DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Figs. 21A-37B and Claims 1, 6-14, and 21-24 in the reply filed on 02/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 21, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galloway et al. (US 7,293,395 B1 – hereinafter Galloway) in view of Igel et al. (US 3,410,452 – hereinafter Igel) and Vardakostas et al. (US 2016/0213054 A1 – hereinafter Vardakostas).
Re Claim 1:Galloway discloses an introduction system for dispensing cartridges (30) into a moving beverage container (24) during a packaging process for beverage containers (24), the introduction system comprising: a transition guide (lower portion of 72 – from 72 to 30 -see Fig. 3) configured to receive cartridges (30) from a source (at 90); a dropping mechanism (at 100, at 106, at 108) disposed below the transition guide (lower portion of 72 – from 72 to 30 -see Fig. 3), the dropping mechanism (at 100, at 106, at 108) being actuatable between: a retaining position in which the dropping mechanism (at 100, at 106, at 108) retains a first cartridge (30) received from the transition guide (lower portion of 72 – from 72 to 30 -see Fig. 3) on a retaining surface (at 102, at 104) of the dropping mechanism (at 100, at 106, at 108), a releasing position in which the dropping mechanism (at 100, at 106, at 108) permits the first cartridge (30) to be released into a beverage container (24) (see Figs. 11 and 12), and a control system configured to actuate the dropping mechanism (at 100) from the retaining position to the releasing position in synchronization with movement of the beverage container (24) such that the first cartridge (30) is released into the beverage container (24) (see col. 5 lines 45-65), but fails to teach a releasing position in which the dropping mechanism permits the first cartridge to be released into a beverage container through a dropping slot of the dropping mechanism; and a retaining pin positioned to retain the first cartridge on the retaining surface and prevent the first cartridge from falling into the dropping slot while the dropping mechanism is in the retaining position;
Igel teaches a releasing position in which a dropping mechanism (at 28, at 38, at 37) permits a first (product) to be released into a (dispensed configuration) through a dropping slot (35) of the dropping mechanism (at 28, at 38, at 37); and a retaining (wall) (see wall member of tube 44 between 30 and 35) positioned to retain the first (product) on a retaining surface (31) and prevent the first (product) from falling into the dropping slot (35) while the dropping mechanism (at 28, at 38, at 37) is in a retaining position (see Fig. 1) (see Figs. 1-19). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Galloway to include a dropping mechanism with a dropping slot and retaining (wall), as suggested by Igel, to provide an alternative dispensing technique as known within the art for drop dispensing of products, which reliably operates as suggested by Igel.
Vardakostas teaches a retaining pin (114) (see Fig. 2, see paragraph [0034] (any shape, profile, geometry), see Figs. 1-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Galloway with that of Igel and a retaining pin as suggested by Vardakostas, to provide a secondary support for a retaining member while also blocking movement of product to be dispensed.
Further Re Claim 8:
Galloway discloses a proximity sensor (110) configured to detect the beverage container (24) as it moves along a conveyor line (50) below the introduction system, the proximity sensor (110) being configured to transmit a signal to the control system (200) upon detecting the beverage container (24), wherein the control system (200) is configured to actuate the dropping mechanism (100) from the retaining position to the releasing position in response to the signal (see col. 9 lines 10-30, see col. 9 line 10 to col. 10 line 10) (Examiner notes the device can detect missing containers and halt until the container is present, thus, can detect and control operation of the device based on when detecting a container).
Re Claims 6, 7, 21, 23, and 24:Galloway discloses wherein: the dropping mechanism (at 100) comprises a sliding gate (100) and a releasing plate (see plate supporting or adjacent 71 with legs extending downwards – near 12 – see Fig. 10), the transition guide (lower portion of 72 – from 72 to 30 -see Fig. 3) being disposed on a first side (upper side) of the sliding gate (100 – linear translation) and the releasing plate (see plate supporting or adjacent 71 with legs extending downwards – near 12 – see Fig. 10) disposed on an opposing side (lower side) of the sliding gate (100) (see Fig. 11); and a retaining surface (102, 104) configured to align with the transition guide (lower portion of 72 – from 72 to 30 -see Fig. 3) to receive the first cartridge (30) when the dropping mechanism (at 100) is in the retaining position; and wherein the sliding gate (100) and the releasing plate (see plate supporting or adjacent 71 with legs extending downwards – near 12 – see Fig. 10) are aligned such that the first cartridge (30) received by the sliding gate (100) is retained against the retaining surface (102, 104) until the sliding gate (100) is translated into the releasing position (see Figs. 10-11, see Figs. 1-12), but fails to teach the sliding gate comprises: a dropping slot configured to align with a conveyor line along which the beverage container is moved below the introduction system; wherein the sliding gate and the releasing plate are aligned such that the first cartridge received by the sliding gate is retained against the retaining surface until the sliding gate is translated into the releasing position, thereby aligning the dropping slot of the sliding gate with an opening in the releasing plate to permit the first cartridge to be released into the beverage container.
Igel teaches a sliding gate (28 – linear translation) comprises: a dropping slot (35) configured to align with a conveyor line (51) along which a (support/holder) is moved below an introduction system; wherein the sliding gate (28) and a releasing (section) (near 49) are aligned such that a first (product) received by the sliding gate (28) is retained against a retaining surface (31) until the sliding gate (28) is translated into the releasing position, thereby aligning the dropping slot (35) of the sliding gate (28) with an opening in the releasing (section) to permit the first (product) to be released into (onto) the (support/holder) (see Figs. 1-2, see Figs. 1-20) (Examiner notes the combination would allow the releasing of product into a beverage container as taught by Galloway). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Galloway to include a sliding gate with a dropping slot, as suggested by Igel, to provide an alternative dispensing technique as known within the art for drop dispensing of products, which reliably operates as suggested by Igel.
Vardakostas teaches a retaining pin (114) (see Fig. 2, see paragraph [0034] (any shape, profile, geometry), see Figs. 1-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Galloway with that of Igel and a retaining pin as suggested by Vardakostas, to provide a secondary support for a retaining member while also blocking movement of product to be dispensed.
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galloway et al. (US 7,293,395 B1 – hereinafter Galloway) in view of Igel.
Re Claims 9, 10, and 12-14:
Galloway discloses an introduction system for dispensing cartridges (30) into a moving beverage container (24) during a packaging process for beverage containers (24), the introduction system (107) comprising: a transition guide (lower portion of 72 – from 72 to 30 -see Fig. 3) configured to receive cartridges (30) from a source (at 90); a sliding gate (100) disposed below the transition guide (lower portion of 72 – from 72 to 30 -see Fig. 3) and movable between a retaining position and a releasing position, the sliding gate (100) comprising: a retaining surface (102, 104) configured to support a cartridge (30) received from the transition guide (lower portion of 72 – from 72 to 30 -see Fig. 3) when the sliding gate (100) is in the retaining position, and a releasing plate (see plate supporting or adjacent 71 with legs extending downwards, see lower portion of chute beneath openings 75 and 76 – near 12 – see Figs. 10 and 11) disposed on an opposing side (lower side) of the sliding gate (100) from the transition guide (lower portion of 72 – from 72 to 30 -see Fig. 3), the releasing plate see plate supporting or adjacent 71 with legs extending downwards – near 12 – see Fig. 10) comprising an opening (surround chute) aligned with a conveyor line (50) along which the beverage container (24) is moved below the introduction system (see Figs. 10-11, see Figs. 1-12), but fails to teach and a dropping slot configured to align with the cartridge when the sliding gate is in the releasing position to permit the cartridge to be released; wherein movement of the sliding gate into the releasing position aligns the dropping slot with the opening of the releasing plate to permit release of the cartridge through the dropping slot and the opening of the releasing plate into the beverage container.
Igel teaches a dropping slot (35) configured to align with a (product) when a sliding gate (28) is in a releasing position to permit the (product) to be released; wherein movement of the sliding gate (28) into the releasing position aligns the dropping slot (35) with an opening to permit release of the (product) through the dropping slot (35) and an opening of a releasing (section) into (onto) (a holder/support) (see Figs. 1-2, see Figs. 1-20) (Examiner notes the combination would allow the releasing of product into a beverage container as taught by Galloway). Re Claim 14: Igel teaches wherein an introduction system is mounted relative to a conveyor line (51) such that a central axis of the introduction system is oriented at least 10 degrees off from a longitudinal axis of a conveyor line (see Fig. 2 – see section 44). Examiner notes that Igel does not disclose specific values for 10 degrees, however, one of ordinary skill in the art is expected to routinely experiment with the parameters, especially when the specifics are not disclosed, so as to ascertain the optimum or workable ranges for a particular use. Accordingly, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the invention, through routine experimentation and optimization, for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify their invention to include the most optimum results and efficiency necessary for their particular invention since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have been motivated to combine the teachings of Galloway to include a sliding gate with a dropping slot, as suggested by Igel, to provide an alternative dispensing technique as known within the art for drop dispensing of products, which reliably operates as suggested by Igel. Examiner further notes that the combination would be capable of providing aligning with a releasing plate, by way of the corresponding parts operating in a predictable manner (the release plate being located below the dropping mechanism – as disclosed by Galloway) as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.L.R/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651