CTFR 19/352,088 CTFR 88802 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Status Applicant’s claims filed 19 Oct 2026 provides 1-6 and 21-32 pending. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 19 Oct 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues “Leontaris and Srinivasan, individually or to the extent combinable, do not teach or reasonably suggest the claimed causal use of auxiliary metadata having fade effects data to identify the frame sequences for weighted prediction” under the reasoning that “Srinivasan's cited disclosure is an encoder-side estimation process based on regression between image data and a reference frame, and not receiving auxiliary metadata from graphics rendering indicating fade sequences.” However, it is Leontaris that teaches the claimed auxiliary metadata having fade effects , specifically in paragraph [0065] stating to “ . . . demarcate fade sequences using parameters extracted during the search for illumination compensation parameters.” The claimed limitations relating to auxiliary metadata having fade effects and to compute one or more weighted predictions relating to the frame data at one or more frame sequences indicated in the fade effects data associated with the frame data do not exclude the combined teachings of Leontaris and Srinivasan . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4, 6, 21, 22, 24, 26, 27, 28, 30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leontaris (US 2013/0163666) in view of Srinivasan (US 2008/0037657) . For claim 1, Leontaris discloses an apparatus comprising: processing to: receive graphics data as frame data and further receive auxiliary metadata having fade effects data ([0065] e.g. . . . demarcate fade sequences using parameters extracted during the search for illumination compensation parameters ) compute one or more weighted predictions ([0234] for each frame and related prediction reference frame, calculating weighted prediction gains for each component value in the first color domain) encode the frame data based on the one or more weighted predictions ([0377] . . . weighted prediction parameters for the first layer are transmitted to a decoder or encoder for the second layer.). Leontaris does not expressly disclose to compute one or more weighted predictions relating to the frame data at one or more frame sequences indicated in the fade effects data associated with the frame data. Srinivasan teaches to compute one or more weighted predictions relating to the frame data at one or more frame sequences indicated in the fade effects data associated with the frame data ([0119] In one implementation,.sigma.=0.95. If the encoder is performing fading compensation, the encoder recomputes the fading parameters, this time based on a linear regression between I(n) and R, but at the full resolution (1290).). It would be obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the weighted prediction calculations as taught in Srinivasan with the teachings of Leontaris for the predictable benefit of providing an efficient way to parameterize frame fading information. For claim 2, Leontaris discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further to parse the fade effects data from the auxiliary metadata ([0119] It may also include characterization information such as whether the current frame is a fade or a cross-fade), and provide the fade effects data to compile the one or more weighted predictions ([0234] for each frame and related prediction reference frame, calculating weighted prediction gains for each component value in the first color domain), wherein the fade effects data comprises fade information and region information ([0119] It may also include characterization information such as whether the current frame is a fade or a cross-fade). For claim 4 while Leontaris does not, Srinivasan teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further to: compute a type of weighted prediction indicated by the region information on a sequence in the frame data indicated by the fade information; and perform compensation on the reference frame data ([0109] Fading estimation is the process of computing fading parameters during the encoding process. An encoder such as one shown in the framework (1000) of FIG. 10 may compute brightness (B) and contrast (C) parameters during the encoding process.). It would be obvious to combine the teachings of Srinivasan with the teachings of Leontaris for the same reasons discussed for claim 1. For claim 6, Leontaris discloses wherein the processor circuitry is coupled to a memory, the processing circuitry comprising graphics processing circuitry ([0216] e.g. processor's cache memory). For claims 21, 22, 24, 26, 27, 28, 30, and 32, Leontaris and Srinivasan disclose the claimed limitations as discussed for claims 1, 2, 4, and 6, as discussed above . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3, 5, 23, 25, 29, and 31 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Srinivasan; Sridhar et al. US 20180184124 A1 PARAMETERIZATION FOR FADING COMPENSATION [045], [0112], [0120] Mironovich; Kovliga Igor et al. US 20140010305 A1 METHOD OF MULTI-VIEW VIDEO SEQUENCE CODING/DECODING BASED ON ADAPTIVE LOCAL CORRECTION OF ILLUMINATION OF REFERENCE FRAMES WITHOUT TRANSMISSION OF ADDITIONAL PARAMETERS (VARIANTS) GARBAS; Jens-Uwe et al. US 20130223531 A1 VIDEO CODING USING TEMPORALLY COHERENT DYNAMIC RANGE MAPPING KOVLIGA; Igor Mironovich et al. US 20130243085 A1 METHOD OF MULTI-VIEW VIDEO CODING AND DECODING BASED ON LOCAL ILLUMINATION AND CONTRAST COMPENSATION OF REFERENCE FRAMES WITHOUT EXTRA BITRATE OVERHEAD THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NEIL MIKESKA whose telephone number is (571)272-3917. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 6a - 2p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jay Patel can be reached at (571) 272-2988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NEIL R MIKESKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485 Application/Control Number: 19/352,088 Page 2 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 19/352,088 Page 3 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 19/352,088 Page 4 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 19/352,088 Page 5 Art Unit: 2485