DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the uniform heating plate body, a covering layer, and a heating element as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A heating element in claim 1 wherein heating is a functional language with the term element as a generic placeholder for means.
A thermal printing assembly in claim 1 wherein thermal printing is a functional language with the term assembly as a genetic placeholder for means.
A heat dissipation structure in claim 12 wherein heat dissipation is a functional language with the term structure as a generic placeholder for means.
The heating element is interpreted as a resistance wire or a resistance paste disclosed in the specification (para 0010) or its equivalents thereof.
The thermal printing assembly is interpreted to include a template or a printing plate as disclosed in the specification (para 0063) or its equivalents thereof.
The heat dissipation structure is interpreted to be a hollowed-out frame structure as disclosed in the specification (para 006) or its equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites for “a thermal printing assembly” but for proper antecedent basis it needs to be amended to “the thermal printing assembly” as a thermal printing assembly is already recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2018/0141328) in view of Yahav et al (US 5,221,829).
Chen discloses a portable thermal printing device claimed including a housing (21) as a support plate assembly, and a heating plate (22) having a heating element/wire (para 0013) with a cover plate/covering layer (23) that is disposed on the support plate assembly configured to heat an article or a thermal printing assembly (e.g., template or paper; para 0036 and 0045).
Chen does not show a heat insulation plate and the heating plate comprising a uniform heating plate body with the heating element disposed between the uniform heating plate and the covering layer as claimed.
Yahav shows it is known to provide a support plate assembly (10) that is provided with a heat insulation plate (37) disposed on the support plate assembly, and a heating plate disposed on the heat insulation plate wherein the heating plate comprises a uniform heating plate body shown by an aluminum plate (35) with a heating element (30) that is disposed between the uniform heating plate body and the covering layer (12/32) as illustrated in Figure 3B, and Yahav discloses that its heating assembly prevents localized overheating of its heating surface (column 2, lines 25-29).
In view of Yahav, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Chen with a heating insulation plate and the heating plate with a uniform heating plate body with a heating element disposed between the uniform heating plate body and the covering layer wherein localized overheating is prevent and more desired even heating distribution can be predictably made in the thermal printing assembly.
With respect to claim 2, Yahav shows the uniform heating body (35) that is connected side by side with the heating insulation body (37) wherein Chen shows the cover plate (23) that is in contact with the thermal printing assembly (24) so that heat transfer from the heating plate can be effectively made to the thermal printing assembly.
With respect to claim 3, Yahav discloses the uniform heating plate body that is made of aluminum plate (column 3, line 67 to column 4, line 3).
With respect to claim 4, Yahav discloses the heating element that is made of resistance foil or wire that is distributed on the uniform heating plate body (also, see Figures 4A-4C).
With respect to claim 6, Chen discloses the cover plate (23) that is provided with grid lines (see Figure 8) as location reference lines.
With respect to claim 14, Chen discloses the thermal printing assembly such as a template and/or paper and other suitable printing stock (para 0045) that can be laid on the heating plate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Chen with the thermal printing assembly including a printing template, a printing paper including a hard paper board stacked in sequence, or any other printing stock to predicably produce a decorative image or print thereto. Furthermore, it is noted that the thermal printing assembly is regarded an an article that is worked on by the claimed printing device/apparatus wherein such article/material does not limit the structure of the apparatus claim for its patentability (also, see MPEP 2115).
With respect to claim 15, Chen discloses a manual pressing equipment (30) within which the portable thermal printing device (20) that can fitted within the pressing equipment (para 0062) wherein pressure is exerted to the printing device such that a pattern of the template can be made to the printing paper. It is also noted that claim 15 is regarded as a manner of using the claimed thermal printing device/apparatus wherein the manner of operating the device/apparatus does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
With respect to claims 16 and 17, Chen discloses a base (10) as a bearing base that is disposed under the support plate assembly wherein the base comprises a pressure bearing plate (shown by it surface plate as illustrated in Figures 3 and 4) with a limiting edge (shown by its peripheral edge) facing toward the support plate assembly (21), and the support plate assembly corresponding in shape and space between the bearing plate and the limiting edge as the support plate assembly having a pins (211) engaged with a groove (102) of the bearing base.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Yahav as applied to claims 1-4, 6 and 14-17 above, and further in view of Matsusaki (US 2019/0100027).
Chen in view of Yahav discloses the device claimed including the covering layer but does not show that the covering layer is one of a silicone coating or elastomer coating as claimed.
Matsusaki discloses a thermal printing device having a heating plate that is further provided with a coating of a covering layer (43; para 0105) made of silicone based coating.
In view of Matsusaki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Chen, as modified by Yahav, with the covering layer that is made of a silicone coating or any other suitable coating materials for not only for the protection of the heating plate but also to smoothly guiding a thermal printing assembly (e.g. paper or any other articles) processed by the heating plate.
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Yahav as applied to claims 1-4, 6 and 14-17 above, and further in view of Desmeules et al (US 2023/0239972).
Chen in view of Yahav discloses the device claimed except for an electrical connection element that is detachably connected via magnetic attraction as claimed.
Desmeules shows it is known to provide an electrical connection element (21/22) that can be detachably connected to a heating element via a magnetic attraction (i.e., via magnet; also, see Abstract and para 0021) to connect an external power source to heating elements/wires.
In view of Desmeules, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Chen, as modified by Yahav, with electrical connection element is detachably connected to a heating element via magnetic attraction (thru magnets) as a known electrical connection that predictably allows for easy and convenient electrical connection a user can make as known in the art.
With respect to claim 8, Desmeules further discloses for a circuit board (12) having a magnetic attracting connector or retainer (16) that is be coupled or fitted with the electrical connection element (21/22), and it would have been obvious to adapt Chen, as modified by Yahav, with the circuit board that is disposed on the support plate assembly where the heating plate is disposed thereon along with a circuit board and a magnetic attracting connector as taught by Desmeules to predictably make the electric connection to power the heating element of the heating plate to generate the desired electrical heating.
With respect to claims 10 and 13, Chen discloses the support plate assembly having a support plate (shown element 21) and a bottom plate (10) disposed under the support plate wherein the bottom plate comprises a supporting bottom plate and support frame (shown by the outer support frame) surrounding the support bottom plate (also, see Figure 2), and as Chen further discloses an On-Off button (103) as a key module situated in the support frame (as illustrated in Figure 2), a circuit board for control the heating plate/heating element having the key module i.e., On-Off button, would have been situated within the support frame. Furthermore, as Yahav shows the insulation layer (37) on the heating plate, the support plate assembly having the support plate would be disposed under the heat insulation plate when modified by Yahav wherein the heat insulation plate would predictably prevent heat to flow toward the support plate assembly and thus thermally insulate the support plate assembly.
With respect to claim 11, Chen discloses a handle (213), and it would have been obvious to provide the handle on the supporting bottom plate or any other suitable location as a matter of design choice, lacking criticality, to predicably enable a user to support and carry the portable printing device.
With respect to claim 12, Chen discloses the bottom plate (10) is provided with an accommodating space (para 0017) for the insertion of the heating plate which would provide a heat dissipation structure that would allow heat to be dissipated via the accommodating space.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Yahav and Desmeules as applied to claims 7, 8 and 10-13 above, and further in view of Blaszczykiewicz et al (US 2009/0020521).
Chen in view of Yahav and Desmeules discloses the device claimed except for a direct current DC to direct current DC conversion module as claimed.
Blaszczykiewicz shows it is known to provide a DC to DC conversion module/circuit that receives an external DC voltage (from a battery) whose voltage is converted via the DC to DC converter module to a desired predetermined DC voltage supplied to a heating element (also, se para 0023).
In view of Blaszczykiewicz, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Chen, as modified by Yahav and Desmeules, with the circuit board that comprises a DC to DC converter/module to produce a desired or predetermined voltage to energize the heating element of the heating to an adequate and sufficient heating temperature for processing or heating the thermal printing assembly (template or paper) as desired.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Yahav as applied to claims 1-4, 6 and 14-17 above, and further in view of Chao et al (US 2014/0021193).
Chen in view of Yahav discloses the device claimed including the heat insulation plate (37) shown by Yahav but does not disclose that the insulating plate made of the material claimed including an expanded polystyrene material.
Chao shows it is known to provide a heat insulation layer (1) that can be made of various insulation materials including ceramic/glass or expanded polystyrene (para 0017).
In view of Chao, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Chen, as modified by Yahav, with the heat insulation layer that is made of an expanded polystyrene material or any other materials as an alternative and simple substitution known in the art for predictably providing a good heat insulation.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Yahav as applied to claims 1-4, 6 and 14-17 above, and further in view of Hasegawa (US 5,528,345).
Chen in view of Yahav discloses the device claimed including the support plate assembly but does not show that the support plate assembly is made of the material claimed including epoxy resin.
Hasegawa discloses it is known to provide a support casing (35/36) that is made of a heat resistant material including epoxy resin, phenol resin, or urea resin (column 5, lines 19-25).
In view of Hasegawa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Chen, as modified by Yahav, with the support plate assembly that is made of a material including epoxy resin, phenol resin, urea resin, or any other heat resistant resin that predictably provides a good thermal and mechanical strength to the structural the support plate assembly when exposed to the heating plate.
Conclusion
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761