DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a pitch-angular-speed calculator …” in claim 1 is a computer implemented means plus function limitation described in paragraphs 0021, 0041-0053 and 0061-0062 and Figs. 1, 3 and 6, elements 50, 54, 130 and step B10. The broadest reasonable interpretation of this computer implemented means plus function limitation is any structure that calculates the angular speed of a vehicle body in a pitch direction; and “a drive controller…” in claims 1-3 is a computer implemented means plus function limitation described in paragraphs 0024-0029, 0031, 0041-0050 and 0061-0062, Figs. 1 and 3, elements 52, 56, and B30, B40 and B50. The broadest reasonable interpretation of this computer implemented means plus function limitation is any structure that changes the front-wheel and rear-wheel driving forces based on the vehicle body pitch angular speed and suppresses a posture change in the pitch direction while keeping total driving force unchanged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (JP 7651960 B2, hereinafter referred to as “Ito”).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a control apparatus (Fig. 1, elements 5, 17) for a vehicle (Figs. 1 and 5, element 1) that includes (i) right and left front wheels (Fig. 1, element 14), (ii) a front-wheel drive apparatus (Fig. 1, element 2) which is configured (via Fig. 1, elements 10, 20, 30) to drive the front wheels, (iii) right and left rear wheels (Fig. 1, element 16) and (iv) a rear-wheel drive apparatus (Fig. 1, element 3) which is provided independently of the front-wheel drive apparatus and which is configured (via Fig. 1, element 12, 22, 32) to drive the rear wheels (paragraphs 0010-0020), the control apparatus comprising: a pitch-angular-speed calculator (Fig. 1, element 17) configured to calculate (Fig. 6, step S602) an angular speed of a vehicle body that is a body of the vehicle, in a pitch direction of the vehicle body (paragraphs 0016-0018, 0032-0046, 0054-0055, 0061-0063, 0070, 0084); and a drive controller (Fig. 1, element 5) configured to change a driving force (Fig. 6, steps S603, S604, S605) of the front wheels and a driving force of the rear wheels, based on the angular speed of the vehicle body in the pitch direction, for suppressing a posture change of the vehicle body in the pitch direction while keeping a total driving force of the vehicle unchanged (paragraphs 0045-0049, 0055-0057, 0061-0067, 0078-0082, 0085-0086).
Regarding claim 2, Ito discloses the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, when the posture change of the vehicle body is caused from a forward tilting posture to a backward tilting posture by the angular speed of the vehicle body in the pitch direction, the drive controller is configured to increase the driving force of the rear wheels and to reduce the driving force of the front wheels by an amount corresponding to an amount of increase of the driving force of the rear wheels (paragraphs 0032-0035, 0049, 0061-0067, 0071; Equations 7-8 and Fig. 6, steps S603-S606), and wherein, when the posture change of the vehicle body is caused from the backward tilting posture to the forward tilting posture by the angular speed of the vehicle body in the pitch direction, the drive controller is configured to reduce the driving force of the rear wheels and to increase the driving force of the front wheels by an amount corresponding to an amount of reduction of the driving force of the rear wheels (paragraphs 0061-0067, 0076-0079).
Regarding claim 3, Ito discloses the control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the drive controller is configured to increase the amount of the increase or reduction of the driving force of the rear wheels as an absolute value of the angular speed of the vehicle body in the pitch direction is increased (paragraphs 0056-0059, 0063-0064).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furuhira et al. (JP 2007118898 A, hereinafter referred to as “Furuhira”).
Regarding claim 1, Furuhira discloses a control apparatus for a vehicle that includes (i) right and left front wheels (Fig, 1, elements Wfl, Wfr), (ii) a front-wheel drive apparatus which is configured to drive the front wheels (Fig. 1, elements 11a, 11b; paragraphs 0017-0018), (iii) right and left rear wheels (Fig. 1, elements Wrl, Wrr) and (iv) a rear-wheel drive apparatus which is provided independently of the front-wheel drive apparatus and which is configured to drive the rear wheels (Fig. 1, elements 11c, 11d; paragraphs 0017-0018), the control apparatus comprising: a pitch-angular-speed calculator configured to calculate an angular speed of a vehicle body that is a body of the vehicle, in a pitch direction of the vehicle body (Fig. 1, elements 21a-21d; paragraphs 0019 and 0025-0026); and a drive controller configured to change a driving force of the front wheels and a driving force of the rear wheels, based on the angular speed of the vehicle body in the pitch direction, for suppressing a posture change of the vehicle body in the pitch direction while keeping a total driving force of the vehicle unchanged (Fig. 1, element 22; paragraph 0008-0009, 0012-0013, 0027-0030).
Regarding claim 2, Furuhira discloses the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, when the posture change of the vehicle body is caused from a forward tilting posture to a backward tilting posture by the angular speed of the vehicle body in the pitch direction, the drive controller is configured to increase the driving force of the rear wheels and to reduce the driving force of the front wheels by an amount corresponding to an amount of increase of the driving force of the rear wheels, and wherein, when the posture change of the vehicle body is caused from the backward tilting posture to the forward tilting posture by the angular speed of the vehicle body in the pitch direction, the drive controller is configured to reduce the driving force of the rear wheels and to increase the driving force of the front wheels by an amount corresponding to an amount of reduction of the driving force of the rear wheels (paragraphs 0009, 0027-0030).
Regarding claim 3, Furuhira discloses the control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the drive controller is configured to increase the amount of the increase or reduction of the driving force of the rear wheels as an absolute value of the angular speed of the vehicle body in the pitch direction is increased (paragraphs 0027-0030).
Regarding claim 5, Furuhira discloses the control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the front-wheel drive apparatus includes a front-wheel electric motor which is connected to a front wheel body of each of the right and left front wheels in a force transmittable manner and which includes a part disposed in a space on an inner peripheral side of the front wheel body (Fig. 1, elements 11a, 11b; paragraphs 0002, 0017-0018), and wherein the rear-wheel drive apparatus includes a rear-wheel electric motor which is connected to a rear wheel body of each of the right and left rear wheels in a force transmittable manner and which includes a part disposed in a space on an inner peripheral side of the rear wheel body (Fig. 1, elements 11c, 11d; paragraphs 0002, 0017-0018).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Murakami et al. (US 20210031622 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Murakami”).
Regarding claim 4, Ito teaches the control apparatus as applied to claim 1 above, wherein (ii) the front-wheel drive apparatus includes (ii-1) a front wheel driving source (Fig. 1, element 10; paragraphs 0012, 0018-0019) […], and wherein (iv) the rear-wheel drive apparatus includes (iv-1) a rear-wheel driving force source (Fig. 1, element 11; paragraphs 0013 and 0018-0019). Ito is silent regarding “(ii-2) a front-wheel differential gear mechanism configured to distribute the drive force supplied from the front-wheel driving force source between the right and left front wheels and to allow a difference between rotations of the right and left front wheels, and […] (iv-2) a rear-wheel differential gear mechanism configured to distribute the drive force supplied from the rear-wheel driving force source between the right and left rear wheels and to allow a difference between rotations of the right and left rear wheels.”
Murakami teaches a dual motor electric 4WD vehicle with independent front and rear motors and conventional axle differentials, the vehicle comprising: a front wheel drive apparatus (Fig. 1, element MG1) configured to apply a drive force to right and left front wheels (Fig. 1, element 1RF, 1LF); a rear wheel drive apparatus (Fig. 1, element MG2) configured to apply drive force to right and left rear wheels (Fig. 1, element 1RR, 1LR; paragraphs 0023, 0030, 0034); wherein (ii) the front-wheel drive apparatus includes (ii-1) a front-wheel driving force source (Fig. 1, element MG1) and (ii-2) a front-wheel differential gear mechanism (Fig. 1, element 20) configured to distribute the drive force supplied from the front-wheel driving force source between the right and left front wheels and to allow a difference between rotations of the right and left front wheels (paragraphs 0023-0024, 0026, 0030), and wherein (iv) the rear-wheel drive apparatus includes (iv-1) a rear-wheel driving force source and (iv-2) a rear-wheel differential gear mechanism configured to distribute the drive force supplied from the rear-wheel driving force source between the right and left rear wheels and to allow a difference between rotations of the right and left rear wheels (paragraphs 0023-0024, 0027, 0034).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to Applicant’s effective filing date to combine the independent motors and pitch-control method taught by Ito with the conventional differential gear mechanisms taught by Murakami. Both references are directed to dual-motor electric 4WD vehicles. Adding the differentials is nothing more than the arrangement of known elements according to known methods, yielding predictable results. The predictable results including a vehicle that retains Ito’s pitch suppression while permitting left/right wheel speed differences during cornering.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ito (JP 2022098341 A) teaches an electric vehicle control that estimates actual pitch angle response and redistributes drive force between independent front and rear motors to suppress vehicle body pitch vibration while preserving total driving force. Ito appears to anticipate claims 1-2.
Sando (US 2024/0166194 A1) teaches a driving force control that adjusts the front-rear force distribution so that the vehicle’s pitch rate and pitch angle follow a corrected target. Sando is particularly relevant to claims 1-2.
/Dale Moyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656