DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 10/09/2025.
Claims 1-11 are currently pending and have been examined below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following feature(s) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 8 – “the supporting wall surface”. This is positively recited and schematically showing this, to avoid new matter issues, will help one of the ordinary skill in the art understand the relative position of the device to the window.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 5-6 of claim 3, “the remaining portion” should read --a remaining portion--.
In line 8 of claim 3, “the inner ring of the torsion spring” should read --an inner ring of the torsion spring--.
In line 14 of claim 9, “the other end” should read --another end--.
Appropriate correction is required. Above provides non-limiting examples, the applicant(s) must find and correct all issues similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20200002557) in view of Mayer et al. (US 20230123707) (hereinafter “Mayer”).
Claim 1
(Kim discloses) An easily installable curtain (figures 1-5), comprising:
a support rail (12), configured to connect with a supporting wall surface (intended use; the rail 12 is designed to be connected to most wall surfaces for window assemblies);
a mounting bracket (Annotated figure 5 below), comprising a bracket (20) connected to the support rail (Annotated figure 5 below);
a drive unit (Annotated figure 5 below), disposed below the support rail;
a roller-type curtain assembly (30), disposed below the support rail and connected to the drive unit (figure 5);
wherein the drive unit is configured to drive the roller-type curtain assembly to extend and retract (abstract);
the bracket is movable relative to the support rail along the extension direction of the support rail, thereby adjusting the relative position between the drive unit and the roller-type curtain assembly with respect to the support rail (via the elongated slots 25 and 21, and the locking protrusions 24 and 23; also see Excerpt 1 from page 5 below).
Kim is silent regarding:
(i) the mounting bracket, comprising an elastic connection structure connected to the bracket;
(ii) the drive unit rotatably connected to the elastic connection structure.
However, Mayer teaches:
(i) A mounting bracket (bracket assembly shown in Mayer figure 11B), comprising an elastic connection structure (1100) connected to a bracket (125);
(ii) a drive unit (single manual drive chain or motor discussed on par. 43) rotatably connected to the elastic connection structure (not shown but the drive unit would be connected to the elastic connection structure at least by way of other elements in between).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the mounting bracket of Kim with the elastic structure of Mayer to reduce friction against the bracket in response to a rotation of the drive unit.
Annotated figure 5
Excerpt 1
Claim 2
(Kim, as modified above, discloses) The easily installable curtain according to claim 1, wherein:
the bracket is L-shaped and comprises a horizontal top surface (17) and a vertical side surface (19) connected to the horizontal top surface;
the horizontal top surface and the vertical side surface are connected through a bent transition portion (the bent portion between 17 and 19);
the horizontal top surface is movably connected to the support rail (figure 3).
Claim 3
(Kim, as modified above, discloses) The easily installable curtain according to claim 2, wherein the elastic connection structure comprises:
a housing (130; Mayer figure 11B), connected to the bracket;
a torsion spring (165), disposed within the housing;
a fixing shaft (Annotated figure 11B below); a partial structure of the fixing shaft disposed inside the housing (Mayer figure 11A), with the remaining portion extending through the housing as a connection end, configured to connect with the drive unit (Mayer figure 11A);
the partial structure of the fixing shaft is mounted inside the inner ring of the torsion spring (Mayer figure 11A);
an adjusting seat (Annotated figure 11B below), mounted within the housing and fitted to the fixing shaft (Mayer figure 11B);
a portion of the adjusting seat is disposed within the inner ring of the torsion spring (Mayer figures 11A-11B).
Annotated figure 11B
Claim 4
(Kim, as modified above, discloses) The easily installable curtain according to claim 1, wherein:
the bracket is connected to the support rail via a connecting rail (16);
the connecting rail is disposed on one side of the support rail (figure 3);
the bracket is slidably connected to the connecting rail (via sliding grooves 15; Excerpt 2 from page 3 below).
Excerpt 2
Claim 5
(Kim, as modified above, discloses) The easily installable curtain according to claim 4, wherein:
the connecting rail is provided with a rail slot (15) adapted to the bracket, and an installation slot (slot formed by the concave portion 27);
the installation slot is configured to be connected and fixed with a portion of the roller-type curtain assembly (the installation slot is connected and fixed with a portion of the curtain assembly by way of other elements in between).
Claim 11
(Kim, as modified above, discloses) The easily installable curtain according to claim 2, wherein:
the bracket is connected to the support rail via a connecting rail (16);
the connecting rail is disposed on one side of the support rail (figure 3);
the bracket is slidably connected to the connecting rail (via sliding grooves 15; Excerpt 2 from page 3 above).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Mayer, as applied to claims 1-5 and 11 above, in further view of Lin (US 10415306).
Claim 6
(Kim, as modified above, discloses) The easily installable curtain according to claim 1.
Kim fails to disclose:
(i) a roller tube, located below the support rail and connected to one end of the roller-type curtain assembly;
(ii) a drive device, located at one end of the roller tube and configured to drive the roller tube to rotate.
However, Lin teaches:
(i) a roller tube (11; note that since 22 is received inside 11, it meets the definition of ‘tube’ being hollow), located below a support rail (2) and connected to one end of a roller-type curtain assembly (13);
(ii) a drive device (7), located at one end of the roller tube and configured to drive the roller tube to rotate (lines 5-24 of col. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the curtain of modified Kim with the roller tube of Lin for allowing parts to be housed within the tube therefore decreasing the exposed parts thus improving aesthetics and providing protection to the housed parts.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Mayer and Lin, as applied to claim 6 above, in further view of Chen (US 20110155332).
Claim 7
(Kim, as modified above, discloses) The easily installable curtain according to claim 6.
Modified Kim fails to disclose wherein the drive unit further comprises a damping device installed at the end of the roller tube opposite the drive device;
the damping device is configured to prevent the roller tube from rotating too fast when the roller-type curtain assembly is being raised.
(However, Chen teaches) An installable curtain (Chen figure 4) wherein further comprises a damping device (invention shown in Chen figures 1-3) installed at an end of a roller tube (42) opposite a drive device (41);
the damping device is configured to prevent the roller tube from rotating too fast when the roller-type curtain assembly is being raised (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the curtain of modified Kim with the damping device of Chen for the predictable and expected benefits of slowing down the rotation of the tube therefore preserving the components of the curtain and preventing damages to the entire assembly.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Mayer, as applied to claims 1-5 and 11 above, in further view of Tan et al. (US 11246444) (hereinafter “Tan”).
Claims 8 and 10
(Kim, as modified above, discloses) The easily installable curtain according to claim 1.
Modified Kim fails to disclose:
(i) wherein the support rail is connected to the supporting wall surface via a punch-free assembly; the punch-free assembly enables the support rail to be mounted and fixed without drilling; (claim 8)
(ii) an assembly cover movably connected to the support rail; when the assembly cover slides to one end of the support rail, it covers the punch-free assembly. (claim 10).
However, Tan teaches:
(i) An easily installable curtain (Tan figure 5) wherein a support rail (rail to which 9 and 1 is connected in Tan figure 5) is connected to the supporting wall surface via a punch-free assembly (assembly shown in Tan figures 1-4);
the punch-free assembly enables the support rail to be mounted and fixed without drilling (the assembly is connected via friction as described in at least lines 39-44 of col. 4);
(ii) an assembly cover (1; Tan figure 4) movably connected to the support rail; when the assembly cover slides to one end of the support rail, it covers the punch-free assembly (Tan figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the easily installable curtain of modified Kim with the punch-free assembly and assembly cover of Tan for the predictable and expected benefits of preventing drilling and creating holes to the wall surface. The punch-free assembly also allows a cleaner and easier assembly without requiring tools such as drills. Additionally, the assembly cover hides the parts and components for a cleaner aesthetics of the curtain.
Claim 9
(Kim, as modified above, discloses) The easily installable curtain according to claim 8, wherein the punch-free assembly comprises:
a base (9; Tan figures 1-4), connected to one end of a support rail (Tan figure 5);
a driving rod (6), provided with an external thread structure (Tan figure 3), and configured to slide along the extension direction of the support rail relative to the base, providing support during punch-free installation (Tan figures 1-4);
a drive wheel (7), connected to the driving rod via a threaded structure, configured to drive the driving rod to move (Tan figures 1-4);
a support block (3), mounted at the front end of the driving rod and configured to move axially relative to the driving rod (lines 30-67 of col. 3 to lines 1-44 of col. 4 discloses the function of the punch-free assembly);
an anti-slip assembly (8), connected to the support block and configured to contact the supporting wall surface (Tan figures 1-4);
an elastic member (2), disposed between the support block and the driving rod, with one end pressing against the support block and the other end pressing against the driving rod (Tan figures 1-4).
Conclusion
/PATRICK B. PONCIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/CATHERINE A KELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619