DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chikugo US 2013/0279953 (Chikugo).
Regarding claim 1, Chikugo teaches a conveyance apparatus, comprising:
a conveyance route (19) that conveys a recording medium (S) on which an image has been fixed by a fixer;
a guide plate (600) that is provided in the conveyance route (19) and guides conveyance of the recording medium (S);
a heat insulating material (602) that is attached to the guide plate; and
a resin sheet (615) having electrical conductivity that is provided such that the heat insulating material is held between the resin sheet and the guide plate, wherein the resin sheet is grounded (¶0074, FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Chikugo teaches the conveyance apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the resin sheet (615) is bonded to the guide plate (¶0074, ¶0081).
Regarding claim 3, Chikugo teaches the conveyance apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the guide plate is constituted by metal (¶0075).
Regarding claim 4, Chikugo teaches the conveyance apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the resin sheet (615) is disposed so as to cover the heat insulating material (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Chikugo teaches the conveyance apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the resin sheet (615) is provided over an entire portion of the guide plate (601) in a width direction of the guide plate (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Chikugo teaches the conveyance apparatus according to claim 5, wherein:
a plurality of the resin sheets (615) is provided side by side in the width direction, and two resin sheets of the plurality of resin sheets are disposed with a gap between the two resin sheets, the two resin sheets being adjacent to each other in the width direction (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Chikugo teaches the conveyance apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
an image former (FIG. 5) that forms an image on a recording medium (S); and
a fixer (100) that fixes the image formed by the image former on the recording medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chikugo US 2013/0279953 (Chikugo) and Hamaya US 2009/0285614 (Hamaya).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Chikugo teaches the conveyance apparatus according to claim 1. Chikugo differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the conveyance route is a re-conveyance route through which the recording medium is reversed and re-conveyed toward the fixer. However this is a well known configuration. Hamaya teaches the conveyance route (102) is a re-conveyance route (103) through which the recording medium (S) is reversed and re-conveyed toward the fixer (¶0028-¶0031). Furthermore, Hamaya teaches the guide plate (120, 121, 122) is disposed, in the conveyance route, at a position facing a non-image-side surface of the recording medium, the position being a position of an upper wall of the conveyance route (FIG. 1 and 2). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the reversed sheet ejecting section taught by Hamaya with the device taught by Chikugo since the reverse path taught by Hamaya also uses guides made of resin (¶0040) and can reverse the paper without cause the gloss to become uneven (¶0070).
Claim 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chikugo US 2013/0279953 (Chikugo), Hamaya US 2009/0285614 (Hamaya) and Endo US 2014/0161502 A1 (Endo).
Regarding claim 9, Chikugo and Hamaya teach the conveyance apparatus according to claim 7. Chikugo and Hamaya differ from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: further comprising: an abutting roller and feeding roller. However this is known. Endo teaches an abutting roller (inside belt 122) that is disposed in the conveyance route and abuts on a leading end of the recording medium (FIG. 1); and a feeding roller (second roller in belt 122) that is disposed in the conveyance route and feeds out the recording medium toward the fixer (FIG. 1), wherein the resin sheet (209) is provided in a range in which the abutting roller and the feeding roller are disposed (FIG. 1). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the conveyance belt 122 taught by Endo to the device taught by Chikugo and Hamaya since Endo shows that doing so is part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art and adding the conveyance belt would yield the predictable result of the sheet being conveyed.
Conclusion
/JESSICA L ELEY/
Examiner, Art Unit 2852