2. This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendments/remarks received on February 24,2026.
3. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
4. Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed February 24,2026 have been fully considered but they are not deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 16, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in Roskowski(US 2017/0244962 A1)(hereinafter Roskowski) in view of CHEN et al.(US 2021/0350605 A1)(hereinafter Chen) in further view of CHEOK et al.(US 2018/0139456 A1)(hereinafter Cheok).
Regarding claim 1, Roskowski discloses a computer-implemented method for encoding video data [See Roskowski: at least Figs. 1-11 and par. 39, 48-52, 55-56, 63-68, 74-78, 81-82, 85-87, 91, 96-98, 102-103, 114-121 regarding video compression method], comprising:
identifying a keyframe in a source video [See Roskowski: at least Figs. 1-11 and par. 39, 48-52, 55-56, 63-68, 74-78, 81-82, 85-87, 91, 96-98, 102-103, 114-121 regarding A plurality of image frames are transformed into a train made of a key frame and one or more subsequent frames. Periodically or upon conditions in the content or external events, key frames are selected from among the plurality of image files. New key frames may be selected on a number of triggers…];
determining differences between the keyframe and one or more subsequent frames in the source video [See Roskowski: at least Figs. 1-11 and par. 39, 48-52, 55-56, 63-68, 74-78, 81-82, 85-87, 91, 96-98, 102-103, 114-121 regarding Another aspect of the invention is in the embodiment of circuits of a first appliance locally attached to a network of event capture terminals transforms and stores a plurality of image frames into a key frame and at least one subsequent frame. Meta data is stored separately or within the file headers of key frames and subsequent frames to enable decompression of a single subsequent frame… A key frame is stored in non-transitory media, and a subsequent frame is encoded as deltas from that key frame. The amount of compression being achieved is tracked, and when it starts decreasing a new key frame is generated. The delta frames are also encoded as JPEG compatible files, so they also benefit from the JPEG codec's compression/encoding gains. Thus, if one displays a raw delta frame, it appears as an all grey preview because each block of frequency coefficients are difference values between coefficients of a key frame and coefficients of a subsequent image frame…]; and
generating a diff image comprising blocks of image data mapping the differences[See Roskowski: at least Figs. 1-11 and par. 39, 48-52, 55-56, 63-68, 74-78, 81-82, 85-87, 91, 96-98, 102-103, 114-121 regarding The first compression is to compare a frame to its key frame and utilize the differences in frequency coefficients. A further compression is available when the differences indicate little change, by zeroing high frequency data. Further masking of significant differences in high frequency data applies when analysis of low frequency or DC data indicates the source is static noise or vibration…].
Roskowski does not explicitly disclose encoding video data with transparency features and encoding alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency.
However, encoding transparency features such as alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Chen[See Chen: at least Figs. 9-13, par. 190-192, 197-198, 289-291 regarding In addition to the image binary data obtained in the image encoding manner, the animation data corresponding to the bitmap composition tag code also includes a composition identifier (CompositionID), composition basic attributes (CompositionAttributes), and a bitmap image sequence (sequence). The composition basic attributes include a playback duration, a frame rate, and a background color of the composition. The bitmap image sequence includes a width, a height and counts of the bitmap images, key frame flags, and the image binary data sequence (bitmapRect[frameCount]). The image binary sequence includes a width and a height of the difference pixel area corresponding to each bitmap image, the coordinates (x, y) of the start pixel in the difference pixel area corresponding to each bitmap image, and the image binary data stream (fileBytes) corresponding to each difference pixel area… In addition to the image binary data obtained according to the video encoding manner, the animation data corresponding to the video composition tag code also includes a composition identifier (CompositionID), whether to include a transparency channel (hasAlpha), composition basic attributes (CompositionAttributes), and a video frame sequence (VideoSequence). The composition basic attributes include a playback duration, a frame rate, and a background color of the composition. The video frame sequence includes a width and a height of the bitmap images, position information of the transparency channel, parameters of the video encoding manner, key frame flags, and an image binary data sequence (videoFrames)...].
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Roskowski with Chen teachings by including “encoding video data with transparency features and encoding alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency” because this combination has the benefit of improving the encoding of video and frame sequence attribute information.
Roskowski and Chen do not explicitly disclose encoding alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency within the blocks of the diff image.
However, Cheok teaches encoding alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency within the blocks of the diff image [See Cheok: at least Figs. 5-9 and par. 24, 33-35, 42-45 regarding FIG. 7 is a system block diagram of video analytics and coding modules used in scene-adaptive video coding, according to an embodiment. A foreground alpha mask generated by the segmentation module is used to identify regions of interest (ROI) for region-based coding, as well as to adjust encoding parameters in the coding modules such as the Group-of-Pictures (GOP) size and/or the QP. The GOP is a group of successive video frames and defines the arrangement or organization of the I, P, and/or B-frames. The GOP includes an I-frame, followed by a series of P and/or B-frames. The GOP size is the number of frames between two I-frames. The QP is a parameter used in the quantization process and is associated with the amount of compression. The value of the QP influences the perceived quality of the compressed images. The segmented objects are classified as assigned to or belonging to 1 of N classes of objects through the classification process. The classified objects are tracked over multiple frames by establishing a correspondence or association between blobs in the frames… In this manner, temporal redundancies are used such that, in some instances, only the difference between consecutive frames is encoded… The value of the QP is used to specify the extent of compression that is desired. For example, a larger QP value uses fewer bits to code, resulting in more compression and reduced image quality. In another example, a smaller QP value can produce better quality images at lower compression. The alpha mask serves as input to a module to compute and derive the coordinates for overlays, which are geometric shapes used for bounding the detected targets. These overlays are often useful in surveillance video to draw attention to objects or activities of interest. The alpha mask is used to distinguish foreground objects from background objects. A higher QP value can then be used to encode the background object while a lower QP value can be used to encode the foreground object in such a way that the overall bitrate is reduced without compromising quality...].
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Roskowski and Chen with Cheok teachings by including “encoding alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency within the blocks of the diff image” because this combination has the benefit of adaptively compressing video to produce smooth, high-quality video [See Cheok: at least par. 2-5].
Further on, when combined, Roskowski, Chen and Cheok teach storing metadata comprising block coordinates indicating a position of the differences, source frame identifiers associated with each of the blocks, and the alpha channel data[See Roskowski: at least par. 52, 82 regarding storing every frequency coefficient of every block of pixels into a computer-readable store as a first key frame (Kframe)… storing all of the delta frequency coefficients of each block… when the resulting file size meets the target compression goal, storing the file as a subsequent file and storing meta data relating the subsequent file to its related key file… the method also includes storing metadata to identify the relationship and location of key frames and subsequent frames… See Chen: at least Figs. 9-13, par. 190-192, 197-198, 289-291 regarding The bitmap image sequence includes a width, a height and counts of the bitmap images, key frame flags, and the image binary data sequence (bitmapRect[frameCount]). The image binary sequence includes a width and a height of the difference pixel area corresponding to each bitmap image, the coordinates (x, y) of the start pixel in the difference pixel area corresponding to each bitmap image, and the image binary data stream (fileBytes) corresponding to each difference pixel area… In addition to the image binary data obtained according to the video encoding manner, the animation data corresponding to the video composition tag code also includes a composition identifier (CompositionID), whether to include a transparency channel (hasAlpha), composition basic attributes (CompositionAttributes), and a video frame sequence (VideoSequence)… The video frame sequence includes a width and a height of the bitmap images, position information of the transparency channel, parameters of the video encoding manner, key frame flags, and an image binary data sequence (videoFrames)... See Cheok: at least Figs. 5-9 and par. 24, 33-35, 42-45 regarding FIG. 7 is a system block diagram of video analytics and coding modules used in scene-adaptive video coding, according to an embodiment. A foreground alpha mask generated by the segmentation module is used to identify regions of interest (ROI) for region-based coding, as well as to adjust encoding parameters in the coding modules such as the Group-of-Pictures (GOP) size and/or the QP….The QP is a parameter used in the quantization process and is associated with the amount of compression. The value of the QP influences the perceived quality of the compressed images… In this manner, temporal redundancies are used such that, in some instances, only the difference between consecutive frames is encoded… The value of the QP is used to specify the extent of compression that is desired. For example, a larger QP value uses fewer bits to code, resulting in more compression and reduced image quality. In another example, a smaller QP value can produce better quality images at lower compression. The alpha mask serves as input to a module to compute and derive the coordinates for overlays, which are geometric shapes used for bounding the detected targets. These overlays are often useful in surveillance video to draw attention to objects or activities of interest. The alpha mask is used to distinguish foreground objects from background objects. A higher QP value can then be used to encode the background object while a lower QP value can be used to encode the foreground object in such a way that the overall bitrate is reduced without compromising quality…] ; and
compressing the keyframe, the diff images, and the metadata into a compressed file for transmission and playback[See Roskowski: at least par. 52, 78, 127-128 regarding Huffman encoding the stored delta frequency coefficients of each block; when the resulting file size meets the target compression goal, storing the file as a subsequent file and storing meta data relating the subsequent file to its related key file,…receiving a desired compression ratio between a subsequent frame and its key frame 1017; and applying the configured low pass filter to delta coefficients of a pixel block 1019…on the condition the desired compression ratio is met, storing the subsequent frame with meta data pointing to its key frame 1025; on the condition the desired compression ratio is not met, selecting the Jframe as a next key frame 1027…See Chen: at least Figs. 9-13, par. 190-192, 197-198, 289-291 regarding FIG. 13 is a diagram of an encoding structure of animation data corresponding to a video sequence frame encoding manner. Referring to FIG. 13, during encoding, a value of the CompositionID is first encoded according to a data type of the composition identifier in the attribute structure table corresponding to the video composition tag code. A value of hasAlpha identifying whether a transparency channel exists is encoded according to the Bool type. The basic attribute data is sequentially encoded according to the attribute structure table of the CompositionAttributes. The width, height, and frame rate when the entire animation is played are encoded. Start position information alphaStartX and alphaStartY of the transparency channel is encoded. Video encoding parameters SPS and PPS are encoded. A total count of bitmap images Count is encoded. Finally, a frame serial number and image binary data fileBytes that correspond to each composition bitmap in the video frame sequence (VideoSequence) are sequentially encoded… See Cheok: at least Figs. 5-9 and par. 24, 33-35, 42-45 regarding The video compression process involves first transforming the image from spatial to frequency domain, employing a transformation such as a DCT or integer transform. The transformed coefficients are then quantized based on the QP, and entropy coded to produce the compressed 2-D signals. As described above, quantization is the process of mapping a range of input values to a smaller range of output values and is the lossy compression part of video coding. The value of the QP is used to specify the extent of compression that is desired. For example, a larger QP value uses fewer bits to code, resulting in more compression and reduced image quality. In another example, a smaller QP value can produce better quality images at lower compression. The alpha mask serves as input to a module to compute and derive the coordinates for overlays, which are geometric shapes used for bounding the detected targets. These overlays are often useful in surveillance video to draw attention to objects or activities of interest. The alpha mask is used to distinguish foreground objects from background objects. A higher QP value can then be used to encode the background object while a lower QP value can be used to encode the foreground object in such a way that the overall bitrate is reduced without compromising quality…].
Regarding claim 8, Roskowski discloses a system for encoding video data[See Roskowski: at least Figs. 1-11 and par. 39, 48-52, 55-56, 63-68, 74-78, 81-82, 85-87, 91, 96-98, 102-103, 114-121 regarding apparatus for video compression] and a , comprising:
one or more processors[See Roskowski: at least Fig. 1 and par. 148 – 151 regarding Processor 100 comprises a communication mechanism or bus 111 for communicating information, and a processor core 112 coupled with bus 111 for processing information…]; and
a memory comprising instructions stored thereon, which when executed by the one or more processors [See Roskowski: at least Fig. 1 and par. 148 – 151 regarding Processor 100 further comprises a random access memory (RAM), or other dynamic storage device 104 (referred to as main memory) coupled to bus 111 for storing information and instructions to be executed by processor 112. Main memory 104 also may be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions by processor core 112. Processor 100 also comprises a read only memory (ROM) and/or other static storage device 106 coupled to bus 111 for storing static information and instructions for processor core 112, and a non-transitory data storage device 107, such as a magnetic storage device or flash memory and its associated control circuits. Data storage device 107 is coupled to bus 111 for storing information and instructions.],
causes the one or more processors to: identify a keyframe in a source video[See Roskowski: at least Figs. 1-11 and par. 39, 48-52, 55-56, 63-68, 74-78, 81-82, 85-87, 91, 96-98, 102-103, 114-121 regarding A plurality of image frames are transformed into a train made of a key frame and one or more subsequent frames. Periodically or upon conditions in the content or external events, key frames are selected from among the plurality of image files. New key frames may be selected on a number of triggers…];
determine differences between the keyframe and one or more subsequent frames in the source video[See Roskowski: at least Figs. 1-11 and par. 39, 48-52, 55-56, 63-68, 74-78, 81-82, 85-87, 91, 96-98, 102-103, 114-121 regarding Another aspect of the invention is in the embodiment of circuits of a first appliance locally attached to a network of event capture terminals transforms and stores a plurality of image frames into a key frame and at least one subsequent frame. Meta data is stored separately or within the file headers of key frames and subsequent frames to enable decompression of a single subsequent frame… A key frame is stored in non-transitory media, and a subsequent frame is encoded as deltas from that key frame. The amount of compression being achieved is tracked, and when it starts decreasing a new key frame is generated. The delta frames are also encoded as JPEG compatible files, so they also benefit from the JPEG codec's compression/encoding gains. Thus, if one displays a raw delta frame, it appears as an all grey preview because each block of frequency coefficients are difference values between coefficients of a key frame and coefficients of a subsequent image frame…];and
generate a diff image comprising blocks of image data mapping the differences[See Roskowski: at least Figs. 1-11 and par. 39, 48-52, 55-56, 63-68, 74-78, 81-82, 85-87, 91, 96-98, 102-103, 114-121 regarding The first compression is to compare a frame to its key frame and utilize the differences in frequency coefficients. A further compression is available when the differences indicate little change, by zeroing high frequency data. Further masking of significant differences in high frequency data applies when analysis of low frequency or DC data indicates the source is static noise or vibration…].
Roskowski does not explicitly disclose encoding video data with transparency features and encode alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency.
However, encoding transparency features such as alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Chen[See Chen: at least Figs. 9-13, par. 190-192, 197-198, 289-291 regarding In addition to the image binary data obtained in the image encoding manner, the animation data corresponding to the bitmap composition tag code also includes a composition identifier (CompositionID), composition basic attributes (CompositionAttributes), and a bitmap image sequence (sequence). The composition basic attributes include a playback duration, a frame rate, and a background color of the composition. The bitmap image sequence includes a width, a height and counts of the bitmap images, key frame flags, and the image binary data sequence (bitmapRect[frameCount]). The image binary sequence includes a width and a height of the difference pixel area corresponding to each bitmap image, the coordinates (x, y) of the start pixel in the difference pixel area corresponding to each bitmap image, and the image binary data stream (fileBytes) corresponding to each difference pixel area… In addition to the image binary data obtained according to the video encoding manner, the animation data corresponding to the video composition tag code also includes a composition identifier (CompositionID), whether to include a transparency channel (hasAlpha), composition basic attributes (CompositionAttributes), and a video frame sequence (VideoSequence). The composition basic attributes include a playback duration, a frame rate, and a background color of the composition. The video frame sequence includes a width and a height of the bitmap images, position information of the transparency channel, parameters of the video encoding manner, key frame flags, and an image binary data sequence (videoFrames)...].
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Roskowski with Chen teachings by including “encoding video data with transparency features and encode alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency” because this combination has the benefit of improving the encoding of video and frame sequence attribute information.
Roskowski and Chen do not explicitly disclose encode alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency within the blocks of the diff image.
However, Cheok teaches encode alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency within the blocks of the diff image[See Cheok: at least Figs. 5-9 and par. 24, 33-35, 42-45 regarding FIG. 7 is a system block diagram of video analytics and coding modules used in scene-adaptive video coding, according to an embodiment. A foreground alpha mask generated by the segmentation module is used to identify regions of interest (ROI) for region-based coding, as well as to adjust encoding parameters in the coding modules such as the Group-of-Pictures (GOP) size and/or the QP. The GOP is a group of successive video frames and defines the arrangement or organization of the I, P, and/or B-frames. The GOP includes an I-frame, followed by a series of P and/or B-frames. The GOP size is the number of frames between two I-frames. The QP is a parameter used in the quantization process and is associated with the amount of compression. The value of the QP influences the perceived quality of the compressed images. The segmented objects are classified as assigned to or belonging to 1 of N classes of objects through the classification process. The classified objects are tracked over multiple frames by establishing a correspondence or association between blobs in the frames… In this manner, temporal redundancies are used such that, in some instances, only the difference between consecutive frames is encoded… The value of the QP is used to specify the extent of compression that is desired. For example, a larger QP value uses fewer bits to code, resulting in more compression and reduced image quality. In another example, a smaller QP value can produce better quality images at lower compression. The alpha mask serves as input to a module to compute and derive the coordinates for overlays, which are geometric shapes used for bounding the detected targets. These overlays are often useful in surveillance video to draw attention to objects or activities of interest. The alpha mask is used to distinguish foreground objects from background objects. A higher QP value can then be used to encode the background object while a lower QP value can be used to encode the foreground object in such a way that the overall bitrate is reduced without compromising quality...].
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Roskowski and Chen with Cheok teachings by including “encode alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency within the blocks of the diff image” because this combination has the benefit of adaptively compressing video to produce smooth, high-quality video [See Cheok: at least par. 2-5].
Further on, when combined, Roskowski, Chen and Cheok teach store metadata comprising block coordinates indicating a position of the differences, source frame identifiers associated with each of the blocks, and the alpha channel data[See Roskowski: at least par. 52, 82 regarding storing every frequency coefficient of every block of pixels into a computer-readable store as a first key frame (Kframe)… storing all of the delta frequency coefficients of each block… when the resulting file size meets the target compression goal, storing the file as a subsequent file and storing meta data relating the subsequent file to its related key file… the method also includes storing metadata to identify the relationship and location of key frames and subsequent frames… See Chen: at least Figs. 9-13, par. 190-192, 197-198, 289-291 regarding The bitmap image sequence includes a width, a height and counts of the bitmap images, key frame flags, and the image binary data sequence (bitmapRect[frameCount]). The image binary sequence includes a width and a height of the difference pixel area corresponding to each bitmap image, the coordinates (x, y) of the start pixel in the difference pixel area corresponding to each bitmap image, and the image binary data stream (fileBytes) corresponding to each difference pixel area… In addition to the image binary data obtained according to the video encoding manner, the animation data corresponding to the video composition tag code also includes a composition identifier (CompositionID), whether to include a transparency channel (hasAlpha), composition basic attributes (CompositionAttributes), and a video frame sequence (VideoSequence)… The video frame sequence includes a width and a height of the bitmap images, position information of the transparency channel, parameters of the video encoding manner, key frame flags, and an image binary data sequence (videoFrames)... See Cheok: at least Figs. 5-9 and par. 24, 33-35, 42-45 regarding FIG. 7 is a system block diagram of video analytics and coding modules used in scene-adaptive video coding, according to an embodiment. A foreground alpha mask generated by the segmentation module is used to identify regions of interest (ROI) for region-based coding, as well as to adjust encoding parameters in the coding modules such as the Group-of-Pictures (GOP) size and/or the QP….The QP is a parameter used in the quantization process and is associated with the amount of compression. The value of the QP influences the perceived quality of the compressed images… In this manner, temporal redundancies are used such that, in some instances, only the difference between consecutive frames is encoded… The value of the QP is used to specify the extent of compression that is desired. For example, a larger QP value uses fewer bits to code, resulting in more compression and reduced image quality. In another example, a smaller QP value can produce better quality images at lower compression. The alpha mask serves as input to a module to compute and derive the coordinates for overlays, which are geometric shapes used for bounding the detected targets. These overlays are often useful in surveillance video to draw attention to objects or activities of interest. The alpha mask is used to distinguish foreground objects from background objects. A higher QP value can then be used to encode the background object while a lower QP value can be used to encode the foreground object in such a way that the overall bitrate is reduced without compromising quality…]; and
compress the keyframe, the diff images, and the metadata into a compressed file for transmission and playback[See Roskowski: at least par. 52, 78, 127-128 regarding Huffman encoding the stored delta frequency coefficients of each block; when the resulting file size meets the target compression goal, storing the file as a subsequent file and storing meta data relating the subsequent file to its related key file,…receiving a desired compression ratio between a subsequent frame and its key frame 1017; and applying the configured low pass filter to delta coefficients of a pixel block 1019…on the condition the desired compression ratio is met, storing the subsequent frame with meta data pointing to its key frame 1025; on the condition the desired compression ratio is not met, selecting the Jframe as a next key frame 1027…See Chen: at least Figs. 9-13, par. 190-192, 197-198, 289-291 regarding FIG. 13 is a diagram of an encoding structure of animation data corresponding to a video sequence frame encoding manner. Referring to FIG. 13, during encoding, a value of the CompositionID is first encoded according to a data type of the composition identifier in the attribute structure table corresponding to the video composition tag code. A value of hasAlpha identifying whether a transparency channel exists is encoded according to the Bool type. The basic attribute data is sequentially encoded according to the attribute structure table of the CompositionAttributes. The width, height, and frame rate when the entire animation is played are encoded. Start position information alphaStartX and alphaStartY of the transparency channel is encoded. Video encoding parameters SPS and PPS are encoded. A total count of bitmap images Count is encoded. Finally, a frame serial number and image binary data fileBytes that correspond to each composition bitmap in the video frame sequence (VideoSequence) are sequentially encoded…See Cheok: at least Figs. 5-9 and par. 24, 33-35, 42-45 regarding The video compression process involves first transforming the image from spatial to frequency domain, employing a transformation such as a DCT or integer transform. The transformed coefficients are then quantized based on the QP, and entropy coded to produce the compressed 2-D signals. As described above, quantization is the process of mapping a range of input values to a smaller range of output values and is the lossy compression part of video coding. The value of the QP is used to specify the extent of compression that is desired. For example, a larger QP value uses fewer bits to code, resulting in more compression and reduced image quality. In another example, a smaller QP value can produce better quality images at lower compression. The alpha mask serves as input to a module to compute and derive the coordinates for overlays, which are geometric shapes used for bounding the detected targets. These overlays are often useful in surveillance video to draw attention to objects or activities of interest. The alpha mask is used to distinguish foreground objects from background objects. A higher QP value can then be used to encode the background object while a lower QP value can be used to encode the foreground object in such a way that the overall bitrate is reduced without compromising quality…].
Regarding claim 15, Roskowski discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions stored thereon[See Roskowski: at least Fig. 1 and par. 148 – 151 regarding Processor 100 further comprises a random access memory (RAM), or other dynamic storage device 104 (referred to as main memory) coupled to bus 111 for storing information and instructions to be executed by processor 112. Main memory 104 also may be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions by processor core 112. Processor 100 also comprises a read only memory (ROM) and/or other static storage device 106 coupled to bus 111 for storing static information and instructions for processor core 112, and a non-transitory data storage device 107, such as a magnetic storage device or flash memory and its associated control circuits. Data storage device 107 is coupled to bus 111 for storing information and instructions.], which when executed by one or more processors[See Roskowski: at least Fig. 1 and par. 148 – 151 regarding Processor 100 comprises a communication mechanism or bus 111 for communicating information, and a processor core 112 coupled with bus 111 for processing information…],
cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: identifying a keyframe in a source video[See Roskowski: at least Figs. 1-11 and par. 39, 48-52, 55-56, 63-68, 74-78, 81-82, 85-87, 91, 96-98, 102-103, 114-121 regarding A plurality of image frames are transformed into a train made of a key frame and one or more subsequent frames. Periodically or upon conditions in the content or external events, key frames are selected from among the plurality of image files. New key frames may be selected on a number of triggers…];
determining differences between the keyframe and one or more subsequent frames in the source video[See Roskowski: at least Figs. 1-11 and par. 39, 48-52, 55-56, 63-68, 74-78, 81-82, 85-87, 91, 96-98, 102-103, 114-121 regarding Another aspect of the invention is in the embodiment of circuits of a first appliance locally attached to a network of event capture terminals transforms and stores a plurality of image frames into a key frame and at least one subsequent frame. Meta data is stored separately or within the file headers of key frames and subsequent frames to enable decompression of a single subsequent frame… A key frame is stored in non-transitory media, and a subsequent frame is encoded as deltas from that key frame. The amount of compression being achieved is tracked, and when it starts decreasing a new key frame is generated. The delta frames are also encoded as JPEG compatible files, so they also benefit from the JPEG codec's compression/encoding gains. Thus, if one displays a raw delta frame, it appears as an all grey preview because each block of frequency coefficients are difference values between coefficients of a key frame and coefficients of a subsequent image frame…]; and
generating a diff image comprising blocks of image data mapping the differences[See Roskowski: at least Figs. 1-11 and par. 39, 48-52, 55-56, 63-68, 74-78, 81-82, 85-87, 91, 96-98, 102-103, 114-121 regarding The first compression is to compare a frame to its key frame and utilize the differences in frequency coefficients. A further compression is available when the differences indicate little change, by zeroing high frequency data. Further masking of significant differences in high frequency data applies when analysis of low frequency or DC data indicates the source is static noise or vibration…].
Roskowski does not explicitly disclose encoding alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency.
However, encoding transparency features such as alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as evident from the teaching of Chen[See Chen: at least Figs. 9-13, par. 190-192, 197-198, 289-291 regarding In addition to the image binary data obtained in the image encoding manner, the animation data corresponding to the bitmap composition tag code also includes a composition identifier (CompositionID), composition basic attributes (CompositionAttributes), and a bitmap image sequence (sequence). The composition basic attributes include a playback duration, a frame rate, and a background color of the composition. The bitmap image sequence includes a width, a height and counts of the bitmap images, key frame flags, and the image binary data sequence (bitmapRect[frameCount]). The image binary sequence includes a width and a height of the difference pixel area corresponding to each bitmap image, the coordinates (x, y) of the start pixel in the difference pixel area corresponding to each bitmap image, and the image binary data stream (fileBytes) corresponding to each difference pixel area… In addition to the image binary data obtained according to the video encoding manner, the animation data corresponding to the video composition tag code also includes a composition identifier (CompositionID), whether to include a transparency channel (hasAlpha), composition basic attributes (CompositionAttributes), and a video frame sequence (VideoSequence). The composition basic attributes include a playback duration, a frame rate, and a background color of the composition. The video frame sequence includes a width and a height of the bitmap images, position information of the transparency channel, parameters of the video encoding manner, key frame flags, and an image binary data sequence (videoFrames)...].
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Roskowski with Chen teachings by including “encoding alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency” because this combination has the benefit of improving the encoding of video and frame sequence attribute information.
Roskowski and Chen do not explicitly disclose encoding alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency within the blocks of the diff image.
However, Cheok teaches encoding alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency within the blocks of the diff image [See Cheok: at least Figs. 5-9 and par. 24, 33-35, 42-45 regarding FIG. 7 is a system block diagram of video analytics and coding modules used in scene-adaptive video coding, according to an embodiment. A foreground alpha mask generated by the segmentation module is used to identify regions of interest (ROI) for region-based coding, as well as to adjust encoding parameters in the coding modules such as the Group-of-Pictures (GOP) size and/or the QP. The GOP is a group of successive video frames and defines the arrangement or organization of the I, P, and/or B-frames. The GOP includes an I-frame, followed by a series of P and/or B-frames. The GOP size is the number of frames between two I-frames. The QP is a parameter used in the quantization process and is associated with the amount of compression. The value of the QP influences the perceived quality of the compressed images. The segmented objects are classified as assigned to or belonging to 1 of N classes of objects through the classification process. The classified objects are tracked over multiple frames by establishing a correspondence or association between blobs in the frames… In this manner, temporal redundancies are used such that, in some instances, only the difference between consecutive frames is encoded… The value of the QP is used to specify the extent of compression that is desired. For example, a larger QP value uses fewer bits to code, resulting in more compression and reduced image quality. In another example, a smaller QP value can produce better quality images at lower compression. The alpha mask serves as input to a module to compute and derive the coordinates for overlays, which are geometric shapes used for bounding the detected targets. These overlays are often useful in surveillance video to draw attention to objects or activities of interest. The alpha mask is used to distinguish foreground objects from background objects. A higher QP value can then be used to encode the background object while a lower QP value can be used to encode the foreground object in such a way that the overall bitrate is reduced without compromising quality...].
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Roskowski and Chen with Cheok teachings by including “encoding alpha channel data representing per-pixel transparency within the blocks of the diff image” because this combination has the benefit of adaptively compressing video to produce smooth, high-quality video [See Cheok: at least par. 2-5].
Further on, when combined, Roskowski, Chen and Cheok teach storing metadata comprising block coordinates indicating a position of the differences, source frame identifiers associated with each of the blocks, and the alpha channel data[See Roskowski: at least par. 52, 82 regarding storing every frequency coefficient of every block of pixels into a computer-readable store as a first key frame (Kframe)… storing all of the delta frequency coefficients of each block… when the resulting file size meets the target compression goal, storing the file as a subsequent file and storing meta data relating the subsequent file to its related key file… the method also includes storing metadata to identify the relationship and location of key frames and subsequent frames… See Chen: at least Figs. 9-13, par. 190-192, 197-198, 289-291 regarding The bitmap image sequence includes a width, a height and counts of the bitmap images, key frame flags, and the image binary data sequence (bitmapRect[frameCount]). The image binary sequence includes a width and a height of the difference pixel area corresponding to each bitmap image, the coordinates (x, y) of the start pixel in the difference pixel area corresponding to each bitmap image, and the image binary data stream (fileBytes) corresponding to each difference pixel area… In addition to the image binary data obtained according to the video encoding manner, the animation data corresponding to the video composition tag code also includes a composition identifier (CompositionID), whether to include a transparency channel (hasAlpha), composition basic attributes (CompositionAttributes), and a video frame sequence (VideoSequence)… The video frame sequence includes a width and a height of the bitmap images, position information of the transparency channel, parameters of the video encoding manner, key frame flags, and an image binary data sequence (videoFrames)... See Cheok: at least Figs. 5-9 and par. 24, 33-35, 42-45 regarding FIG. 7 is a system block diagram of video analytics and coding modules used in scene-adaptive video coding, according to an embodiment. A foreground alpha mask generated by the segmentation module is used to identify regions of interest (ROI) for region-based coding, as well as to adjust encoding parameters in the coding modules such as the Group-of-Pictures (GOP) size and/or the QP….The QP is a parameter used in the quantization process and is associated with the amount of compression. The value of the QP influences the perceived quality of the compressed images… In this manner, temporal redundancies are used such that, in some instances, only the difference between consecutive frames is encoded… The value of the QP is used to specify the extent of compression that is desired. For example, a larger QP value uses fewer bits to code, resulting in more compression and reduced image quality. In another example, a smaller QP value can produce better quality images at lower compression. The alpha mask serves as input to a module to compute and derive the coordinates for overlays, which are geometric shapes used for bounding the detected targets. These overlays are often useful in surveillance video to draw attention to objects or activities of interest. The alpha mask is used to distinguish foreground objects from background objects. A higher QP value can then be used to encode the background object while a lower QP value can be used to encode the foreground object in such a way that the overall bitrate is reduced without compromising quality…]; and
compressing the keyframe, the diff images, and the metadata into a compressed file for transmission and playback[See Roskowski: at least par. 52, 78, 127-128 regarding Huffman encoding the stored delta frequency coefficients of each block; when the resulting file size meets the target compression goal, storing the file as a subsequent file and storing meta data relating the subsequent file to its related key file,…receiving a desired compression ratio between a subsequent frame and its key frame 1017; and applying the configured low pass filter to delta coefficients of a pixel block 1019…on the condition the desired compression ratio is met, storing the subsequent frame with meta data pointing to its key frame 1025; on the condition the desired compression ratio is not met, selecting the Jframe as a next key frame 1027…See Chen: at least Figs. 9-13, par. 190-192, 197-198, 289-291 regarding FIG. 13 is a diagram of an encoding structure of animation data corresponding to a video sequence frame encoding manner. Referring to FIG. 13, during encoding, a value of the CompositionID is first encoded according to a data type of the composition identifier in the attribute structure table corresponding to the video composition tag code. A value of hasAlpha identifying whether a transparency channel exists is encoded according to the Bool type. The basic attribute data is sequentially encoded according to the attribute structure table of the CompositionAttributes. The width, height, and frame rate when the entire animation is played are encoded. Start position information alphaStartX and alphaStartY of the transparency channel is encoded. Video encoding parameters SPS and PPS are encoded. A total count of bitmap images Count is encoded. Finally, a frame serial number and image binary data fileBytes that correspond to each composition bitmap in the video frame sequence (VideoSequence) are sequentially encoded… See Cheok: at least Figs. 5-9 and par. 24, 33-35, 42-45 regarding The video compression process involves first transforming the image from spatial to frequency domain, employing a transformation such as a DCT or integer transform. The transformed coefficients are then quantized based on the QP, and entropy coded to produce the compressed 2-D signals. As described above, quantization is the process of mapping a range of input values to a smaller range of output values and is the lossy compression part of video coding. The value of the QP is used to specify the extent of compression that is desired. For example, a larger QP value uses fewer bits to code, resulting in more compression and reduced image quality. In another example, a smaller QP value can produce better quality images at lower compression. The alpha mask serves as input to a module to compute and derive the coordinates for overlays, which are geometric shapes used for bounding the detected targets. These overlays are often useful in surveillance video to draw attention to objects or activities of interest. The alpha mask is used to distinguish foreground objects from background objects. A higher QP value can then be used to encode the background object while a lower QP value can be used to encode the foreground object in such a way that the overall bitrate is reduced without compromising quality…].
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Roskowski, Chen and Cheok teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Chen and Cheok teach or suggest wherein the alpha channel data enables rendering of transparent overlays on dynamic or changing backgrounds[See Chen: at least par. 74-81, 115, 189-192, 197-198, 289-291 regarding The transparency change information type (AlphaStop) is used for describing transparency gradient information.. The color gradient change information type (GradientColor) is a combination of the transparency change information type and the color change information type, to obtain a data type that represents color gradient change information. An alphaStopList (a transparency change information list) includes a plurality of pieces of transparency change information, and one of which includes: a start point position, a middle point position, and a transparency value... In addition to the image binary data obtained according to the video encoding manner, the animation data corresponding to the video composition tag code also includes a composition identifier (CompositionID), whether to include a transparency channel (hasAlpha), composition basic attributes (CompositionAttributes), and a video frame sequence (VideoSequence). The composition basic attributes include a playback duration, a frame rate, and a background color of the composition. The video frame sequence includes a width and a height of the bitmap images, position information of the transparency channel, parameters of the video encoding manner, key frame flags, and an image binary data sequence (videoFrames)… See Cheok: at least Figs. 5-9 and par. 24, 33-35, 42-45 regarding the value of the QP is used to specify the extent of compression that is desired. For example, a larger QP value uses fewer bits to code, resulting in more compression and reduced image quality. In another example, a smaller QP value can produce better quality images at lower compression. The alpha mask serves as input to a module to compute and derive the coordinates for overlays, which are geometric shapes used for bounding the detected targets. These overlays are often useful in surveillance video to draw attention to objects or activities of interest. The alpha mask is used to distinguish foreground objects from background objects. A higher QP value can then be used to encode the background object while a lower QP value can be used to encode the foreground object in such a way that the overall bitrate is reduced without compromising quality…].
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Roskowski, Chen and Cheok teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Chen and Cheok teach or suggest wherein the alpha channel data includes transparency values of opacity for each pixel in a frame[See Chen: at least par. 74-81, 115, 189-192, 197-198, 289-291 regarding The transparency change information type (AlphaStop) is used for describing transparency gradient information.. The color gradient change information type (GradientColor) is a combination of the transparency change information type and the color change information type, to obtain a data type that represents color gradient change information. An alphaStopList (a transparency change information list) includes a plurality of pieces of transparency change information, and one of which includes: a start point position, a middle point position, and a transparency value. Also, the transparency change information type includes an opacity field. See Cheok: at least Figs. 5-9 and par. 24, 33-35, 42-45 regarding The value of the QP is used to specify the extent of compression that is desired. For example, a larger QP value uses fewer bits to code, resulting in more compression and reduced image quality. In another example, a smaller QP value can produce better quality images at lower compression. The alpha mask serves as input to a module to compute and derive the coordinates for overlays, which are geometric shapes used for bounding the detected targets. These overlays are often useful in surveillance video to draw attention to objects or activities of interest. The alpha mask is used to distinguish foreground objects from background objects. A higher QP value can then be used to encode the background object while a lower QP value can be used to encode the foreground object in such a way that the overall bitrate is reduced without compromising quality...]
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Roskowski, Chen and Cheok teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Roskowski teaches further comprising / wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to / wherein the instructions causing the one or more processors to perform operations further comprising dynamically adjusting /adjust keyframe intervals based on a threshold of pixel differences between frames[See Roskowski: at least par. 49, 56, 86, 127-129 regarding Periodically or upon conditions in the content or external events, key frames are selected from among the plurality of image files. New key frames may be selected on a number of triggers. One could be triggered by an external sensor, another from a timer or counter or file content such as when the following compression steps do not provide substantial savings. The first compression is to compare a frame to its key frame and utilize the differences in frequency coefficients. A further compression is available when the differences indicate little change, by zeroing high frequency data. Further masking of significant differences in high frequency data applies when analysis of low frequency or DC data indicates the source is static noise or vibration. Advantageously for bandwidth and storage conservation, a resulting transformed image may be a mix of higher and lower resolution blocks if analysis of low frequency or DC data indicates that a substantial change is localized to a portion of the full image…A motion trigger rule may involve the DC or the lowest frequency range of bins for a block of pixels. Above a threshold, a change from the reference coefficients of the key frame may activate a motion trigger rule … the method also includes determining the absolute magnitude of the difference between the coefficients of certain low frequency bins of the key frame and the subsequent frame; summing the absolute magnitude of the differences between the coefficients of certain low frequency bins; on the condition when the sum of the absolute magnitude of the coefficients of certain low frequency bins exceeds a threshold, enabling all of the differences between coefficients in all of the frequency bins to be available for re-encoding into a JPEG compatible file…].
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Roskowski, Chen and Cheok teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Roskowski and Chen teach wherein the diff images are two-dimensional bitmaps storing block-level differences between frames[See Roskowski: at least par. 48-50, 52-54 regarding a method for compression of a plurality of JPEG codec compatible files (Jframe) in time, spatial, and frequency domains which has the steps: reversing Huffman encoding of a first Jframe and storing every frequency coefficient of every block of pixels into a computer-readable store as a first key frame (Kframe); reversing Huffman encoding of an other Jframe to obtain every frequency coefficient of every block of pixels; transforming the other Jframe into a subsequent frame (SubFrame) by determining delta frequency coefficients for each block of pixels in the SubFrame; storing all of the delta frequency coefficients of each block, and Huffman encoding the stored delta frequency coefficients of each block; when the resulting file size meets the target compression goal, storing the file as a subsequent file and storing meta data relating the subsequent file to its related key file, and when the resulting file size exceeds the target compression goal, discarding the delta coefficients and storing the original frequency coefficients of all the blocks as a new key frame... A delta coefficient is the difference between a frequency coefficient of a block of pixels of a Jframe and the corresponding frequency coefficient in its preceding Kframe… See Chen: at least par. 92-94 regarding The bitmap information type (BitmapRect) is used for representing binary image data obtained by compressing and encoding a difference pixel area corresponding to each bitmap image in a bitmap image sequence in an image encoding manner. The x and y respectively represent the X coordinate and the Y coordinate of the start point of the difference pixel area. When bitmap information is encoded, the start position in the difference pixel area needs to be first found, and then the start position and the image data corresponding to the difference pixel area are sequentially encoded according to the byte stream type, to obtain encoded data of each bitmap image…The video frame information type (VideoFrame) is used for representing binary image data obtained by compressing a composition bitmap corresponding to each bitmap image in a bitmap image sequence in a video encoding manner. ].
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Roskowski, Chen and Cheok teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 8, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims. Further on, Chen teaches or suggests wherein the source video includes frames rendered with both static and dynamic visual elements with varying transparency layers[See Chen: at least par. 74-81, 115, 149-153, 177-192, 197-198, 289-291 regarding . The animation characteristic data of each animation interval describes a change relationship of the attribute on a certain time axis, and actually also describes the change relationship of the attribute corresponding to each animation frame corresponding to the time axis. The relationship may be a linear relationship, a Bezier curve relationship, or a static relationship (that is, the attribute value corresponding to the attribute within a time axis remains unchanged)…The transparency change information type (AlphaStop) is used for describing transparency gradient information.. The color gradient change information type (GradientColor) is a combination of the transparency change information type and the color change information type, to obtain a data type that represents color gradient change information. An alphaStopList (a transparency change information list) includes a plurality of pieces of transparency change information, and one of which includes: a start point position, a middle point position, and a transparency value... In addition to the image binary data obtained according to the video encoding manner, the animation data corresponding to the video composition tag code also includes a composition identifier (CompositionID), whether to include a transparency channel (hasAlpha), composition basic attributes (CompositionAttributes), and a video frame sequence (VideoSequence). The composition basic attributes include a playback duration, a frame rate, and a background color of the composition. The video frame sequence includes a width and a height of the bitmap images, position information of the transparency channel, parameters of the video encoding manner, key frame flags, and an image binary data sequence (videoFrames)…].
10. Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in Roskowski(US 2017/0244962 A1)(hereinafter Roskowski) in view of CHEN et al.(US 2021/0350605 A1)(hereinafter Chen) in further view of CHEOK et al.(US 2018/0139456 A1)(hereinafter Cheok) and in further view of Hannuksela(US 2003/0138043 A1)(hereinafter Hannuksela).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Roskowski, Chen and Cheok teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Roskowski, Chen and Cheok do not explicitly disclose wherein the alpha channel data includes varying levels of transparency for individual objects within a frame of the source video.
However, the use of varying levels of transparency for individual objects within a frame of a video sequence for encoding alpha data was well known in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Hannuksela [See Hannuksela: at least par. 77-79 regarding a computer-made image can be thought of as consisting of layers, or image objects. Each object can be defined with reference to at least three information types: the structure of the image object, its shape and transparency, and the layering order (depth) in relation to the background of the image and to other image objects. Shape and transparency are often determined using what is known as an alpha plane, which measures opacity and the value of which is usually determined separately for each image object, possibly excluding the background, which is usually determined as non-transparent. The alpha plane value of a non-transparent image object, such as the background, can thus be set at 1.0, whereas the alpha plane value of a fully transparent image object is 0.0. The values in between define the intensity of the visibility of a specific image object in a picture in proportion to the background and to other, at least partly overlapping, image objects that have a higher depth value than the image object in question… The superimposition of image objects in layers according to their shape, transparency and depth position is referred to as scene composition.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Roskowski, Chen and Cheok with Hannuksela teachings by including “wherein the alpha channel data includes varying levels of transparency for individual objects within a frame of the source video” because this combination has the benefit of improving the encoding video to achieve good compression efficiency.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ana Picon-Feliciano/Examiner, Art Unit 2482
/CHRISTOPHER S KELLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2482