DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the unlabeled boxes shown in Fig. 5 of the drawings should be provided with descriptive text labels [e.g., see: MPEP 608.02(b)].
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “control unit” in claims 1-15, and “ride height adjustment system” in claims 1-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 introduces “a location surrounding the vehicle” in lines 6-7; however, the claim previously introduces “a location surrounding the vehicle” in line 5, and it is unclear whether the “location surrounding the vehicle” introduced in lines 6-7 is intended to be the same as or different from the “location surrounding the vehicle” previously introduced in line 5. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 introduces “a ride height adjustment demand” in line 9; however, the claim previously introduces “a ride height adjustment demand” in line 3, and it is unclear whether the “ride height adjustment demand” introduced in line 9 is intended to be the same as or different from the “ride height adjustment demand” previously introduced in line 3. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 introduces “a portion of the vehicle” in lines 9-10; however, the claim previously introduces “a portion of the vehicle” in line 2, and it is unclear whether the “portion of the vehicle” introduced in lines 9-10 is intended to be the same as or different from the “portion of the vehicle” previously introduced in line 2. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 introduces “a first position” in line 10; however, the claim previously introduces “a first position” in line 2, and it is unclear whether the “first position” introduced in line 10 is intended to be the same as or different from the “first position” previously introduced in line 2. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 introduces “a second position” in line 10; however, the claim previously introduces “a second position” in line 3, and it is unclear whether the “second position” introduced in line 10 is intended to be the same as or different from the “second position” previously introduced in line 3. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-12 depend from claim 1, claims 13 and 15 fully incorporate claim 1, and claim 14 depends from claim 13, such that claims 2-15 also include the indefinite subject matter recited by claim 1 and are rejected for at least the same reasons that claim 1 is rejected.
Claim 3 introduces “a location surrounding the vehicle” in line 2; however, claim 3 is dependent from claim 1 via claim 2, and claim 1 twice previously introduces “a location surrounding the vehicle” in line 5 and in lines 6-7, and it is unclear whether the “location surrounding the vehicle” introduced in line 2 of claim 3 is intended to be the same as or different from the “location surrounding the vehicle” previously introduced in line 5 of claim 1 and/or in lines 6-7 of claim 1. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 refers to “the sensor of the sensor unit” in line 1; however, claim 4 is dependent from claim 1, and neither claim previously introduces “a sensor,” such that it is unclear what exactly is meant by “the sensor of the sensor unit” in line 1 of claim 4. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 refers to “the sensor” in line 1; however, claim 5 is dependent from claim 1, and neither claim previously introduces “a sensor,” such that it is unclear what exactly is meant by “the sensor” in line 1 of claim 5. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 introduces “a portion of the vehicle” in line 2; however, claim 6 is dependent from claim 1, and claim 1 twice previously introduces “a portion of the vehicle” in line 2 and in lines 9-10, and it is unclear whether the “portion of the vehicle” introduced in line 2 of claim 6 is intended to be the same as or different from the “portion of the vehicle” previously introduced in line 2 of claim 1 and/or in lines 9-10 of claim 1. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 depends from claim 6, such that claim 7 also includes the indefinite subject matter recited by claim 6 and is rejected for at least the same reasons that claim 6 is rejected.
Claim 11 introduces “a portion of the vehicle” in line 2; however, claim 11 is dependent from claim 1, and claim 1 twice previously introduces “a portion of the vehicle” in line 2 and in lines 9-10, and it is unclear whether the “portion of the vehicle” introduced in line 2 of claim 11 is intended to be the same as or different from the “portion of the vehicle” previously introduced in line 2 of claim 1 and/or in lines 9-10 of claim 1. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 introduces “a location surrounding the vehicle” in line 2; however, claim 12 is dependent from claim 1, and claim 1 twice previously introduces “a location surrounding the vehicle” in line 5 and in lines 6-7, and it is unclear whether the “location surrounding the vehicle” introduced in line 2 of claim 12 is intended to be the same as or different from the “location surrounding the vehicle” previously introduced in line 5 of claim 1 and/or in lines 6-7 of claim 1. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 introduces “a portion of the vehicle” in lines 4-5; however, the claim previously introduces “a portion of a vehicle” in line 1, and it is unclear whether the “portion of the vehicle” introduced in lines 4-5 is intended to be the same as or different from the “portion of a vehicle” previously introduced in line 1. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 introduces “a location surrounding the vehicle” in lines 8-9; however, the claim previously introduces “a location surrounding the vehicle” in line 7, and it is unclear whether the “location surrounding the vehicle” introduced in lines 8-9 is intended to be the same as or different from the “location surrounding the vehicle” previously introduced in line 7. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0370318 to Maskell (hereinafter: “Maskell”).
With respect to claim 1, Maskell teaches a safety system (apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 2) configured for use on a vehicle (1) (apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 2), the vehicle including a ride height adjustment system (e.g., 7) configured to transition at least a portion of the vehicle between a first position and a second position in response to a ride height adjustment demand [as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0003, 0050 & 0054-0056, the active suspension 1, intended for use with the apparent definable “safety system,” is structured to perform functions to change (e.g., “transition”) at least a corner (e.g., “portion”) of a body 3 of the vehicle 1 from a current height (e.g., “first position”) to a requested lower height (e.g., “second position”), where a first one of a plurality of pneumatic actuators 8 of the active suspension 1 corresponds to the corner of the body 3 of the vehicle 1; also, see: MPEP 2111.02_II with respect to “configured for use on a vehicle, the vehicle including a ride height adjustment system configured to transition at least a portion of the vehicle between a first position and a second position in response to a ride height adjustment demand”], the safety system comprising: a sensor unit configured to detect an object at a location surrounding the vehicle and to transmit a detection signal corresponding to detection of the object at a location surrounding the vehicle [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0017, 0026-0028, 0051-0054, 0056 & 0059-0061, the apparent definable “safety system” includes sensor means (e.g., “sensor unit”), where the sensor means includes a first sensor 10 disposed on a left hand side of the vehicle 1 and a second sensor 11 disposed on a right hand side of the vehicle 1, where the first and second sensors 10, 11 are structured to perform functions to scan the ground proximal to the vehicle 1 to enable detection of one or more object O proximal to the vehicle 1 (e.g., “to detect an object at a location surrounding the vehicle”) and to output first and second signals S1, S2 (e.g., “detection signal”) to an electronic processor 14 including when the first and second signals S1, S2 corresponds to detection of the one or more object O proximal to the vehicle 1 (e.g., “to transmit a detection signal corresponding to detection of the object at a location surrounding the vehicle”)]; and a control unit configured to operate the ride height adjustment system of the vehicle [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0053-0059, the apparent definable “safety system” further includes a combination of an electronic processor 14, an electronic memory device 15, and a suspension control unit 9 (e.g., “control unit” together), where the suspension control unit 9 of the definable “control unit” is structured to perform functions to control operation of the active suspension 7, including to control the operation of the active suspension 7 based on a suspension control signal SSUS that is output to the suspension control unit 9 by the electronic processor 14 of the definable “control unit,” such that the electronic processor 14 is also structured to perform functions to control the operation of the active suspension 7], the control unit being configured to process a ride height adjustment demand to transition at least a portion of the vehicle between at least a first position and a second position (for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0053-0059, the suspension control unit 9 of the definable “control unit” is structured to perform functions to process the change of at least the corner of the body 3 of the vehicle 1 from the current height to the requested lower height, including when the outputting of the suspension control signal SSUS to the suspension control unit 9 is discontinued by the electronic processor 14 of the definable “control unit,” such that the electronic processor 14 is also structured to perform functions to process the change of at least the corner of the body 3 of the vehicle 1 from the current height to the requested lower height) and to receive the detection signal transmitted by the sensor unit (for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0053-0059, the electronic processor 14 of the definable “control unit” is structured to perform functions to receive the first and second signals S1, S2 output by the sensor means); wherein the control unit is configured to suppress the ride height adjustment demand in response to the detection signal received from the sensor unit (for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0053-0059, the suspension control unit 9 of the definable “control unit” is structured to perform functions to inhibit the change of at least the corner of the body 3 of the vehicle 1 from the current height to the requested lower height, including when the suspension control signal SSUS is output to the suspension control unit 9 by the electronic processor 14 of the definable “control unit,” such that the electronic processor 14 is also structured to perform functions to inhibit the change of at least the corner of the body 3 of the vehicle 1 from the current height to the requested lower height).
With respect to claim 2, Maskell teaches the safety system of claim 1, wherein the sensor unit comprises a sensor configured to be arranged on the vehicle (as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1).
With respect to claim 3, Maskell teaches the safety system of claim 2, wherein the sensor of the sensor unit is configured to detect the object at a location surrounding the vehicle corresponding to one or more of a front of the vehicle, a rear of the vehicle, a first side of the vehicle, and a second side of the vehicle (for example, apparent from at least Figs. 1 & 2 in view of at least ¶ 0017, 0026-0028, 0051-0054 & 0059-0061; because a front of the vehicle, a rear of the vehicle, a first side of the vehicle, and a second side of the vehicle are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives).
With respect to claim 4, Maskell teaches the safety system of claim 1, wherein the sensor of the sensor unit is comprised of one or more of an image sensor, a motion sensor, a LiDAR sensor, and an ultrasonic sensor (for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0027-0028, 0052-0053 & 0059-0060; because an image sensor, a motion sensor, a LiDAR sensor, and an ultrasonic sensor are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives).
With respect to claim 5, Maskell teaches the safety system of claim 1, wherein the sensor unit comprises a plurality of the sensor (as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1).
With respect to claim 6, Maskell teaches the safety system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to determine an object distance of the object from at least a portion of the vehicle from the detection signal [for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0028, 0033, 0050-0051 & 0053-0059, the electronic processor 14 of the definable “control unit” is structured to perform functions to determine a relative position (e.g., “object distance”) and/or a relative vertical height (e.g., “object distance”) of the detected object O with respect to a vehicle door 5 (e.g., “portion”) of the vehicle 1, including a projected opening path DPATH of the vehicle door 5].
With respect to claim 7, Maskell teaches the safety system of claim 6, wherein the control unit is configured to suppress the ride height adjustment demand in response to the detection signal received from the sensor unit when the object distance is less than or equal to a predetermined object distance [for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0028, 0033, 0050-0051 & 0053-0059, the electronic processor 14 of the definable “control unit” is structured to perform functions to inhibit the change of at least the corner of the body 3 of the vehicle 1 from the current height to the requested lower height when the relative position and/or the relative vertical height of the detected object O would coincide with a bottom of the vehicle door 5 of the vehicle 1 (e.g., “when the object distance is less than or equal to a predetermined object distance”), including when the relative position and/or the relative vertical height of the detected object O would coincide with the projected opening path DPATH of the vehicle door 5 (e.g., “when the object distance is less than or equal to a predetermined object distance”)].
With respect to claim 10, Maskell teaches the safety system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to release suppression of the ride height adjustment demand in response to an override request submitted by a user [as depicted by at least Fig. 3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0019-0023 & 0055-0057, the electronic processor 14 of the definable “control unit” is structured to perform functions to require user confirmation (e.g., “override request”) by a driver (e.g., “user”) before reinstating operation of the active suspension 7 at times including when the change of at least the corner of the body 3 of the vehicle 1 from the current height to the requested lower height is inhibited, including when the suspension control signal SSUS is output to the suspension control unit 9 by the electronic processor 14].
With respect to claim 11, Maskell teaches the safety system of claim 1, wherein the first position and the second position of the vehicle correspond to a ride height of at least a portion of the vehicle (as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 1).
With respect to claim 12, Maskell teaches the safety system of claim 1, wherein the sensor unit is configured to detect the object at a location surrounding the vehicle continuously (it is apparent from at least STEP 110 & STEP 115 the flow diagram of Fig. 3 that the sensor means repeatedly (e.g., “continuously”) detects the object O for at least the extent of a finite duration by virtue of a depicted output arrow of STEP 115 returning to STEP 110).
With respect to claim 13, Maskell teaches a vehicle comprising the safety system of claim 1 and a ride height adjustment system configured to transition at least a portion of the vehicle between a first position and a second position in response to a ride height adjustment demand (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 1).
With respect to claim 14, Maskell teaches the vehicle of claim 13, wherein the ride height adjustment system is in the form of a suspension system of the vehicle (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claims 1 and 13).
With respect to claim 15, Maskell teaches a method of safely adjusting a ride height of at least a portion of a vehicle, the method comprising: providing the safety system of claim 1; transmitting a ride height adjustment demand to the control unit to transition at least a portion of the vehicle between at least a first position and a second position with the ride height adjustment system; detecting an object at a location surrounding the vehicle with the sensor unit; transmitting a detection signal corresponding to detection of the object in a location surrounding the vehicle to the control unit; and suppressing the ride height adjustment demand in response to the detection signal received from the sensor unit with the control unit (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claims 1 and 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maskell in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0319733 to Grassel et al. (hereinafter: “Grassel”).
With respect to claim 8, Maskell teaches the safety system of claim 1; however, Maskell appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the control unit is configured to process a vehicle service demand to indicate servicing of the vehicle.
Grassel teaches an analogous safety system (apparent from at least Fig. 1) including a control unit (110) that is configured to process a vehicle service demand (apparent from at least Fig. 2; e.g., via 202) to indicate servicing of a vehicle (100) (apparent from at least Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the safety system of Maskell with the teachings of Grassel such that the control unit is configured to process a vehicle service demand to indicate servicing of the vehicle because Grassel further teaches that such functionality of a control unit of a safety system for a vehicle beneficially enables inhibiting change of an active suspension of the vehicle from a desired height when a vehicle service demand for a tire change to service an underinflated tire of the vehicle has been requested by a user of the vehicle, thereby reducing work to be performed by the user to change the underinflated tire by maintaining a certain ground clearance height of the vehicle and/or keeping the vehicle level.
With respect to claim 9, Maskell modified supra teaches the safety system of claim 8, wherein the control unit is configured to suppress the ride height adjustment demand in response to the vehicle service demand (as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form. For example: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0323371 to Letizio et al. anticipates at least claims 1-7 and 11-15 (e.g., see at least Figs. 1-3 and at least ¶ 0022-0024 of Letizio).
/JOHN M ZALESKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747