DETAILED ACTION
Benefit
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit under 35 U.S.C. 119 (e) with 63/704,783, 63/708,915, and 63/854,823. Accordingly, the earliest effective filing date was recognized as 10/18/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2026 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: In ¶ 00066, “also having a mating interface 15” is described on or ~ line 15; however, mating interface 15 was not shown in any of the drawing figures. As best understood by the Examiner, Applicant meant to describe mating interface 13. Accordingly, the Examiner has interpreted – also having [[a]] mating interface [15]13 – to correlate with at least Figs 10A-10D. An amendment to either the drawings or specification to reconcile drawings and specification in this matter would not be considered new matter. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the informalities described, below.
In ¶ 00057, light bulb socket member 26 is described in relation to Figs 2-3; however, member 26 is not shown until Fig 4. Therefore, Applicant should amendment the paragraph by changing “member 26” to – member 26- (Figure 4) – or similar in order to better reconcile the drawings and specification.
In ¶ 00061, socket adapter 70/70’ is described in relation to Figs 2-4; however, adapter 70 is not shown until Figs 10A-10D, and adapter 70’ is not shown until Figs 21-23. Therefore, Applicant should amendment the paragraph by changing “member 70/70’” to – member 70/70’- (Figures 10A-10D/21-23, respectively) – or similar in order to better reconcile the drawings and specification.
In ¶ 00057, light bulb socket adapter 50 is described in relation to Fig 4; however, adapter 50 is not shown until Figs 8A-8D. Therefore, Applicant should amendment the paragraph by changing “adapter 50” to – adapter- (Figures 8A-8D) – or similar in order to better reconcile the drawings and specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 6-7, 33-34, and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 6305828 B1).
Re Claim 1:
Huang discloses a support assembly (bottom part 2 and hooked part 3; shown in at least Fig 1 and described below) for cooperating with a light bulb (light bulb 12; cooperation shown in Figs 4-5; described in Col 3, on or ~ lines 13-19) having a light strand (cord 15) and light bulb socket (socket 1), said support assembly comprising:
a light bulb socket interface (2) for cooperating with the light bulb socket (1; cooperation shown in Fig 1 transposed with Figs 2-3), said light bulb socket interface (2) having a mating interface (described below) comprising:
a platform (platform of 2 from which locating part 21 and connecting protrusions 22-23 extend from) having a fore end (end proximate to 22) and an aft end (end proximate to 23) and a longitudinal axis (axis from 2 to 1, Fig 1); and
a pair of flanges (22, 23) extending upwardly from said platform generally parallel to the longitudinal axis (Fig 1) and substantially between said platform fore end and said platform aft end (Fig 1) wherein said pair of flanges (22, 23) are each defined by a base portion extending from said platform ((shown in Fig 3 of Huang with the Examiner’s second annotations, below)) and a rail portion extending from said base portion wherein said rail portion extends outwardly from said base portion (shown in Fig 3 of Huang with the Examiner’s second annotations below), generally perpendicular to said longitudinal axis (the Examiner notes that the rail portion extends both parallel and perpendicular to the base portion in Fig 3 of Huang with the Examiner’s second annotations, below), so as to define an interface receiving cavity (space occupied by 1 and 15 in Fig 3) and at least one of said pair of flanges defines an aft stop (bottom of 23 between engagement gaps 231 ) defining an aft end of said interface receiving cavity (Fig 1 transposed with Fig 3).
Figure 3 of Huang with the Examiner’s second annotations, below
Re Claim 6:
The claim depends upon claim 1.
Huang further discloses a support (3).
Re Claim 7:
The claim depends upon claim 6.
Huang further discloses wherein said light bulb socket interface (2) is mounted to said support (to 3; Fig 2-3) wherein said support positions the light bulb in a desired position (Figs 4-5).
Re Claim 33:
The claim depends upon claim 6.
Huang further discloses where said support (3) includes a post (hooked part 31) and said platform of said mating interface defines an aperture (engaging gaps) configured for receipt of said post (shown in Fig 3 an described in Col 3 on or ~ lines 4-8).
Re Claim 34:
The claim depends upon claim 33.
Huang further discloses wherein said platform further includes at least one flange (portion of 23 between pair of engaging gaps 231) extending therefrom parallel to said longitudinal axis (Fig 1) and adjacent said post (Fig 3) for limiting rotational movement of said light bulb socket interface on said support (due to the mating structure of 2 with 3 that is shown in Figs 2-3 and described in at least Col 2, on or ~ lines 41-67).
Re Claim 36:
Huang discloses a socket adapter (bottom part 2, shown in at least Fig 1) for cooperating with a light bulb (cooperating with bulb 12, shown in at least Fig 3) having a light strand (cord 15, Fig 3) and light bulb socket (socket 1), said socket adapter (2) for use with a light bulb socket interface (for use with hooked part 3) wherein the light bulb socket interface (3) includes a mating interface (connection portion 31 and toothed portion 32, Fig 1), said adapter (2) comprising:
a first face (shown in Fig 1 of Huang with the Examiner’s annotations, below) and a second face (face of engaging gaps 231; “231”) wherein said first face defines a light bulb socket receiving cavity (Fig 3 transposed with Fig 1 of Huang, below; described in Col 2, on or ~ lines 47-59) including a socket seat (Fig 1 of Huang, below) and at least one side arm (connection protrusions 22-23) for receiving the light bulb socket (Fig 3 transposed with Fig 1, below) and
wherein said at least one side arm (22-23) defines an opening for receipt of the light strand (receipt 15, Fig 5 transposed with Fig 3 and Fig 1 of Huang, below) and said second face (231) is configured to cooperate with said light bulb socket interface (cooperate with 3; shown in Fig 3; described in at least Col 3, lines 4-8).
Figure 1 of Huang with the Examiner’s annotations
Re Claim 37:
Huang discloses a support assembly (bottom part 2 and hooked part 3; shown in at least Fig 1 and described below) for supporting a light bulb (light bulb 12, Figs 4-5) having a light strand (cord 15) and light bulb socket (socket 1) to an architectural structure (shown in Figs 4-5; described in Col 3, on or ~ lines 13-19, specifically including Christmas tree, wires, or a fence), said assembly (2, 3) further comprising:
a light bulb socket interface (2) for cooperating with the light bulb socket (cooperating with 1; Fig 1 transposed with Figs 2-3; described in Col 2, on or ~ lines 41-67); and
a clip (3) comprising a base (shown in Fig 3 of Huang with the Examiner’s annotations, below) connected to said light bulb socket interface (Fig 1 transposed with Fig 3 of Huang, below), a first clamp having at least one clamp arm and a knob extending downwardly from said at least on clamp arm (shown in Fig 3 of Huang, below), and a medial arm extending between said first clamp and said base (shown in Fig 3, below), said medial arm including a protrusion (curved hanging portion) extending upwardly therefrom (shown in Fig 3, below), facing said first clamp (shown in Fig 3, below).
Figure 3 of Huang with the Examiner's annotations
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
The claim depends upon claim 7.
With further regard to the support, drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979); see also MPEP § 2125. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize Huang as at least suggesting the support (3) having a structure capable of being a shingle clip due to the configuration shown in at least Fig 3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-5, 8, 10-32, and 35 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Below is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Re Claim 2:
The closest prior art of record (Huang) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the locking member as set forth in the claim.
Re Claims 3-5, 14, and 35:
The claims contain allowable subject matter due to their dependence on intervening claim 2.
Re Claim 8:
The closest prior art of record (Huang) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the stake as set forth in the claim.
Re Claims 10:
The closest prior art of record (Huang) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the socket adapter as set forth in the claim.
Re Claims 11-13:
The claims contain allowable subject matter due to their dependence on intervening claim 10.
Re Claim 15:
The closest prior art of record (Huang) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the socket adapter as set forth in the claim.
Re Claims 16-25:
The claims contain allowable subject matter due to their dependence on intervening claim 15.
Re Claim 26:
The closest prior art of record (Huang) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the first leg and second leg as set forth in the claim.
Re Claim 27:
The closest prior art of record (Huang) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the first leg and second leg as set forth in the claim.
Re Claim 28:
The closest prior art of record (Huang) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the first leg and second leg as set forth in the claim.
Re Claims 29-32:
The claims contain allowable subject matter due to their dependence on intervening claim 28.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Adams (US 5531411 A) discloses support assembly comprising a light bulb socket interface and a support.
KEITH G. DELAHOUSSAYE JR.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/KEITH G. DELAHOUSSAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875