DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Action on the Merits. Claims 1-10 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 8th, 2025 and February 3rd, 2026 have been considered and entered.
Contingent Limitations
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7-10 contain conditional limitations:
Claim 1: “in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation exist, displaying in a user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions using the first mode of transportation without displaying a visual indication of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using a respective mode of transportation different from the first mode of transportation; and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation do not exist and; in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location; and in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation”
Claim 3: “in accordance with a determination that, prior to receiving the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation, the electronic device has received a predetermined number of requests to present navigation directions using the first mode of transportation: displaying, via the display generation component, a selectable option that, when selected, causes the electronic device to make the first mode of transportation a default mode of transportation for displaying navigation directions”
Claim 5: “in response to the sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions: in accordance with the determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied: in accordance with a determination that a second mode of transportation is a default mode of transportation for providing navigation directions, the respective mode of transportation is the second mode of transportation, and in accordance with a determination that a third mode of transportation, different from the second mode of transportation, is the default mode of transportation for providing navigation directions, the respective mode of transportation is the third mode of transportation”
Claim 7: “in response to receiving the sequence of the one or more inputs corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions, in accordance with a determination that weather information associated with the navigation directions satisfies one or more weather criteria, displaying a visual indication of the weather information”
Claim 8: “in accordance with a determination that a route from the first physical location to the second physical location using a second mode of transportation satisfies one or more second criteria, the respective mode of transportation is a second mode of transportation, in accordance with a determination that the route from the first physical location to the second physical location fails to satisfy the one or more second criteria: in accordance with a determination that a route from the first physical location to the second physical location using a third mode of transportation satisfies one or more third criteria, the respective mode of transportation is a third mode of transportation”
Claim 9: “in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation exist, displaying in a user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions using the first mode of transportation without displaying a visual indication of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using a respective mode of transportation different from the first mode of transportation; and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation do not exist and; in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location; and in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation”
Claim 10: “in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation exist, displaying in a user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions using the first mode of transportation without displaying a visual indication of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using a respective mode of transportation different from the first mode of transportation; and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation do not exist and; in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location; and in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation”
With respect to conditional limitations in process claims, MPEP 2111.04 guides
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim
As claims 1, 3, 5, and 7-8 are process claims, Ex Parte Schulhauser applies to limitations (1)-(5). See MPEP 2111.04, II “contingent claims” ("[i]f the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance recited by the step need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed . . . [t]herefore "[t]he Examiner did not need to present evidence of the obviousness of the [ ] method steps of claim 1 that are not required to be performed under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim (e.g., instances in which the electrocardiac signal data is not within the threshold electrocardiac criteria such that the condition precedent for the determining step and the remaining steps of claim 1 has not been met);").
For example, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 3 does not require “the electronic device has received a predetermined number of requests to present navigation directions using the first mode of transportation: displaying, via the display generation component, a selectable option that, when selected, causes the electronic device to make the first mode of transportation a default mode of transportation for displaying navigation directions” since the conditional phrases “in accordance with a determination that” does not require that the determination is actually made (i.e., “ in accordance with a determination that, prior to receiving the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation”; -- rather than that they are determined).
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, only requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. See MPEP 2111.04, II. Accordingly, a structure capable of performing limitation (6) as noted above, is sufficient to disclose this limitation. See MPEP 2114. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
In sum, claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception to patentability (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) and do not include an inventive concept that is something “significantly more” than the judicial exception under the January 2019 patentable subject matter eligibility guidance (2019 PEG) analysis which follows.
Under the 2019 PEG step 1 analysis, it must first be determined whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). Applying step 1 of the analysis for patentable subject matter to the claims, it is determined that the claims are directed to the statutory category of a process. Therefore, we proceed to step 2A, Prong 1.
Revised Guidance Step 2A – Prong 1
Under the 2019 PEG step 2A, Prong 1 analysis, it must be determined whether the claims recite an abstract idea that falls within one or more designated categories of patent ineligible subject matter (i.e., organizing human activity, mathematical concepts, and mental processes) that amount to a judicial exception to patentability.
Here, with respect to independent claims 1, 9, and 10, the claims recite the abstract idea of determining a vehicle route, and mentally determine “in response to the sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions: in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation exist, displaying in a user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions using the first mode of transportation without displaying a visual indication of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using a respective mode of transportation different from the first mode of transportation; and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation do not exist and; in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location; and in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation”, where these claims fall within one or more of the three enumerated 2019 PEG categories of patent ineligible subject matter, specifically, a mental process, that can be performed in the human mind since each of the above steps could alternatively be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper. This conclusion follows from CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., where our reviewing court held that section 101 did not embrace a process defined simply as using a computer to perform a series of mental steps that people, aware of each step, can and regularly do perform in their heads. 654 F.3d 1366, 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2011); see also In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 840–41 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Meyer, 688 F.2d 789, 794–95 (CCPA 1982); Elec. Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F. 3d 1350, 1354–1354 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“we have treated analyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, as essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category”).
Additionally, mental processes remain unpatentable even when automated to reduce the burden on the user of what once could have been done with pen and paper. See CyberSource, 654 F.3d at 1375 (“That purely mental processes can be unpatentable, even when performed by a computer, was precisely the holding of the Supreme Court in Gottschalk v. Benson.”). These limitations, as drafted, are a simple process that under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitations of the mind. For example, the claim limitation encompasses mentally determining a vehicle route based off of the information provided by the car’s sensors while traveling, or alternatively, determining a vehicle route available to the vehicle based on observations by a human.
For example, a human could mentally and with the aid of pen and paper determine a vehicle route.
Revised Guidance Step 2A – Prong 2
Under the 2019 PEG step 2A, Prong 2 analysis, the identified abstract idea to which the claim is directed does not include limitations that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, since the additional elements of an electronic device, a display generation component, one or more input devices, a processor, and a memory are merely generic components used as a tool (“apply it”) to implement the abstract idea. (See, e.g., MPEP §2106.05(f)). See Alice, 573 U.S. at 223 (“[T]he mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”)
In addition, the limitation “receiving, via the one or more input devices, a sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from a first physical location to a second physical location using a first mode of transportation … while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation” constitutes insignificant presolution activity that merely gathers data and, therefore, do not integrate the exception into a practical application. See In re Bilski, 545 F.3d 943, 963 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (en banc), aff' d on other grounds, 561 U.S. 593 (2010) (characterizing data gathering steps as insignificant extra-solution activity); see also CyberSource, 654 F.3d at 1371–72 (noting that even if some physical steps are required to obtain information from a database (e.g., entering a query via a keyboard, clicking a mouse), such data-gathering steps cannot alone confer patentability); OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering). Accord Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 55 (citing MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Furthermore, the limitation “in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation” is insignificant post-solution activity. The Supreme Court guides that the “prohibition against patenting abstract ideas ‘cannot be circumvented by attempting to limit the use of the formula to a particular technological environment' or [by] adding ‘insignificant postsolution activity.' ” Bilski, 561 U.S. at 610–11 (quoting Diehr, 450 U.S. at 191–92).
Displaying a selected route is mere insignificant extra-solution activity, as supported by the MPEP 2106.05(g), see printing or downloading generated menus, Ameranth, 842 F.3d at 1241-42, 120 USPQ2d at 1854-55. Mere instruction to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
In addition, merely “[u]sing a computer to accelerate an ineligible mental process does not make that process patent-eligible.” Bancorp Servs., L.L.C. v. Sun Life Assur. Co. of Canada (U.S.), 687 F.3d 1266, 1279 (Fed. Cir. 2012); see also CLS Bank Int’l v. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 717 F.3d 1269, 1286 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (en banc) (“simply appending generic computer functionality to lend speed or efficiency to the performance of an otherwise abstract concept does not meaningfully limit claim scope for purposes of patent eligibility.”), aff’d, 573 U.S. 208 (2014). Accordingly, the additional element of a processor does not transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea.
Revised Guidance Step 2B
Under the 2019 PEG step 2B analysis, the additional elements are evaluated to determine whether they amount to something “significantly more” than the recited abstract idea. (i.e., an innovative concept). Here, the additional elements, such as: an electronic device, a display generation component, one or more input devices, a processor, and a memory does not amount to an innovative concept since, as stated above in the step 2A, Prong 2 analysis, the claims are simply using the additional elements as a tool to carry out the abstract idea (i.e., “apply it”) on a computer or computing device and/or via software programming. (See, e.g., MPEP §2106.05(f)). The additional elements are specified at a high level of generality to simply implement the abstract idea and are not themselves being technologically improved. (See, e.g., MPEP §2106.05 I.A.). See Alice, 573 U.S. at 223 (“[T]he mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”). Thus, these elements, taken individually or together, do not amount to “significantly more” than the abstract ideas themselves.
The additional elements of the dependent claims 2-8 merely refine and further limit the abstract idea of the independent claims and do not add any feature that is an “inventive concept” which cures the deficiencies of their respective parent claim under the 2019 PEG analysis. None of the dependent claims considered individually, including their respective limitations, include an “inventive concept” of some additional element or combination of elements sufficient to ensure that the claims in practice amount to something “significantly more” than patent-ineligible subject matter to which the claims are directed.
The elements of the instant claimed invention, when taken in combination do not offer substantially more than the sum of the functions of the elements when each is taken alone. The claims as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself because the claims do not effect an improvement to another technology or technical field; the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of an electronic device itself which implements the abstract idea (e.g., the general purpose computer and/or the computer system which implements the process are not made more efficient or technologically improved); the claims do not perform a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (i.e., the claims do not use the abstract idea in the claimed process to bring about a physical change. See, e.g., Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175 (1981), where a physical change, and thus patentability, was imparted by the claimed process; contrast, Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584 (1978), where a physical change, and thus patentability, was not imparted by the claimed process); and the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more, and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newlin (US 20170074669 A1) (“Newlin”) in view of Elshenawy (US 20200273333 A1) (“Elshenawy”) in view of Dolgov (US 11720101 B1) (“Dolgov”).
With respect to claim 1, Newlin teaches a method comprising: at an electronic device in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices:
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from a first physical location to a second physical location using a first mode of transportation; and in response to the sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions: (See at least Newlin Paragraph 42 “For example, the user device 10 may receive information via the network 5 from the system of servers 35, having one or more servers such as mapping routing servers 40, route condition servers 45, user interface servers 50, and/or any other suitable servers. Each server in the system of servers 35, including mapping routing server 40, route condition server 45, and UI server 50 may each represent any of various types of servers including, but not limited to a web server, an application server, a proxy server, a network server, or a server farm. Each server in the system of servers 35 may be implemented using, for example, any computing systems configured for serving data to other computing devices including, but not limited to, user devices 10 (including mobile device 15, GPS device 20, and computer 25) or any other computing device (not shown) via network 5. Such a computing system can include, but is not limited to, a server device having a processor and memory for executing and storing instructions. The memory may include any type of random access memory (RAM) or read-only memory (ROM) embodied in a physical storage medium, such as magnetic storage including floppy disk, hard disk, or magnetic tape; semiconductor storage such as solid-state disk (SSD) or flash memory; optical disc storage; or magneto-optical disc storage. Software may include one or more applications and an operating system. Hardware can include, but is not limited to, a processor, memory, and graphical user interface display. Each server may also have multiple processors and multiple shared or separate memory components that are configured to function together within, for example, a clustered computing environment or server farm.” | Paragraph 49 “In some embodiments, multiple and/or available modes of transportation may then be displayed. FIG. 3 illustrates a GUI for display of various modes of transportation. As shown in FIG. 3, the GUI may include route information section 202, a quick directions section 210, “View Other Options” icon 212, “Compare These” icon 216, and/or “Compare More” icon 214. Route information section 202 may include time of departure 204, starting location 206, and/or destination location 208. A user may set the time of departure section 204 to be the current time or any time in the future. A default setting may be set for the time of departure section 204. In some examples, the default setting for the time of departure may be the current time, the next 5, 10, or 15 minute increment, and/or a common time for this or other users to request directions (e.g., setting the time of departure from a downtown location to 6:15 p.m. because this user often leaves downtown at 6:15 p.m.). Starting location 206 may include the current location, as shown in FIG. 3, or an address, POI, geographic coordinate, or intersection input by the user.”).
displaying in a user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions using the first mode of transportation without displaying a visual indication of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using a respective mode of transportation different from the first mode of transportation (See at least Newlin FIGS. 15-18 and Paragraph 84 “In some examples, steps 110 and 112 may not be performed, and once a selection of one of the various modes of transportation is selected, method 100 may proceed to step 114 and generate and display a route for the selected mode of transportation. For example, if a user selects drive (in step 108, from FIG. 7 or 9, and/or route directions after selecting car share or ride share), a route may be displayed for driving from a start location to a destination location. FIG. 15 illustrates a resulting exemplary GUI. In FIG. 15, only one option (e.g., a single route 1435 from start location 1430 to destination location 1440 of electronic map 1410) is displayed. The route may be determined in any way, including but not limited to, set user preferences (e.g., set preferences of FIG. 7), sorting of modes of transportation (e.g., sort section 706 of FIGS. 8 and 10), initial settings, developer assumptions (e.g., an assumption that users prefer the shortest route), etc.”);
Newlin, however, fails to explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation exist and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation do not exist and; in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location; and in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation.
Elshenawy teaches in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation exist and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation do not exist (See at least Elshenawy Paragraph 48 “It is to be understood that the optimization can be performed subject to various additional constraints. For example, the optimization can be performed over the routing information 126 to find a least expensive route subject to an additional maximum time constraint for the trip. In another example, the optimization can be performed over the routing information 126 to find a fastest route subject to an additional constraint that defines a maximum number of modality transfers for the trip. In still another example, an additional constraint can be a location constraint that defines an operational region within which an entirety of the route plan should be situated. In another example, the location constraint can define an operational region in which no part of the route plan should enter. Such additional constraints can be defined by the user by way of input at the client computing device 102 and the constraints included in the trip request transmitted by the transportation client 136. In further embodiments, additional constraints on the optimization can be applied as default constraints by the transportation server 134. By way of example, the transportation server 134 can exclude certain transportation modalities such as walking, scooters, and bicycles in areas where the routing information 126 indicates that severe weather such as heavy rainfall is present.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Newlin to include in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation exist and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation do not exist, as taught by Elshenawy as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate vehicle route determination (Elshenawy Paragraph 7 “In an exemplary embodiment, a multiple-modality transportation system includes a client computing device, a server computing device, and an AV, wherein the server computing device is in communication with the client computing device and the AV. A user of the client computing device can interact with the client computing device to order transportation from a present location of the user (or other trip origin desired by the user) to a trip destination.”).
Newlin in view of Elshenawy fail to explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location; and in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation.
Dolgov teaches in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location (See at least Dolgov FIG. 12A and Col. 17 “If the deviation value is less than or equal to the maximum deviation value, the autonomous driving computer may display the route options, including the predetermined route and the alternate route. The user may then select from one of the route options. The selected route may be received by the autonomous driving computer. The autonomous driving computer may either display the selected route as a set of turn-by-turn directions to a user driving the vehicle manually or follows the generated route to the destination autonomously (or semi-autonomously)”); and
in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation (See at least Dolgov FIG. 12A and Col. 16 “If the user does have permission to use the vehicle, or if there are no particular date and/or time restrictions, the user may provide a destination. This destination is received by the autonomous driving computer at block 1214. The autonomous driving computer then determines, based on the identified profile, whether the destination is a permissible destination at block 1216. If not, the vehicle may present a denial or warning message such as “You do not have permission to go to this destination,” as shown in block 1218. The vehicle may allow the user to submit another destination at block 1220. If the user does not submit a new destination, the process again returns to block 1210 where the autonomous driving computer may deny the user the ability to use the vehicle or may allow the user to operate the vehicle in the emergency mode.”);
while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation (See at least Dolgov FIG. 12A and Col. 17 “If the deviation value is less than or equal to the maximum deviation value, the autonomous driving computer may display the route options, including the predetermined route and the alternate route. The user may then select from one of the route options. The selected route may be received by the autonomous driving computer. The autonomous driving computer may either display the selected route as a set of turn-by-turn directions to a user driving the vehicle manually or follows the generated route to the destination autonomously (or semi-autonomously)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Newlin in view of Elshenawy to include in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location; and in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, as taught by Dolgov as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal vehicle route determination (Dolgov Abstract “Aspects of the present disclosure relate generally to limiting the use of an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle by particular occupants based on permission data”).
With respect to claim 2, Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov teach that the navigation directions using the first mode of transportation are based on a velocity differential between the first mode of transportation along the navigation directions and another mode of transportation that exists along the navigation directions (See at least Newlin Paragraph 43 “The mapping routing server 40 may have a processor configured to retrieve mapping information and generate routing information. Additionally or alternatively, mapping routing server 40 may include a processor configured to retrieve and/or provide data to/from third party transportation APIs 60 such as, for example, those of ride share services, car share services, bike share services, taxis, and/or public transportation. Route condition server 45 may include a processor configured to retrieve route condition information and/or provide route condition information from condition source database 70 or third party sources. Additionally or alternatively, route condition server 45 may have database that is a subset of condition source/database 70 or a separate database of historic average speeds, route terrain, speed limits, current and/or historic traffic data, elevation change along the route, average parking spots, tolls, number/location of police along the path, average distance from parking to destination, etc. The user interface server 50 may be configured to generate and display GUIs disclosed with respect to FIGS. 3-18, receive and process user input, such as mode, partner, route, and/or condition preferences.”).
With respect to claim 6, Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov teach that the first mode of transportation is a default mode of transportation for providing navigation directions, and the one or more criteria are not satisfied, wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when the navigation directions are less than a predetermined distance associated with the first mode of transportation, and is not satisfied when the navigation directions are greater than the predetermined distance associated with the first mode of transportation (See at least Elshenawy Paragraph 41 “The transportation client 136 can further be configured to generate the trip request based upon a user selection of a desired optimization parameter. For example, in connection with inputting the desired destination of the user, the user can further indicate whether the user wants to take a fastest route, a least expensive route, or a route having the shortest distance. In further embodiments, a user can adjust a relative preference among multiple optimization parameters. In a non-limiting example, the user can indicate a relative preference for time versus money. By way of further example, the user can indicate that a route that is a first threshold amount longer in duration is acceptable to the user provided that the route is at least a second threshold amount cheaper to take. The transportation client 136 can generate the trip request to include data indicating desired optimization parameters of the user and optionally a relative preference among multiple optimization parameters.”).
With respect to claim 7, Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov teach in response to receiving the sequence of the one or more inputs corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions, in accordance with a determination that weather information associated with the navigation directions satisfies one or more weather criteria, displaying a visual indication of the weather information (See at least Elshenawy Paragraph 45 “The routing information 126 includes a map of a region that includes the trip origin and the trip destination indicated in the trip request. The routing information 126 can also include other data pertaining to various transportation modalities operating in the region or various conditions that can affect transportation through the region. By way of example, the routing information 126 can include routes and schedules for other modalities of transportation such as trains and buses, locations of personal transportation devices such as bicycles and scooters available on rideshare services, data indicating traffic conditions on streets in the region (e.g., updated in real time), and the like. The routing information 126 can further include locations of AVs in a fleet of AVs operating in the region. Still further, the routing information 126 can include real time updated weather and road conditions such as precipitation, outside temperature, road surface conditions (e.g., dry, wet, icy, etc.), and the like.”).
With respect to claim 9, it is important to note per the conditional limitation section above, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, only requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. See MPEP 2111.04, II. Accordingly, a structure capable of performing limitation (6) as noted above, such as a processor, is sufficient to disclose this limitation. See MPEP 2114. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
With respect to claim 9, Newlin teaches an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from a first physical location to a second physical location using a first mode of transportation; and in response to the sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions: (See at least Newlin Paragraph 42 “For example, the user device 10 may receive information via the network 5 from the system of servers 35, having one or more servers such as mapping routing servers 40, route condition servers 45, user interface servers 50, and/or any other suitable servers. Each server in the system of servers 35, including mapping routing server 40, route condition server 45, and UI server 50 may each represent any of various types of servers including, but not limited to a web server, an application server, a proxy server, a network server, or a server farm. Each server in the system of servers 35 may be implemented using, for example, any computing systems configured for serving data to other computing devices including, but not limited to, user devices 10 (including mobile device 15, GPS device 20, and computer 25) or any other computing device (not shown) via network 5. Such a computing system can include, but is not limited to, a server device having a processor and memory for executing and storing instructions. The memory may include any type of random access memory (RAM) or read-only memory (ROM) embodied in a physical storage medium, such as magnetic storage including floppy disk, hard disk, or magnetic tape; semiconductor storage such as solid-state disk (SSD) or flash memory; optical disc storage; or magneto-optical disc storage. Software may include one or more applications and an operating system. Hardware can include, but is not limited to, a processor, memory, and graphical user interface display. Each server may also have multiple processors and multiple shared or separate memory components that are configured to function together within, for example, a clustered computing environment or server farm.” | Paragraph 49 “In some embodiments, multiple and/or available modes of transportation may then be displayed. FIG. 3 illustrates a GUI for display of various modes of transportation. As shown in FIG. 3, the GUI may include route information section 202, a quick directions section 210, “View Other Options” icon 212, “Compare These” icon 216, and/or “Compare More” icon 214. Route information section 202 may include time of departure 204, starting location 206, and/or destination location 208. A user may set the time of departure section 204 to be the current time or any time in the future. A default setting may be set for the time of departure section 204. In some examples, the default setting for the time of departure may be the current time, the next 5, 10, or 15 minute increment, and/or a common time for this or other users to request directions (e.g., setting the time of departure from a downtown location to 6:15 p.m. because this user often leaves downtown at 6:15 p.m.). Starting location 206 may include the current location, as shown in FIG. 3, or an address, POI, geographic coordinate, or intersection input by the user.”).
displaying in a user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions using the first mode of transportation without displaying a visual indication of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using a respective mode of transportation different from the first mode of transportation (See at least Newlin FIGS. 15-18 and Paragraph 84 “In some examples, steps 110 and 112 may not be performed, and once a selection of one of the various modes of transportation is selected, method 100 may proceed to step 114 and generate and display a route for the selected mode of transportation. For example, if a user selects drive (in step 108, from FIG. 7 or 9, and/or route directions after selecting car share or ride share), a route may be displayed for driving from a start location to a destination location. FIG. 15 illustrates a resulting exemplary GUI. In FIG. 15, only one option (e.g., a single route 1435 from start location 1430 to destination location 1440 of electronic map 1410) is displayed. The route may be determined in any way, including but not limited to, set user preferences (e.g., set preferences of FIG. 7), sorting of modes of transportation (e.g., sort section 706 of FIGS. 8 and 10), initial settings, developer assumptions (e.g., an assumption that users prefer the shortest route), etc.”);
Newlin, however, fails to explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation exist and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation do not exist and; in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location; and in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation.
Elshenawy teaches in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation exist and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation do not exist (See at least Elshenawy Paragraph 48 “It is to be understood that the optimization can be performed subject to various additional constraints. For example, the optimization can be performed over the routing information 126 to find a least expensive route subject to an additional maximum time constraint for the trip. In another example, the optimization can be performed over the routing information 126 to find a fastest route subject to an additional constraint that defines a maximum number of modality transfers for the trip. In still another example, an additional constraint can be a location constraint that defines an operational region within which an entirety of the route plan should be situated. In another example, the location constraint can define an operational region in which no part of the route plan should enter. Such additional constraints can be defined by the user by way of input at the client computing device 102 and the constraints included in the trip request transmitted by the transportation client 136. In further embodiments, additional constraints on the optimization can be applied as default constraints by the transportation server 134. By way of example, the transportation server 134 can exclude certain transportation modalities such as walking, scooters, and bicycles in areas where the routing information 126 indicates that severe weather such as heavy rainfall is present.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Newlin to include in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation exist and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation do not exist, as taught by Elshenawy as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate vehicle route determination (Elshenawy Paragraph 7 “In an exemplary embodiment, a multiple-modality transportation system includes a client computing device, a server computing device, and an AV, wherein the server computing device is in communication with the client computing device and the AV. A user of the client computing device can interact with the client computing device to order transportation from a present location of the user (or other trip origin desired by the user) to a trip destination.”).
Newlin in view of Elshenawy fail to explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location; and in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation.
Dolgov teaches in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location (See at least Dolgov FIG. 12A and Col. 17 “If the deviation value is less than or equal to the maximum deviation value, the autonomous driving computer may display the route options, including the predetermined route and the alternate route. The user may then select from one of the route options. The selected route may be received by the autonomous driving computer. The autonomous driving computer may either display the selected route as a set of turn-by-turn directions to a user driving the vehicle manually or follows the generated route to the destination autonomously (or semi-autonomously)”); and
in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation (See at least Dolgov FIG. 12A and Col. 16 “If the user does have permission to use the vehicle, or if there are no particular date and/or time restrictions, the user may provide a destination. This destination is received by the autonomous driving computer at block 1214. The autonomous driving computer then determines, based on the identified profile, whether the destination is a permissible destination at block 1216. If not, the vehicle may present a denial or warning message such as “You do not have permission to go to this destination,” as shown in block 1218. The vehicle may allow the user to submit another destination at block 1220. If the user does not submit a new destination, the process again returns to block 1210 where the autonomous driving computer may deny the user the ability to use the vehicle or may allow the user to operate the vehicle in the emergency mode.”);
while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation (See at least Dolgov FIG. 12A and Col. 17 “If the deviation value is less than or equal to the maximum deviation value, the autonomous driving computer may display the route options, including the predetermined route and the alternate route. The user may then select from one of the route options. The selected route may be received by the autonomous driving computer. The autonomous driving computer may either display the selected route as a set of turn-by-turn directions to a user driving the vehicle manually or follows the generated route to the destination autonomously (or semi-autonomously)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Newlin in view of Elshenawy to include in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location; and in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, as taught by Dolgov as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal vehicle route determination (Dolgov Abstract “Aspects of the present disclosure relate generally to limiting the use of an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle by particular occupants based on permission data”).
The conditional limitations carried out in claim 9 are performed by a processor (Spec. FIG. 1A, 120 “processor”). Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov disclose the same structure (Newlin Paragraph 42 “Such a computing system can include, but is not limited to, a server device having a processor and memory for executing and storing instructions”) such that Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov disclose a structure capable of performing limitation (6).
With respect to claim 10, Newlin teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to
receiving, via the one or more input devices, a sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from a first physical location to a second physical location using a first mode of transportation; and in response to the sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions: (See at least Newlin Paragraph 42 “For example, the user device 10 may receive information via the network 5 from the system of servers 35, having one or more servers such as mapping routing servers 40, route condition servers 45, user interface servers 50, and/or any other suitable servers. Each server in the system of servers 35, including mapping routing server 40, route condition server 45, and UI server 50 may each represent any of various types of servers including, but not limited to a web server, an application server, a proxy server, a network server, or a server farm. Each server in the system of servers 35 may be implemented using, for example, any computing systems configured for serving data to other computing devices including, but not limited to, user devices 10 (including mobile device 15, GPS device 20, and computer 25) or any other computing device (not shown) via network 5. Such a computing system can include, but is not limited to, a server device having a processor and memory for executing and storing instructions. The memory may include any type of random access memory (RAM) or read-only memory (ROM) embodied in a physical storage medium, such as magnetic storage including floppy disk, hard disk, or magnetic tape; semiconductor storage such as solid-state disk (SSD) or flash memory; optical disc storage; or magneto-optical disc storage. Software may include one or more applications and an operating system. Hardware can include, but is not limited to, a processor, memory, and graphical user interface display. Each server may also have multiple processors and multiple shared or separate memory components that are configured to function together within, for example, a clustered computing environment or server farm.” | Paragraph 49 “In some embodiments, multiple and/or available modes of transportation may then be displayed. FIG. 3 illustrates a GUI for display of various modes of transportation. As shown in FIG. 3, the GUI may include route information section 202, a quick directions section 210, “View Other Options” icon 212, “Compare These” icon 216, and/or “Compare More” icon 214. Route information section 202 may include time of departure 204, starting location 206, and/or destination location 208. A user may set the time of departure section 204 to be the current time or any time in the future. A default setting may be set for the time of departure section 204. In some examples, the default setting for the time of departure may be the current time, the next 5, 10, or 15 minute increment, and/or a common time for this or other users to request directions (e.g., setting the time of departure from a downtown location to 6:15 p.m. because this user often leaves downtown at 6:15 p.m.). Starting location 206 may include the current location, as shown in FIG. 3, or an address, POI, geographic coordinate, or intersection input by the user.”).
displaying in a user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions using the first mode of transportation without displaying a visual indication of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using a respective mode of transportation different from the first mode of transportation (See at least Newlin FIGS. 15-18 and Paragraph 84 “In some examples, steps 110 and 112 may not be performed, and once a selection of one of the various modes of transportation is selected, method 100 may proceed to step 114 and generate and display a route for the selected mode of transportation. For example, if a user selects drive (in step 108, from FIG. 7 or 9, and/or route directions after selecting car share or ride share), a route may be displayed for driving from a start location to a destination location. FIG. 15 illustrates a resulting exemplary GUI. In FIG. 15, only one option (e.g., a single route 1435 from start location 1430 to destination location 1440 of electronic map 1410) is displayed. The route may be determined in any way, including but not limited to, set user preferences (e.g., set preferences of FIG. 7), sorting of modes of transportation (e.g., sort section 706 of FIGS. 8 and 10), initial settings, developer assumptions (e.g., an assumption that users prefer the shortest route), etc.”);
Newlin, however, fails to explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation exist and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation do not exist and; in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location; and in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation.
Elshenawy teaches in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation exist and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation do not exist (See at least Elshenawy Paragraph 48 “It is to be understood that the optimization can be performed subject to various additional constraints. For example, the optimization can be performed over the routing information 126 to find a least expensive route subject to an additional maximum time constraint for the trip. In another example, the optimization can be performed over the routing information 126 to find a fastest route subject to an additional constraint that defines a maximum number of modality transfers for the trip. In still another example, an additional constraint can be a location constraint that defines an operational region within which an entirety of the route plan should be situated. In another example, the location constraint can define an operational region in which no part of the route plan should enter. Such additional constraints can be defined by the user by way of input at the client computing device 102 and the constraints included in the trip request transmitted by the transportation client 136. In further embodiments, additional constraints on the optimization can be applied as default constraints by the transportation server 134. By way of example, the transportation server 134 can exclude certain transportation modalities such as walking, scooters, and bicycles in areas where the routing information 126 indicates that severe weather such as heavy rainfall is present.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Newlin to include in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation exist and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied because navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation do not exist, as taught by Elshenawy as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate vehicle route determination (Elshenawy Paragraph 7 “In an exemplary embodiment, a multiple-modality transportation system includes a client computing device, a server computing device, and an AV, wherein the server computing device is in communication with the client computing device and the AV. A user of the client computing device can interact with the client computing device to order transportation from a present location of the user (or other trip origin desired by the user) to a trip destination.”).
Newlin in view of Elshenawy fail to explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location; and in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation.
Dolgov teaches in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location (See at least Dolgov FIG. 12A and Col. 17 “If the deviation value is less than or equal to the maximum deviation value, the autonomous driving computer may display the route options, including the predetermined route and the alternate route. The user may then select from one of the route options. The selected route may be received by the autonomous driving computer. The autonomous driving computer may either display the selected route as a set of turn-by-turn directions to a user driving the vehicle manually or follows the generated route to the destination autonomously (or semi-autonomously)”); and
in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation (See at least Dolgov FIG. 12A and Col. 16 “If the user does have permission to use the vehicle, or if there are no particular date and/or time restrictions, the user may provide a destination. This destination is received by the autonomous driving computer at block 1214. The autonomous driving computer then determines, based on the identified profile, whether the destination is a permissible destination at block 1216. If not, the vehicle may present a denial or warning message such as “You do not have permission to go to this destination,” as shown in block 1218. The vehicle may allow the user to submit another destination at block 1220. If the user does not submit a new destination, the process again returns to block 1210 where the autonomous driving computer may deny the user the ability to use the vehicle or may allow the user to operate the vehicle in the emergency mode.”);
while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation (See at least Dolgov FIG. 12A and Col. 17 “If the deviation value is less than or equal to the maximum deviation value, the autonomous driving computer may display the route options, including the predetermined route and the alternate route. The user may then select from one of the route options. The selected route may be received by the autonomous driving computer. The autonomous driving computer may either display the selected route as a set of turn-by-turn directions to a user driving the vehicle manually or follows the generated route to the destination autonomously (or semi-autonomously)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Newlin in view of Elshenawy to include in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation do exist, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation without displaying navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location; and in accordance with a determination that navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportations do not exist, forgoing display of the visual indication of an existence of navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; while displaying the visual indication of the existence of the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to display navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation; and in response to receiving the input corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, displaying in the user interface, via the display generation component, the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the respective mode of transportation, as taught by Dolgov as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal vehicle route determination (Dolgov Abstract “Aspects of the present disclosure relate generally to limiting the use of an autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle by particular occupants based on permission data”).
Claims 3-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newlin (US 20170074669 A1) (“Newlin”) in view of Elshenawy (US 20200273333 A1) (“Elshenawy”) in view of Dolgov (US 11720101 B1) (“Dolgov”) further in view of Khan (US 20150300823 A1) (“Khan”).
With respect to claim 3, Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov teach in accordance with a determination that, prior to receiving the request to display the navigation directions from the first physical location to the second physical location using the first mode of transportation, the electronic device has received a predetermined number of requests to present navigation directions using the first mode of transportation (See at least Newlin Paragraph 60 “Mode preferences section 608 of GUI 602 may include options to hide ride share, car share, and/or public transportation. For example, a user may not be a member of an available car share service (or in some examples, the specific car share company partnered with the app from FIG. 6) and may deselect and/or slide the indicator next to “hide car share” to the “on” position. In such examples, the car share options will not be displayed to the user when the user requests a route. In some embodiments, a user may have the option of hiding other forms of transportation, including but not limited to, ride share, public transportation, bike share, bike, and/or walk. The user may be able to vary when and where modes of transportation are hidden. For example, a user may choose to hide public transportation options when in New York City, but not when in Chicago. A user may choose to hide car share options from 7:00-9:00 a.m., because the user does not want to drive during rush hour.”).
Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov, however, fail to explicitly disclose displaying, via the display generation component, a selectable option that, when selected, causes the electronic device to make the first mode of transportation a default mode of transportation for displaying navigation directions.
Kahn teaches displaying, via the display generation component, a selectable option that, when selected, causes the electronic device to make the first mode of transportation a default mode of transportation for displaying navigation directions (See at least Khan Paragraph 83 “At block 780, the process determines whether the user changed the settings. In one embodiment, the user may adjust settings, after the user interface is set by the system. If the user has changed the settings, at block 785 the changes are stored. In one embodiment, if the user consistently changes the settings in the same way, the defaults are automatically adjusted, at block 785. This enables the user to indirectly change the defaults without actually accessing the settings of the device. The process then ends at block 795.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov to include displaying, via the display generation component, a selectable option that, when selected, causes the electronic device to make the first mode of transportation a default mode of transportation for displaying navigation directions, as taught by Khan as disclosed above, in order to ensure an optimal route is presented to a user (Khan Paragraph 2 “The present invention relates to a navigation system, and more particular to an improved personal navigation system.”).
With respect to claim 4, Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov in view of Khan teach receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to a request to display second navigation directions from a third respective physical location to a fourth respective physical location, wherein the second sequence of one or more inputs does not specify a mode of transportation (See at least Khan Paragraph 27 “Motorized vehicle guidance 230 provides guidance for a car, bus, or other vehicle. As noted in FIG. 2B, in one embodiment this requires observation of road directionality (e.g. one way streets, turns being available, etc.). Furthermore, in general for motorized vehicle guidance 230, the system prefers freeways and expressways over city streets, and routes over the fastest route. In one embodiment, when available the system also takes traffic into consideration. In one embodiment real-time traffic information may be received. In another embodiment, statistical traffic patterns may be used. Such statistical traffic patterns reflect known traffic patterns associated with the location and time of day. In one embodiment, a traffic database such as NAVTEQ TRAFFIC PATTERNS™ may be used.” | Paragraph 40 “The actual mode selection is done by mode selector 340. Mode selector 340 receives data from user context logic 338. User context logic 338 receives sensor data from sensors 325, and uses this information to evaluate the user's current activity. In one embodiment, user context logic 338 attempts to deduce a logical chain of actions based on the user's current actions (as detected by sensors 325) and past actions. For example, based on a user setting a first waypoint for a restaurant and a second waypoint for a movie theater, the user context logic 338 determines that the user is intending to go to a restaurant and then a movie. This can be used to automatically initiate guidance to the movie theater after dinner, or guidance back to the vehicle of the movie theater is too far to walk. In one embodiment, the system may even utilize external data, e.g. the user purchased tickets to a particular show, to further determine user context (e.g. a need to hurry to get to the theater in time for the start of the movie).”); and
in response to the second sequence of one or more inputs: in accordance with a determination that the first mode of transportation is the default mode of transportation, displaying, via the display generation component, the second navigation directions using the first mode of transportation; and in accordance with a determination that that the respective mode of transportation is the default mode of transportation, displaying, via the display generation component, the second navigation directions using the respective mode of transportation (See at least Khan Paragraph 74 “At block 725, the process determines whether the motion could be ambulatory. Ambulatory motion includes walking, running and other motions. If so, the process continues to block 740. If the motion could be muscle powered, as determined at block 725, the process continues to block 740 as well. If it is neither ambulatory nor muscle powered, the process determines whether it could be the motion of a motorized vehicle, at block 735. If so, the process continues to block 770 as well. If the motion cannot be identified, the process continues to block 755, and the default mode is selected. The default mode, in one embodiment, is driving mode.” | Paragraph 83 “At block 780, the process determines whether the user changed the settings. In one embodiment, the user may adjust settings, after the user interface is set by the system. If the user has changed the settings, at block 785 the changes are stored. In one embodiment, if the user consistently changes the settings in the same way, the defaults are automatically adjusted, at block 785. This enables the user to indirectly change the defaults without actually accessing the settings of the device. The process then ends at block 795.”).
With respect to claim 5, Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov teach in response to the sequence of one or more inputs corresponding to the request to display the navigation directions (See at least Newlin Paragraph 49): in accordance with the determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied (See at least Elshenawy Paragraph 48).
Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov, however, fail to explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that a second mode of transportation is a default mode of transportation for providing navigation directions, the respective mode of transportation is the second mode of transportation, and in accordance with a determination that a third mode of transportation, different from the second mode of transportation, is the default mode of transportation for providing navigation directions, the respective mode of transportation is the third mode of transportation.
Kahn teaches in accordance with a determination that a second mode of transportation is a default mode of transportation for providing navigation directions, the respective mode of transportation is the second mode of transportation, and in accordance with a determination that a third mode of transportation, different from the second mode of transportation, is the default mode of transportation for providing navigation directions, the respective mode of transportation is the third mode of transportation (See at least Khan Paragraph 74 “At block 725, the process determines whether the motion could be ambulatory. Ambulatory motion includes walking, running and other motions. If so, the process continues to block 740. If the motion could be muscle powered, as determined at block 725, the process continues to block 740 as well. If it is neither ambulatory nor muscle powered, the process determines whether it could be the motion of a motorized vehicle, at block 735. If so, the process continues to block 770 as well. If the motion cannot be identified, the process continues to block 755, and the default mode is selected. The default mode, in one embodiment, is driving mode.” | Paragraph 83 “At block 780, the process determines whether the user changed the settings. In one embodiment, the user may adjust settings, after the user interface is set by the system. If the user has changed the settings, at block 785 the changes are stored. In one embodiment, if the user consistently changes the settings in the same way, the defaults are automatically adjusted, at block 785. This enables the user to indirectly change the defaults without actually accessing the settings of the device. The process then ends at block 795.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov to include that in accordance with a determination that a second mode of transportation is a default mode of transportation for providing navigation directions, the respective mode of transportation is the second mode of transportation, and in accordance with a determination that a third mode of transportation, different from the second mode of transportation, is the default mode of transportation for providing navigation directions, the respective mode of transportation is the third mode of transportation, as taught by Khan as disclosed above, in order to ensure an optimal route is presented to a user (Khan Paragraph 2 “The present invention relates to a navigation system, and more particular to an improved personal navigation system.”).
With respect to claim 8, Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov teach in accordance with a determination that a route from the first physical location too the second physical location satisfies one or more second criteria, the respect mode of transportation is a second mode of transportation; in accordance with a determination that the route from the first physical location to the second physical location fails to satisfy the one or more second criteria:
Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov, however, fail to explicitly disclose that the route uses a second mode of transportation and in accordance with a determination that a route from the first physical location to the second physical location using a third mode of transportation satisfies one or more third criteria, the respective mode of transportation is a third mode of transportation.
Kahn teaches that the route uses a second mode of transportation and in accordance with a determination that a route from the first physical location to the second physical location using a third mode of transportation satisfies one or more third criteria, the respective mode of transportation is a third mode of transportation (See at least Khan Paragraph 74 “At block 725, the process determines whether the motion could be ambulatory. Ambulatory motion includes walking, running and other motions. If so, the process continues to block 740. If the motion could be muscle powered, as determined at block 725, the process continues to block 740 as well. If it is neither ambulatory nor muscle powered, the process determines whether it could be the motion of a motorized vehicle, at block 735. If so, the process continues to block 770 as well. If the motion cannot be identified, the process continues to block 755, and the default mode is selected. The default mode, in one embodiment, is driving mode.” | Paragraph 83 “At block 780, the process determines whether the user changed the settings. In one embodiment, the user may adjust settings, after the user interface is set by the system. If the user has changed the settings, at block 785 the changes are stored. In one embodiment, if the user consistently changes the settings in the same way, the defaults are automatically adjusted, at block 785. This enables the user to indirectly change the defaults without actually accessing the settings of the device. The process then ends at block 795.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Newlin in view of Elshenawy in view of Dolgov to include that the route uses a second mode of transportation and in accordance with a determination that a route from the first physical location to the second physical location using a third mode of transportation satisfies one or more third criteria, the respective mode of transportation is a third mode of transportation, as taught by Khan as disclosed above, in order to ensure an optimal route is presented to a user (Khan Paragraph 2 “The present invention relates to a navigation system, and more particular to an improved personal navigation system.”).
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM ABDOALATIF ALSOMAIRY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667 /KENNETH J MALKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667