DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Provencher et al. (US 2020/0303879) in view of Stokoe et al. (US 6,776,659).
Regarding claim 1, Provencher et al. disclose an electrical connector with a high speed mounting interface for mounting the electrical connector (600) to a substrate (1902), the electrical connector comprising:
a plurality of pairs of signal conductors (1300, see Fig. 13), wherein for each pair of signal conductors of the plurality of pairs of signal conductors, each signal conductor of the pair of signal conductors comprises:
a mating contact portion (1318A, 1318B);
a contact tail (1330A, 1330B, see Fig. 13) exposed at the mounting interface; and
an intermediate portion (1314A, 1314B) coupling the mating contact portion to the contact tail,
electromagnetic shielding (110) comprising tails (146) exposed at the mounting interface, wherein the tails are configured for insertion into holes (154) in the surface of the substrate and are disposed such that, for each pair of signal conductors of the plurality of pairs of signal conductors, a respective set of four tails of the electromagnetic shielding are adjacent contact tails of the pair of signal conductors.
Provencher et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the signal conductor comprise a compliant portion configured to generate a force pressing the contact tail towards the substrate when the mounting interface of the electrical connector is pressed against the substrate such that the signal conductor is configured for pressure mounting to a pad on a surface of the substrate; and
Stokoe et al. teach signal terminal (124) comprise a compliant portion (133) configured to generate a force pressing the contact tail towards a circuit board (50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the compliant portion into Provencher’s signal terminal, as taught by Stokoe et al. for reliable contact and eliminate holes which are weakening the circuit board structure.
Regarding claim 2, in the modified connector, Stokoe et al. disclose the compliant portion is configured as a spring that is configured to compress in a first direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate when a force along the first direction is exerted on the contact tail.
Regarding claim 3, in the modified connector, Payne et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the range of spring force is between 20-60 gram of force.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was to made to provide the range of spring force in between of 20-60 gram of force created by the compliant portion to ensure an optimal contact, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim a are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, in the modified connector, Provencher et al. in view of Payne et al. disclose:
the mating contact portion is configured to mate with a mating contact portion (314) of another connector (300) in a mating direction;
the contact tail is configured for mounting to a pad on a surface of a substrate in a mounting direction that is orthogonal to the mating direction; and
the intermediate portions of each pair of signal conductors are spaced from one another in a direction that is orthogonal to each of the mating direction and the mounting direction and are configured for broadside-coupling.
Regarding claim 5, in the modified connector, Provencher et al. disclose the tails of the electromagnetic shielding are press-fits.
Regarding claim 6, in the modified connector, Provencher et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the tails of the electromagnetic shielding are configured to retain the electrical connector to the substrate when the electrical connector is mounted to the substrate such that the contact tails are compressed in a first direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate.
Stokoe et al. teach ground terminal (250) comprise contact tails (255) are compressed in a first direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate (50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the portion allows for compression on the circuit board into Provencher’s ground terminal, as taught by Stokoe et al. for eliminating holes which are weakening the circuit board structure.
Regarding claim 7, in the modified connector, Provencher et al. disclose the signal conductor of each pair of signal conductors of the plurality of pairs of signal conductors, broadsides of the intermediate portions within the pair of signal conductors are parallel with one another.
[AltContent: textbox (broadsides)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Geest et al. (US 9,515,429) in view of Phillips (US 2002/0142669).
Regarding claim 1, De Geest et al. disclose an electrical connector with a high speed mounting interface for mounting the electrical connector (22) to a substrate (24), the electrical connector comprising:
a plurality of pairs of signal conductors (46), wherein for each pair of signal conductors of the plurality of pairs of signal conductors, each signal conductor of the pair of signal conductors comprises:
a mating contact portion;
a contact tail exposed at the mounting interface; and
an intermediate portion coupling the mating contact portion to the contact tail,
electromagnetic shielding (52) comprising tails (58, see Fig. 2B) exposed at the mounting interface, wherein the tails are configured for insertion into holes (80) in the surface of the substrate and are disposed such that, for each pair of signal conductors of the plurality of pairs of signal conductors, a respective set of four tails of the electromagnetic shielding are adjacent contact tails of the pair of signal conductors.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (tail portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (intermediate portion)][AltContent: textbox (Mating contact portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Distal edge)]
De Geest et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the signal conductor comprise a compliant portion configured to generate a force pressing the contact tail towards the substrate when the mounting interface of the electrical connector is pressed against the substrate such that the signal conductor is configured for pressure mounting to a pad on a surface of the substrate; and
Phillips teaches a terminal (2) comprise a compliant portion (8) configured to generate a force.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the compliant portion into Provencher’s signal terminal, as taught by Phillips for increasing contact force thus providing reliable contact.
Regarding claim 8, in the modified connector, De Geest et al. disclose each signal conductor of the pair of signal conductors comprise a distal edge and the signal conductor is configured for making and edge to pad connection when the connector is mounted to the substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-30 are allowed. The claims are allowed per Applicant’s argument in the Remark filed on 3/19/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834