DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08 October 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2012/0121315 to T. Haack (“Haack”).
With regard to Claims 1 and 19, Haack teaches a nozzle for an applicator configured to apply a flowable viscous adhesive sealant material, the nozzle comprising a proximal end 22 comprising an opening and featuring a releasable coupling 23 to an applicator, an opposite distal end 7 comprising a single opening, and a hollow chamber 4 defined in an interior of the nozzle residing-between and in-fluid-communication-with the proximal and distal ends (see Abstract; FIGs. 1-2, 5; ¶¶ [0003], [0007], [0038], [0073], [0081]). Haack thus teaches a nozzle configured such that flowable viscous material supplied from the proximal end to the distal end is discharged out of a distal opening (see ¶ [0081]). Haak teaches an embodiment wherein the distal opening comprises a straight edge and an opposing edge featuring saw-tooth rectilinear and/or triangular shapes (see FIGs. 1, 5; ¶ [0081]).
With regard to Claims 2-6 and 18 the nozzle disclosed by Haack encompasses the claimed features (compare Haack FIGs. 1-5 with instant FIGs. 1-5 and 10).
With regard to Claims 7-17, Haack teaches flow elements and ridges 9, 10, 11 featuring diverse shapes and lengths formed in nozzle walls extending-from one surface to an opposing surface and spaced-apart therefrom (see FIGs. 1-4; ¶¶ [0045]-[0046], [0070], [0074]).
With regard to Claims 20-28, Haack teaches dispensing gun applicators comprising a reservoir cartridge (see ¶¶ [0003], [0007], [0013]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/195836 to Li et al. (“Li”) in view of Haack.
With regard to Claim 1, Li teaches a nozzle for an applicator configured to apply a flowable viscous material, the nozzle comprising a proximal end 11 comprising an opening and featuring a releasable coupling to an applicator, an opposite distal end 32 comprising an opening, and a hollow chamber defined in an interior of the nozzle residing-between and in-fluid-communication-with the proximal and distal ends (see Abstract; FIGs. 1-2; Pg. 5, Lns. 7-22). Li thus teaches a nozzle configured such that flowable viscous material supplied from the proximal end to the distal end is discharged out of a distal opening. Li teaches the shape of the distal opening is not particularly limited, and can be circular, square, rectangular, triangular, polygonal, or other suitable forms (see Pg. 8, Lns. 7-8); however the reference does not expressly teach the claimed shapes or a singular distal opening associated therewith. As discussed, Haack teaches the claimed nozzle distal opening comprising a straight edge and rectilinear or triangular sawtooth edge, and ridge features. According to Haack, such geometries and others yield enhanced mixing (see ¶¶ [0046], [0074]).
The features of Claims 2-6 are taught by Li (compare Li FIGs. 1-3 with instant FIGs. 1-5 and 10).
The features of Claims 7-18 are taught by Haack as discussed, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the nozzle of Li in order to obtain the improvements in mixing and distribution described by Haack.
With regard to Claims 19-20, Li teaches dispensing flowable damping material via a spray gun (see Abstract; Pg. 2, Lns. 1-5, Pg. 9, Lns. 18-27).
With regard to Claims 21-28, Li teaches dispensing gun applicators comprising a container (cartridge) (see Li at Pg. 4, Lns. 3-6, Pg. 9, Lns. 18-27).
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712