DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the Application filed on 10/9/2025. Claims 1-17 are pending and considered herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites, wherein the abstract elements are not emboldened:
A system, comprising: a plurality of first computing devices, wherein each first computing device is wearable by a user or is affixed to an asset within an environment and configured to generate and transmit a message; and a plurality of second computing devices installed within the environment, wherein a portion of the plurality of second computing devices are configured to detect at least one of the plurality of first computing devices, receive messages transmitted by a detected first computing device, and timestamp the messages before transmitting the messages to a computing server system, wherein the computing server system is configured to determine at least a location of the detected first computing device based at least upon the messages received from the portion of the plurality of second computing devices.
Independent claims 16 and 17 recite substantially similar limitations. The claims recite a system with steps performed using computing devices (claims 1-15), a computer implemented method (claim 16) and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for executing instructions by a computer processor (claim 17). The claimed invention is directed to the abstract idea of collecting information including messages from detected computing devices, timestamping the messages, and determining a location based on analyzing the collected information.
The limitations of “wherein each first computing device is wearable by a user or is affixed to an asset within an environment and configured to generate a message […] detect at least one of the plurality of first computing devices, receive messages by a detected first computing device, and timestamp the messages […] determine at least a location of the detected first computing device based at least upon the messages received from the portion of the plurality of second computing devices” in the context of this claim, encompasses the abstract idea of a mathematical concept because they recite mathematical relationships, formulas, equations, and/or mathematical calculations (in this case, calculations for detecting signals at certain times and devices to determine a location), e.g. see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). Any limitations not identified above as part of the abstract idea are deemed “additional elements,” and will be discussed in further detail below.
The claim limitations also encompasses the abstract idea of organizing human activity such as following rules or instructions. Locating tags and assets related to a healthcare environment using beacons and bridges (See Speficiation at Paras. [0002]-[0005] (“The present disclosure generally discloses a method and system for accurate and real-time monitoring and analysis of healthcare facility resident, staff and asset. In one embodiment, an Internet-of-Things (IoT) based computing platform is provided for collecting, monitoring, and reporting on residents and staff interactions and behaviors in real-time. Further, the present disclosure integrates residents electronic behavioral record (e.g., activities, interactions, incidents, meals, washroom visits, visit counts, dwell time, zone time, sleep time, pace and step count, etc.) and electronic health record to provide 360° view of residents’ healthy and safety profiles.” Para. [0037]) is a method of organizing human activity including following rules or instructions. The limitations recite and defining Specification shows a method of managing interactions between people. The mere nominal recitation of generic computing devices and signals and measuring timestamps and locations data does not take the claims out of the method of organizing human interactions grouping. The limitations seem to monopolize the abstract idea of asset determinations in a healthcare facility and general inventory techniques for assets and personnel in a hospital setting. The limitations are akin to those filtering of information as in BASCOM Global Internet Servs. v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1349, which was determined as an abstract idea of organizing human activity. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of a “first and second computing devices,” “transmitting and receiving” data or signals, a “computing server system,” or “computer-readable medium storing computer codes,” or a “processor.” The computer components in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of receiving and parsing information and analyzing that information) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is thus directed to an abstract idea.
In addition, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a “first and second computing devices,” and “computing server system,” or “computer-readable medium storing computer codes,” or a “processor” and transmitting and/or receiving signals/information in the context of the claims amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or display. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Furthermore, the dependent claims do not remedy the deficiencies of the independent claims with respect to patent eligible subject matter, but merely further limit the abstract idea – the mathematical concept and/or method of organizing human activity. Dependent claims 2-3 and 6 include configurations of the computing server system including analyzing different signals mathematically, which is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component and cannot provide an inventive concept. Even in combination, the computing server system does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Claims 4, 5, 7-10 and 14 further define the plurality of second computer devices and their configuration, which is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component and cannot provide an inventive concept. Even in combination, the plurality of second computing devices do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Claims 11-13 further define a master and/or slave device, which are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component and cannot provide an inventive concept. Even in combination, the master and slave devices do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional limitations in the dependent claims merely detail a type of data input or calculated using computing devices and servers, or sending and receiving and storing and retrieving of information and further limit the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 10,231,078 B1 to Swart, hereinafter “Swart,”
Regarding claim 1, Swart discloses A system, comprising: a plurality of first computing devices, wherein each first computing device is wearable by a user or is affixed to an asset within an environment and configured to generate and transmit a message (See Swart at least at Abstract (locations of tags, bridges and beacons); Col. 1, ln. 41-51 (“RTLS systems estimate locations for moving tags within a floor plan of interior rooms, in buildings such as hospitals. Many existing RTLS systems based on radio-frequency signals such as Wi-Fi or BLE, are designed to have moving tags that transmit a radio message, in a field of receiving devices called gateways, sensors, bridges, or Access Points. The network of gateways will use received signal strength of radio transmissions from a tag, as a proxy for estimating the distance between the tag and each gateway and use proximity or multi-lateration algorithms to estimate the locations of tags.”); Col. 3, ln. 37-63; Col. 4, ln. 45-55; Col. 6, ln. 10-26 (tags near human bodies (i.e., wearable) and asset tags); Col. 8, ln. 6-13 (“Hence, the location engine in the current invention uses at least three algorithmic method and/or processes in series to estimate the location of a tag. These processes include: 1) Measurements of the signal strengths of tag advertisements, received by the bridges, employing proximity or trilateration analysis and motion-history analysis, to estimate room location from messages transmitted by the tag, as is common in the industry.”); Claims 1-5; Figs. 1-5 (tags and bridges and beacons have microprocessors – they are computer devices); The current Specification at Para. [0037] states “Fig. 1 generally illustrates a localization system 100 comprising at least one first computing device 102 which may be referred to as a “tag,” “tag device,” “bracelet” or “wearable,” and at least one second computing device 104 which may be referred to as an “anchor,” “beacon,” “beacon device,” or “anchor device.”); a plurality of second computing devices installed within the environment, wherein a portion of the plurality of second computing devices are configured to detect at least one of the plurality of first computing devices, receive messages transmitted by a detected first computing device, and timestamp the messages before transmitting the messages to a computing server system (See id. at least at Abstract (locations of tags, bridges and beacons); Col. 3, ln. 10-15 (“the embodiments reside primarily in combinations of method steps and apparatus components related to an RTLS having stationary beacons that advertise, active tags that transmit BLE advertisements, and bridges that pass beacon and tag information to a location algorithm in a central server.”); Col. 3, ln. 37-63 (computing devices); Col. 4, ln. 45 – Col. 5, ln. 61 (bridges detect motion of the tag, and create timestamps – “matching the timing of the detection of motion by a bridge or beacon in a room” that are sent to the location engine server.); Col. 6, ln. 50-60 (“When the beacon senses motion in its room, it includes that motion-sensor reading in its advertisement. The beacon may also declare its motion-sense-status as more like a patient sitting in a bed, or more like a human walking through the room, for further accuracy of tag-location fixes.”); Col. 7, ln. 7-40 (“The tag always knows when it is moving, when it is not moving, and when it transitions from movement to stopped, with some sense of the pace of movement. Bridges or gateways can determine when a tag starts or stops moving, either explicitly because the tag includes it in a transmitted message, or implicitly because a tag transmits at a different rate when it is moving […] The location engine uses its knowledge of the timestamps of motion changes in all rooms near where the first location algorithm has estimated the tag location. The second algorithm compares the tag's report of motion changes e.g. “I was moving at walking speed, and I stopped at this time” to the reported motion-status changes of three or four rooms in the vicinity of the tag. This is used to determine which room has the best match to that motion history.”); Col. 8, ln. 6-13 (“Hence, the location engine in the current invention uses at least three algorithmic method and/or processes in series to estimate the location of a tag. These processes include: 1) Measurements of the signal strengths of tag advertisements, received by the bridges, employing proximity or trilateration analysis and motion-history analysis, to estimate room location from messages transmitted by the tag, as is common in the industry.”); Claims 1-5; Figs. 1-5); and wherein the computing server system is configured to determine at least a location of the detected first computing device based at least upon the messages received from the portion of the plurality of second computing devices.
(See id. at least at Abstract; Col. 4, ln. 20-35 (“The bridge retransmits the received signal strength of the tag's message, and the tag's motion status, via Wi-Fi to a central location server 105. As is already typical in the industry, the central location server may employ trilateration algorithms on the signal strength reports it receives from multiple bridges to form one estimate of the location of the tag. The central location server 105 also processes the content of the tag's motion-status message, comparing it to the coincident motion status reported by the fixed beacons 101. All of this information, including signal strengths of tag transmissions heard at the bridges, and coincident motion reports from the tags and fixed beacons, is factored into the location algorithm at the central location server. The central location server produces a “location estimate” for the tag, which is defined as an estimate of which room in the building the tag is located in.”); Col. 5, ln. 35-62; Claim 1-5; Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, Swart discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Swart further discloses wherein the computing server system is configured to obtain information relating to an environment in which the plurality of first and second computing devices are deployed, wherein the information comprises parameters indicating at least one of locations of walls or physical obstructions of the environment that would impede movement wherein computing server system is configured to determine the location of the detected first computing device using at least the messages received from the portion of the plurality of second computing devices and the information (See id. at least at Abstract; Col. 2, ln 15-43 (limitations of technology based on walls of shared rooms); Col. 5, ln. 62 – Col. 6, ln. 49 (walls and objects impeding signals and movement of tags); Col. 7, ln. 15 – Col. 8, ln. 47 (“By way of example, if a clinical employee at a hospital were bringing an asset into a clean storage room and places the asset on a shelf, at the shared wall between the clean and soiled storage room where the employee leaves the asset, the system and methods according to the present invention can quickly locate the asset because the RTLS architecture places a beacon at the doorway or ceiling of each room. If the RTLS used only radio signal strength to determine location of the asset, the signal between a beacon and the asset tag in the same room may be blocked by metal objects, reduced by polarization effects, or faded by multipath interference, to the point where the asset tag hears a beacon in an adjacent room more strongly than it hears the beacon in its own room. Thus, the RTLS using only radio signal strength will provide inaccurate locations or mis-estimates of the asset. Thus, when using only RSSI measurements, if there were numerous assets lined up on the shelves on both sides of the wall.”); Claims 1-5; Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, independent claims 16 and 17 recite substantially the same limitations as in independent claim 1, and claim 17 includes a “processor” (See Swart at least at Col. 3, ln. 37-63; Col. 4, ln. 45 – Col. 5, ln. 34; Claims 1-5; Figs. 1-5), and are rejected under the same grounds of rejection and for the same reasoning as applied above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Swart, in view of U.S. 2017/0005958 A1 to Frenkel et al., hereinafter “Frenkel.”
Regarding claim 3, Swart discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and may not specifically describe but Frenkel teaches wherein the computing server system is configured to determine the location of the detected first computing device using at least time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements from the portion of the plurality of second computing devices, and a single two way ranging (TWR) measurement from one of the plurality of second computing devices (See Frenkel at least at Abstract (“[T]he client system comprising communication apparatus operative for sending real time localization data and elder body motion data toward at least one server configured for performing at least one elder-supporting backend service responsive to at least one of THE real time localization data and elder body motion data; and at least one real-time location subsystem including: at least one wearable (“tag”) including at least one ultra-wide-band (UWB) communication transceiver and an accelerometer operative for sensing at least one body motion of an elder wearing the tag thereby to provide the elder body motion data; and at least one anchor device for deployment in an elder's domicile including an ultra-wide-band (UWB) communication transceiver operative for real time sub-meter localization of the tag.”); Paras. [0012] (time difference of arrival (TDOA)), [0024]-[0031] (“Certain embodiments seek to provide a UWB system including a wearable tag for indoor localization, and wherein power consumption optimization in UWB transmission and reception (e.g. use of dynamic blinking rate whereby ranging is less frequent ranging when senior is static), and optimal anchor selection when working in TWR (two-way ranging) mode to combine angle and distance data) enables a small battery to last several weeks between re-charges.”), [0072]-[0074], [0154]-[0166] (“4. Fusion with Z Axis sensors (UWB\Barometer)—if Z axis location information can be provided (e.g. by using a Barometer, FMCW Radar, UWB based on 4 anchor-TDOA).” Anchor TWR and TDOA are the beacons/second computing devices sending and relaying signals.), [0307]-[0308], [0312]; Claims 13-14; Figs. 1-2, 4-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Swart to incorporate the teachings of Frenkel and provide location estimates based on TDOA and TWR. Frenkel is directed to a monitoring system for sending real time localization data. Incorporating the techniques for sending and receiving localization data as in Frenkel with the real-time location systems, tags, beacons and bridges of Swart would thereby increase the applicability, utility, and efficacy of acquiring localization data.
Regarding claim 4, Swart as modified by Frenkel discloses all the limitations of claim 3 and Frenkel further teaches wherein the one of the plurality of second computing devices that performs the TWR measurement is pre-selected based at least on an estimated position of the detected first computing device (See Frenkel at least at Paras. [0024]-[0031] (estimated movement, i.e., position, and optimal anchor device selection when working in TWR), [0069]-[0074], [0240]-[0244] (tracking locations are pre-configured); Claims 1-16; Figs. 1-8).
While Swart further discloses an estimate of which ones of the plurality of second computing devices receive a next message from the detected first computing device, and a method for minimizing a measurement uncertainty (See Swart at least at Abstract; Col. 3, ln.64 – Col. 4, ln. 44 (“For a tag, the motion status is either a bit that says it is moving (or not), or numerical readings from its onboard accelerometer, or an increased transmission rate that implies that the tag is in motion. The bridge retransmits the received signal strength of the tag's message, and the tag's motion status, via Wi-Fi to a central location server 105. As is already typical in the industry, the central location server may employ trilateration algorithms on the signal strength reports it receives from multiple bridges to form one estimate of the location of the tag. The central location server 105 also processes the content of the tag's motion-status message, comparing it to the coincident motion status reported by the fixed beacons 101. All of this information, including signal strengths of tag transmissions heard at the bridges, and coincident motion reports from the tags and fixed beacons, is factored into the location algorithm at the central location server. The central location server produces a “location estimate” for the tag, which is defined as an estimate of which room in the building the tag is located in. Thus, the system in FIG. 1 includes a novel feature not taught in the prior art namely; a system of beacons, tags, bridges and a location engine, which enables the location engine to combine two location estimates: one multi-laterated location estimate based on radio signals, and a second location estimate based on motion status of tags and motion reports of in-room beacons; to produce a combined location estimate, used to store a updated, estimated location of the tag.”); Col. 5, ln. 6-61 (“The bridge 300 having a motion sensor 311 can determine the timing of any moving objects in its same room, which helps populate a system database of which rooms have moving objects at what time. This data can then be transmitted and/or stored in a database for correlation to motion status of one or more tags.”); Col. 7, ln. 15 – Col. 8, ln. 47 (“By way of example, if a clinical employee at a hospital were bringing an asset into a clean storage room and places the asset on a shelf, at the shared wall between the clean and soiled storage room where the employee leaves the asset, the system and methods according to the present invention can quickly locate the asset because the RTLS architecture places a beacon at the doorway or ceiling of each room. If the RTLS used only radio signal strength to determine location of the asset, the signal between a beacon and the asset tag in the same room may be blocked by metal objects, reduced by polarization effects, or faded by multipath interference, to the point where the asset tag hears a beacon in an adjacent room more strongly than it hears the beacon in its own room. Thus, the RTLS using only radio signal strength will provide inaccurate locations or mis-estimates of the asset. Thus, when using only RSSI measurements, if there were numerous assets lined up on the shelves on both sides of the wall.” Reduce inaccuracies); Claims 1-5; Figs. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Swart to incorporate the teachings of Frenkel and provide location estimates. Frenkel is directed to a monitoring system for sending real time localization data. Incorporating the techniques for sending and receiving localization data as in Frenkel with the real-time location systems, tags, beacons and bridges of Swart would thereby increase the applicability, utility, and efficacy of acquiring localization data.
Regarding claim 10, Swart discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and may not specifically describe but Frenkel teaches wherein the plurality of second computing devices comprise master devices and slave devices (See Frenkel at least at Abstract; Paras. [0030]-[0031], [0309]-[0313]; Claims 1-16; Figs. 1-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Swart to incorporate the teachings of Frenkel and provide master or root devices and responding devices. Frenkel is directed to a monitoring system for sending real time localization data. Incorporating the techniques for sending and receiving localization data as in Frenkel with the real-time location systems, tags, beacons and bridges of Swart would thereby increase the applicability, utility, and efficacy of acquiring localization data.
Regarding claim 15, Swart discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and may not specifically describe but Frenkel teaches wherein the system is deployed within a cloud-based network communication system (See Frenkel at least at Abstract; Para. [0232]-[0233]; Figs. 1-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Swart to incorporate the teachings of Frenkel and provide master or root devices and responding devices. Frenkel is directed to a monitoring system for sending real time localization data. Incorporating the techniques for sending and receiving localization data as in Frenkel with the real-time location systems, tags, beacons and bridges of Swart would thereby increase the applicability, utility, and efficacy of acquiring localization data.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Swart, in view of Frenkel in view of U.S. 2018/0045807 A1 to Senna et al., hereinafter “Senna” and further in view of U.S. 2021/0258795 A1 to Schober et al., hereinafter “Schober.”
Regarding claim 5, Swart as modified by Frenkel discloses all the limitations of claim 4. The references may not specifically describe but Senna teaches wherein the one of the plurality of second computing devices that performs the TWR measurement for the next message is determined based at least on measurements received from the detected first computing device at a previous message, and a set of the plurality of second computing devices that are likely to receive from the detected first computing device at the next message, wherein, for each of the set of the plurality of second computing devices, an expected position error is calculated, and measurements from the previous message are used to estimate an expected variance of the TWR measurement (See Senna at least at Abstract; Paras. [0009]-[0012] (dynamic multi-path errors and weighted average error assessment), [0032], [0053]-[0066] (“Two-Way Ranging (TWR) is the ability of UWB tags or radios to establish two-way ranging between objects (UWB Radio localization system). In such an instance one radio (node) transmits a request packet to another “target” node. The target node acquires the message, demodulates the packet and notes its precise time of arrival. After a precise and predetermined delay, relative to the time of arrival, the target node sends a response to the node originating the message. The requesting node receives the response and notes the time of arrival of the response. Knowing this is a two-way communication with a precise respondent, the receiving node calculates the total time from when the request was originally sent to when the response was received, subtracts the known delay and multiples the result by c/2. The result is a precise distance between the two nodes. Again, the result creates a spheroid locus of points, centered on the known location of the transmitting node. The intersection of three or more of these spheres identifies the probabilistic location of the receiving node as is described in more detail below […] Each UPN, after a predetermined delay, responds identifying itself, its location, and, in some cases, the time that it received the transmission and the time that it sent the response. From this data, the movably positioned object can determine its distance from the UPN. If, as in the present case, the location of the transmitter (UPNs) is known, the determined distance between the transmitter and receiver forms a spheroid locus of points on which the receiving node exists. One of reasonable skill in the art will appreciate that the measurement of time from which distance is determined is subject to a certain degree of error. TWR is typically more precise than TDOA but it involves a second set of communication messages.”), [0068]-[0076] (“ Each UPN is able to use GPS signal information such as signal strength, convergence, number of satellites, signal stability, etc to establish the expected error of their local GPS time synch. Systems which are experiencing a high amount of error due to poor or no signal can request timing information from their local neighbors. These neighbors can then be synchronized to a second degree of accuracy using UWB signals. This affect can be dynamic, and can be propagated through the UWB network through as many nodes as necessary.”), [0090]-[0097]; Claims 2-7 ; Figs. 1-7).
While Frankel further teaches wherein the method is configured to select one of the plurality of the second computing devices with the minimum expected error (See Frankel at least at Paras. [0154]-[0168], [0311]-[0313]; See also Senna at least at Paras. 0009]-[0012] (dynamic multi-path errors and weighted average error assessment), [0032], [0053]-[0066] (“Two-Way Ranging (TWR) is the ability of UWB tags or radios to establish two-way ranging between objects (UWB Radio localization system). In such an instance one radio (node) transmits a request packet to another “target” node. The target node acquires the message, demodulates the packet and notes its precise time of arrival. After a precise and predetermined delay, relative to the time of arrival, the target node sends a response to the node originating the message. The requesting node receives the response and notes the time of arrival of the response. Knowing this is a two-way communication with a precise respondent, the receiving node calculates the total time from when the request was originally sent to when the response was received, subtracts the known delay and multiples the result by c/2. The result is a precise distance between the two nodes. Again, the result creates a spheroid locus of points, centered on the known location of the transmitting node. The intersection of three or more of these spheres identifies the probabilistic location of the receiving node as is described in more detail below […] Each UPN, after a predetermined delay, responds identifying itself, its location, and, in some cases, the time that it received the transmission and the time that it sent the response. From this data, the movably positioned object can determine its distance from the UPN. If, as in the present case, the location of the transmitter (UPNs) is known, the determined distance between the transmitter and receiver forms a spheroid locus of points on which the receiving node exists. One of reasonable skill in the art will appreciate that the measurement of time from which distance is determined is subject to a certain degree of error. TWR is typically more precise than TDOA but it involves a second set of communication messages.”), [0068]-[0076] (“ Each UPN is able to use GPS signal information such as signal strength, convergence, number of satellites, signal stability, etc to establish the expected error of their local GPS time synch. Systems which are experiencing a high amount of error due to poor or no signal can request timing information from their local neighbors.”), [0310]-[0313]; Figs. 1-8).
The references may not specifically describe but Schober teaches to determine whether to replace a previously selected second computing device for performing the TWR measurement (See Schober at least at Abstract; Paras. [0019]-[0032] (“Most of the currently used indoor localization systems are either based on a bidirectional Two-Way Ranging (TWR) exchange or broadcasts if a synchronized anchor system is used. Using a bidirectional message exchange may provide a higher security regarding replay or relay attacks. When secure bidirectional ranging is applied, both sides append a so-called scrambled timestamp sequence (STS) in their UWB frames for authenticating the frame. The STS changes every time on both sides when a message is transmitted […] [E]quations are based on the assumption that every node needs to perform a ranging operation with every anchor. Depending on the ranging update rate and the node movement, by using a smart anchor selection algorithm for the ranging the correlation between the number of anchors and the number of ranging operations can be reduced.); Claims 7-8, 16-21; Figs. 1-8); See also Padaki at least at Abstract; Paras. [0124]-[0131], [0270]-[0274], [0284]; Figs. 1-10, 17, 22-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Swart and Frenkel to incorporate the teachings of Senna and Schober and provide location determination measurements and techniques. Senna is directed to UWB positioning node consellation integration and synchronizing signals that can be propagated to other nodes. Schober relates to UWB communication nodes and determining timestamp sequences for nodes. Incorporating the UWB positioning and synchronization of Senna with the UWB positioning nodes of Schober, the techniques for sending and receiving localization data as in Frenkel and the real-time location systems, tags, beacons and bridges of Swart would thereby increase the applicability, utility, and efficacy of acquiring localization data.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Swart, in view of U.S. 2021/0243560 A1 to Siann et al., hereinafter “Siann.”
Regarding claim 6, Swart discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and may not specifically describe but Siann teaches wherein the computing server system is configured to determine the location of the detected first computing device using at least time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurements from at least one of the plurality of second computing devices, received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements from the plurality of second computing devices (See Siann at least at Abstract; Paras. [0011] (“[A] RF beacon may announce its location through at least two transmissions to a network of multiple base stations. For each transmission received, each base station may calculate the signal's angle of arrival (AOA), the distance to the RF beacon based on the received signal strength indication (RSSI), and the distance to the RF beacon based on the signal's time difference of arrival (TDOA). Each base station may use one or more eigen structure algorithms (such as, by way of nonlimiting example, MUltiple Signal Classification (MUSIC)) to consolidate its AOA data points into fewer MUSIC-AOA estimates. Each base station may use linear quadratic estimation (LQE) to consolidate the RSSI-calculated distances into fewer LQE-RSSI distance estimates. Each base station may also use LQE to consolidate the TDOA-calculated distances into fewer LQE-TDOA distance estimates.”), [0044]-[0045] (“The operations may comprise receiving 101 a plurality of transmissions 903 from an RF beacon 901; measuring 102 a transmission 903; calculating for each transmission 903 at least one of: an AOA data point 904, a RSSI distance data point 905, and a TDOA distance data point 906; and filtering 103 any AOA data points 904 into a smaller plurality of frequency estimates 909, any RSSI distance data points 905 into a smaller plurality of first distance estimates 910, and any TDOA distance data points 906 into a smaller plurality of second distance estimates 911.”); Claims 11-13; Figs. 1-3, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Swart to incorporate the teachings of Siann and provide location/signal estimates based on TDOA and RSSI. Siann is directed to distributed signal processing for radiofrequency indoor localization. Incorporating the techniques for indoor localization as in Siann with the real-time location systems, tags, beacons and bridges of Swart would thereby increase the applicability, utility, and efficacy of acquiring localization data.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Swart, in view of U.S. 2021/0058744 A1 to Padaki et al., hereinafter “Padaki.”
Regarding claim 7, Swart discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and may not specifically describe but Padaki teaches wherein the plurality of second computing devices are calibrated to measure a propagation delay between itself and every other second computing device within a communication range using at least a single two way ranging (TWR) or double sided TWR (DS-TWR) methods (See Padaki at least at Abstract; Paras. [0124]-[0129] (“DS-TWR with three messages is illustrated in FIG. 7, which reduces the estimation error induced by clock drift from long response delays. Device A is the initiator to initialize the first round-trip measurement, while device B as the responder, responses to complete the first round-trip measurement, and meanwhile initialize the second round-trip measurement. Each device precisely timestamps the transmission and reception times of the messages, and the resultant time-of-flight estimate, T.sub.prop.”); [0227], [0232], [0242], [0270]-[0274], [0284]; Figs. 1-10, 17-18, 22-29; Supported by provisional application 62/890,889 and others all filed 08/23/2019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Swart to incorporate the teachings of Padaki and provide location/signal estimates based on DS-TWR and propagation delay. Padaki is directed to a system for performing localization of devices. Incorporating the localization techniques of Padaki with the real-time location systems, tags, beacons and bridges of Swart would thereby increase the applicability, utility, and efficacy of acquiring localization data.
Regarding claim 8 Swart as modified by Padaki discloses all the limitations of claim 7 and Padaki further teaches wherein the plurality of second computing devices are calibrated to estimate a quality of a communication channel between itself and every other second computing device within the communication range by measuring the propagation delay multiple times and calculating a standard deviation, fitting an arbitrary probability distribution, or other approximation from discrete data (See id. at least at Abstract; Paras. [0124]-[0129], [0179]-[0181], [0227], [0232], [0242]; Figs. 1-10, 17-18, 22-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Swart to incorporate the teachings of Padaki and provide location/signal quality and estimates. Padaki is directed to a system for performing localization of devices. Incorporating the localization techniques of Padaki with the real-time location systems, tags, beacons and bridges of Swart would thereby increase the applicability, utility, and efficacy of acquiring localization data.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Swart, in view of Padaki and further in view of Frenkel.
Regarding claim 9, Swart as modified by Padaki discloses all the limitations of claim 7. The references may not specifically describe but Frenkel teaches wherein the plurality of second computing devices are calibrated once during system installation, periodically, continuously, or as required when changes are detected in the system (See Frenkel at least at Paras. [0309]-[0313]; Figs. 1-8; See also Stitt at least at Col 5, ln. 1-35; Col. 7, ln. 41 – Col. 9, ln. 45; Col. 13, ln. 13-62; Figs. 1, 3-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Swart and Padaki to incorporate the teachings of Frenkel and provide calibration for anchor devices in location determinations. Frenkel is directed to monitoring real-time localization data. Incorporating the real-time localization data and monitoring of Frenkel with the localization techniques of Padaki and the real-time location systems, tags, beacons and bridges of Swart would thereby increase the applicability, utility, and efficacy of acquiring localization data.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Swart, in view Frenkel and further in view of U.S. 9,794,753 B1 to Stitt et al., hereinafter “Stitt”
Regarding claim 11, Swart as modified by Frenkel discloses all the limitations of claim 10. The references may not specifically describe but Stitt teaches wherein each master device is selected from the plurality of second computing devices based at least on: maximizing an area formed by each cluster having a master device and multiple slave devices, having the best quality communication between each master device and the multiple slave devices, each second computing device has at least one master device, and minimizing a total number of required master devices (See Stitt at least at Col 5, ln. 1-35; Col. 7, ln. 41 – Col. 9, ln. 45; Col. 13, ln. 13-62; Figs. 1, 3-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Swart and Frenkel to incorporate the teachings of Stitt and provide master and follower devices and nomenclature. Stitt is directed to establishing real-time location for computer devices. Incorporating the real-time location tracking of Stitt with the real-time localization data and monitoring of Frenkel and the real-time location systems, tags, beacons and bridges of Swart would thereby increase the applicability, utility, and efficacy of acquiring localization data.
Regarding claim 12, Swart as modified by Frenkel discloses all the limitations of claim 10. The references may not specifically describe but Stitt teaches wherein each master device is configured to periodically transmit a synchronization message, wherein the synchronization message includes at least information relating to a local clock of each master device at the time of transmission (See id. at least at Col 5, ln. 1-35; Col. 7, ln. 41 – Col. 9, ln. 45; Col. 13, ln. 13-62; Figs. 1, 3-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Swart and Frenkel to incorporate the teachings of Stitt and provide master and follower devices and nomenclature. Stitt is directed to establishing real-time location for computer devices. Incorporating the real-time location tracking of Stitt with the real-time localization data and monitoring of Frenkel and the real-time location systems, tags, beacons and bridges of Swart would thereby increase the applicability, utility, and efficacy of acquiring localization data.
Regarding claim 13, Swart as modified by Frenkel and Stitt discloses all the limitations of claim 12 and Stitt further teaches wherein each slave device is configured to receive the synchronization message and timestamp the synchronization messages upon reception (See id. at least at Col 24, ln. 13 – Col. 27, ln. 8; Col. 35, ln. 13-44; Col. 36, ln. 25-67; Figs. 1, 3-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Swart and Frenkel to incorporate the teachings of Stitt and provide master and follower devices and nomenclature. Stitt is directed to establishing real-time location for computer devices. Incorporating the real-time location tracking of Stitt with the real-time localization data and monitoring of Frenkel and the real-time location systems, tags, beacons and bridges of Swart would thereby increase the applicability, utility, and efficacy of acquiring localization data.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Swart in view of U.S. 2021/0064043 A1 to Kulkarni et al., hereinafter “Kulkarni.”
Regarding claim 14, Swart discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and may not specifically describe but Kulkarni teaches wherein each of the plurality of second computing devices is configured to determine a channel impulse response (CIR) for each signal received from each of the plurality of first computing devices, and the computing server system is configured to determine the location of the detected first computing device based at least on the CIR of each signal (See Kulkarni at least at Abstract; Paras. [0142]-[0154] (“[U]sing the raw channel impulse response of UWB signals to estimate if the signal is LOS or NLOS in real time. In step 521, the electronic device receives a figure of merits from the UWB tags. For example, the UWB tags report the figure of merit to the processor (such as the processor 140) of the electronic device 210. In step 522, the electronic device 210 also accesses the raw channel impulse response of a signal from the UWB anchor to the tag.”); Figs. 1-11; Supported by provisional application 62/892,762 and others filed 08/28/2019)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the disclosure of Swart to incorporate the teachings of Kulkarni and provide channel impulse response of UWB signals. Kulkarni is directed to sensor fusion for localization and path planning. Incorporating the localization techniques of Kulkarni with the real-time location systems, tags, beacons and bridges of Swart would thereby increase the applicability, utility, and efficacy of acquiring localization data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure U.S. 2015/0304809 A1 to Schlechter and U.S. 10,157,536 B2 to Zuckerman et al.
/WILLIAM T. MONTICELLO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/FONYA M LONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3682