DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Willats et al. (Willats) (Patent/Publication Number US 2019/0010850).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Willats discloses an exhaust treatment device (10, 14, 22, 28) comprising: an exhaust pipe (16, 18) through which exhaust gas flows (e.g. See Paragraphs [0032]); an injection unit (38, 42) that injects urea water into the exhaust pipe (e.g. See Paragraphs [0034]); a first plate (72) that is provided upstream of the injection unit (38, 42) in the exhaust pipe in a manner to be orthogonal to an axial direction of the exhaust pipe (e.g. See Paragraphs [0038-0041]); an arc-shaped second plate (54, 64) that is provided along the axial direction in the exhaust pipe and faces the injection unit (e.g. See Paragraphs [0036] The inner wall 54 has an impingement side 64 facing the axis A and a non-impingement side 66 facing the gap 58. When the injector 42 sprays the fluid into the internal cavity 52 to mix with swirling exhaust gas, the mixture is directed in part toward the impingement side 64 of the inner wall 54 which comprises an impact zone. As the temperature of the spray is less than the temperature of the exhaust gas, the spray can have a cooling effect on the inner wall 54 at the impact zone such that deposits from the spray may start to form on the impingement side 64 of the inner wall 54.) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0036-0037]); and a third plate (74) that is provided downstream of the second plate in the exhaust pipe in a manner to be orthogonal to the axial direction (e.g. See Paragraphs [0042] Note that the plates shown in the disclosed examples for the inlet 72 and outlet 74 baffles are just one example. It should be understood that the plates could be flat or have a contoured or helical plate configuration. Further, the number and configuration of the various inlet and outlet openings can be varied dependent upon different applications.) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0038-0042]), wherein the first plate includes a first inflow hole (80, 84, 92) formed at a position away from a central portion thereof, and a guide portion configured to direct the exhaust gas introduced from the first inflow hole toward the injection portion (e.g. See Paragraphs [0039-0041]), and the third plate (74) includes an outflow hole (76, 78) formed in a central portion thereof (e.g. See Paragraphs [0038] An inlet baffle 72 (FIG. 2B) is mounted to the inlet end 46 of the mixer 36 and is configured to direct engine exhaust gas into the internal cavity 52. The mixer 36 also includes an outlet baffle 74 (FIG. 2A) through which a mixture of spray and exhaust gas exits the outlet end 48 of the mixer 36. In the example shown in FIG. 2A, the outlet baffle 74 comprises a plate that includes a primary opening 76 through which a majority of a mixture of engine exhaust gas and spray exits the internal cavity 52 and a plurality of secondary openings 78 that are smaller than the primary opening 76. .....) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0038, 0042]); wherein and the third plate includes a protruding portion protruding toward the first plate and an outflow hole formed at a distal end of the protruding portion (e.g. See Paragraphs [0042] Note that the plates shown in the disclosed examples for the inlet 72 and outlet 74 baffles are just one example. It should be understood that the plates could be flat or have a contoured or helical plate configuration. ….) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 2, Willats further discloses wherein the first plate (72) is a disk, and when the first plate and the second plate are viewed from the third plate, the first inflow hole (80, 84, 92) is located at a position different from that of the second plate in the circumferential direction of the first plate (e.g. See Paragraphs [0039] The inlet baffle 72 comprises a plate that includes at least one first inlet opening 80 that extends along a peripheral edge 82 of the inlet baffle 72. The first inlet opening 80 at least partially overlaps the heat transfer element 70 such that engine exhaust gas is conducted through the inlet opening 80 to directly contact and heat the heat transfer element 70. In one example, the heat transfer element 70 extends in a peripheral direction about the axis A, and the inlet opening 80 extends along the peripheral edge 82 of the inlet baffle 72 and overlaps an entire peripheral length of the heat transfer element 70. This significantly improves heat transfer and maximizes the heating capability of the heat transfer element 70.) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 3, Willats further discloses wherein the injection unit (38, 42) is located at an upper end portion of the exhaust pipe in a vertical direction, and the first inflow hole is located at the same position as the outflow hole in the vertical direction (e.g. See Paragraphs [0040] The inlet baffle 72 also includes one or more second inlet openings 84 positioned adjacent to the injector 42 and injector mount area 62 to direct the engine exhaust gas toward spray entering the internal cavity 52. In one example, the mixer includes an inlet housing 86 that at least partially surrounds an inlet cone 88 that extends inwardly from the inner surface of the outer housing 50 as shown in FIG. 2A. The injector 42 (FIG. 1) is mounted to the mount area 62 such that fluid spray enters an inlet end of the inlet cone 88 and then diverges outwardly to exit an outlet end of the cone 88. The inlet housing 86 includes openings 90 that help direct exhaust gas toward the inlet end of the cone 88 to mix with the fluid spray.) (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0034, 0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 4, Willats further discloses wherein the first inflow hole is a rectangular hole, and the guide portion is provided obliquely upward in the vertical direction from a lower edge of the first inflow hole (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Willats further discloses wherein the first plate is a disk, and a center of the first inflow hole is located farther from a center of the first plate than the outflow hole in a radial direction of the first plate (e.g. See Paragraphs [0041] The inlet baffle 72 also includes one or more third inlet openings 92 that are smaller than the first 80 and second 84 inlet openings. The third inlet openings 92 are positioned on the inlet baffle 72 to reduce back pressure. The third inlet openings 92 are typically smaller than the second inlet opening 84. The third inlet openings 92 can be configured to have different shapes, sizes, and/or patterns in various combinations.) (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 6, Willats further discloses wherein the first plate is a disk having a first radius, the second plate has a semicylindrical shape having a second radius smaller than the first radius, and one end portion of the second plate in an axial direction is in contact with the first plate (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0036-0042]).
Regarding claim 7, Willats further discloses wherein the first plate includes a plurality of second inflow holes provided at predetermined intervals along the second plate closer to the center of the first plate with respect to the second plate (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 8, Willats further discloses wherein the second inflow hole is located at a position different from that of the first inflow hole in the circumferential direction of the first plate (e.g. See Paragraphs [0040] The inlet baffle 72 also includes one or more second inlet openings 84 positioned adjacent to the injector 42 and injector mount area 62 to direct the engine exhaust gas toward spray entering the internal cavity 52. In one example, the mixer includes an inlet housing 86 that at least partially surrounds an inlet cone 88 that extends inwardly from the inner surface of the outer housing 50 as shown in FIG. 2A. .....) (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 9, Willats further discloses wherein the first plate includes a third inflow hole (80, 84, 92) provided along the second plate, at a position closer to an edge of the first plate than the second plate (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 10, Willats further discloses wherein the first plate includes a second inflow hole formed at a position adjacent to an inner circumferential surface of the second plate and spaced apart from the first inflow hole by a predetermined angle in a circumferential direction (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 11, Willats further discloses wherein the first plate further includes a guide portion (88) configured to direct the exhaust gas introduced from the second inflow hole toward the inner circumferential surface of the second plate (e.g. See Paragraphs [0040] The inlet baffle 72 also includes one or more second inlet openings 84 positioned adjacent to the injector 42 and injector mount area 62 to direct the engine exhaust gas toward spray entering the internal cavity 52. In one example, the mixer includes an inlet housing 86 that at least partially surrounds an inlet cone 88 that extends inwardly from the inner surface of the outer housing 50 as shown in FIG. 2A. The injector 42 (FIG. 1) is mounted to the mount area 62 such that fluid spray enters an inlet end of the inlet cone 88 and then diverges outwardly to exit an outlet end of the cone 88. The inlet housing 86 includes openings 90 that help direct exhaust gas toward the inlet end of the cone 88 to mix with the fluid spray.) (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 12, Willats further discloses wherein the second inflow hole is a rectangular hole, and the guide portion is provided obliquely downward in the vertical direction from an upper edge of the second inflow hole (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 13, Willats further discloses wherein the first plate includes a fourth inflow hole that is formed at a position where the second plate is not provided in the circumferential direction and into which the exhaust gas flows, and the fourth inflow hole is formed at a position adjacent to the injection unit in the circumferential direction (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 14, Willats further discloses wherein the second plate includes a bent portion that is formed at an end portion in the circumferential direction and is connected to the exhaust pipe, and the fourth inflow hole is located between the injection unit and the bent portion in the circumferential direction (e.g. See Paragraphs [0044] In one example, the heat transfer element 70 extends a first circumferential length and the inner wall 54 extends a second circumferential length that is greater than the first circumferential length. In one example, the first circumferential length extends approximately one hundred and eighty degrees or less around the axis A and the second circumferential length extends more than one hundred and eighty degrees around the axis A and less than three hundred and sixty degrees about the axis A. This is just one example configuration, the first and second circumferential lengths can be extended and/or shortened as needed dependent upon different applications.) (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0036, 0043-0044]).
Regarding claim 15, Willats further discloses wherein one end portion of the second plate in the axial direction is in contact with the first plate, and the other end portion of the second plate in the axial direction is in contact with the third plate (e.g. See Paragraphs [0042] Note that the plates shown in the disclosed examples for the inlet 72 and outlet 74 baffles are just one example. It should be understood that the plates could be flat or have a contoured or helical plate configuration. Further, the number and configuration of the various inlet and outlet openings can be varied dependent upon different applications.) (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 17, Willats further discloses wherein the third plate further includes a flat plate portion in a manner to be orthogonal to the axial direction, and an outer diameter of the protruding portion increases from the tip of the protruding portion toward a connection point with the flat plate portion (e.g. See Paragraphs [0042] Note that the plates shown in the disclosed examples for the inlet 72 and outlet 74 baffles are just one example. It should be understood that the plates could be flat or have a contoured or helical plate configuration. Further, the number and configuration of the various inlet and outlet openings can be varied dependent upon different applications.) (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 18, Willats further discloses wherein an outer peripheral surface of the protruding portion is curved from the tip of the protruding portion toward the connection point (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 19, Willats further discloses wherein the protruding portion is cylindrical in shape (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 20, Willats further discloses wherein the third plate is a circular flat plate, and the protruding portion protrudes from a central portion of the third plate toward the first plate (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0038-0042]).
Regarding claim 21, Willats further discloses a catalyst (14, 28, 34) that is provided downstream of the third plate in the exhaust pipe and causes ammonia generated from the urea water to react with the exhaust gas, wherein a distance between the third plate and the catalyst is smaller than a distance between the third plate and the first plate (e.g. See Paragraphs [0032] In one example configuration shown in FIG. 1, the exhaust components direct engine exhaust gases into a diesel oxidation catalyst (DOC) 14 having an inlet 16 and an outlet 18. Downstream of the DOC 14 there may be a diesel particulate filter (DPF) 22 that is used to remove contaminants from the exhaust gas as known. The DPF has an inlet 24 and an outlet 26. Downstream of the DOC 14 and optional DPF 22 is a selective catalytic reduction (SCR) catalyst 28 having an inlet 30 and an outlet 32. The outlet 32 communicates exhaust gases to downstream exhaust components 34. .... .) (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0032-0035]).
Regarding claim 22, Willats further discloses wherein an angle formed by a) a first line passing through one circumferential end of the second plate and a center of the second plate and b) a second line passing through the other circumferential end of the second plate and the center of the second plate is 180°or more and 270°or less (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0036-0042]).
Regarding claim 23, Willats further discloses wherein one end portion of the second plate in an axial direction is in contact with the first plate, and the other end portion of the second plate in an axial direction is in contact with the third plate (e.g. See Figures 1-6; Paragraphs [0036-0042]).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and consists of seven patents:
Brandl et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2016/0361694), Wang et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2020/0131974), Gattani et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2020/0271035), El-Gammal et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2020/0347767), Kimura et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2021/0062703), Sauer et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2023/0265774), and Zhou et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2025/0122820), all discloses an exhaust gas purification for use with an internal combustion engine.
Conclusion
Binh Q. Tran
/BINH Q TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3748
June 27, 2026