Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: locking mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goren et al. (US 9,435,597), hereinafter (“Goren”).
Re claim 2, Goren (c. 2, l. 50+) discloses a method comprising: computing, using data captured by a sensor included in a firearm, location data that indicates an approximate location of the firearm;
determining, using the location data, whether to maintain, a locking mechanism attached to the firearm in a locked state to reduce a likelihood of activation of a trigger of the firearm;
in response to determining to maintain the locking mechanism in the locked state, maintaining the locking mechanism in the locked state;
detecting, using data received from another device (c. 3, l. 60+), a second location of an authorized user of the firearm;
determining, using the data received from the other device, whether the second location of the authorized user of the firearm satisfies a proximity threshold (i.e. signal strength is inherently based on proximity) for the approximate location of the firearm; and
disengaging the locking mechanism to permit discharge of the firearm in response to determining that the approximate location of the authorized user of the firearm satisfies the proximity threshold of the second location of the firearm.
Re claim 3, Goren discloses the method of claim 2, comprising: engaging the locking mechanism in response to determining that a third location of the authorized user does not satisfy the proximity threshold for a current location of the firearm (c. 6, l. 55-65).
Re claim 5, Goren discloses the method of claim 2, comprising: receiving an authorization command that was generated using input receive from an external device (c. 4, l. 5-15); wherein: disengaging the locking mechanism is responsive to a) determining that the second location of the authorized user of the firearm satisfies the proximity threshold of the approximate location of the firearm and b) receiving the authorization command.
Re claim 6, Goren discloses the method of claim 2, comprising: receiving a first status signal indicating the locking mechanism has been disengaged; and in response to receiving the first status signal, activating an alarm system at a property based on the locking mechanism having been disengaged.
Re claim 7, Goren discloses the method of claim 6, comprising, in response to receiving the first status signal, alerting emergency personnel based on the locking mechanism having been disengaged.
Re claim 8, Goren discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the authorized user comprises a registered owner of the firearm (inherent).
Re claim 9, Goren (Fig 4) discloses a system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising: (c. 2, l. 50+); computing, using movement data captured by a sensor included in a firearm, location data that indicates an approximate location of the firearm;
determining, using the location data, whether to maintain a locking mechanism attached to the firearm in a locked state to reduce a likelihood of activation of a trigger of the firearm;
in response to determining to maintain the locking mechanism in the locked state, maintaining the locking mechanism in the locked state;
detecting, using data received from another device (c. 3, l. 60+), a second location of an authorized user of the firearm;
determining, using the data received from the other device, whether the second location of the authorized user of the firearm satisfies a proximity threshold for the approximate location of the firearm (i.e. signal strength is inherently based on proximity); and
disengaging the locking mechanism to permit discharge of the firearm in response to determining that the second location of the authorized user of the firearm satisfies the proximity threshold of the approximate location of the firearm (c. 3, l. 60+).
Re claim 10, Goren discloses the system of claim 9, the operations comprising: engaging the locking mechanism in response to determining that a third location of the authorized user does not satisfy the proximity threshold for a current location of the firearm (c. 6, l. 55-65).
Re claim 12, Goren discloses the system of claim 9, the operations comprising: receiving an authorization command that was generated using input received from an external device (c. 4, l. 5-15); wherein: disengaging the locking mechanism is responsive to a) determining that the second location of the authorized user of the firearm satisfies the proximity threshold of the approximate location of the firearm and b) receiving the authorization command.
Re claim 13, Goren discloses the system of claim 9, the operations comprising: receiving a first status signal indicating the locking mechanism has been disengaged; and in response to receiving the first status signal, activating an alarm system at a property based on the locking mechanism having been disengaged.
Re claim 14, Goren discloses the system of claim 13, the operations comprising, in response to receiving the first status signal, alerting emergency personnel based on the locking mechanism having been disengaged.
Re claim 15, Goren discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the authorized user comprises a registered owner of the firearm (inherent).
Re claim 16, Goren (c. 2, l. 50+) discloses one or more computer storage media encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
computing, using movement data captured by a sensor included in a firearm, location data that indicates an approximate location of the firearm;
determining, using the location data, whether to maintain a locking mechanism attached to the firearm in a locked state to reduce a likelihood of activation of a trigger of the firearm;
in response to determining to maintain the locking mechanism in the locked state, maintaining the locking mechanism in the locked state;
detecting, using data received from another device (c. 3, l. 60+), a second location of an authorized user of the firearm;
determining, using the data receive from the other device, whether the second location of the authorized user of the firearm satisfies a proximity threshold for the approximate location of the firearm (i.e. signal strength is inherently based on proximity);
and disengaging the locking mechanism to permit discharge of the firearm in response to determining that the second location of the authorized user of the firearm satisfies the proximity threshold of the location of the firearm.
Re claim 17, Goren discloses the one or more computer storage media of claim 16, the operations comprising: engaging the locking mechanism in response to determining that a third location of the authorized user does not satisfy the proximity threshold for a current location of the firearm (c. 6, l. 55-65).
Re claim 19, Goren discloses the one or more computer storage media of claim 16, the operations comprising: receiving an authorization command that was generated using input received from an external device (c. 4, l. 5-15); wherein: disengaging the locking mechanism is responsive to a) determining that the second location of the authorized user of the firearm satisfies the proximity threshold of the approximate location of the firearm and b) receiving the authorization command.
Re claim 20, Goren discloses the one or more computer storage media of claim 16, the operations comprising: receiving a first status signal indicating the locking mechanism has been disengaged; and in response to receiving the first status signal, activating an alarm system at a property based on the locking mechanism having been disengaged.
Re claim 21, Goren discloses the one or more computer storage media of claim 20, the operations comprising, in response to receiving the first status signal, alerting emergency personnel based on the locking mechanism having been disengaged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goren in view of McRae (US 8,464,451). Goren discloses the method of claim 2 with the exception of: computing, using the data captured by the sensor included in the firearm, usage data about the firearm that indicates a detected number of times the firearm was likely discharged, wherein: the location data indicates an approximate location of at least one of the discharges; and maintaining the locking mechanism attached to the firearm in the locked state uses the location data and the usage data.
McRae teaches a method including computing, using the data captured by the sensor included in the firearm, usage data about the firearm that indicates a detected number of times the firearm was likely discharged, wherein: the location data indicates an approximate location of at least one of the discharges; and maintaining the locking mechanism attached to the firearm in the locked state uses the location data and the usage data. The purpose of capturing the data in McRae is because that data would be excellent information for police reports and courtroom evidence (c. 1, l. 54). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Goren to have the data capturing capability of McRae. The motivation (as taught by McRae) would be because that captured data would be excellent information for police reports and courtroom evidence (c. 1, l. 54). All claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to a skilled artisan at the time the invention was made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7-17-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant initially argues that the Office has provided insufficient evidence that 112(f) applies to locking mechanism; the examiner disagrees. As stated above, the term “mechanism” is: (1) a generic placeholder, (2) the placeholder is modified by functional language (i.e. locking), and (3) the placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
Applicant further argues that the examiner’s reference to Goren does not disclose applicant’s invention; the examiner disagrees (see above rejections).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINALD S TILLMAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641