DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the response filed on March 2, 2026. In that response, claims 24-43 were amended. Claims 24-43 are treated on the merits in this action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (WO 2015/153011A1) in view of MacEwan (US 2017/0326270).
Johnson teaches implantable electrospun resorbable polymer fiber fragments having an average fiber diameter of 500 nm and particle diameter of about 0.1 µm to about 10 µm (paras.0007, 00110-11; see title; abstract; paras. 0018, 0076-91, 0110-22; Figs. 5A, 5B, 6B). Each fragment comprises “at least one polymer” (abstract; see, e.g.,paras.0005-08; claims 1, 12-14, 16). Figure 1 shows inter-fiber spacing 130 formed between adjacent windings, such as between winding 125a and 125b, such inter-fiber spacings 130 having “a diameter of about 2 microns to about 5 microns” and therefore having a size within the range in claims 24 and 31 (para.0059, Fig. 1; see Fig.3B showing interconnected pores having sizes well under 200 µm). The micronized nanofiber fragments were “mixed with adipose derived mesenchymal stem cells…” (para.00112) and loaded into syringes (paras.00114-22). The electrospun polymer fiber fragments can be added to a carrier medium and “applied topically onto a wound” (para.0083), injected into a joint or otherwise used to treat “tissue injuries such as muscle tears,…” (para.0084), or used to fill a tissue defect including wrinkles (para. 0085). Johnson teaches a gel injection medium (paras.0077, 0080, 0083). Electrospun polylactic acid fiber fragments can be mixed with other powders (para.0089).
Regarding claims 25-28, Johnson teaches using a combination of the recited polymers at ratios within the range in claims 29 and 30 (para.0047). Optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation does not support patentability absent comparative evidence of criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (citations omitted).
Johnson does not specifically teach an example particle formed from electrospun graft material comprising fibers of a first and a second fiber compositions as recited in claim 24.
MacEwan teaches “non-woven graft materials for use in specialized surgical procedures such as neurosurgical procedures, wound repair, oral surgery, dermal repair and regeneration, …” (para.0001; see entire document, title; abstract; claims 1-5, 9-12, 14). The material comprises “at least two distinct fiber compositions composed of different polymeric materials” (para.0001), specifically including the combination of a first non-woven fiber composition comprising poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) and a second non-woven fiber composition comprising polydioxanone (PDO) (paras.0010, 0046). MacEwan also teaches other polymers recited in claims 25-28 (paras.0011, 0037).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Johnson and MacEwan and prepare Johnson’s electrospun polymer fiber fragments formed by electrospinning a first and a second fiber compositions as in claim 24. The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because both are drawn to electrospun polymeric fibrous implants comprising two or more polymers, and MacEwan teaches that the combination of electrospun fibers of PLGA and PDO “on-biologic tissue substitute designed to provide optimal strength, handling, and suturability, while reducing local inflammation to provide improved wound healing and tissue regeneration” (para.0040).
Johnson does not expressly teach applying the electrospun nanofiber fragments onto a suture line and using them in combination with an electrospun graft material as in claims 37, 42, and 43.
However it would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to do so. The skilled person would have been motivated to apply the electrospun nanofiber fragments onto a suture line because Johnson teaches combining the electrospun nanofiber fragments with suitable carrier materials (paras.0089), “a method for making a biocompatible suture, comprising electrospinning a polymer solution onto a receiving surface, forming one or more non-overlapping nanofiber threads, removing the nanofiber threads from the receiving surface, and cutting the nanofiber threads into one or more biocompatible sutures” (abstract), and that mesenchymal “stem cells quickly attach, proliferate, and produce extracellular matrix on the nanofibers” which would improve wound healing. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” MPEP §2144.06 (I) (citations omitted).
Regarding claims 42 and 43, the skilled person would have been motivated to use the electrospun nanofiber fragments in combination with an electrospun graft material because Johnson teaches applying the nanofiber fragments topically to a wound (para.0083), and also teaches electrospun sutures and textiles for tissue repair (paras.0048, 0069, 0073, 0078-79).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 24-43 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 24-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12263269.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to a plurality of particles configured to improve wound healing, the plurality of particles comprising: an average diameter of less than 5000 μm, wherein the plurality of particles include the nanofiber matrix structure. The differences are that the ‘269 patent’s claims further recite the plurality of particles are formed from an electrospun graft material, wherein the electrospun graft material possesses a hybrid-scale fiber structure, and breaking down a sheet of the electrospun graft material to form the particles and hybrid-scale fiber structure. Hybrid-scale is fiber diameter of 1-3000 nm (col.4 lines 53-56, col.8 lines 65-67) which is less than the 5 µm and the pore size here. Therefore those claims anticipate the claims here.
Claims 24-43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24-27, 29, 30, and 33-43 of copending Application No. 19353328 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets are drawn to a plurality of particles configured to improve wound healing, comprising: a first fiber composition and a second fiber composition, wherein the first and second fiber composition each independently comprise a resorbable polymer; an average diameter of less than 5000 um; wherein the plurality of particles comprise a nanofiber matrix. The ’328 application’s claims further recite “the first and second fiber compositions are configured to break down into one or more acidic byproducts when applied to a tissue site, and the one or more acidic byproducts are selected from the group consisting of monomers and oligomers comprising: lactic acid, glycolic acid, 6-hydroxycaproic acid, caproic acid, 4-hydroxybutyrate, 2-hydroxyethoxyacetic acid, glyoxylic acid, and oxalic acid”. However both claim sets recite the same resorbable polymers and therefore they would hydrolyze into the recited byproducts when applied to a tissue site.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 24-43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24-43 of copending Application No. 19353396 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets are drawn to a plurality of particles comprising: a first fiber composition and a second fiber composition, wherein the first and second fiber composition each independently comprise a resorbable polymer; an average diameter of less than 5000 um; wherein: the plurality of particles comprise a nanofiber matrix, and the plurality of particles are configured to improve wound healing. The ’396 application’s claims are drawn to a method of tissue repair in an individual in need thereof by using the plurality of particles; however the present claims recite “configured to improve wound healing” and therefore a skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the particles to repair a wounded tissue.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 24-43 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-33 and 41-47 of copending Application No. 19093009 (reference application) in view of Johnson (WO 2015/153011A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets are drawn to a plurality of particles configured to improve wound healing, comprising: a first fiber composition and a second fiber composition, wherein the first and second fiber composition each independently comprise a resorbable polymer; an average diameter of less than 5000 um; wherein the plurality of particles comprise a nanofiber matrix, and the first fiber composition and the second fiber composition each have a mean fiber diameter of less than 5 um. The present claims further recite “the plurality of particles comprise a plurality of pores comprising a mean pore size of from about 10 um2 to about 10,000 um2, and the plurality of particles have an architecture resembling a native extracellular matrix”. Therefore the present claims anticipate those of the ‘009 application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 2, 2026 included a request to reconsider the obviousness-type double patenting rejections.
The double patenting rejection(s) is/are maintained for the reasons discussed herein. They will be maintained until Applicant submits properly executed terminal disclaimer or arguments that effectively overcome the rejection(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614