DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Pierce, Jr. (US 3374938) (Pierce).
Pierce discloses a pop-up bottle topper comprising: a collar (one of the bottle neck apertures 12) having a first open end (top end; where top surface meets aperture opening) and a second open end (bottom end; where bottom surface meets aperture opening) opposite the first open end; a pop-up structure (all the panels 11, 18, 19, 22, 23) attached to the first open end of the collar, the pop-up structure comprising a plurality of panels (panels 11, 18, 19, 22, 23) configured to form a foldable three-dimensional pop-up structure (when the panels are folded to form the pop-up structure shown in Fig. 2); wherein the pop-up structure and collar simultaneously move (collar is integrated as part of panel 11 and moves when panel 11 simultaneously moves in relation to other panels) between a first, folded position (“folded flat”, all panels aligned, flat in a single plane as shown in Fig. 1 or when carrier blank A is folded flat upon itself along a fold line 20) in which the panels are arranged in a substantially flat configuration and a second unfolded position [erected position as shown in Fig. 2] in which the panels form an upright three-dimensional configuration; wherein the second open end of the collar is configured to be placed over the neck of a bottle (see Fig. 2).
Re claim 6, each of the plurality of panels have at least one slot (slots in each end of tongues 44 as best shown in Fig. 1 and 3 and slots (relief apertures 40)) thereon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierce in view of Erickson (US 3633962).
Re claim 2, Pierce fails to disclose the cone shape. Erickson teaches a collar of cone shape (see column 1, line 67). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the shape to be conical to correspond the collar shape to the shape of the bottle neck.
Re claim 8, the pop-up structure and collar of Pierce can move between a first, folded, substantially flat position (Fig. 1 and folded upon a fold line) and a second, unfolded, upright position (Fig. 2); and wherein the second open end of the collar is operable to be placed atop the neck of a bottle (see Fig. 2). Pierce fails to disclose that the collar comprises a tapered wall (conical shape of collar). Erickson teaches a collar of cone shape with a tapered wall (see column 1, line 67), the tapered wall extends between a first open end and a second open end of the collar, the first open end being larger than the second open end and the pop-up structure attached to the first open end of the collar. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the shape to be conical and provide a tapered wall of the collar to correspond the collar shape to the shape of the bottle neck.
Re claim 11, the plurality of pop-up panels include panels that are parallel and spaced apart as shown in Fig. 2.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierce in view of Park (US 6052831).
Pierce discloses that the collars have one slit rather than a plurality of slits. Park teaches a headband having a plurality of slits 5 (see Fig. 2-1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the collar of Pierce to have a plurality of slits to allow the aperture to flex more freely when a bottle neck is inserted into the aperture to allow the aperture to fit the bottle neck more tightly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-19 are allowed.
Claims 4, 7, 9-10 and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Each of claims 4 and 9 requires a slice form arrangement which is defined by applicant as having an interlocking panel arrangement wherein each pop-up (collapsing) panel contains at least two slots, an upwardly facing slot and a downwardly facing slot. A search of the prior art has not found a slice form arrangement for a bottle topper or for attaching in any manner to a bottle.
Claims 7, 10 and 16 each require a second pop-up structure and had been previously rejected by Grimm (US 2009/0032044). The headband 14 of Grimm which defined the collar and the bows of Grimm are not pop-up structures which unfold to a second unfolded position (claim 1) and a second, unfolded, upright position (claims 8 and 16) because the bows and headband are always folded and may be flattened if compressed and expanded when the compressive force is removed, but not unfolded. Also, claims 7 and 10 require a second pop-up structure which Pierce does not provide. It would not be obvious to add a second pop-up structure to Pierce because such structure would interfere with the blanks performance in serving as a carrier for six bottles.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 October 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks provide conclusory statements with no facts, evidence, supporting reasoning or analysis. This is not helpful. The Office doesn’t understand applicant’s argument or position or his though process. For example, stating “they (Pierce’s apertures 12) are not the opposed open ends of a collar having a pop-up structure attached to one end.” Why? This argument has no reasoning. Applicant’s invention has a collar which has an elongated sleeve having a top open end spaced from a bottom open end. Pierce’s collar is an aperture formed in a thin panel of material. But, why does Pierce not have two open ends spaced from each other? The Office doesn’t follow applicant’s reasoning because no reasons were provided. Even an aperture in a thin material has two open ends that are spaced apart by the thickness of the material. Again, applicant states that Pierce doesn’t disclose the pop-up structure. Yet, the Office provided details of the pop-up structure stating that the flat configuration is shown in Fig. 1 wherein the carrier blank A is laid flat and the upright (configuration) three-dimensional structure is shown in Fig. 2. Applicant fails to address the statement of rejection. Ignoring the Office rejection is not an appropriate or adequate response.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
sjc/STEPHEN J CASTELLANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733