically covered under a service contract with fixed terms and conditions. In this embodiment, the industrial asset is an energy storage device, and the performance metric is the remaining useful life expressed as a percent of initial capacity. The architecture may comprise two smart contracts, an Ethereum network, a battery lifing model, and battery testing data. The smart contracts may comprise a contract to manage the storage life and a contract to manage the lifing model. The life coin contracts may be created, for example, to replace the traditional service contract and allow a user to query asset usage, remaining useful life, contract value, and/or the model identity/history at any time during the contract life. The first smart contract, or the performance contract, may manage the accounting of the performance metric. In this contract, the terms for updating the remaining useful life and any associated guarantees may be specified. Moreover, key battery events (e.g, stage of the life, consumption of the life) may emanate from the contract.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Palatov and Eker to incorporate and grant a warranty service available to the person and the vehicle battery based on the battery-person association as taught in Beckmann with the motivation of leveraging ownership attributes in the determination of available actions to take. (Beckmann paragraphs 40-41 and 44)
Claims 10 and 16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of Application No. 18/322,873 by Pratt et al. (US Patent No. 12,367,499) in view of Palatov (US 20220255148), Eker et al. (US Patent No. 8,535,544), and Yao (US 20110121951). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Referring to claims 10 and 16,
Palatov further teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine an indication indicating a license to use the vehicle battery is valid or revoked based on the digital asset, the information, the first identifier, and the second identifier; (Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so. The examiner is interpreting that NFTs may be programmed with a smart contract governing the requisite conditions for conducting a transaction based on the recorded metadata.)
and cause transmission of the indication. (Palatov paragraph 92 teaching the illustrated embodiment allows charging of a module that is in a LOCKED state in order that a module may be maintained in a safe state of charge even in the absence of authentication. In other embodiments, the transition to CHARGING state may require authentication to further deter unauthorized use or to ensure compatibility of the module with the charging apparatus. This may be particularly desirable for modules that are capable of being configured to operate at more than one voltage, as disclosed in the referenced application. Palatov paragraphs 96-97 teaching a list of authorized controllers 40 may be received by a secure message, compiled through previous authenticated installations as disclosed herein, or by another method such as programming during manufacture of the module. In some embodiments of programmed states, only pack controllers 40 that are identified on a specific authorized list, or have specific authorization attributes recorded in the list, may command transitions to another state. In such states commands from pack controllers not identified on the list are disregarded. Palatov paragraph 103 teaching once obtained, the authentication certificate is communicated by pack controller 40 to the specific module 10 to authenticate the identity of the pack controller 40 to the module controller 900 comprised within the module at block 506, said controller 900 having the unique MIN for which authentication certificate was obtained. At block 507, a determination is made whether the certificate is valid. Once authenticated (the YES condition), the unique ID of the pack controller 40 at block 508 may be added by the module controller 900 to a list of authorized command source IDs, in order that further authentication not be required for commands received from the pack controller having said unique ID. If not authenticated (the NO condition), further commands from the pack controller 40 are rejected at block 509. Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 114 teaching authorization data in embodiments employing blockchain technologies is obtained or generated by accessing the token data structure, wallet data structures between which the ownership of all or a part of a token is being transferred, and the secure blockchain ledger. The terms ‘ownership’ and ‘control’ as they pertain to blockchain tokens are used interchangeably herein. In the context of the disclosures and claims made herein, authorization data indicates in the affirmative if the SC conditions are met and proof of ownership and intent to transfer are confirmed. If one or more predetermined conditions for the transfer are not met, authorization data is deemed to indicate in the negative. Palatov paragraphs 116-120 teaching a key unique feature of the battery modules of the present invention and the battery packs comprised thereof is the fact that the control of each battery module's connection to a common power bus rests solely within the battery module, responsive to the computer program algorithm being executed by the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) implementing a plurality of programmed states. A command is issued by the pack controller 40 substantially simultaneously to all module controllers 900 to transition to a programmed state. Each module controller 900 then individually makes an election to accept the command or reject it responsive to monitored conditions and the methods disclosed herein, exercising control over the connection by controlling relays 500 and 600 (FIG. 3). An example of such election is illustrated in block 507 of FIG. 5. Additional examples of the control being exercised by the module controller 900 over the connection of the corresponding module 10 to the power busses 20 and 30 (FIG. 1) include the controlling at least one of the relays responsive to monitored conditions in active states, and the transitions from active states to inactive states responsive to monitored conditions, as illustrated in FIG. 4 and disclosed the direct control that each battery module of the present invention has over its connection to a power bus, and consequently its function with respect to transfer of electrical energy, provides the novel utility of the alteration of removable battery module functionality responsive to information securely received from an authentication controller accessing a blockchain database. Further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Together the components and methods of the modular battery system taught herein enable the positive control over the use of a module responsive to information comprised in the associated NFT and the associated blockchain ledger of the transactions carried out on the NFT by SCs, as further detailed hereinbelow.)Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Eker to incorporate wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine an indication indicating a license to use the vehicle battery is valid or revoked based on the digital asset, the information, the first identifier, and the second identifier; and cause transmission of the indication as taught in Palatov with the motivation of incorporating various attributes regarding a battery for authentication. (Palatov paragraph 111 and 133)
Pratt in view of Palatov and Eker does not teach or suggest wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine an indication based on the first identifier, and the second identifier;
However Yao, which is directed to an anti-fake battery pack teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine an indication based on the first identifier, and the second identifier; (Yao paragraphs 20-21 disclosing with reference to FIGS. 1, 2, 3A and 3B, a first embodiment of a battery pack 10 in accordance with the present invention has a casing 11 and multiple battery cells 12. The battery cells 12 are securely mounted in the casing 11 and electronically connected to each other. Each of the battery cells 12 has a battery body 121, a protection layer 122, an inner identifier 20 storing a first identification code and an outer identifier 30 storing a second identification code. The first and second identification codes satisfy a specific matching criterion, such as a mathematical relationship described by an algorithm. The outer identifier 30 may be an encoded serial number pattern or batch number pattern printed or carved by laser on the outside of the protection layer 122. The outer identifier 30 may be an optical pattern, such as one-dimensional bar code or a two-dimensional bar code. In the first embodiment, a unique encoding is adopted in the two-dimensional optical pattern to prevent a general bar code reader from recognizing the correct second identification code 24. See Figure 3B illustrating the battery with element 122 representing the outer layer of the battery. Yao paragraphs 22-23 disclosing the inner identifier 20 is securely mounted on an outside of the battery body 121. The protection layer 122 is securely mounted around the outside of the battery body 121. The outer identifier 30 is further securely mounted on the protection layer 122. In the first embodiment, the inner identifier 20 is a wireless identifier, such as RFID and has a chip 21 and an antenna 22. The chip 21 is electronically connected to the antenna 22 and stores the first identification code, which may be a serial number or a batch number. To further increase the identification security of the wireless identifier, the chip 21 further builds in a communication procedure supported by a cryptographic communication protocol for smart card. Therefore, data from the chip is transmitted in the wireless channel for RFID according to the cryptographic communication protocol for smart card. In addition, the first identification code may be further mingled or encrypted by Secure Hash Standard (SHA1) of FIPS 108-1, DES, or AES to increase the difficulty of eavesdropping. The first identification code is encrypted and then stored in the chip. Yao paragraph 28 disclosing the first reader 41 links to the inner identifier 20 and the inside identifier 20 a to retrieves the first identification codes. For the RFID identifier, the first reader 41 is a RFID reader. If the inner identifier 20 or the inside identifier 20 a has smart card chip, the first reader 41 will be a smart card reader. The examiner is interpreting the inner identifier is confidential (not publicly available). Yao paragraph 30 teaching the main controller 43 is electronically connected to the first and second readers 41, 42 to obtain the first and second identification codes and further contains an identification procedure therein and may store the specific matching criterion, such as a mathematical relationship described by an algorithm. 34-36 disclosing a) reading the first and second identification codes (431); (b) reading information about the matching criterion, such as the parameters for a math algorithm (432); (c) determining whether the first and second identification codes satisfy the matching criterion (433), wherein the first and second identification codes are put in the math algorithm to determine if the first identification code and the second identification code satisfy the matching mathematical relationship; if the comparing result is positive, the battery cell or pack is authentic; on the contrary, the battery cell or pack is fake.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Palatov and Eker to incorporate to incorporate wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine an indication based on the first identifier, and the second identifier as taught in Yao with the motivation of leveraging various manners of using different types of identifiers for confirming an authenticity of a battery. (Yao paragraphs 20-21 and 34-36)
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of Application No. 18/322,873 by Pratt et al. (US Patent No. 12,367,499) in view of Palatov (US 20220255148), Eker et al. (US Patent No. 8,535,544), and Ong et al. (US 20220036330). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Referring to claims 11 and 15,
Palatov in view of Yao does not teach or suggest wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transfer ownership of the vehicle battery from a battery manufacturer to a battery user, the transferred ownership corresponding to the BAAS program and one or more performance metrics of the vehicle battery.
However, Ong, which is directed to providing battery as a service, teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transfer ownership of the vehicle battery from a battery manufacturer to a battery user, the transferred ownership corresponding to the BAAS program and one or more performance metrics of the vehicle battery. (Ong paragraphs 16-17 teaching Modularity—embodiments of the BaaS system provide modular kiosks' or battery swapping/charging stations, and as such can be tailored based on demand. Smart and/or configurable battery packs - embodiments of the BaaS system provide battery packs with connected battery management system (BMS) which enables system providers to locate individual battery packs at all points of time, and to assess real time battery parameters such as the state of charge, state of health, rate of discharge, number cycles, and the like. Commonality—embodiments of the BaaS system provide a common battery system for multiple service providers, such that infrastructure and networks can be shared by different operators or service providers, thus increasing efficiency, lowering individual costs, and promoting widespread adoption. Ong paragraph 47 teaching the data management system 102 is comprised of one or more special purpose computer devices and is configured to track the batteries, rental transactions, charging activity and swapping transactions, and provides the mobile app platform which can be expanded to meet user demand. Ong paragraph 58 teaching generally, the network 105 performs all functions of the BaaS system including without limitation monitoring all battery kiosks, their location, status of batteries at each kiosk. The network 105 tracks the history of transactions at each kiosk, number of visits and battery swaps. The network monitors and tracks each battery, its level of charge and performance. Ong paragraphs 84-85 teaching of particular advantage, embodiments of the BaaS system and method provide personalized, configurable battery swapping services. More specifically, in some embodiments the BaaS system and method employs smart battery packs 224. The smart battery pack 224 is built with a battery management system 228 which is configured to communicate with the central server 222 (FIG. 5) or central management system 504 as the case may be. The BaaS system with smart battery packs enables service providers to locate individual battery packs at any or all points of time, and to access and analyze real time battery operation and parameters such as the state of charge, state of health, rate of discharge, number of cycles, and the like. The smart battery pack communicates with the sever by any suitable wireless communications medium or technology, such as for example using low energy Bluetooth. In this embodiment, the smart battery pack is always connected and continuously shares data with the central management system or server through the user handphone. In some embodiments, blockchain technology 600 may be used to receive and analyze such data, as illustrated generally in FIG. 10. In some embodiments, the BaaS system and method provides real time battery analysis that enables monitoring and control or optimization of battery usage. This feature may also provide personalization or optimization for users based on individual driving habits and user profiles. For example, in one embodiment, the central server or central management system receives information from the smart battery packs. This information can be data regarding identity of each smart battery pack, the operating and performance of each battery pack, and the driving pattern of every user associated with the smart battery pack at any or more points of time. Information regarding the driving pattern of a user may include, but is not limited to: driving speed, acceleration, duration of trips, distance, and the like.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Palatov and Eker to incorporate wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transfer ownership of the vehicle battery from a battery manufacturer to a battery user, the transferred ownership corresponding to the BAAS program and one or more performance metrics of the vehicle battery as taught in Ong with the motivation of leveraging metrics associated with the battery in making transactions as part of a BAAS program. (Ong paragraphs 47, 58, and 84-85)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-11 recite a vehicle battery (manufacture), Claims 12-18 recite a vehicle battery (manufacture) and Claims 19-20 recite a vehicle battery (manufacture) and therefore fall into a statutory category.
Step 2A – Prong 1 (Is a Judicial Exception Recited?):
Referring to claims 1-20 the claims recite concepts for determining the validity of a battery, which under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts under the Mental Processes and/or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping of abstract ideas.
The abstract idea portion of the claims is as follows:
(Claim 1)
[A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS), the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells, the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to:] determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol and the second identifier being based on the first identifier; [and activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal].
(Claim 12)
[A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery having a housing incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS), the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells, the battery further comprising] a digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCA) of the vehicle battery, [the digital asset being a non-fungible token (NFT)], the one or more LCAs being selected from a group consisting of one or more import validations, one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery, [the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to:] determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on: a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol and the second identifier being based on the first identifier; and the one or more LCAs of the vehicle battery; [and activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal].
Claim 19
[A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS), the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells, the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to:] determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery, the digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCA) of the vehicle battery, [the digital asset being a non-fungible token (NFT)], the one or more LCAs being selected from a group consisting of one or more import validations, one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery; determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on: a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol and the second identifier being based on the first identifier; and the one or more LCAs of the vehicle battery; [and activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal.]
Where the portions not bracketed recite the abstract idea
Here the claims recite concepts covered under the Mental Processes (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) and/or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping in particular managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (following rules or instructions) but for the recitation of generic computer components. In the present application concepts reciting a manner of determining the validity of a battery. (See page 2 line 15 to page 3 line 15).
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts capable of being performed in the human mind or via pen and paper it falls under the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts capable of being performed in managing personal behavior or interactions between people it falls under the Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity grouping of abstract ideas. Id.
Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A-Prong 2 (Is the Exception Integrated into a Practical Application?):
The examiner views the following as the additional elements:
A management system. (See page 9 line 17 to page 10 line 8)
Processing circuitry. (See page 11 lines 4-9)
A battery. (See page 10 lines 9-19)
A digital asset. (See page 14 lines 14-23)
A non-fungible token. (See page 14 lines 14-23)
These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that they act to merely “apply” the abstract idea using generic computing components and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05 (f))
The combination of these additional elements and/or results oriented steps are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components. (See Id.)
Regarding “A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS), the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells” the examiner views these additional elements merely indicating the particular technological environment or field of use in which to apply the abstract idea, in this instance a vehicle battery. See MPEP 2106.05 (h); see also page 9 line 17 to page 10 line 15 and page 10 line 21 to page 11 line 9.
Regarding “and activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle, by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal.” the examiner views these limitations to be insignificant post solution activity. MPEP 2106.05 (g) and page 26 lines 22-24.
Accordingly, even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to Significantly More than the Judicial Exception?):
As noted above, the claims as a whole merely describe vehicle batteries that generally “apply” the concepts discussed in prong 1 above. (See MPEP 2106.05 f (II)) In particular applicant has recited the computing components at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. As the court stated in TLI Communications v. LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613 (Fed. Cir. 2016) merely invoking generic computing components or machinery that perform their functions in their ordinary capacity to facilitate the abstract idea are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea within a computing environment and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Regarding “A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS), the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells” and “and activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal” the examiner views as well-understood routine conventional activity in view of the Specification and cited prior art. (See respectively page 9 line 17 to page 10 line 15, page 10 line 21 to page 11 line 9, Palatov Figure 1 paragraphs 50, 52, and 57-61 and page 26 lines 22-24, Palatov paragraphs 53-54, 76, 84). Accordingly, these additional computer components do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea and as a result the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-4, and 18 further define the abstract idea as identified. Therefore claims 2-4 and 18 are considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 5 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional element of the generic processing circuity (See page 11 lines 4-9) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Further “disable the vehicle battery based on the certificate of authenticity being determined to be invalid” the examiner views as insignificant post solution activity that does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. See page 26 lines 22-24. Therefore claim 5 is considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claims 6 and 13 further define the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional element of the generic processing circuity (See page 11 lines 4-9) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Further “disable the vehicle battery based on the anti-counterfeit action” the examiner views as insignificant post solution activity that does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. See page 26 lines 22-24. Therefore claims 6 and 13 are considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claims 7 and 14 further define the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional element of the generic processing circuity (See page 11 lines 4-9) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Further “disable the vehicle battery based on terminated ownership” the examiner views as insignificant post solution activity that does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. See page 26 lines 22-24. Therefore claims 7 and 14 are considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claims 8, 10-11, 15-17, and 20 further define the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional element of the generic processing circuity (See page 11 lines 4-9) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Therefore claims 8, 10-11, 15-17, and 20 are considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 9 recites the additional element of the generic digital asset (See page 14 lines 14-23) and non-fungible token (See page 14 lines 14-23) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Therefore claim 9 is considered to be patent ineligible.
In conclusion the claims do not provide an inventive concept, because the claims do not recite additional elements or a combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of the claims. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and the collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, whether taken individually or as an order combination, the claims are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-14, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palatov (US 20220255148) in view of Yao (US 20110121951) and Eker et al. (US Patent No. 8,535,544).
Referring to claim 1,
Palatov, which is directed to a removable high voltage battery module having a means to check whether an attempted use of the module is authorized, and to deter unauthorized use, teaches,
A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS), the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells, the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to: (Palatov paragraph 50 teaching “Battery module”, “module” means an electronic device comprising a plurality of cells connected in series, a positive and a negative terminal, relays to electrically couple the plurality of cells to each of the positive and negative terminals, and means of controllably coupling the relays to a controller. In some embodiments the means of controllably coupling the relays to a controller is a Battery Management System (BMS) controller capable of secure communication. Palatov paragraph 52 teaching in the context of the present invention and the descriptions presented herein, a module state is implemented by means of execution of a control program in the module controller to control one or more relays responsive to one or more controlling parameters which are stored in nonvolatile memory, and further responsive to monitored operating conditions such as current, voltage and temperature measurement. See Palatov Figure 1 and paragraphs 57-61 teaching FIG. 1 is a representative diagram showing battery pack 5 having a pack controller 40 which is communicatively coupled to an authentication controller 50 by means of a communications link 45. Each pack controller 40 is assigned a unique ID at the time of manufacture. For embodiments of battery packs 5 which are installed in a vehicle, the authentication controller 50 may be a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) being communicatively coupled to a vehicle key and communications link 45 may be Controller Area Network (CAN) bus or similar… A plurality of removable modules 10 are illustrated… Pack controller 40 is communicatively coupled to control bus connectors 700 of modules 10 via control bus 70. The pack controller 40 is the source of commands that are received by each of controllers 900 comprised within modules 10. The positive terminals 200 and negative terminals 300 of modules 10 are electrically coupled to positive power bus 20 and negative power bus 30 by means of sockets 25. External electrical load such as an inverter, or an external electrical source such as a charger, is customarily electrically coupled to power bus 20 and power bus 30. FIG. 2 is a conceptual illustration of the features of a battery module 10 of the present invention. The enclosure 100 is illustrated containing a plurality of cells 400, a positive terminal 200 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 500, and negative terminal 300 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 600. Relays 500 and 600 are controllably coupled to module controller 900, which is further communicatively coupled to control bus connector 700. Some embodiments of the present invention, which are not illustrated, may have only one relay to control the connection of the plurality of cells to only one of the terminals, while the other of the terminals is connected to the plurality of cells either directly or through a fusible link. The Examiner is interpreting the enclosure is a housing.)
determine the validity of the vehicle battery, by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal. (Palatov paragraphs 53-54 teaching passive state” means a battery module state in which all relays are disabled, and which requires the reception of a valid command message from an authorized pack controller in order to transition to an active state. Transition from a first passive state to another passive state may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or responsive to a command and may require authentication. “Active state” means a battery module state in which one or more relays are under active control of the module controller responsive to monitored operating conditions such as measured current, measured voltage, measured temperature, activated duration time period expiration, and the like. Transitions between active states, of from active states to passive states, may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or command and may require authentication. Palatov paragraphs 76-78 teaching the A battery module is configured to have distinct programmed states by means of storing an executable program in non-volatile memory associated with module controller 900… The illustrated states are of two types: passive states, which include LOCKED, UNLOCKED and ISOLATED, and active states which include CHARGING and ENABLED. The names of the states used herein are descriptive for the purpose of distinguishing between the illustrated states and are not limiting. In active states, one or more relays are actively controlled by module controller 900 responsive to monitored operating conditions and further responsive to any programmed parameters associated with the specific state. Control bus port 700 is monitored for reception of valid command messages by the module controller 900. Palatov paragraph 80 teaching transition from one state to another state may be initiated by the module controller 900 responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40 (FIG. 1). An authorized pack controller 40 has a unique ID which is on a list of authorized pack controllers maintained by the module controller 900. In embodiments wherein multiple lists of authorized controllers are maintained, each list may correspond to a specific set of state transitions the listed pack controllers 40 are authorized to command, which may be distinct from the set of state transitions that controllers listed on another list are authorized to command. Palatov paragraph 84 teaching the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) may transition from a passive state to another passive state responsive to a monitored condition. From a passive state, the module controller 900 may only transition to an active state responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40. Palatov paragraph 92 teaching the illustrated embodiment allows charging of a module that is in a LOCKED state in order that a module may be maintained in a safe state of charge even in the absence of authentication. In other embodiments, the transition to CHARGING state may require authentication to further deter unauthorized use or to ensure compatibility of the module with the charging apparatus. This may be particularly desirable for modules that are capable of being configured to operate at more than one voltage, as disclosed in the referenced application. Palatov paragraphs 96-97 teaching a list of authorized controllers 40 may be received by a secure message, compiled through previous authenticated installations as disclosed herein, or by another method such as programming during manufacture of the module. In some embodiments of programmed states, only pack controllers 40 that are identified on a specific authorized list, or have specific authorization attributes recorded in the list, may command transitions to another state. In such states commands from pack controllers not identified on the list are disregarded. Palatov paragraph 103 teaching once obtained, the authentication certificate is communicated by pack controller 40 to the specific module 10 to authenticate the identity of the pack controller 40 to the module controller 900 comprised within the module at block 506, said controller 900 having the unique MIN for which authentication certificate was obtained. At block 507, a determination is made whether the certificate is valid. Once authenticated (the YES condition), the unique ID of the pack controller 40 at block 508 may be added by the module controller 900 to a list of authorized command source IDs, in order that further authentication not be required for commands received from the pack controller having said unique ID. If not authenticated (the NO condition), further commands from the pack controller 40 are rejected at block 509. Palatov paragraph 114 teaching authorization data in embodiments employing blockchain technologies is obtained or generated by accessing the token data structure, wallet data structures between which the ownership of all or a part of a token is being transferred, and the secure blockchain ledger. The terms ‘ownership’ and ‘control’ as they pertain to blockchain tokens are used interchangeably herein. In the context of the disclosures and claims made herein, authorization data indicates in the affirmative if the SC conditions are met and proof of ownership and intent to transfer are confirmed. If one or more predetermined conditions for the transfer are not met, authorization data is deemed to indicate in the negative. Palatov paragraphs 116-120 teaching a key unique feature of the battery modules of the present invention and the battery packs comprised thereof is the fact that the control of each battery module's connection to a common power bus rests solely within the battery module, responsive to the computer program algorithm being executed by the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) implementing a plurality of programmed states. A command is issued by the pack controller 40 substantially simultaneously to all module controllers 900 to transition to a programmed state. Each module controller 900 then individually makes an election to accept the command or reject it responsive to monitored conditions and the methods disclosed herein, exercising control over the connection by controlling relays 500 and 600 (FIG. 3). An example of such election is illustrated in block 507 of FIG. 5. Additional examples of the control being exercised by the module controller 900 over the connection of the corresponding module 10 to the power busses 20 and 30 (FIG. 1) include the controlling at least one of the relays responsive to monitored conditions in active states, and the transitions from active states to inactive states responsive to monitored conditions, as illustrated in FIG. 4 and disclosed the direct control that each battery module of the present invention has over its connection to a power bus, and consequently its function with respect to transfer of electrical energy, provides the novel utility of the alteration of removable battery module functionality responsive to information securely received from an authentication controller accessing a blockchain database. Further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Together the components and methods of the modular battery system taught herein enable the positive control over the use of a module responsive to information comprised in the associated NFT and the associated blockchain ledger of the transactions carried out on the NFT by SCs, as further detailed hereinbelow.)
Palatov does not teach or suggest the determination of the validity being based on a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol;
However, Yao, which is directed to an anti-fake battery pack teaches
determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on :a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol; (Yao paragraphs 20-21 disclosing with reference to FIGS. 1, 2, 3A and 3B, a first embodiment of a battery pack 10 in accordance with the present invention has a casing 11 and multiple battery cells 12. The battery cells 12 are securely mounted in the casing 11 and electronically connected to each other. Each of the battery cells 12 has a battery body 121, a protection layer 122, an inner identifier 20 storing a first identification code and an outer identifier 30 storing a second identification code. The first and second identification codes satisfy a specific matching criterion, such as a mathematical relationship described by an algorithm. The outer identifier 30 may be an encoded serial number pattern or batch number pattern printed or carved by laser on the outside of the protection layer 122. The outer identifier 30 may be an optical pattern, such as one-dimensional bar code or a two-dimensional bar code. In the first embodiment, a unique encoding is adopted in the two-dimensional optical pattern to prevent a general bar code reader from recognizing the correct second identification code 24. See Figure 3B illustrating the battery with element 122 representing the outer layer of the battery. Yao paragraphs 22-23 disclosing the inner identifier 20 is securely mounted on an outside of the battery body 121. The protection layer 122 is securely mounted around the outside of the battery body 121. The outer identifier 30 is further securely mounted on the protection layer 122. In the first embodiment, the inner identifier 20 is a wireless identifier, such as RFID and has a chip 21 and an antenna 22. The chip 21 is electronically connected to the antenna 22 and stores the first identification code, which may be a serial number or a batch number. To further increase the identification security of the wireless identifier, the chip 21 further builds in a communication procedure supported by a cryptographic communication protocol for smart card. Therefore, data from the chip is transmitted in the wireless channel for RFID according to the cryptographic communication protocol for smart card. In addition, the first identification code may be further mingled or encrypted by Secure Hash Standard (SHA1) of FIPS 108-1, DES, or AES to increase the difficulty of eavesdropping. The first identification code is encrypted and then stored in the chip. Yao paragraph 28 disclosing the first reader 41 links to the inner identifier 20 and the inside identifier 20 a to retrieves the first identification codes. For the RFID identifier, the first reader 41 is a RFID reader. If the inner identifier 20 or the inside identifier 20 a has smart card chip, the first reader 41 will be a smart card reader. The examiner is interpreting the inner identifier is confidential (not publicly available). Yao paragraph 30 teaching the main controller 43 is electronically connected to the first and second readers 41, 42 to obtain the first and second identification codes and further contains an identification procedure therein and may store the specific matching criterion, such as a mathematical relationship described by an algorithm. 34-36 disclosing a) reading the first and second identification codes (431); (b) reading information about the matching criterion, such as the parameters for a math algorithm (432); (c) determining whether the first and second identification codes satisfy the matching criterion (433), wherein the first and second identification codes are put in the math algorithm to determine if the first identification code and the second identification code satisfy the matching mathematical relationship; if the comparing result is positive, the battery cell or pack is authentic; on the contrary, the battery cell or pack is fake.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring of battery assets that further considers the use of identifiers for identifying the asset as taught in Palatov to incorporate determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on :a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol as taught in Yao with the motivation of leveraging various manners of using different types of identifiers for confirming an authenticity of a battery. (Yao paragraphs 20-21 and 34-36)
Palatov in view of Yao does not teach or suggest the second identifier being based on the first identifier
However, Eker, which is directed to authenticating a manufactured product with a mobile device, teaches the second identifier being based on the first identifier (Eker column 1 lines 42-50 teaching an article of manufacture includes a first identifier includes an at least partially random feature that cannot be economically duplicated, results from manufacture of the article and is defined to uniquely distinguish the individual article from other articles of the same kind, and a second identifier created using the first identifier and a cryptographic key; where the first identifier and the second identifier are both readable by a camera of a mobile computing device. The first identifier and the second identifier may be visible to a human eye.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Palatov to incorporate the second identifier being based on the first identifier as taught in Eker with the motivation of utilizing different techniques for reducing counterfeiting associated with a manufactured product based on the usage of multiple identifiers incorporating the battery in a variety of locations. (Eker column 1 lines 7-50)
Referring to claim 2,
Palatov further teaches further comprising a digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCA) of the vehicle battery, the validity being further based on the one or more LCAs of the vehicle battery. (Palatov paragraph 111 teaching An example embodiment authenticates transactions and tracks assets, including physical devices having unique identifier (ID) by means of secure electronic tokens and distributed secure ledgers, collectively and interchangeably referred to herein as blockchain technologies. Blockchain technologies are an embodiment of an Internet database used for storing and accessing information pertaining to devices with unique IDs as disclosed herein.in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 119 teaching further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so.)
Referring to claim 3,
Palatov further teaches wherein the one or more LCAs are selected from a group consisting of one or more import validations, one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery. (Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so. The examiner is interpreting that NFTs may be programmed with a smart contract governing the requisite conditions for conducting a transaction based on the recorded metadata.)
Referring to claims 4 and 18,
Palatov further teaches wherein the one or more export validations are based on a governmental regulation of exportation of the vehicle battery from a predetermined country, and the one or more import validations are based on a governmental regulation of importation of the vehicle battery from a predetermined country. (Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so. The examiner is interpreting that NFTs may be programmed with a smart contract governing the requisite conditions for conducting a transaction based on the recorded metadata.)
Referring to claim 5,
Palatov further teaches wherein: the processing circuitry is further configured to: determine a certificate of authenticity of the vehicle battery based on the digital asset and the information; (Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so. The examiner is interpreting that NFTs may be programmed with a smart contract governing the requisite conditions for conducting a transaction based on the recorded metadata.)
and disable the vehicle battery based on the certificate of authenticity being determined to be invalid. (Palatov paragraphs 53-54 teaching passive state” means a battery module state in which all relays are disabled, and which requires the reception of a valid command message from an authorized pack controller in order to transition to an active state. Transition from a first passive state to another passive state may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or responsive to a command and may require authentication. “Active state” means a battery module state in which one or more relays are under active control of the module controller responsive to monitored operating conditions such as measured current, measured voltage, measured temperature, activated duration time period expiration, and the like. Transitions between active states, of from active states to passive states, may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or command and may require authentication. Palatov paragraphs 76-78 teaching the A battery module is configured to have distinct programmed states by means of storing an executable program in non-volatile memory associated with module controller 900… The illustrated states are of two types: passive states, which include LOCKED, UNLOCKED and ISOLATED, and active states which include CHARGING and ENABLED. The names of the states used herein are descriptive for the purpose of distinguishing between the illustrated states and are not limiting. In active states, one or more relays are actively controlled by module controller 900 responsive to monitored operating conditions and further responsive to any programmed parameters associated with the specific state. Control bus port 700 is monitored for reception of valid command messages by the module controller 900. Palatov paragraph 80 teaching transition from one state to another state may be initiated by the module controller 900 responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40 (FIG. 1). An authorized pack controller 40 has a unique ID which is on a list of authorized pack controllers maintained by the module controller 900. In embodiments wherein multiple lists of authorized controllers are maintained, each list may correspond to a specific set of state transitions the listed pack controllers 40 are authorized to command, which may be distinct from the set of state transitions that controllers listed on another list are authorized to command. Palatov paragraph 84 teaching the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) may transition from a passive state to another passive state responsive to a monitored condition. From a passive state, the module controller 900 may only transition to an active state responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40. Palatov paragraph 92 teaching the illustrated embodiment allows charging of a module that is in a LOCKED state in order that a module may be maintained in a safe state of charge even in the absence of authentication. In other embodiments, the transition to CHARGING state may require authentication to further deter unauthorized use or to ensure compatibility of the module with the charging apparatus. This may be particularly desirable for modules that are capable of being configured to operate at more than one voltage, as disclosed in the referenced application. Palatov paragraphs 96-97 teaching a list of authorized controllers 40 may be received by a secure message, compiled through previous authenticated installations as disclosed herein, or by another method such as programming during manufacture of the module. In some embodiments of programmed states, only pack controllers 40 that are identified on a specific authorized list, or have specific authorization attributes recorded in the list, may command transitions to another state. In such states commands from pack controllers not identified on the list are disregarded. Palatov paragraph 103 teaching once obtained, the authentication certificate is communicated by pack controller 40 to the specific module 10 to authenticate the identity of the pack controller 40 to the module controller 900 comprised within the module at block 506, said controller 900 having the unique MIN for which authentication certificate was obtained. At block 507, a determination is made whether the certificate is valid. Once authenticated (the YES condition), the unique ID of the pack controller 40 at block 508 may be added by the module controller 900 to a list of authorized command source IDs, in order that further authentication not be required for commands received from the pack controller having said unique ID. If not authenticated (the NO condition), further commands from the pack controller 40 are rejected at block 509. Palatov paragraph 114 teaching authorization data in embodiments employing blockchain technologies is obtained or generated by accessing the token data structure, wallet data structures between which the ownership of all or a part of a token is being transferred, and the secure blockchain ledger. The terms ‘ownership’ and ‘control’ as they pertain to blockchain tokens are used interchangeably herein. In the context of the disclosures and claims made herein, authorization data indicates in the affirmative if the SC conditions are met and proof of ownership and intent to transfer are confirmed. If one or more predetermined conditions for the transfer are not met, authorization data is deemed to indicate in the negative. Palatov paragraphs 116-120 teaching a key unique feature of the battery modules of the present invention and the battery packs comprised thereof is the fact that the control of each battery module's connection to a common power bus rests solely within the battery module, responsive to the computer program algorithm being executed by the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) implementing a plurality of programmed states. A command is issued by the pack controller 40 substantially simultaneously to all module controllers 900 to transition to a programmed state. Each module controller 900 then individually makes an election to accept the command or reject it responsive to monitored conditions and the methods disclosed herein, exercising control over the connection by controlling relays 500 and 600 (FIG. 3). An example of such election is illustrated in block 507 of FIG. 5. Additional examples of the control being exercised by the module controller 900 over the connection of the corresponding module 10 to the power busses 20 and 30 (FIG. 1) include the controlling at least one of the relays responsive to monitored conditions in active states, and the transitions from active states to inactive states responsive to monitored conditions, as illustrated in FIG. 4 and disclosed the direct control that each battery module of the present invention has over its connection to a power bus, and consequently its function with respect to transfer of electrical energy, provides the novel utility of the alteration of removable battery module functionality responsive to information securely received from an authentication controller accessing a blockchain database. Further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Together the components and methods of the modular battery system taught herein enable the positive control over the use of a module responsive to information comprised in the associated NFT and the associated blockchain ledger of the transactions carried out on the NFT by SCs, as further detailed hereinbelow.)
Referring to claims 6 and 13,
Palatov further teaches wherein: the processing circuitry is further configured to: perform an anti-counterfeit action based on the digital asset and the information; (Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so. The examiner is interpreting that NFTs may be programmed with a smart contract governing the requisite conditions for conducting a transaction based on the recorded metadata.)
and disable the vehicle battery based on the anti-counterfeit action. (Palatov paragraphs 53-54 teaching passive state” means a battery module state in which all relays are disabled, and which requires the reception of a valid command message from an authorized pack controller in order to transition to an active state. Transition from a first passive state to another passive state may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or responsive to a command and may require authentication. “Active state” means a battery module state in which one or more relays are under active control of the module controller responsive to monitored operating conditions such as measured current, measured voltage, measured temperature, activated duration time period expiration, and the like. Transitions between active states, of from active states to passive states, may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or command and may require authentication. Palatov paragraphs 76-78 teaching the A battery module is configured to have distinct programmed states by means of storing an executable program in non-volatile memory associated with module controller 900… The illustrated states are of two types: passive states, which include LOCKED, UNLOCKED and ISOLATED, and active states which include CHARGING and ENABLED. The names of the states used herein are descriptive for the purpose of distinguishing between the illustrated states and are not limiting. In active states, one or more relays are actively controlled by module controller 900 responsive to monitored operating conditions and further responsive to any programmed parameters associated with the specific state. Control bus port 700 is monitored for reception of valid command messages by the module controller 900. Palatov paragraph 80 teaching transition from one state to another state may be initiated by the module controller 900 responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40 (FIG. 1). An authorized pack controller 40 has a unique ID which is on a list of authorized pack controllers maintained by the module controller 900. In embodiments wherein multiple lists of authorized controllers are maintained, each list may correspond to a specific set of state transitions the listed pack controllers 40 are authorized to command, which may be distinct from the set of state transitions that controllers listed on another list are authorized to command. Palatov paragraph 84 teaching the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) may transition from a passive state to another passive state responsive to a monitored condition. From a passive state, the module controller 900 may only transition to an active state responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40. Palatov paragraph 92 teaching the illustrated embodiment allows charging of a module that is in a LOCKED state in order that a module may be maintained in a safe state of charge even in the absence of authentication. In other embodiments, the transition to CHARGING state may require authentication to further deter unauthorized use or to ensure compatibility of the module with the charging apparatus. This may be particularly desirable for modules that are capable of being configured to operate at more than one voltage, as disclosed in the referenced application. Palatov paragraphs 96-97 teaching a list of authorized controllers 40 may be received by a secure message, compiled through previous authenticated installations as disclosed herein, or by another method such as programming during manufacture of the module. In some embodiments of programmed states, only pack controllers 40 that are identified on a specific authorized list, or have specific authorization attributes recorded in the list, may command transitions to another state. In such states commands from pack controllers not identified on the list are disregarded. Palatov paragraph 103 teaching once obtained, the authentication certificate is communicated by pack controller 40 to the specific module 10 to authenticate the identity of the pack controller 40 to the module controller 900 comprised within the module at block 506, said controller 900 having the unique MIN for which authentication certificate was obtained. At block 507, a determination is made whether the certificate is valid. Once authenticated (the YES condition), the unique ID of the pack controller 40 at block 508 may be added by the module controller 900 to a list of authorized command source IDs, in order that further authentication not be required for commands received from the pack controller having said unique ID. If not authenticated (the NO condition), further commands from the pack controller 40 are rejected at block 509. Palatov paragraph 114 teaching authorization data in embodiments employing blockchain technologies is obtained or generated by accessing the token data structure, wallet data structures between which the ownership of all or a part of a token is being transferred, and the secure blockchain ledger. The terms ‘ownership’ and ‘control’ as they pertain to blockchain tokens are used interchangeably herein. In the context of the disclosures and claims made herein, authorization data indicates in the affirmative if the SC conditions are met and proof of ownership and intent to transfer are confirmed. If one or more predetermined conditions for the transfer are not met, authorization data is deemed to indicate in the negative. Palatov paragraphs 116-120 teaching a key unique feature of the battery modules of the present invention and the battery packs comprised thereof is the fact that the control of each battery module's connection to a common power bus rests solely within the battery module, responsive to the computer program algorithm being executed by the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) implementing a plurality of programmed states. A command is issued by the pack controller 40 substantially simultaneously to all module controllers 900 to transition to a programmed state. Each module controller 900 then individually makes an election to accept the command or reject it responsive to monitored conditions and the methods disclosed herein, exercising control over the connection by controlling relays 500 and 600 (FIG. 3). An example of such election is illustrated in block 507 of FIG. 5. Additional examples of the control being exercised by the module controller 900 over the connection of the corresponding module 10 to the power busses 20 and 30 (FIG. 1) include the controlling at least one of the relays responsive to monitored conditions in active states, and the transitions from active states to inactive states responsive to monitored conditions, as illustrated in FIG. 4 and disclosed the direct control that each battery module of the present invention has over its connection to a power bus, and consequently its function with respect to transfer of electrical energy, provides the novel utility of the alteration of removable battery module functionality responsive to information securely received from an authentication controller accessing a blockchain database. Further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Together the components and methods of the modular battery system taught herein enable the positive control over the use of a module responsive to information comprised in the associated NFT and the associated blockchain ledger of the transactions carried out on the NFT by SCs, as further detailed hereinbelow.)
Referring to claims 7 and 14,
Palatov further teaches wherein: the processing circuitry is further configured to: establish or terminate ownership of the vehicle battery based on the digital asset and the information; (Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so. The examiner is interpreting that NFTs may be programmed with a smart contract governing the requisite conditions for conducting a transaction based on the recorded metadata.)
and disable the vehicle battery based on terminated ownership. (Palatov paragraphs 53-54 teaching passive state” means a battery module state in which all relays are disabled, and which requires the reception of a valid command message from an authorized pack controller in order to transition to an active state. Transition from a first passive state to another passive state may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or responsive to a command and may require authentication. “Active state” means a battery module state in which one or more relays are under active control of the module controller responsive to monitored operating conditions such as measured current, measured voltage, measured temperature, activated duration time period expiration, and the like. Transitions between active states, of from active states to passive states, may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or command and may require authentication. Palatov paragraphs 76-78 teaching the A battery module is configured to have distinct programmed states by means of storing an executable program in non-volatile memory associated with module controller 900… The illustrated states are of two types: passive states, which include LOCKED, UNLOCKED and ISOLATED, and active states which include CHARGING and ENABLED. The names of the states used herein are descriptive for the purpose of distinguishing between the illustrated states and are not limiting. In active states, one or more relays are actively controlled by module controller 900 responsive to monitored operating conditions and further responsive to any programmed parameters associated with the specific state. Control bus port 700 is monitored for reception of valid command messages by the module controller 900. Palatov paragraph 80 teaching transition from one state to another state may be initiated by the module controller 900 responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40 (FIG. 1). An authorized pack controller 40 has a unique ID which is on a list of authorized pack controllers maintained by the module controller 900. In embodiments wherein multiple lists of authorized controllers are maintained, each list may correspond to a specific set of state transitions the listed pack controllers 40 are authorized to command, which may be distinct from the set of state transitions that controllers listed on another list are authorized to command. Palatov paragraph 84 teaching the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) may transition from a passive state to another passive state responsive to a monitored condition. From a passive state, the module controller 900 may only transition to an active state responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40. Palatov paragraph 92 teaching the illustrated embodiment allows charging of a module that is in a LOCKED state in order that a module may be maintained in a safe state of charge even in the absence of authentication. In other embodiments, the transition to CHARGING state may require authentication to further deter unauthorized use or to ensure compatibility of the module with the charging apparatus. This may be particularly desirable for modules that are capable of being configured to operate at more than one voltage, as disclosed in the referenced application. Palatov paragraphs 96-97 teaching a list of authorized controllers 40 may be received by a secure message, compiled through previous authenticated installations as disclosed herein, or by another method such as programming during manufacture of the module. In some embodiments of programmed states, only pack controllers 40 that are identified on a specific authorized list, or have specific authorization attributes recorded in the list, may command transitions to another state. In such states commands from pack controllers not identified on the list are disregarded. Palatov paragraph 103 teaching once obtained, the authentication certificate is communicated by pack controller 40 to the specific module 10 to authenticate the identity of the pack controller 40 to the module controller 900 comprised within the module at block 506, said controller 900 having the unique MIN for which authentication certificate was obtained. At block 507, a determination is made whether the certificate is valid. Once authenticated (the YES condition), the unique ID of the pack controller 40 at block 508 may be added by the module controller 900 to a list of authorized command source IDs, in order that further authentication not be required for commands received from the pack controller having said unique ID. If not authenticated (the NO condition), further commands from the pack controller 40 are rejected at block 509. Palatov paragraph 114 teaching authorization data in embodiments employing blockchain technologies is obtained or generated by accessing the token data structure, wallet data structures between which the ownership of all or a part of a token is being transferred, and the secure blockchain ledger. The terms ‘ownership’ and ‘control’ as they pertain to blockchain tokens are used interchangeably herein. In the context of the disclosures and claims made herein, authorization data indicates in the affirmative if the SC conditions are met and proof of ownership and intent to transfer are confirmed. If one or more predetermined conditions for the transfer are not met, authorization data is deemed to indicate in the negative. Palatov paragraphs 116-120 teaching a key unique feature of the battery modules of the present invention and the battery packs comprised thereof is the fact that the control of each battery module's connection to a common power bus rests solely within the battery module, responsive to the computer program algorithm being executed by the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) implementing a plurality of programmed states. A command is issued by the pack controller 40 substantially simultaneously to all module controllers 900 to transition to a programmed state. Each module controller 900 then individually makes an election to accept the command or reject it responsive to monitored conditions and the methods disclosed herein, exercising control over the connection by controlling relays 500 and 600 (FIG. 3). An example of such election is illustrated in block 507 of FIG. 5. Additional examples of the control being exercised by the module controller 900 over the connection of the corresponding module 10 to the power busses 20 and 30 (FIG. 1) include the controlling at least one of the relays responsive to monitored conditions in active states, and the transitions from active states to inactive states responsive to monitored conditions, as illustrated in FIG. 4 and disclosed the direct control that each battery module of the present invention has over its connection to a power bus, and consequently its function with respect to transfer of electrical energy, provides the novel utility of the alteration of removable battery module functionality responsive to information securely received from an authentication controller accessing a blockchain database. Further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Together the components and methods of the modular battery system taught herein enable the positive control over the use of a module responsive to information comprised in the associated NFT and the associated blockchain ledger of the transactions carried out on the NFT by SCs, as further detailed hereinbelow.)
Referring to claim 9,
Palatov further teaches wherein the digital asset is a non-fungible token (NFT). (Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so.)
Referring to claims 10 and 16,
Palatov further teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine an indication indicating a license to use the vehicle battery is valid or revoked based on the digital asset, the information; (Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so. The examiner is interpreting that NFTs may be programmed with a smart contract governing the requisite conditions for conducting a transaction based on the recorded metadata.)
and cause transmission of the indication. (Palatov paragraph 92 teaching the illustrated embodiment allows charging of a module that is in a LOCKED state in order that a module may be maintained in a safe state of charge even in the absence of authentication. In other embodiments, the transition to CHARGING state may require authentication to further deter unauthorized use or to ensure compatibility of the module with the charging apparatus. This may be particularly desirable for modules that are capable of being configured to operate at more than one voltage, as disclosed in the referenced application. Palatov paragraphs 96-97 teaching a list of authorized controllers 40 may be received by a secure message, compiled through previous authenticated installations as disclosed herein, or by another method such as programming during manufacture of the module. In some embodiments of programmed states, only pack controllers 40 that are identified on a specific authorized list, or have specific authorization attributes recorded in the list, may command transitions to another state. In such states commands from pack controllers not identified on the list are disregarded. Palatov paragraph 103 teaching once obtained, the authentication certificate is communicated by pack controller 40 to the specific module 10 to authenticate the identity of the pack controller 40 to the module controller 900 comprised within the module at block 506, said controller 900 having the unique MIN for which authentication certificate was obtained. At block 507, a determination is made whether the certificate is valid. Once authenticated (the YES condition), the unique ID of the pack controller 40 at block 508 may be added by the module controller 900 to a list of authorized command source IDs, in order that further authentication not be required for commands received from the pack controller having said unique ID. If not authenticated (the NO condition), further commands from the pack controller 40 are rejected at block 509. Palatov paragraph 111 teaching in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 114 teaching authorization data in embodiments employing blockchain technologies is obtained or generated by accessing the token data structure, wallet data structures between which the ownership of all or a part of a token is being transferred, and the secure blockchain ledger. The terms ‘ownership’ and ‘control’ as they pertain to blockchain tokens are used interchangeably herein. In the context of the disclosures and claims made herein, authorization data indicates in the affirmative if the SC conditions are met and proof of ownership and intent to transfer are confirmed. If one or more predetermined conditions for the transfer are not met, authorization data is deemed to indicate in the negative. Palatov paragraphs 116-120 teaching a key unique feature of the battery modules of the present invention and the battery packs comprised thereof is the fact that the control of each battery module's connection to a common power bus rests solely within the battery module, responsive to the computer program algorithm being executed by the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) implementing a plurality of programmed states. A command is issued by the pack controller 40 substantially simultaneously to all module controllers 900 to transition to a programmed state. Each module controller 900 then individually makes an election to accept the command or reject it responsive to monitored conditions and the methods disclosed herein, exercising control over the connection by controlling relays 500 and 600 (FIG. 3). An example of such election is illustrated in block 507 of FIG. 5. Additional examples of the control being exercised by the module controller 900 over the connection of the corresponding module 10 to the power busses 20 and 30 (FIG. 1) include the controlling at least one of the relays responsive to monitored conditions in active states, and the transitions from active states to inactive states responsive to monitored conditions, as illustrated in FIG. 4 and disclosed the direct control that each battery module of the present invention has over its connection to a power bus, and consequently its function with respect to transfer of electrical energy, provides the novel utility of the alteration of removable battery module functionality responsive to information securely received from an authentication controller accessing a blockchain database. Further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Together the components and methods of the modular battery system taught herein enable the positive control over the use of a module responsive to information comprised in the associated NFT and the associated blockchain ledger of the transactions carried out on the NFT by SCs, as further detailed hereinbelow. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so.)
Palatov in view of Eker does not teach or suggest wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine an indication based on the first identifier, and the second identifier;
However Yao teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine an indication based on the first identifier, and the second identifier; (Yao paragraphs 20-21 disclosing with reference to FIGS. 1, 2, 3A and 3B, a first embodiment of a battery pack 10 in accordance with the present invention has a casing 11 and multiple battery cells 12. The battery cells 12 are securely mounted in the casing 11 and electronically connected to each other. Each of the battery cells 12 has a battery body 121, a protection layer 122, an inner identifier 20 storing a first identification code and an outer identifier 30 storing a second identification code. The first and second identification codes satisfy a specific matching criterion, such as a mathematical relationship described by an algorithm. The outer identifier 30 may be an encoded serial number pattern or batch number pattern printed or carved by laser on the outside of the protection layer 122. The outer identifier 30 may be an optical pattern, such as one-dimensional bar code or a two-dimensional bar code. In the first embodiment, a unique encoding is adopted in the two-dimensional optical pattern to prevent a general bar code reader from recognizing the correct second identification code 24. See Figure 3B illustrating the battery with element 122 representing the outer layer of the battery. Yao paragraphs 22-23 disclosing the inner identifier 20 is securely mounted on an outside of the battery body 121. The protection layer 122 is securely mounted around the outside of the battery body 121. The outer identifier 30 is further securely mounted on the protection layer 122. In the first embodiment, the inner identifier 20 is a wireless identifier, such as RFID and has a chip 21 and an antenna 22. The chip 21 is electronically connected to the antenna 22 and stores the first identification code, which may be a serial number or a batch number. To further increase the identification security of the wireless identifier, the chip 21 further builds in a communication procedure supported by a cryptographic communication protocol for smart card. Therefore, data from the chip is transmitted in the wireless channel for RFID according to the cryptographic communication protocol for smart card. In addition, the first identification code may be further mingled or encrypted by Secure Hash Standard (SHA1) of FIPS 108-1, DES, or AES to increase the difficulty of eavesdropping. The first identification code is encrypted and then stored in the chip. Yao paragraph 28 disclosing the first reader 41 links to the inner identifier 20 and the inside identifier 20 a to retrieves the first identification codes. For the RFID identifier, the first reader 41 is a RFID reader. If the inner identifier 20 or the inside identifier 20 a has smart card chip, the first reader 41 will be a smart card reader. The examiner is interpreting the inner identifier is confidential (not publicly available). Yao paragraph 30 teaching the main controller 43 is electronically connected to the first and second readers 41, 42 to obtain the first and second identification codes and further contains an identification procedure therein and may store the specific matching criterion, such as a mathematical relationship described by an algorithm. 34-36 disclosing a) reading the first and second identification codes (431); (b) reading information about the matching criterion, such as the parameters for a math algorithm (432); (c) determining whether the first and second identification codes satisfy the matching criterion (433), wherein the first and second identification codes are put in the math algorithm to determine if the first identification code and the second identification code satisfy the matching mathematical relationship; if the comparing result is positive, the battery cell or pack is authentic; on the contrary, the battery cell or pack is fake.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring of battery assets that further considers the use of identifiers for identifying the asset as taught in Palatov in view of Eker to incorporate wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: determine an indication based on the first identifier, and the second identifier as taught in Yao with the motivation of leveraging various manners of using different types of identifiers for confirming an authenticity of a battery. (Yao paragraphs 20-21 and 34-36)
Referring to claims 12,
Palatov teaches A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery having a housing incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS), the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells, (Palatov paragraph 50 teaching “Battery module”, “module” means an electronic device comprising a plurality of cells connected in series, a positive and a negative terminal, relays to electrically couple the plurality of cells to each of the positive and negative terminals, and means of controllably coupling the relays to a controller. In some embodiments the means of controllably coupling the relays to a controller is a Battery Management System (BMS) controller capable of secure communication. Palatov paragraph 52 teaching in the context of the present invention and the descriptions presented herein, a module state is implemented by means of execution of a control program in the module controller to control one or more relays responsive to one or more controlling parameters which are stored in nonvolatile memory, and further responsive to monitored operating conditions such as current, voltage and temperature measurement. See Palatov Figure 1 and paragraphs 57-61 teaching FIG. 1 is a representative diagram showing battery pack 5 having a pack controller 40 which is communicatively coupled to an authentication controller 50 by means of a communications link 45. Each pack controller 40 is assigned a unique ID at the time of manufacture. For embodiments of battery packs 5 which are installed in a vehicle, the authentication controller 50 may be a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) being communicatively coupled to a vehicle key and communications link 45 may be Controller Area Network (CAN) bus or similar… A plurality of removable modules 10 are illustrated… Pack controller 40 is communicatively coupled to control bus connectors 700 of modules 10 via control bus 70. The pack controller 40 is the source of commands that are received by each of controllers 900 comprised within modules 10. The positive terminals 200 and negative terminals 300 of modules 10 are electrically coupled to positive power bus 20 and negative power bus 30 by means of sockets 25. External electrical load such as an inverter, or an external electrical source such as a charger, is customarily electrically coupled to power bus 20 and power bus 30. FIG. 2 is a conceptual illustration of the features of a battery module 10 of the present invention. The enclosure 100 is illustrated containing a plurality of cells 400, a positive terminal 200 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 500, and negative terminal 300 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 600. Relays 500 and 600 are controllably coupled to module controller 900, which is further communicatively coupled to control bus connector 700. Some embodiments of the present invention, which are not illustrated, may have only one relay to control the connection of the plurality of cells to only one of the terminals, while the other of the terminals is connected to the plurality of cells either directly or through a fusible link. The Examiner is interpreting the enclosure is a housing.)
the battery further comprising a digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCA) of the vehicle battery, the digital asset being a non-fungible token (NFT), the one or more LCAs being selected from a group consisting of one or more import validations, one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery, the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to:
(Palatov paragraph 47 teaching “Module Identification Number”, “MIN” means a unique ID that is assigned to a battery module by the module manufacturer. A MIN may be recorded in a database by the module manufacturer, industry agency. Palatov paragraph 111 teaching an example embodiment authenticates transactions and tracks assets, including physical devices having unique identifier (ID) by means of secure electronic tokens and distributed secure ledgers, collectively and interchangeably referred to herein as blockchain technologies. Blockchain technologies are an embodiment of an Internet database used for storing and accessing information pertaining to devices with unique IDs as disclosed herein.in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 119 teaching further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so.)
determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on and the one or more LCAs of the vehicle battery; (Palatov paragraph 103 teaching once obtained, the authentication certificate is communicated by pack controller 40 to the specific module 10 to authenticate the identity of the pack controller 40 to the module controller 900 comprised within the module at block 506, said controller 900 having the unique MIN for which authentication certificate was obtained. At block 507, a determination is made whether the certificate is valid. Once authenticated (the YES condition), the unique ID of the pack controller 40 at block 508 may be added by the module controller 900 to a list of authorized command source IDs, in order that further authentication not be required for commands received from the pack controller having said unique ID. If not authenticated (the NO condition), further commands from the pack controller 40 are rejected at block 509. Palatov paragraph 114 teaching authorization data in embodiments employing blockchain technologies is obtained or generated by accessing the token data structure, wallet data structures between which the ownership of all or a part of a token is being transferred, and the secure blockchain ledger. The terms ‘ownership’ and ‘control’ as they pertain to blockchain tokens are used interchangeably herein. In the context of the disclosures and claims made herein, authorization data indicates in the affirmative if the SC conditions are met and proof of ownership and intent to transfer are confirmed. If one or more predetermined conditions for the transfer are not met, authorization data is deemed to indicate in the negative. Palatov paragraphs 116-120 teaching a key unique feature of the battery modules of the present invention and the battery packs comprised thereof is the fact that the control of each battery module's connection to a common power bus rests solely within the battery module, responsive to the computer program algorithm being executed by the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) implementing a plurality of programmed states. A command is issued by the pack controller 40 substantially simultaneously to all module controllers 900 to transition to a programmed state. Each module controller 900 then individually makes an election to accept the command or reject it responsive to monitored conditions and the methods disclosed herein, exercising control over the connection by controlling relays 500 and 600 (FIG. 3). An example of such election is illustrated in block 507 of FIG. 5. Additional examples of the control being exercised by the module controller 900 over the connection of the corresponding module 10 to the power busses 20 and 30 (FIG. 1) include the controlling at least one of the relays responsive to monitored conditions in active states, and the transitions from active states to inactive states responsive to monitored conditions, as illustrated in FIG. 4 and disclosed the direct control that each battery module of the present invention has over its connection to a power bus, and consequently its function with respect to transfer of electrical energy, provides the novel utility of the alteration of removable battery module functionality responsive to information securely received from an authentication controller accessing a blockchain database. Further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Together the components and methods of the modular battery system taught herein enable the positive control over the use of a module responsive to information comprised in the associated NFT and the associated blockchain ledger of the transactions carried out on the NFT by SCs, as further detailed hereinbelow. The examiner is interpreting that based on the whether the pack controller is authorized or not the corresponding module controller (900) of the module (10), see Figure 2, determines whether determines whether to authorize the charging by the module or disable or otherwise reject a request thereby enabling or disabling the corresponding terminals)
and activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal. (Palatov paragraphs 53-54 teaching passive state” means a battery module state in which all relays are disabled, and which requires the reception of a valid command message from an authorized pack controller in order to transition to an active state. Transition from a first passive state to another passive state may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or responsive to a command and may require authentication. “Active state” means a battery module state in which one or more relays are under active control of the module controller responsive to monitored operating conditions such as measured current, measured voltage, measured temperature, activated duration time period expiration, and the like. Transitions between active states, of from active states to passive states, may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or command and may require authentication. Palatov paragraphs 76-78 teaching the A battery module is configured to have distinct programmed states by means of storing an executable program in non-volatile memory associated with module controller 900… The illustrated states are of two types: passive states, which include LOCKED, UNLOCKED and ISOLATED, and active states which include CHARGING and ENABLED. The names of the states used herein are descriptive for the purpose of distinguishing between the illustrated states and are not limiting. In active states, one or more relays are actively controlled by module controller 900 responsive to monitored operating conditions and further responsive to any programmed parameters associated with the specific state. Control bus port 700 is monitored for reception of valid command messages by the module controller 900. Palatov paragraph 80 teaching transition from one state to another state may be initiated by the module controller 900 responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40 (FIG. 1). An authorized pack controller 40 has a unique ID which is on a list of authorized pack controllers maintained by the module controller 900. In embodiments wherein multiple lists of authorized controllers are maintained, each list may correspond to a specific set of state transitions the listed pack controllers 40 are authorized to command, which may be distinct from the set of state transitions that controllers listed on another list are authorized to command. Palatov paragraph 84 teaching the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) may transition from a passive state to another passive state responsive to a monitored condition. From a passive state, the module controller 900 may only transition to an active state responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40. Palatov paragraph 92 teaching the illustrated embodiment allows charging of a module that is in a LOCKED state in order that a module may be maintained in a safe state of charge even in the absence of authentication. In other embodiments, the transition to CHARGING state may require authentication to further deter unauthorized use or to ensure compatibility of the module with the charging apparatus. This may be particularly desirable for modules that are capable of being configured to operate at more than one voltage, as disclosed in the referenced application. Palatov paragraphs 96-97 teaching a list of authorized controllers 40 may be received by a secure message, compiled through previous authenticated installations as disclosed herein, or by another method such as programming during manufacture of the module. In some embodiments of programmed states, only pack controllers 40 that are identified on a specific authorized list, or have specific authorization attributes recorded in the list, may command transitions to another state. In such states commands from pack controllers not identified on the list are disregarded. Palatov paragraph 103 teaching once obtained, the authentication certificate is communicated by pack controller 40 to the specific module 10 to authenticate the identity of the pack controller 40 to the module controller 900 comprised within the module at block 506, said controller 900 having the unique MIN for which authentication certificate was obtained. At block 507, a determination is made whether the certificate is valid. Once authenticated (the YES condition), the unique ID of the pack controller 40 at block 508 may be added by the module controller 900 to a list of authorized command source IDs, in order that further authentication not be required for commands received from the pack controller having said unique ID. If not authenticated (the NO condition), further commands from the pack controller 40 are rejected at block 509. Palatov paragraph 114 teaching authorization data in embodiments employing blockchain technologies is obtained or generated by accessing the token data structure, wallet data structures between which the ownership of all or a part of a token is being transferred, and the secure blockchain ledger. The terms ‘ownership’ and ‘control’ as they pertain to blockchain tokens are used interchangeably herein. In the context of the disclosures and claims made herein, authorization data indicates in the affirmative if the SC conditions are met and proof of ownership and intent to transfer are confirmed. If one or more predetermined conditions for the transfer are not met, authorization data is deemed to indicate in the negative. Palatov paragraphs 116-120 teaching a key unique feature of the battery modules of the present invention and the battery packs comprised thereof is the fact that the control of each battery module's connection to a common power bus rests solely within the battery module, responsive to the computer program algorithm being executed by the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) implementing a plurality of programmed states. A command is issued by the pack controller 40 substantially simultaneously to all module controllers 900 to transition to a programmed state. Each module controller 900 then individually makes an election to accept the command or reject it responsive to monitored conditions and the methods disclosed herein, exercising control over the connection by controlling relays 500 and 600 (FIG. 3). An example of such election is illustrated in block 507 of FIG. 5. Additional examples of the control being exercised by the module controller 900 over the connection of the corresponding module 10 to the power busses 20 and 30 (FIG. 1) include the controlling at least one of the relays responsive to monitored conditions in active states, and the transitions from active states to inactive states responsive to monitored conditions, as illustrated in FIG. 4 and disclosed the direct control that each battery module of the present invention has over its connection to a power bus, and consequently its function with respect to transfer of electrical energy, provides the novel utility of the alteration of removable battery module functionality responsive to information securely received from an authentication controller accessing a blockchain database. Further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Together the components and methods of the modular battery system taught herein enable the positive control over the use of a module responsive to information comprised in the associated NFT and the associated blockchain ledger of the transactions carried out on the NFT by SCs, as further detailed hereinbelow.)
Palatov does not teach or suggest determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on :a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol;
However, Yao, teaches determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on :a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol; (Yao paragraphs 20-21 disclosing with reference to FIGS. 1, 2, 3A and 3B, a first embodiment of a battery pack 10 in accordance with the present invention has a casing 11 and multiple battery cells 12. The battery cells 12 are securely mounted in the casing 11 and electronically connected to each other. Each of the battery cells 12 has a battery body 121, a protection layer 122, an inner identifier 20 storing a first identification code and an outer identifier 30 storing a second identification code. The first and second identification codes satisfy a specific matching criterion, such as a mathematical relationship described by an algorithm. The outer identifier 30 may be an encoded serial number pattern or batch number pattern printed or carved by laser on the outside of the protection layer 122. The outer identifier 30 may be an optical pattern, such as one-dimensional bar code or a two-dimensional bar code. In the first embodiment, a unique encoding is adopted in the two-dimensional optical pattern to prevent a general bar code reader from recognizing the correct second identification code 24. See Figure 3B illustrating the battery with element 122 representing the outer layer of the battery. Yao paragraphs 22-23 disclosing the inner identifier 20 is securely mounted on an outside of the battery body 121. The protection layer 122 is securely mounted around the outside of the battery body 121. The outer identifier 30 is further securely mounted on the protection layer 122. In the first embodiment, the inner identifier 20 is a wireless identifier, such as RFID and has a chip 21 and an antenna 22. The chip 21 is electronically connected to the antenna 22 and stores the first identification code, which may be a serial number or a batch number. To further increase the identification security of the wireless identifier, the chip 21 further builds in a communication procedure supported by a cryptographic communication protocol for smart card. Therefore, data from the chip is transmitted in the wireless channel for RFID according to the cryptographic communication protocol for smart card. In addition, the first identification code may be further mingled or encrypted by Secure Hash Standard (SHA1) of FIPS 108-1, DES, or AES to increase the difficulty of eavesdropping. The first identification code is encrypted and then stored in the chip. Yao paragraph 28 disclosing the first reader 41 links to the inner identifier 20 and the inside identifier 20 a to retrieves the first identification codes. For the RFID identifier, the first reader 41 is a RFID reader. If the inner identifier 20 or the inside identifier 20 a has smart card chip, the first reader 41 will be a smart card reader. The examiner is interpreting the inner identifier is confidential (not publicly available). Yao paragraph 30 teaching the main controller 43 is electronically connected to the first and second readers 41, 42 to obtain the first and second identification codes and further contains an identification procedure therein and may store the specific matching criterion, such as a mathematical relationship described by an algorithm. 34-36 disclosing a) reading the first and second identification codes (431); (b) reading information about the matching criterion, such as the parameters for a math algorithm (432); (c) determining whether the first and second identification codes satisfy the matching criterion (433), wherein the first and second identification codes are put in the math algorithm to determine if the first identification code and the second identification code satisfy the matching mathematical relationship; if the comparing result is positive, the battery cell or pack is authentic; on the contrary, the battery cell or pack is fake.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring of battery assets that further considers the use of identifiers for identifying the asset as taught in Palatov to incorporate determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on :a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol as taught in Yao with the motivation of leveraging various manners of using different types of identifiers for confirming an authenticity of a battery. (Yao paragraphs 20-21 and 34-36)
Palatov in view of Yao does not teach or suggest the second identifier being based on the first identifier
However Eker teaches the second identifier being based on the first identifier (Eker column 1 lines 42-50 teaching an article of manufacture includes a first identifier includes an at least partially random feature that cannot be economically duplicated, results from manufacture of the article and is defined to uniquely distinguish the individual article from other articles of the same kind, and a second identifier created using the first identifier and a cryptographic key; where the first identifier and the second identifier are both readable by a camera of a mobile computing device. The first identifier and the second identifier may be visible to a human eye.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Palatov to incorporate the second identifier being based on the first identifier as taught in Eker with the motivation of utilizing different techniques for reducing counterfeiting associated with a manufactured product based on the usage of multiple identifiers incorporating the battery in a variety of locations. (Eker column 1 lines 7-50)
Referring to claim 19,
Palatov teaches: A vehicle battery associated with a vehicle battery device, the vehicle battery incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS), the first battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells, the second battery terminal being electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells, the MS comprising processing circuitry configured to: (Palatov paragraph 50 teaching “Battery module”, “module” means an electronic device comprising a plurality of cells connected in series, a positive and a negative terminal, relays to electrically couple the plurality of cells to each of the positive and negative terminals, and means of controllably coupling the relays to a controller. In some embodiments the means of controllably coupling the relays to a controller is a Battery Management System (BMS) controller capable of secure communication. Palatov paragraph 52 teaching in the context of the present invention and the descriptions presented herein, a module state is implemented by means of execution of a control program in the module controller to control one or more relays responsive to one or more controlling parameters which are stored in nonvolatile memory, and further responsive to monitored operating conditions such as current, voltage and temperature measurement. See Palatov Figure 1 and paragraphs 57-61 teaching FIG. 1 is a representative diagram showing battery pack 5 having a pack controller 40 which is communicatively coupled to an authentication controller 50 by means of a communications link 45. Each pack controller 40 is assigned a unique ID at the time of manufacture. For embodiments of battery packs 5 which are installed in a vehicle, the authentication controller 50 may be a Vehicle Control Unit (VCU) being communicatively coupled to a vehicle key and communications link 45 may be Controller Area Network (CAN) bus or similar… A plurality of removable modules 10 are illustrated… Pack controller 40 is communicatively coupled to control bus connectors 700 of modules 10 via control bus 70. The pack controller 40 is the source of commands that are received by each of controllers 900 comprised within modules 10. The positive terminals 200 and negative terminals 300 of modules 10 are electrically coupled to positive power bus 20 and negative power bus 30 by means of sockets 25. External electrical load such as an inverter, or an external electrical source such as a charger, is customarily electrically coupled to power bus 20 and power bus 30. FIG. 2 is a conceptual illustration of the features of a battery module 10 of the present invention. The enclosure 100 is illustrated containing a plurality of cells 400, a positive terminal 200 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 500, and negative terminal 300 being electrically coupled to said plurality of cells by relay 600. Relays 500 and 600 are controllably coupled to module controller 900, which is further communicatively coupled to control bus connector 700. Some embodiments of the present invention, which are not illustrated, may have only one relay to control the connection of the plurality of cells to only one of the terminals, while the other of the terminals is connected to the plurality of cells either directly or through a fusible link. The Examiner is interpreting the enclosure is a housing.)
determine a digital asset associated with the vehicle battery, the digital asset defining one or more life cycle attributes (LCA) of the vehicle battery, the digital asset being a non-fungible token (NFT), the one or more LCAs being selected from a group consisting of one or more import validations, one or more export validations, storage of the vehicle battery, component sourcing of the vehicle battery, manufacturing of the vehicle battery, recycling of the vehicle battery, and servicing of the vehicle battery; (Palatov paragraph 47 teaching “Module Identification Number”, “MIN” means a unique ID that is assigned to a battery module by the module manufacturer. A MIN may be recorded in a database by the module manufacturer, industry agency. Palatov paragraph 111 teaching an example embodiment authenticates transactions and tracks assets, including physical devices having unique identifier (ID) by means of secure electronic tokens and distributed secure ledgers, collectively and interchangeably referred to herein as blockchain technologies. Blockchain technologies are an embodiment of an Internet database used for storing and accessing information pertaining to devices with unique IDs as disclosed herein.in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 119 teaching further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so.)
determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on and the one or more LCAs of the vehicle battery; (Palatov paragraph 103 teaching once obtained, the authentication certificate is communicated by pack controller 40 to the specific module 10 to authenticate the identity of the pack controller 40 to the module controller 900 comprised within the module at block 506, said controller 900 having the unique MIN for which authentication certificate was obtained. At block 507, a determination is made whether the certificate is valid. Once authenticated (the YES condition), the unique ID of the pack controller 40 at block 508 may be added by the module controller 900 to a list of authorized command source IDs, in order that further authentication not be required for commands received from the pack controller having said unique ID. If not authenticated (the NO condition), further commands from the pack controller 40 are rejected at block 509. Palatov paragraph 114 teaching authorization data in embodiments employing blockchain technologies is obtained or generated by accessing the token data structure, wallet data structures between which the ownership of all or a part of a token is being transferred, and the secure blockchain ledger. The terms ‘ownership’ and ‘control’ as they pertain to blockchain tokens are used interchangeably herein. In the context of the disclosures and claims made herein, authorization data indicates in the affirmative if the SC conditions are met and proof of ownership and intent to transfer are confirmed. If one or more predetermined conditions for the transfer are not met, authorization data is deemed to indicate in the negative. Palatov paragraphs 116-120 teaching a key unique feature of the battery modules of the present invention and the battery packs comprised thereof is the fact that the control of each battery module's connection to a common power bus rests solely within the battery module, responsive to the computer program algorithm being executed by the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) implementing a plurality of programmed states. A command is issued by the pack controller 40 substantially simultaneously to all module controllers 900 to transition to a programmed state. Each module controller 900 then individually makes an election to accept the command or reject it responsive to monitored conditions and the methods disclosed herein, exercising control over the connection by controlling relays 500 and 600 (FIG. 3). An example of such election is illustrated in block 507 of FIG. 5. Additional examples of the control being exercised by the module controller 900 over the connection of the corresponding module 10 to the power busses 20 and 30 (FIG. 1) include the controlling at least one of the relays responsive to monitored conditions in active states, and the transitions from active states to inactive states responsive to monitored conditions, as illustrated in FIG. 4 and disclosed the direct control that each battery module of the present invention has over its connection to a power bus, and consequently its function with respect to transfer of electrical energy, provides the novel utility of the alteration of removable battery module functionality responsive to information securely received from an authentication controller accessing a blockchain database. Further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Together the components and methods of the modular battery system taught herein enable the positive control over the use of a module responsive to information comprised in the associated NFT and the associated blockchain ledger of the transactions carried out on the NFT by SCs, as further detailed hereinbelow. The examiner is interpreting that based on the whether the pack controller is authorized or not the corresponding module controller (900) of the module (10), see Figure 2, determines whether determines whether to authorize the charging by the module or disable or otherwise reject a request thereby enabling or disabling the corresponding terminals)
and activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal. (Palatov paragraphs 53-54 teaching passive state” means a battery module state in which all relays are disabled, and which requires the reception of a valid command message from an authorized pack controller in order to transition to an active state. Transition from a first passive state to another passive state may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or responsive to a command and may require authentication. “Active state” means a battery module state in which one or more relays are under active control of the module controller responsive to monitored operating conditions such as measured current, measured voltage, measured temperature, activated duration time period expiration, and the like. Transitions between active states, of from active states to passive states, may be responsive to monitored operating conditions or command and may require authentication. Palatov paragraphs 76-78 teaching the A battery module is configured to have distinct programmed states by means of storing an executable program in non-volatile memory associated with module controller 900… The illustrated states are of two types: passive states, which include LOCKED, UNLOCKED and ISOLATED, and active states which include CHARGING and ENABLED. The names of the states used herein are descriptive for the purpose of distinguishing between the illustrated states and are not limiting. In active states, one or more relays are actively controlled by module controller 900 responsive to monitored operating conditions and further responsive to any programmed parameters associated with the specific state. Control bus port 700 is monitored for reception of valid command messages by the module controller 900. Palatov paragraph 80 teaching transition from one state to another state may be initiated by the module controller 900 responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40 (FIG. 1). An authorized pack controller 40 has a unique ID which is on a list of authorized pack controllers maintained by the module controller 900. In embodiments wherein multiple lists of authorized controllers are maintained, each list may correspond to a specific set of state transitions the listed pack controllers 40 are authorized to command, which may be distinct from the set of state transitions that controllers listed on another list are authorized to command. Palatov paragraph 84 teaching the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) may transition from a passive state to another passive state responsive to a monitored condition. From a passive state, the module controller 900 may only transition to an active state responsive to a valid command from an authorized pack controller 40. Palatov paragraph 92 teaching the illustrated embodiment allows charging of a module that is in a LOCKED state in order that a module may be maintained in a safe state of charge even in the absence of authentication. In other embodiments, the transition to CHARGING state may require authentication to further deter unauthorized use or to ensure compatibility of the module with the charging apparatus. This may be particularly desirable for modules that are capable of being configured to operate at more than one voltage, as disclosed in the referenced application. Palatov paragraphs 96-97 teaching a list of authorized controllers 40 may be received by a secure message, compiled through previous authenticated installations as disclosed herein, or by another method such as programming during manufacture of the module. In some embodiments of programmed states, only pack controllers 40 that are identified on a specific authorized list, or have specific authorization attributes recorded in the list, may command transitions to another state. In such states commands from pack controllers not identified on the list are disregarded. Palatov paragraph 103 teaching once obtained, the authentication certificate is communicated by pack controller 40 to the specific module 10 to authenticate the identity of the pack controller 40 to the module controller 900 comprised within the module at block 506, said controller 900 having the unique MIN for which authentication certificate was obtained. At block 507, a determination is made whether the certificate is valid. Once authenticated (the YES condition), the unique ID of the pack controller 40 at block 508 may be added by the module controller 900 to a list of authorized command source IDs, in order that further authentication not be required for commands received from the pack controller having said unique ID. If not authenticated (the NO condition), further commands from the pack controller 40 are rejected at block 509. Palatov paragraph 114 teaching authorization data in embodiments employing blockchain technologies is obtained or generated by accessing the token data structure, wallet data structures between which the ownership of all or a part of a token is being transferred, and the secure blockchain ledger. The terms ‘ownership’ and ‘control’ as they pertain to blockchain tokens are used interchangeably herein. In the context of the disclosures and claims made herein, authorization data indicates in the affirmative if the SC conditions are met and proof of ownership and intent to transfer are confirmed. If one or more predetermined conditions for the transfer are not met, authorization data is deemed to indicate in the negative. Palatov paragraphs 116-120 teaching a key unique feature of the battery modules of the present invention and the battery packs comprised thereof is the fact that the control of each battery module's connection to a common power bus rests solely within the battery module, responsive to the computer program algorithm being executed by the module controller 900 (FIG. 2) implementing a plurality of programmed states. A command is issued by the pack controller 40 substantially simultaneously to all module controllers 900 to transition to a programmed state. Each module controller 900 then individually makes an election to accept the command or reject it responsive to monitored conditions and the methods disclosed herein, exercising control over the connection by controlling relays 500 and 600 (FIG. 3). An example of such election is illustrated in block 507 of FIG. 5. Additional examples of the control being exercised by the module controller 900 over the connection of the corresponding module 10 to the power busses 20 and 30 (FIG. 1) include the controlling at least one of the relays responsive to monitored conditions in active states, and the transitions from active states to inactive states responsive to monitored conditions, as illustrated in FIG. 4 and disclosed the direct control that each battery module of the present invention has over its connection to a power bus, and consequently its function with respect to transfer of electrical energy, provides the novel utility of the alteration of removable battery module functionality responsive to information securely received from an authentication controller accessing a blockchain database. Further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Together the components and methods of the modular battery system taught herein enable the positive control over the use of a module responsive to information comprised in the associated NFT and the associated blockchain ledger of the transactions carried out on the NFT by SCs, as further detailed hereinbelow.)
Palatov does not teach or suggest determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on :a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol;
However, Yao, teaches
determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on :a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol; (Yao paragraphs 20-21 disclosing with reference to FIGS. 1, 2, 3A and 3B, a first embodiment of a battery pack 10 in accordance with the present invention has a casing 11 and multiple battery cells 12. The battery cells 12 are securely mounted in the casing 11 and electronically connected to each other. Each of the battery cells 12 has a battery body 121, a protection layer 122, an inner identifier 20 storing a first identification code and an outer identifier 30 storing a second identification code. The first and second identification codes satisfy a specific matching criterion, such as a mathematical relationship described by an algorithm. The outer identifier 30 may be an encoded serial number pattern or batch number pattern printed or carved by laser on the outside of the protection layer 122. The outer identifier 30 may be an optical pattern, such as one-dimensional bar code or a two-dimensional bar code. In the first embodiment, a unique encoding is adopted in the two-dimensional optical pattern to prevent a general bar code reader from recognizing the correct second identification code 24. See Figure 3B illustrating the battery with element 122 representing the outer layer of the battery. Yao paragraphs 22-23 disclosing the inner identifier 20 is securely mounted on an outside of the battery body 121. The protection layer 122 is securely mounted around the outside of the battery body 121. The outer identifier 30 is further securely mounted on the protection layer 122. In the first embodiment, the inner identifier 20 is a wireless identifier, such as RFID and has a chip 21 and an antenna 22. The chip 21 is electronically connected to the antenna 22 and stores the first identification code, which may be a serial number or a batch number. To further increase the identification security of the wireless identifier, the chip 21 further builds in a communication procedure supported by a cryptographic communication protocol for smart card. Therefore, data from the chip is transmitted in the wireless channel for RFID according to the cryptographic communication protocol for smart card. In addition, the first identification code may be further mingled or encrypted by Secure Hash Standard (SHA1) of FIPS 108-1, DES, or AES to increase the difficulty of eavesdropping. The first identification code is encrypted and then stored in the chip. Yao paragraph 28 disclosing the first reader 41 links to the inner identifier 20 and the inside identifier 20 a to retrieves the first identification codes. For the RFID identifier, the first reader 41 is a RFID reader. If the inner identifier 20 or the inside identifier 20 a has smart card chip, the first reader 41 will be a smart card reader. The examiner is interpreting the inner identifier is confidential (not publicly available). Yao paragraph 30 teaching the main controller 43 is electronically connected to the first and second readers 41, 42 to obtain the first and second identification codes and further contains an identification procedure therein and may store the specific matching criterion, such as a mathematical relationship described by an algorithm. Yao paragraphs 34-36 disclosing a) reading the first and second identification codes (431); (b) reading information about the matching criterion, such as the parameters for a math algorithm (432); (c) determining whether the first and second identification codes satisfy the matching criterion (433), wherein the first and second identification codes are put in the math algorithm to determine if the first identification code and the second identification code satisfy the matching mathematical relationship; if the comparing result is positive, the battery cell or pack is authentic; on the contrary, the battery cell or pack is fake.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring of battery assets that further considers the use of identifiers for identifying the asset as taught in Palatov to incorporate determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on :a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol as taught in Yao with the motivation of leveraging various manners of using different types of identifiers for confirming an authenticity of a battery. (Yao paragraphs 20-21 and 34-36)
Palatov in view of Yao does not teach or suggest the second identifier being based on the first identifier
However Eker teaches the second identifier being based on the first identifier (Eker column 1 lines 42-50 teaching an article of manufacture includes a first identifier includes an at least partially random feature that cannot be economically duplicated, results from manufacture of the article and is defined to uniquely distinguish the individual article from other articles of the same kind, and a second identifier created using the first identifier and a cryptographic key; where the first identifier and the second identifier are both readable by a camera of a mobile computing device. The first identifier and the second identifier may be visible to a human eye.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the authentication of a battery as taught in Pratt in view of Palatov to incorporate the second identifier being based on the first identifier as taught in Eker with the motivation of utilizing different techniques for reducing counterfeiting associated with a manufactured product based on the usage of multiple identifiers incorporating the battery in a variety of locations. (Eker column 1 lines 7-50)
Claims 8, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palatov (US 20220255148) in view of Yao (US 20110121951), Eker et al. (US Patent No. 8,535,544), and Beckmann et al. (WO 2020072069A1).
Referring to claims 8, 17, and 20,
Palatov further teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: obtain a battery-person association based on information associated with the digital asset and a person associated with the vehicle battery; (Palatov paragraph 47 teaching “Module Identification Number”, “MIN” means a unique ID that is assigned to a battery module by the module manufacturer. A MIN may be recorded in a database by the module manufacturer, industry agency. Palatov paragraph 111 teaching an example embodiment authenticates transactions and tracks assets, including physical devices having unique identifier (ID) by means of secure electronic tokens and distributed secure ledgers, collectively and interchangeably referred to herein as blockchain technologies. Blockchain technologies are an embodiment of an Internet database used for storing and accessing information pertaining to devices with unique IDs as disclosed herein.in particular, in accordance with a non-limiting example embodiment, Non Fungible Tokens (NFT) are being adopted in the Ethereum blockchain to track ownership and transactions of a wide variety of objects. NFTs are transacted by means of Smart Contracts (SC). NFTs and SCs are described by standards such as, but not limited to, Ethereum ERC721 and ERC115 and are therefore not described in detail herein except in how such non-limiting example standards relate to the unique apparatus and methods of the present invention. Palatov paragraph 115 teaching for objects that are digital tokens and only exist in the blockchain data structures, such as cryptocurrency like Bitcoin, the enforcement of the transactions is inherent in the blockchain protocols. When transactions involve NFTs that are associated with physical objects, only the transactions of the NFTs themselves can be enforced by the blockchain protocols. Palatov paragraph 119 teaching further, the unique IDs and secure message communication between the components of the herein disclosed modular battery system facilitate the delivery, storage and transport of encryption keys, NFT addresses, block addresses and other key data utilized in blockchain technologies. Such data is collectively referred to as Access Data herein. Varying embodiments utilize Access Data to securely access NFTs and blockchain ledgers that securely memorize varying operating states, transactions and data of an identifiable battery module as described herein. Palatov paragraph 133 teaching NFT embodiments known in the arts of blockchain technologies may incorporate metadata, which is data that is descriptive of or pertinent to the object associated with the NFT. In the illustrated embodiment, metadata 1101 and 1102, associated with modules 10 having unique IDs 1001 and 1002, respectively, may represent battery module status, module usage history, and the like. In particular, a battery module may keep a record of the electrical energy being transferred to and from the battery module by monitoring the voltage and the current (monitored conditions) over time. Collectively, all such data is referred to as Module History Data herein. In accordance with the arts of blockchain technologies, metadata may be stored on chain by incorporating the data in the secure data structures and records of the chain, or off chain wherein the NFT only contains a reference, such as a URL, to where the data may be accessed, and the Access Data necessary for doing so.)
Palatov in view of Eker and Yao does not teach or suggest and grant a warranty service available to the person and the vehicle battery based on the battery-person association.
However, Beckmann, which is directed to industrial asset performance token utilizing a secure, distributed ledger, teaches and grant a warranty service available to the person and the vehicle battery based on the battery-person association. (Beckmann paragraphs 40-41 teaching at 240, a performance token contract may be created in accordance with the industrial asset performance prediction. According to some embodiments, performance tokens (e.g.,“coins) associated with the performance token contract may be exchanged via a secure, distributed transaction ledger. Note that the performance token contract might include contract rules, exchange rules, a contract balance, at least one key consumption parameter, a reference to the industrial asset performance model, etc. According to some embodiments, the performance token contract might be associated a fixed-time warranty or a fixed-usage warranty. At 250, the system may record information about the performance token contract via a secure, distributed transaction ledger. The transaction ledger might be associated with, for example, blockchain technology. According to some embodiments, actual industrial asset parameters are measured by sensors and used to update the performance token contract via the secure, distributed transaction ledger. Moreover, a change to the industrial asset (e.g ., an installation of replacement batteries) may be used to update the performance token contract via the transaction ledger. In this way, parties may query the performance token contract via the secure, distributed transaction ledger to determine a current state of the asset. Beckmann paragraph 44 teaching the system 600 may allow for contract creation 610 in accordance with rules and a performance model. A“life model contract” for an industrial asset battery might include, for example, a contract balance ( e.g . , a number of tokens or coins) representing remining battery life. Note that contract rules maybe defined as warranty agreements and key consumption parameters of the battery life may be stored in blockchain along with a reference to battery life models. Sensor data 622 may be collected from the field and used by a performance model 620 to update the contract 620. Users may then query the blockchain (via contract execution 630) to determine the remining life of battery along with a description of past usage. According to some embodiments, events associated with key life stages may be emitted when appropriate. Beckmann paragraphs 51-52 teaching one embodiment may comprise a battery lifing example referred to as a“life coin.” As a battery is used, the storage capacity of the energy storage system typically degrades until battery replacements are required to maintain a minimum capacity. The battery replacement schedule is typically covered under a service contract with fixed terms and conditions. In this embodiment, the industrial asset is an energy storage device, and the performance metric is the remaining useful life expressed as a percent of initial capacity. The architecture may comprise two smart contracts, an Ethereum network, a battery lifing model, and battery testing data. The smart contracts may comprise a contract to manage the storage life and a contract to manage the lifing model. The life coin contracts may be created, for example, to replace the traditional service contract and allow a user to query asset usage, remaining useful life, contract value, and/or the model identity/history at any time during the contract life. The first smart contract, or the performance contract, may manage the accounting of the performance metric. In this contract, the terms for updating the remaining useful life and any associated guarantees may be specified. Moreover, key battery events (e.g, stage of the life, consumption of the life) may emanate from the contract.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring of battery assets that further considers the use of identifiers for identifying the asset as taught in Palatov in view of Eker and Yao to incorporate and grant a warranty service available to the person and the vehicle battery based on the battery-person association as taught in Beckmann with the motivation of leveraging ownership attributes in the determination of available actions to take. (Beckmann paragraphs 40-41 and 44)
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palatov (US 20220255148) in view of Yao (US 20110121951), Eker et al. (US Patent No. 8,535,544), and Ong et al. (US 20220036330).
Referring to claims 11 and 15,
Palatov in view of Yao does not teach or suggest wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transfer ownership of the vehicle battery from a battery manufacturer to a battery user, the transferred ownership corresponding to the BAAS program and one or more performance metrics of the vehicle battery.
However, Ong, which is directed to providing battery as a service, teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transfer ownership of the vehicle battery from a battery manufacturer to a battery user, the transferred ownership corresponding to the BAAS program and one or more performance metrics of the vehicle battery. (Ong paragraphs 16-17 teaching Modularity—embodiments of the BaaS system provide modular kiosks' or battery swapping/charging stations, and as such can be tailored based on demand. Smart and/or configurable battery packs - embodiments of the BaaS system provide battery packs with connected battery management system (BMS) which enables system providers to locate individual battery packs at all points of time, and to assess real time battery parameters such as the state of charge, state of health, rate of discharge, number cycles, and the like. Commonality—embodiments of the BaaS system provide a common battery system for multiple service providers, such that infrastructure and networks can be shared by different operators or service providers, thus increasing efficiency, lowering individual costs, and promoting widespread adoption. Ong paragraph 47 teaching the data management system 102 is comprised of one or more special purpose computer devices and is configured to track the batteries, rental transactions, charging activity and swapping transactions, and provides the mobile app platform which can be expanded to meet user demand. Ong paragraph 58 teaching generally, the network 105 performs all functions of the BaaS system including without limitation monitoring all battery kiosks, their location, status of batteries at each kiosk. The network 105 tracks the history of transactions at each kiosk, number of visits and battery swaps. The network monitors and tracks each battery, its level of charge and performance. Ong paragraphs 84-85 teaching of particular advantage, embodiments of the BaaS system and method provide personalized, configurable battery swapping services. More specifically, in some embodiments the BaaS system and method employs smart battery packs 224. The smart battery pack 224 is built with a battery management system 228 which is configured to communicate with the central server 222 (FIG. 5) or central management system 504 as the case may be. The BaaS system with smart battery packs enables service providers to locate individual battery packs at any or all points of time, and to access and analyze real time battery operation and parameters such as the state of charge, state of health, rate of discharge, number of cycles, and the like. The smart battery pack communicates with the sever by any suitable wireless communications medium or technology, such as for example using low energy Bluetooth. In this embodiment, the smart battery pack is always connected and continuously shares data with the central management system or server through the user handphone. In some embodiments, blockchain technology 600 may be used to receive and analyze such data, as illustrated generally in FIG. 10. In some embodiments, the BaaS system and method provides real time battery analysis that enables monitoring and control or optimization of battery usage. This feature may also provide personalization or optimization for users based on individual driving habits and user profiles. For example, in one embodiment, the central server or central management system receives information from the smart battery packs. This information can be data regarding identity of each smart battery pack, the operating and performance of each battery pack, and the driving pattern of every user associated with the smart battery pack at any or more points of time. Information regarding the driving pattern of a user may include, but is not limited to: driving speed, acceleration, duration of trips, distance, and the like.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the monitoring of battery assets that further considers the use of identifiers for identifying the asset as taught in Palatov in view of Eker and Yao to incorporate wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: transfer ownership of the vehicle battery from a battery manufacturer to a battery user, the transferred ownership corresponding to the BAAS program and one or more performance metrics of the vehicle battery as taught in Ong with the motivation of leveraging metrics associated with the battery in making transactions as part of a BAAS program. (Ong paragraphs 47, 58, and 84-85)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 13, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, on pages 11-23 of the Remarks, regarding the 101 rejection the Examiner finds unpersuasive.
Applicant argues under Step 2A Prong 1 the claims are directed to far more than merely computerizing a process that can be performed in the human mind or having generally computer hardware. According to Applicant the features of the claimed vehicle battery and corresponding method (including at least the processing circuitry of the management system activating the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal, cannot be performed by a human or are they certain methods of organizing human activity. Applicant further contends that the claims do not recite activity that falls within commercial interactions or legal interactions as asserted by the Examiner.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees viewing the determine step as recited as capable of being performed in the human mind based on the analysis of the first and second identifiers. The purpose of this determination is related to the validity of the battery which the Examiner views is a commercial or legal interaction as this concept relates to the authenticity and preventing counterfeit batteries. The Examiner views the elements for example the battery, processing circuitry of the MS and the step of activating proffered as additional elements not a part of the recited abstract idea.
Applicant argues under Step 2A Prong 2 that the claims recite “a vehicle battery that has a housing incorporating a first battery terminal, a second battery terminal, one or more cells, and a management system (MS). The first battery terminal is electrically coupled to at least a cell of the one or more cells and the second battery terminal is electrically coupled to at least the cell of the one or more cells. The MS includes processing circuitry configured to determine the validity of the vehicle battery, the determination of the validity being based on a combination of a first identifier and a second identifier, the first identifier being publicly ascertainable and associated to a discrete vehicle battery, the first identifier representing the vehicle battery being uniquely distinct from first identifiers of other vehicle batteries, the second identifier being ascertainable by conformance with a security protocol and the second identifier being based on the first identifier. The processing circuitry is also configured to activate the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal (emphasis added). According to Applicant, taking into consideration all the claim elements and how those elements interact and impact each other (i.e., the processing circuitry being configured to determine the validity of the battery using a first identifier and as second identifier that is based on the first identifier, and activating the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal, etc.), integrates the alleged exception into a practical application (e.g., providing a vehicle battery device (and a management system comprising processing circuitry), where the validated identification of the vehicle battery is self-evident or self-proving within the vehicle battery and the management system can enable the validated battery to provide.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees viewing the additional elements identified as mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computing components, generally linking the abstract idea to the field of use or insignificant extra solution activity in the form of post-solution activity. The Examiner views Applicant’s proffered benefit lies in the performance of the abstract idea i.e. determine the validity of the battery based on the analysis of identifiers and is not provided by the additional elements as claimed.
The Examiner further cites to MPEP 2106.04(d) and MPEP 2106.05 (h) that state:
for example, in Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584 (1978), the Supreme Court noted that the “patent application does not purport to explain how to select the appropriate margin of safety, the weighting factor, or any of the other variables” in the claimed mathematical formula, “[n]or does it purport to contain any disclosure relating to the chemical processes at work, the monitoring of process variables, or the means of setting off an alarm or adjusting an alarm system.” 437 U.S. at 586. The Court found this failure to explain any specifics of how to use the claimed formula informative when deciding that the additional elements in the claim were insignificant post-solution activity and thus not meaningful enough to render the claim eligible. 437 U.S. at 589-90.
The courts often cite to Parker v. Flook as providing a classic example of a field of use limitation. See, e.g., Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 612 (2010) (“Flook established that limiting an abstract idea to one field of use or adding token postsolution components did not make the concept patentable”) (citing Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584 (1978)). In Flook, the claim recited steps of calculating an updated value for an alarm limit (a numerical limit on a process variable such as temperature, pressure or flow rate) according to a mathematical formula “in a process comprising the catalytic chemical conversion of hydrocarbons.” 437 U.S. at 586. Processes for the catalytic chemical conversion of hydrocarbons were used in the petrochemical and oil-refining fields. Id. Although the applicant argued that limiting the use of the formula to the petrochemical and oil-refining fields should make the claim eligible because this limitation ensured that the claim did not preempt all uses of the formula, the Supreme Court disagreed. 437 U.S. at 588-90. Instead, the additional element in Flook regarding the catalytic chemical conversion of hydrocarbons was not sufficient to make the claim eligible, because it was merely an incidental or token addition to the claim that did not alter or affect how the process steps of calculating the alarm limit value were performed. Further, the Supreme Court found that this limitation did not amount to an inventive concept. 437 U.S. at 588-90. The Court reasoned that to hold otherwise would “exalt[] form over substance”, because a competent claim drafter could attach a similar type of limitation to almost any mathematical formula. 437 U.S. at 590.
The Examiner does not view the recitation regarding activating the validated battery as integrating the abstract idea but merely an incidental or token addition in the form of post-solution activity that does not alter or affect the determine step performed.
Applicant further contends the claims provide improvements to the functioning of a computer or improvement to other technology or technical field. M.P.E.P. § 2106.04(d)(1). According to Applicant, the Specification provides detail as to validated identification of a device that ensures the authenticity of batteries, where the validated identification of the device is self-evident or self-proving within the vehicle battery device, e.g., no additional documentation is required to be associated with the device as it is used in commerce or transported across jurisdictional boundaries. Applicant contends the vehicle battery system may have a private identifier and a public identifier together, and a digital asset (e.g., an associated non-fungible token (NFT)) for use and anti-counterfeiting determinations, and in addition, the first and/or second identifiers and NFT may be used for anti-counterfeit measures and/or determine and/or execute one or more anti-counterfeit measures such as disabling/enabling battery 10 (and/or use of battery 10), associate battery 10 with a counterfeit action, revoke a license, etc. According to Applicant, the method may include granting battery use to a customer, e.g., when the certificate of authenticity is established and/or determined. Applicant contends the claims reflect these improvements by reciting that the first identifier, the second identifier are used to validate the battery to thereby allow activation of the validated vehicle battery powering a vehicle by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal and therefore integrate the alleged abstract idea into a practical application at least by virtue of improving the functioning of a vehicle battery or technical field, e.g., the field of vehicle batteries.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees viewing the proffered benefits of validated identification of a battery are a benefit to a commercial or business process and does not constitute an improvement to technology or other technical field as claimed. The Examiner views the digital asset is mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computing components and the enablement or disablement of the battery based on the analysis as presently claimed as insignificant extra solution activity that does not add significantly for the reasons as discussed prior regarding the activating limitation as claimed. The Examiner views the concepts related to managing ownership such as revoking licenses or granting battery use based on a certificate of authenticity as further defining the abstract idea rather than additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Applicant argues under Step 2B the claim recitation of “enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal” adds significantly more than the alleged judicial exception. According to Applicant the recitation of “enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal”, provides an improvement to the functioning of computers or an improvement to other technology or technical field such that the validated identification of the vehicle battery is self-evident or self-proving within the vehicle battery and the management system at least by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal based on the identifiers (e.g., based on whether the battery is authenticated or not).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees viewing the asserted enabling step is insignificant extra solution activity as previously discussed that does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. The Examiner views the manner of validating the battery as claimed is a part of the recited abstract idea and that the enabling step is insignificant activity that does not add significantly more as discussed prior. The management system as claimed is mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computing components and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea.
Applicant contends the claims recite more than well-known activities known in the vehicle battery industry such as Applicant's digital asset (associated with the vehicle battery/device and determined by the processing circuitry of the management system) defines life cycle attributes (LCAs) including at least recycling of the vehicle battery, replacement of the vehicle battery, and operational performance of the vehicle battery. According to Applicant while a battery having identifiers, in general, might allegedly be considered a well-known activity, the claimed first identifier and second identifier based on the first identifier used to validate the vehicle battery which in turn allows activation of the entire vehicle battery by enabling the vehicle battery to provide power via the first battery terminal and second battery terminal is not well-known in the industry.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees viewing the digital asset as mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computing components and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. The Examiner views the information included in the digital asset and the use of the identifiers as claimed to be a part of the recited abstract idea and not additional elements that add significantly more. The Examiner reiterates the view the enabling step is insignificant extra solution activity discussed above and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea.
Therefore, for the foregoing reasons the Examiner has maintained the 101 rejection.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, on pages 23-27 of the Remarks, regarding the 103 rejection the Examiner finds unpersuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to teach the claims as amended in particular “and the second identifier being based on the first identifier”. Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot in view of the newly cited combination of references in response to Applicant’s amendments.
Therefore the Examiner has maintained the 103 rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Endress et al. (US 20190334730) – directed to tracing and anti-counterfeit protection of products.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3629 /SARAH M MONFELDT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3629