DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08 May 2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0247157 by Lesenfants (Lesenfants).
Regarding claim 1, Lesenfants discloses a handgun (See Figures, clearly illustrated) comprising: a barrel (26); a firing mechanism including a firing pin (27) and a trigger assembly (40); a slide (24); a frame (22); and a safety mechanism (100/120/140) configured to selectively restrict actuation of the firing mechanism (See at least Paragraphs 0068-0079), wherein the safety mechanism includes a thumb safety mechanism configured to be selectively actuated between a safe configuration and a fire configuration (See at least Paragraphs 0068-0079), wherein the thumb safety mechanism includes a thumb safety lever (100 or 120), wherein the thumb safety lever includes a recessed channel (See Figures, clearly illustrated), and wherein the thumb safety mechanism includes a thumb safety lever retention mechanism (105/106) that includes a projecting retention member (105) that is at least partially received within the frame and is biased to extend within the recessed channel (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 2, Lesenfants further discloses wherein the projecting retention member includes at least one of a retention pin and a retention bearing (105).
Regarding claim 3, Lesenfants further discloses wherein the recessed channel and the projecting retention member together define a safe detent, which is configured to bias the thumb safety lever to remain in the safe configuration, and a fire detent, which is configured to bias the thumb safety lever to remain in the fire configuration (See at least Paragraphs 0068-0079).
Regarding claim 4, Lesenfants further discloses wherein the safe detent and the fire detent are separated from one another substantially vertically (See at least Figure 15, clearly illustrated).
Regarding claim 5, Lesenfants further discloses wherein the thumb safety lever retention mechanism further includes a projecting retention member biasing mechanism configured to bias the projecting retention member to extend within the recessed channel (106).
Regarding claim 6, Lesenfants further discloses wherein the frame defines a thumb safety lever retention mechanism recess configured to at least partially contain the projecting retention member (See at least Paragraph 0070).
Regarding claim 7, Lesenfants further discloses wherein the thumb safety mechanism is an ambidextrous thumb safety mechanism (See at least Paragraph 0068).
Regarding claim 8, Lesenfants further discloses wherein the recessed channel includes a hollowed out portion that defines a curved profile in a horizontal direction, the hollowed out portion being configured to retain the projecting retention member in the recessed channel to prevent accidental removal of the thumb safety lever from the handgun (See Figures, clearly illustrated).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 Form for a listing of applicable prior art references.
/Jonathan C Weber/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3641
JONATHAN C. WEBER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3641