DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“first conveyance unit” in claim 1;
“second conveyance unit” in claim 1;
“movement unit” in claim 1;
“guide unit” in claim 1;
“first movement member” in claim 5;
“second movement member” in claim 5;
“second movement unit” in claim 6;
“second guide unit” in claim 6;
“third conveyance unit” in claim 8;
“coupling unit” in claim 10;
“plurality of conveyance units” in claim 14;
“movement unit” in claim 14; and
“image forming unit” in claims 8 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoji (US 2014/0217669).
Regarding claim 1, Aoji discloses a sheet conveyance apparatus comprising: an apparatus main body 101; a conveyance unit 32 including a first conveyance unit 32a configured to convey a sheet in a first conveyance path, and a second conveyance unit 32b configured to convey a sheet in a second conveyance path and engaged with the first conveyance unit; and a movement mechanism including a movement unit 30 configured to support the conveyance unit, the movement unit being configured to move between a stored position (Fig. 2) where the conveyance unit is stored in the apparatus main body and an extracted position (Fig. 6) where the conveyance unit is extracted out of the apparatus main body, wherein the first conveyance unit and the second conveyance unit are extracted out of the apparatus main body in a state engaged with each other when the conveyance unit moves from the stored position to the extracted position, and wherein the first conveyance unit and the second conveyance unit are dismountable from the movement unit separately from each other when the conveyance unit is extracted out to the extracted position (see par. 86-87).
Regarding claim 2, Aoji discloses the sheet conveyance apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the conveyance unit 32 is extracted out of the apparatus main body 101 in a first direction when the conveyance unit moves from the stored position to the extracted position, and wherein the second conveyance unit 32b is separable and dismountable from the first conveyance unit in a second direction intersecting with the first direction and the first conveyance unit 32a is dismountable from the movement unit in the second direction, when the conveyance unit is extracted out to the extracted position. See Fig. below.
Regarding claim 3, Aoji discloses the sheet conveyance apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the second conveyance unit is disposed above the first conveyance unit (this occurs as the second conveyance unit is taken out by a user, as described in par. 87), wherein the first direction is a horizontal direction, and wherein the second direction is an upward direction. See Fig. above.
Regarding claim 4, Aoji discloses the sheet conveyance apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the movement mechanism includes a guide unit 50 configured to support and guide the movement unit relative to the apparatus main body, and wherein the movement unit supports the first conveyance unit, and is provided to be movable between the stored position and the extracted position.
Regarding claim 5, Aoji discloses the sheet conveyance apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the movement unit includes a first movement member 52a and a second movement member 52b disposed in parallel with each other and provided to be movable between the stored position and the extracted position while each is configured to support the first conveyance unit 32a.
Regarding claim 7, Aoji discloses the sheet conveyance apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a first supply unit 32c including a first storage unit configured to store the sheet, and a first sheet feeding unit configured to feed the sheet from the first storage unit (see Fig. 2); and a second supply unit 32d including a second storage unit configured to store the sheet, and a second sheet feeding unit configured to feed the sheet from the second storage unit (see Fig. 2), wherein the first conveyance unit 32a receives and conveys the sheet supplied from the first supply unit 32c, and wherein the second conveyance unit 32b receives and conveys the sheet supplied from the second supply unit 32d. The device is capable of feeding sheets among the units 32a-e. See par. 78.
Regarding claim 10, Aoji discloses the sheet conveyance apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the conveyance unit includes a coupling unit 31 configured to couple the first conveyance unit 32a and the second conveyance unit 32b, and wherein the coupling unit is configured to restrict the second conveyance unit from moving relative to the first conveyance unit in the first direction and allow the second conveyance unit to be decoupled from the first conveyance unit in the second direction, when the second conveyance unit is coupled with the first conveyance unit. See Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 11, Aoji discloses the sheet conveyance apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the second conveyance path is continuously connected to the first conveyance path when the second conveyance unit 32b is coupled with the first conveyance unit 32a, and wherein the coupling unit 31 positions the second conveyance unit relative to the first conveyance unit in the first direction in such a manner that the second conveyance path is continuously connected to the first conveyance path. See Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 14, Aoji discloses a sheet conveyance apparatus comprising: an apparatus main body 101; a conveyance unit 32 including a plurality of conveyance units 32a,32b configured to convey a sheet; and a movement unit 30 configured to support the conveyance unit, the movement unit being configured to be movable between a stored position (Fig. 2) where the conveyance unit is stored in the apparatus main body and an extracted position (Fig. 6) where the conveyance unit is extracted out of the apparatus main body, wherein the plurality of conveyance units is extracted out of the apparatus main body in a state coupled with each other when the movement unit moves from the stored position to the extracted position, and wherein the plurality of conveyance units is dismountable from the movement unit in a state separated from each other when the movement unit is located at the extracted position (see par. 86-87).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, Aoji does not disclose everything claimed, including the second movement unit and second guide unit as claimed, in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Miyazaki (US 7,500,667) discloses a sheet feeding device having extractable sheet paths.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759