DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 20 July 2026, is reviewed and entered. This Office Action is a final rejection.
Status of Claims
Amended
1, 10-11, 13-16, 18-20
Withdrawn
6-11, 13-16, 18-20
Canceled
12, 17
Pending
1-11, 13-16, 18-20
Presented for Examination
1-5
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, an accessory corresponding to claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 03 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A as shown in FIGS 1-4 and corresponding to claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 03 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dale (US 5341514 A).
As to claim 1, Dale discloses a detachable decorative accessory for a zippered garment (16, which is for jacket 10), comprising:
a fabric panel having a first longitudinal side, a second longitudinal side, a top side, and a bottom side collectively defining a rectangular shape (16in FIG 14 has an outer layer and an inner layer, and col 3 line 20-30 discloses either one may be fabric), the first longitudinal side is parallel to the second longitudinal side (FIG 4), and the top side is parallel to the bottom side (FIG 4);
a first zipper element disposed along the first longitudinal side of the fabric panel (36; col 3 line 30-35 discloses “releasable connector strip 36, known as a zipper”); and
a second zipper element disposed along the second longitudinal side of the fabric panel (second releasable connector assembly strip 38),wherein:
the fabric panel is configured to be removably coupled to the zippered garment (capable of being removably coupled to a zippered garment such as jacket 10), and the zippered garment is a member selected from a group consisting of a jacket and a hoodie (capable of being removed from a jacket or hoodie, such as jacket 10).
As to claim 2, Dale discloses the detachable decorative accessory of Claim 1, wherein each of the first zipper element and the second zipper element include a plurality of teeth disposed along a portion of a length of the fabric panel (FIGS 1 and 3-4; this is a known structure of zippers).
As to claim 3, Dale discloses the detachable decorative accessory of Claim 2, wherein the plurality of teeth is disposed along an entirety of the length of the fabric panel (FIGS 1 and 3-4).
As to claim 4, Dale discloses the detachable decorative accessory of Claim 3, wherein the second zipper element includes a slider element slidably coupled to the plurality of teeth (combination 29 and 31), the slider element includes a pull tab (31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dale (US 5341514 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Garner (US 20170079345 A1).
As to claim 5, Dale does not disclose the detachable decorative accessory of Claim 1, wherein a surface of the fabric panel includes indicia.
Garner teaches a similar accessory (100) including a surface of the panel includes indicia (tassels or other design features 170).
One of ordinary skill would recognize that the indicia is a design choice that would not affect the function of the panel, and that the panel would work equally well with or without the panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a surface of the Dale fabric panel with indicia as taught by Garner, in order to “provide an additional aesthetic appeal or to better coincide with existing design features of the garment” (Garner para. 0017).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SALLY HADEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/SALLY HADEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732