DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dougherty (U.S. 2020/0132189).
In regards to claim 1. Dougherty discloses A power tool comprising; a bidirectional rotary drive (54); a machine housing (50) having a handle section (near 58 see fig. 1 or fig. 2); a main switch (58) arranged within reach of the handle section for switching the rotary drive on and off (fig. 1 see at least paragraphs 22, 23, and 35); and a direction switch (56) for selecting a direction of rotation of the rotary drive (see at least paragraph 21, and 22), the direction switch designed as a slide switch (see paragraph 21) operatable on both sides of the machine housing depending on the direction of rotation to be selected (see at least fig. 7); and a latching contour (fig. 10 see at least elements 88) containing at least two switching positions (see at least fig. 10 there are three) being integrally formed on a central edge region of the direction switch (fig. 10), the latching contour interacting with a spring arranged on the machine housing and engaging with the contour without any play (at least elements 64, 84, 86 see at least paragraphs 27, 28, 29, 30).
In regards to claim 2. Dougherty discloses The power tool as recited in claim 1 wherein the spring arranged on the machine housing is a spring tongue (64) integrally formed in the handle section of the machine housing (see at least paragraph 30), the tongue extending outward and having a rounded cam section (86, 84) at a distal end and resiliently resting on the latching contour (see at least paragraph 30).
In regards to claim 3. Dougherty discloses The power tool as recited in claim 2 wherein the spring tongue is pretensioned by a guide rib arranged on an opposite side of the direction switch and integrally formed on the machine housing, further guide ribs surrounding the direction switch so as to be parallel to and spaced apart from one another ensure the longitudinal guidance of the direction switch within a continuous housing receptacle (see at least paragraph 30, 32 and 37).
In regards to claim 4. Dougherty discloses The power tool as recited in claim 1 wherein the latching contour is wave-shaped and has wave trough regions each forming a switching position (see fig. 10).
In regards to claim 5. Dougherty discloses The power tool as recited in claim 1 wherein the direction switch has at least one arrow marking (see at least fig. 9) on the top for indicating the direction and visible through a window opening in the handle section of the machine housing (see fig. 8 and paragraph 25).
In regards to claim 6. Dougherty discloses The power tool as recited in claim 5 wherein the arrow marking comprises a forward-pointing arrow for indicating a clockwise direction of rotation and a rearward-pointing arrow arranged in parallel therewith and at a spacing therefrom for indicating a counterclockwise direction of rotation (see at least fig. 8 and paragraph 25).
In regards to claim 7. Dougherty discloses The power tool as recited in claim 5 wherein a region between two of the arrows in the window opening is visible in order to indicate a middle neutral position of the direction switch (see at least paragraph 22, 25, 26, 27, 28).
In regards to claim 8. Dougherty discloses The power tool as recited in claim 1 wherein the direction switch has an edge shoulder (illustrated in fig. 4, 5, 7 but not labeled) adjacent to the latching contour on both sides, the edge shoulders interacting with a stop structure (illustrated in fig. 4,5,6) projecting from a center of the machine housing side to form end stops on both sides (see at least fig. 5 and paragraph 34).
In regards to claim 9. Dougherty discloses The power tool as recited in claim 1 wherein the direction switch is arranged on the outside of the handle section in such a way that to be operatable in one direction using at least the thumb of one hand when the handle section is grasped (see at least fig. 1 element 56 and fig. 7).
In regards to claim 10. Dougherty discloses The power tool as recited in claim 1 wherein the main switch arranged adjacently to the direction switch is designed as a two-finger switch and is arranged on the inside of the handle section in such a way to be operable using at least the index or middle finger of one hand when the handle section is grasped (see at least fig. 1 elements 56 and 58 fig. 4).
Conclusion
/Lucas E. A. Palmer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731