DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 10, 12, 14, 17-19, 26, 32, 35, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al (US 2019/0325812; hereinafter Mao), in view of Okahisa et al (US 2019/0280174; hereinafter Okahisa).
• Regarding claim 1, Mao discloses a display panel (¶ 2), comprising:
a substrate (element 110 in figure 3A and ¶ 33);
a light-emitting element located at a side of the substrate (element 160 in figure 3A and ¶ 33); and
a light-shielding layer located at a side of the light-emitting element facing away from the substrate (element 140 in figure 3 and ¶s 39-43).
However, Mao fails to disclose the additional details of the display panel.
In the same field of endeavor, Okahisa discloses a light emitting device (figure 1) comprising:
a substrate (element 30 in figure 1);
a light-emitting element located at a side of the substrate (elements 1 and 1a-1h in figure 1 and ¶ 35) and comprising a first light-emitting element (element 1 in figure 1 and ¶s 42-44) and a second light-emitting element (elements 1a-1h in figure 1 and ¶s 42-44); and
a light-shielding layer located at a side of the light-emitting element facing away from the substrate (element 10 in figure 1 and ¶s 45 and 46),
the light-shielding layer comprising a first opening corresponding to the first light-emitting element (note the portion of element 10 in figure 1 comprising elements 20 and 20a-20h), and
the second light-emitting element being arranged on at least one side of the first light-emitting element (note the relationship between elements 1 and 1a-1h in figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Mao according to the teachings of Okahisa, for the purpose of selectively emitting light onto desired radiation areas that are at least partially different from each other (¶ 7).
• Regarding claims 2, 3, 5, 9, 10, 12, 14, 17-19, 26, 32, 35, and 38, Mao, in view of Okahisa, discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 1. However, Mao fails to disclose the additional details of the display panel.
In the same field of endeavor, Okahisa discloses where:
Claim 2: the light-shielding layer overlaps with the second light-emitting element (note the relationship between element 10 and at least elements 1d and 1e in figure 1).
Claim 3: the first light-emitting element is a primary light-emitting element (element 1 in figure 1 and ¶s 42-44), and
the second light-emitting element is an auxiliary light-emitting element (elements 1a-1h in figure 1 and ¶s 42-44).
Claim 5: the display panel further comprises:
a mode controlling module (at least suggested by “turning-on of light-emitting parts 1 and 1a to 1h can be individually controlled” in ¶ 41) and
a pixel driving circuit that is electrically connected to the first light-emitting element (inherent in ¶ 41),
the mode controlling module is configured to control a light-emitting state of the second light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel (¶ 41), and
the pixel driving circuit is further electrically connected to the second light-emitting element through the mode controlling module (¶ 41).
Claim 9: the second light-emitting element comprises two first auxiliary light-emitting sub-elements (any two of elements 1a-1h in figure 1),
the two first auxiliary light-emitting sub-elements are located at two sides of the first light-emitting element in a first direction, respectively (note at least elements 1d and 1e in figure 1), and
the first direction is parallel to a plane of the substrate (figure 1B).
Claim 10: the second light-emitting element further comprises a second auxiliary light-emitting sub-element (any two of elements 1a-1h in figure 1), and
the second auxiliary light-emitting sub-element is located at a side of the first light-emitting element in a second direction (figure 1B),
the second direction is parallel to the plane of the substrate and intersects with the first direction (figure 1B).
Claim 12: an edge of the second light-emitting element is adjacent to an edge of the first light-emitting element (note the relationship between element 1 and elements 1d and 1e in figure 1B), and
the two adjacent edges are straight-line edges (figure 1B).
Claim 14: the first light-emitting element is surrounded by the second light-emitting element (element 1 is surrounded by the combination of elements 1a-1h in figure 1A).
Claim 17: in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, an orthographic projection of the first light-emitting element comprises a first edge extending in a first direction and a second edge extending in a second direction (element 1 in figure 1),
both the first direction and the second direction are parallel to the plane of the substrate, and the first direction intersects with the second direction (element 1 in figure 1); and
a distance A between the first edge and an edge of the first opening adjacent to the first edge in the second direction and a distance B between the second edge and an edge of the first opening adjacent to the second edge in the first direction satisfy B<A (at least suggested by “[t] four second Fresnel lens portions 22j are arranged such that the shape formed by imaginary lines connecting the centers of the Fresnel lenses is a substantially elongated rectangle” in ¶ 106).
Claim 18: the light-emitting element comprises at least two first light-emitting elements (each of elements 160 in figure 1A of Mao), and
any two of the at least two first light-emitting elements are spaced apart by one of the second light-emitting elements (when element 100 in figure 1A of Okahisa is used in place of element 160 in figure 1A of Mao, each element 1 of Okahisa is separated by two of elements 1a-1h).
Claim 19: the display panel further comprises:
pixel driving circuits (inherent in ¶ 41),
at least two first light-emitting elements are electrically connected to at least two of the pixel driving circuits in one-to-one correspondence (inherent in the device of Okahisa); or
Claim 26: in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display panel, an orthographic projection of the first light-emitting element is within the first opening (note the relationship between elements 1 and 20 in figure 1).
Claim 32: the display panel further comprises:
a pixel define layer (element 10 in figure 1A),
the pixel define layer comprises a second opening (note the portion of element 10 comprising elements 20, 20d, and 20e in figure 1B; where the bottom surface of element 10 comprises an opening in which elements 20, 20d, and 20e are located), and
the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element share the second opening (figure 1B).
Claim 35: the first light-emitting element and a corresponding second light-emitting element have a same color (¶ 42).
Claim 38: a plurality of the first light-emitting elements and the second light-emitting elements together form a unit (figure 1A); and
a plurality of units are arranged along a first direction (figure 1A and ¶ 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Mao according to the teachings of Okahisa, for the purpose of selectively emitting light onto desired radiation areas that are at least partially different from each other (¶ 7).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao, in view of Okahisa, and further in view of Kwak (US 2005/0200573).
• Regarding claim 6, Mao, in view of Okahisa, discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 1. However, Mao, in view of Okahisa, fails to disclose the additional details of the display panel.
In the same field of endeavor, Kwak discloses where:
Claim 6: the display panel further comprises:
a mode controlling module (elements M3r, M3g, and M3b in figure 3 and ¶ 40) and
a pixel driving circuit (elements M1, M2, and C in figure 3 and ¶s 40-42),
the mode controlling module is configured to control a light-emitting state of the second light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel (¶ 40), and
the pixel driving circuit comprises:
a driving transistor (element M1 in figure 3 and ¶s 40-42),
a first light-emitting control module (any one of elements M3r, M3g, and M3b in figure 3 and ¶ 40), and
a second light-emitting control module (another of elements M3r, M3g, and M3b in figure 3 and ¶ 40),
the first light-emitting control module is electrically connected between the driving transistor and the first light-emitting element (note the relationship between elements M1, M3r, M3g, M3b, OLEDr, OLEDg, and OLEDb in figure 3 and ¶ 40), and
the second light-emitting control module is electrically connected between the driving transistor and the second light-emitting element (note the relationship between elements M1, M3r, M3g, M3b, OLEDr, OLEDg, and OLEDb in figure 3 and ¶ 40); and
the mode controlling module is reused as the second light-emitting control module (figure 3 and ¶s 40-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Mao, as modified by Okahisa, according to the teachings of Kwak, for the purpose of improving the aperture ratio of a display (¶ 8).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao, in view of Okahisa, and further in view of Ji et al (US 2021/0399061; hereinafter Ji).
• Regarding claim 15, Mao, in view of Okahisa, discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 1. However, Mao, in view of Okahisa, fails to disclose the additional details of the display device.
In the same field of endeavor, Ji discloses where:
Claim 15: in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, a shape of an orthographic projection of the first light-emitting element is selected from a group consisting of a circle, an ellipse and a circle-like polygon (element 120 in figure 7 and 8 and ¶s 103 and 109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Mao, as modified by Okahisa, according to the teachings of Ji, for the purpose of maximizing a space occupancy rate of the active light-emitting area of sub-pixels (¶ 99).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao, in view of Okahisa, and further in view of Kim et al (US 2022/0093668; hereinafter Kim ‘668).
• Regarding claim 23, Mao, in view of Okahisa, discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 1. However, Mao, in view of Okahisa, fails to disclose the additional details of the display device.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim ‘668 discloses where:
Claim 23: the display panel further comprises:
an auxiliary light-shielding that is located between the light-shielding layer and the light-emitting element (at least one of elements 4312 and 4313 in figure 6A and ¶ 136 is between elements 4311 and 420),
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the light-shielding layer covers the auxiliary light-shielding layer (note the relationship between elements 4311, 4312, and 4313 in figures 6A and 10A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Mao, as modified by Okahisa, according to the teachings of Kim ‘668, for the purpose of filtering light with a predetermined range (¶s 131 and 132).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao, in view of Okahisa, and further in view of Kim (US 2008/0143901; hereinafter Kim ‘901).
• Regarding claim 33, Mao, in view of Okahisa, discloses everything claimed, as applied to claim 1. However, Mao, in view of Okahisa, fails to disclose the additional details of the display device.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim ‘901 discloses where:
Claim 33: the display panel further comprises:
a filter layer that is located at a side of the light-emitting element facing away from the substrate (element 200 in figure 2),
the filter layer comprises a black matrix (element 202 in figure 2 and ¶s 79 and 81) and a color resistor (element 203 in figure 2 and ¶s 79 and 81), and
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the color resistor covers the first light-emitting element (at least suggested by ¶ 127), and
the light-shielding layer is reused as the black matrix (¶ 127).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Mao, as modified by Okahisa, according to the teachings of Kim ‘901, for the purpose of preventing light leakage between pixels (¶ 81).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-32 of U.S. Patent No. 11,967,271 (resulting from parent application 18/062,204). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”). See the following table.
Claims 35 and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,967,271, in view of Okahisa.
• Regarding claims 35 and 38, US 11,967,271 claims everything in claim 1 except the additional details of the display device.
In the same field of endeavor, Okahisa discloses the additional details of the display device, as previously indicated in this Office action, and for the reasons previously indicated in this Office action.
US 19/355,345
US 11,967,271
1. A display panel, comprising:
a substrate;
a light-emitting element located at a side of the substrate and comprising a first light- emitting element and a second light-emitting element; and
a light-shielding layer located at a side of the light-emitting element facing away from the substrate,
the light-shielding layer comprising a first opening corresponding to the first light-emitting element, and
the second light-emitting element being arranged on at least one side of the first light-emitting element.
1. A display panel, comprising:
a substrate;
a light-emitting element located at a side of the substrate and comprising a primary light-emitting element and an auxiliary light-emitting element; and
a light-shielding layer located at a side of the light-emitting element facing away from the substrate,
the light-shielding layer comprising a first opening corresponding to the primary light-emitting element, and
the auxiliary light-emitting element being arranged at a periphery of the primary light-emitting element,
wherein the display panel has a display mode comprising a sharing mode and an anti-peeping mode;
when the display panel is in the sharing mode, the primary light-emitting element emits light, and the auxiliary light-emitting element emits light; and
when the display panel is in the anti-peeping mode, the primary light-emitting element emits light, and the auxiliary light-emitting element does not emit light.
2. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the light-shielding layer overlaps with the second light-emitting element.
22. The display panel according to claim 1 further comprising …
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the light-shielding layer covers the auxiliary light-shielding layer.
3. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the first light-emitting element is a primary light-emitting element, and
the second light-emitting element is an auxiliary light-emitting element.
1. A display panel, comprising: …
a light-emitting element located at a side of the substrate and comprising a primary light-emitting element and an auxiliary light-emitting element; and …
4. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the display panel has a display mode comprising a sharing mode and an anti-peeping mode;
when the display panel is in the sharing mode, the first light-emitting element emits light, and the second light-emitting element emits light; and
when the display panel is in the anti-peeping mode, the first light-emitting element emits light, and the second light-emitting element does not emit light.
1. A display panel, comprising: …
wherein the display panel has a display mode comprising a sharing mode and an anti-peeping mode;
when the display panel is in the sharing mode, the primary light-emitting element emits light, and the auxiliary light-emitting element emits light; and
when the display panel is in the anti-peeping mode, the primary light-emitting element emits light, and the auxiliary light-emitting element does not emit light.
5. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a mode controlling module and a pixel driving circuit that is electrically connected to the first light-emitting element,
wherein the mode controlling module is configured to control a light-emitting state of the second light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel, and
the pixel driving circuit is further electrically connected to the second light-emitting element through the mode controlling module.
2. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a mode controlling module and a pixel driving circuit that is electrically connected to the primary light-emitting element,
wherein the mode controlling module is configured to control a light-emitting state of the auxiliary light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel, and
the pixel driving circuit is further electrically connected to the auxiliary light-emitting element through the mode controlling module.
6. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a mode controlling module and a pixel driving circuit,
wherein the mode controlling module is configured to control a light-emitting state of the second light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel, and
the pixel driving circuit comprises:
a driving transistor,
a first light-emitting control module, and
a second light-emitting control module,
wherein the first light-emitting control module is electrically connected between the driving transistor and the first light-emitting element, and
the second light-emitting control module is electrically connected between the driving transistor and the second light-emitting element; and
wherein the mode controlling module is reused as the second light-emitting control module.
3. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a mode controlling module and a pixel driving circuit,
wherein the mode controlling module is configured to control a light-emitting state of the auxiliary light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel, and
the pixel driving circuit comprises:
a driving transistor,
a first light-emitting control module, and
a second light-emitting control module,
wherein the first light-emitting control module is electrically connected between the driving transistor and the primary light-emitting element, and
the second light-emitting control module is electrically connected between the driving transistor and the auxiliary light-emitting element; and
wherein the mode controlling module is reused as the second light-emitting control module.
7. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a pixel driving circuit, and
a mode controlling module that is configured to control a light-emitting state of the second light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel,
wherein the pixel driving circuit is electrically connected to a first light-emitting control signal line, and
the mode controlling module is electrically connected to a second light-emitting control signal line; and
further wherein the display panel further comprises a regulating module that is electrically connected to the first light-emitting control signal line and the second light-emitting control signal line,
wherein in the sharing mode, the regulating module is configured to:
generate, according to a first enable level outputted by the first light-emitting control signal line, a second enable level, and output the second enable level to the second light-emitting control signal; and
in the anti-peeping mode, the regulating module is configured to:
generate, according to a first enable level or a first disable level outputted by the first light-emitting control signal line, a second disable level, and
output the second disable level to the second light-emitting control signal.
4. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a pixel driving circuit, and
a mode controlling module that is configured to control a light-emitting state of the auxiliary light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel,
wherein the pixel driving circuit is electrically connected to a first light-emitting control signal line, and
the mode controlling module is electrically connected to a second light-emitting control signal line; and
further wherein the display panel further comprises a regulating module that is electrically connected to the first light-emitting control signal line and the second light-emitting control signal line,
wherein in the sharing mode, the regulating module is configured to:
generate, according to a first enable level outputted by the first light-emitting control signal line, a second enable level, and output the second enable level to the second light-emitting control signal; and
in the anti-peeping mode, the regulating module is configured to:
generate, according to a first enable level or a first disable level outputted by the first light-emitting control signal line, a second disable level, and
output the second disable level to the second light-emitting control signal.
8. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a first reset controlling module,
wherein the first reset controlling module is electrically connected between a reset signal line and the second light-emitting element.
6. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a first reset controlling module,
wherein the first reset controlling module is electrically connected between a reset signal line and the auxiliary light-emitting element.
9. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the second light-emitting element comprises two first auxiliary light-emitting sub-elements,
wherein the two first auxiliary light-emitting sub-elements are located at two sides of the first light-emitting element in a first direction, respectively, and
the first direction is parallel to a plane of the substrate.
7. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the auxiliary light-emitting element comprises two first auxiliary light-emitting sub-elements,
wherein the two first auxiliary light-emitting sub-elements are located at two sides of the primary light-emitting element in a first direction, respectively, and
the first direction is parallel to a plane of the substrate.
10. The display panel according to claim 9, wherein
the second light-emitting element further comprises a second auxiliary light-emitting sub-element, and
the second auxiliary light-emitting sub-element is located at a side of the first light-emitting element in a second direction,
the second direction is parallel to the plane of the substrate and intersects with the first direction.
8. The display panel according to claim 7, wherein
the auxiliary light-emitting element further comprises a second auxiliary light-emitting sub-element, and
the second auxiliary light-emitting sub-element is located at a side of the primary light-emitting element in a second direction,
the second direction is parallel to the plane of the substrate and intersects with the first direction.
11. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the second light-emitting element comprises a strip-shaped light-emitting part having two ends,
in a direction parallel to a third direction and from either of the two ends of the strip-shaped light-emitting part to a center of the strip-shaped light-emitting part, a distance between the strip-shaped light-emitting part and the first light-emitting element decreases,
the third direction is perpendicular to a direction along which the strip-shaped light-emitting part and the first light-emitting element are arranged.
9. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the auxiliary light-emitting element comprises a strip-shaped light-emitting part having two ends,
in a direction parallel to a third direction and from either of the two ends of the strip-shaped light-emitting part to a center of the strip-shaped light-emitting part, a distance between the strip-shaped light-emitting part and the primary light-emitting element decreases,
the third direction is perpendicular to a direction along which the strip-shaped light-emitting part and the primary light-emitting element are arranged.
12. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
an edge of the second light-emitting element is adjacent to an edge of the first light-emitting element, and the two adjacent edges are straight-line edges.
10. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
an edge of the auxiliary light-emitting element is adjacent to an edge of the primary light-emitting element, and the two adjacent edges are straight-line edges.
13. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction from the first light- emitting element to the second light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element inclines in a direction towards a light-exiting plane of the display panel.
11. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction from the primary light-emitting element to the auxiliary light-emitting element, the auxiliary light-emitting element inclines in a direction towards a light-exiting plane of the display panel.
14. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the first light-emitting element is surrounded by the second light-emitting element.
12. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the primary light-emitting element is surrounded by the auxiliary light-emitting element.
15. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, a shape of an orthographic projection of the first light-emitting element is selected from a group consisting of a circle, an ellipse and a circle-like polygon.
13. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, a shape of an orthographic projection of the primary light-emitting element is selected from a group consisting of a circle, an ellipse and a circle-like polygon.
16. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
an edge of the first light-emitting element close to the second light-emitting element has a first convex-concave structure, and
an edge of the second light-emitting element close to the first light-emitting element has a second convex-concave structure, and
a concave part of the first convex-concave structure surrounds a convex part of the second convex-concave structure, and
a concave part of the second convex-concave structure surrounds a convex part of the first convex-concave structure.
14. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
an edge of the primary light-emitting element close to the auxiliary light-emitting element has a first convex-concave structure, and
an edge of the auxiliary light-emitting element close to the primary light-emitting element has a second convex-concave structure, and
a concave part of the first convex-concave structure surrounds a convex part of the second convex-concave structure, and
a concave part of the second convex-concave structure surrounds a convex part of the first convex-concave structure.
17. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, an orthographic projection of the first light-emitting element comprises a first edge extending in a first direction and a second edge extending in a second direction,
both the first direction and the second direction are parallel to the plane of the substrate, and the first direction intersects with the second direction; and
a distance A between the first edge and an edge of the first opening adjacent to the first edge in the second direction and a distance B between the second edge and an edge of the first opening adjacent to the second edge in the first direction satisfy B<A.
15. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, an orthographic projection of the primary light-emitting element comprises a first edge extending in a first direction and a second edge extending in a second direction,
both the first direction and the second direction are parallel to the plane of the substrate, and the first direction intersects with the second direction; and
a distance A between the first edge and an edge of the first opening adjacent to the first edge in the second direction and a distance B between the second edge and an edge of the first opening adjacent to the second edge in the first direction satisfy B<A.
18. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the light-emitting element comprises at least two first light-emitting elements, and
any two of the at least two first light-emitting elements are spaced apart by one of the second light-emitting elements.
16. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the light-emitting element comprises at least two primary light-emitting elements, and
any two of the at least two primary light-emitting elements are spaced apart by one of the auxiliary light-emitting elements.
19. The display panel according to claim 18 further comprising
pixel driving circuits,
at least two first light-emitting elements are electrically connected to at least two of the pixel driving circuits in one-to-one correspondence; or
at least two first light-emitting elements are electrically connected to a same one of the at least one pixel driving circuit.
17. The display panel according to claim 16 further comprising
pixel driving circuits,
at least two primary light-emitting elements are electrically connected to at least two of the pixel driving circuits in one-to-one correspondence.
18. The display panel according to claim 16 further comprising
at least one pixel driving circuit,
at least two primary light-emitting elements are electrically connected to a same one of the at least one pixel driving circuit.
20. The display panel according to claim 18, wherein
the second light-emitting element has at least two notches that are in one-to-one correspondence with the at least two first light-emitting elements, and
at least part of the at least two first light-emitting elements is located within the corresponding at least two notches.
19. The display panel according to claim 16, wherein
the auxiliary light-emitting element has at least two notches that are in one-to-one correspondence with the at least two primary light-emitting elements, and
at least part of the at least two primary light-emitting elements is located within the corresponding at least two notches.
21. The display panel according to claim 18, wherein
the light-emitting element comprises at least one of a first light-emitting element or a second light-emitting element,
the first light-emitting element comprises two first light-emitting elements,
in the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element is of a zigzag structure and has a first auxiliary light-emitting part, a second auxiliary light-emitting part, and a third auxiliary light-emitting part that are connected sequentially, and the two first light- emitting elements located are at two sides of the second auxiliary light-emitting part;
the second light-emitting element comprises four first light-emitting elements,
in the second light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element is of a cross-shaped structure and has a center part and four branch parts each connected to the center part, and every two adjacent branch parts of the four branch parts are spaced by one of the four first light-emitting elements.
20. The display panel according to claim 16, wherein
the light-emitting element comprises at least one of a first light-emitting element or a second light-emitting element,
the first light-emitting element comprises two primary light-emitting elements,
in the first light-emitting element, the auxiliary light-emitting element is of a zigzag structure and has a first auxiliary light-emitting part, a second auxiliary light-emitting part, and a third auxiliary light-emitting part that are connected sequentially, and the two primary light-emitting elements located are at two sides of the second auxiliary light-emitting part;
the second light-emitting element comprises four primary light-emitting elements,
in the second light-emitting element, the auxiliary light-emitting element is of a cross-shaped structure and has a center part and four branch parts each connected to the center part, and every two adjacent branch parts of the four branch parts are spaced by one of the four primary light-emitting elements.
22. The display panel according to claim 21, wherein
the first light-emitting element comprises a red light-emitting element and a green light-emitting element, and
the second light-emitting element comprises a blue light-emitting element.
21. The display panel according to claim 20, wherein
the first light-emitting element comprises a red light-emitting element and a green light-emitting element, and
the second light-emitting element comprises a blue light-emitting element.
23. The display panel according to claim 1 further comprising
an auxiliary light-shielding that is located between the light-shielding layer and the light-emitting element,
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the light-shielding layer covers the auxiliary light-shielding layer.
22. The display panel according to claim 1 further comprising
an auxiliary light-shielding that is located between the light-shielding layer and the light-emitting element,
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the light-shielding layer covers the auxiliary light-shielding layer.
24. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a convex block located between the light-emitting element and the light-shielding layer,
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the light-shielding layer covers the convex block, and the convex block has a bottom surface close to the substrate and a side wall intersecting with the bottom surface; and
the display panel further comprises a reflection layer, and the reflection layer is provided at the side wall of the convex block.
23. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a convex block located between the light-emitting element and the light-shielding layer,
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the light-shielding layer covers the convex block, and the convex block has a bottom surface close to the substrate and a side wall intersecting with the bottom surface; and
the display panel further comprises a reflection layer, and the reflection layer is provided at the side wall of the convex block.
25. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
a length of the light-emitting element in a first direction is greater than a length of the light-emitting element in a second direction,
both the first direction and the second direction are parallel to a plane of the substrate, and
the first direction intersects with the second direction, and
a distance between two light-emitting elements adjacent in the first direction is smaller than a distance between two light-emitting elements adjacent in the second direction.
24. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
a length of the light-emitting element in a first direction is greater than a length of the light-emitting element in a second direction,
both the first direction and the second direction are parallel to a plane of the substrate, and
the first direction intersects with the second direction, and wherein
a distance between two light-emitting elements adjacent in the first direction is smaller than a distance between two light-emitting elements adjacent in the second direction.
26. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display panel, an orthographic projection of the first light-emitting element is within the first opening.
25. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display panel, an orthographic projection of the primary light-emitting element is within the first opening.
27. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the light-emitting element comprises a first electrode, a light-emitting layer and a second electrode, and
the light-emitting layer is located between the first electrode and the second electrode; and
the first electrode comprises a first sub-electrode and a second sub-electrode that are spaced apart from each other,
the first sub-electrode belongs to the first light-emitting element, and
the second sub-electrode belongs to the second light-emitting element.
26. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the light-emitting element comprises a first electrode, a light-emitting layer and a second electrode, and
the light-emitting layer is located between the first electrode and the second electrode; and
the first electrode comprises a first sub-electrode and a second sub-electrode that are spaced apart from each other,
the first sub-electrode belongs to the primary light-emitting element, and
the second sub-electrode belongs to the auxiliary light-emitting element.
28. The display panel according to claim 27, wherein
the second sub-electrode surrounds the first sub-electrode.
27. The display panel according to claim 26, wherein
the second sub-electrode surrounds the first sub-electrode.
29. The display panel according to claim 27, wherein
the second sub-electrode comprises a strip-shaped electrode part,
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, an orthographic projection of the strip-shaped electrode part comprises a first electrode edge adjacent to the first sub-electrode,
the first electrode edge is of an arc shape, and
the first electrode edge is convex in a direction towards the first sub-electrode.
28. The display panel according to claim 26, wherein
the second sub-electrode comprises a strip-shaped electrode part,
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, an orthographic projection of the strip-shaped electrode part comprises a first electrode edge adjacent to the first sub-electrode,
the first electrode edge is of an arc shape, and
the first electrode edge is convex in a direction towards the first sub-electrode.
30. The display panel according to claim 27, wherein
an edge of the second sub-electrode is adjacent to an edge of the first sub-electrode, and
the two adjacent edges are both straight-line edges.
29. The display panel according to claim 26, wherein
an edge of the second sub-electrode is adjacent to an edge of the first sub-electrode, and
the two adjacent edges are both straight-line edges.
31. The display panel according to claim 27, wherein
in a direction from the first sub-electrode to the second sub-electrode, the second sub-electrode inclines towards a light-exiting plane of the display panel.
30. The display panel according to claim 26, wherein
in a direction from the first sub-electrode to the second sub-electrode, the second sub-electrode inclines towards a light-exiting plane of the display panel.
32. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a pixel define layer,
the pixel define layer comprises a second opening, and
the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element share the second opening.
31. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a pixel define layer,
the pixel define layer comprises a second opening, and
the primary light-emitting element and the auxiliary light-emitting element share the second opening.
33. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a filter layer that is located at a side of the light-emitting element facing away from the substrate,
the filter layer comprises a black matrix and a color resistor, and
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the color resistor covers the first light-emitting element, and
the light-shielding layer is reused as the black matrix.
32. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a filter layer that is located at a side of the light-emitting element facing away from the substrate,
the filter layer comprises a black matrix and a color resistor, and
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the color resistor covers the primary light-emitting element, and
the light-shielding layer is reused as the black matrix.
Claims 1-26, 32, and 33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,462,733 (resulting from parent application 18/622,445). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”). See the following table.
Claims 35 and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,462,733, in view of Okahisa.
• Regarding claims 35 and 38, US 12,462,733 claims everything in claim 1 except the additional details of the display device.
In the same field of endeavor, Okahisa discloses the additional details of the display device, as previously indicated in this Office action, and for the reasons previously indicated in this Office action.
US 19/355,345
US 12,462,733
1. A display panel, comprising:
a substrate;
a light-emitting element located at a side of the substrate and comprising a first light- emitting element and a second light-emitting element; and
a light-shielding layer located at a side of the light-emitting element facing away from the substrate,
the light-shielding layer comprising a first opening corresponding to the first light-emitting element, and
the second light-emitting element being arranged on at least one side of the first light-emitting element.
1. A display panel, comprising:
a substrate;
a light-emitting element located at a side of the substrate and comprising a primary light-emitting element and an auxiliary light-emitting element; and
a light-shielding layer located at a side of the light-emitting element facing away from the substrate,
the light-shielding layer comprising a first opening corresponding to the primary light-emitting element, and
the auxiliary light-emitting element being arranged at a periphery of the primary light-emitting element,
wherein in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate,
an orthographic projection of the auxiliary light-emitting element is located within an orthographic projection of the light-shielding layer, and
the auxiliary light-emitting element does not overlap with the first opening.
2. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the light-shielding layer overlaps with the second light-emitting element.
1. A display panel, comprising: …
an orthographic projection of the auxiliary light-emitting element is located within an orthographic projection of the light-shielding layer, and
the auxiliary light-emitting element does not overlap with the first opening.
3. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the first light-emitting element is a primary light-emitting element, and
the second light-emitting element is an auxiliary light-emitting element.
1. A display panel, comprising: …
a light-emitting element located at a side of the substrate and comprising a primary light-emitting element and an auxiliary light-emitting element; and …
4. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the display panel has a display mode comprising a sharing mode and an anti-peeping mode;
when the display panel is in the sharing mode, the first light-emitting element emits light, and the second light-emitting element emits light; and
when the display panel is in the anti-peeping mode, the first light-emitting element emits light, and the second light-emitting element does not emit light.
2. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the display panel has a display mode comprising a sharing mode and an anti-peeping mode;
when the display panel is in the sharing mode, the primary light-emitting element emits light, and the auxiliary light-emitting element emits light; and
when the display panel is in the anti-peeping mode, the primary light-emitting element emits light, and the auxiliary light-emitting element does not emit light.
5. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a mode controlling module and a pixel driving circuit that is electrically connected to the first light-emitting element,
wherein the mode controlling module is configured to control a light-emitting state of the second light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel, and
the pixel driving circuit is further electrically connected to the second light-emitting element through the mode controlling module.
3. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a mode controlling module and a pixel driving circuit that is electrically connected to the primary light-emitting element,
the mode controlling module is configured to control a light-emitting state of the auxiliary light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel, and
the pixel driving circuit is further electrically connected to the auxiliary light-emitting element through the mode controlling module.
6. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a mode controlling module and a pixel driving circuit,
wherein the mode controlling module is configured to control a light-emitting state of the second light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel, and
the pixel driving circuit comprises:
a driving transistor,
a first light-emitting control module, and
a second light-emitting control module,
wherein the first light-emitting control module is electrically connected between the driving transistor and the first light-emitting element, and
the second light-emitting control module is electrically connected between the driving transistor and the second light-emitting element; and
wherein the mode controlling module is reused as the second light-emitting control module.
4. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a mode controlling module and a pixel driving circuit,
wherein the mode controlling module is configured to control a light-emitting state of the auxiliary light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel, and
the pixel driving circuit comprises:
a driving transistor,
a first light-emitting control module, and
a second light-emitting control module,
wherein the first light-emitting control module is electrically connected between the driving transistor and the primary light-emitting element, and
the second light-emitting control module is electrically connected between the driving transistor and the auxiliary light-emitting element; and
wherein the mode controlling module is reused as the second light-emitting control module.
7. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a pixel driving circuit, and
a mode controlling module that is configured to control a light-emitting state of the second light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel,
wherein the pixel driving circuit is electrically connected to a first light-emitting control signal line, and
the mode controlling module is electrically connected to a second light-emitting control signal line; and
further wherein the display panel further comprises a regulating module that is electrically connected to the first light-emitting control signal line and the second light-emitting control signal line,
wherein in the sharing mode, the regulating module is configured to:
generate, according to a first enable level outputted by the first light-emitting control signal line, a second enable level, and output the second enable level to the second light-emitting control signal; and
in the anti-peeping mode, the regulating module is configured to:
generate, according to a first enable level or a first disable level outputted by the first light-emitting control signal line, a second disable level, and
output the second disable level to the second light-emitting control signal.
5. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising:
a pixel driving circuit, and
a mode controlling module that is configured to control a light-emitting state of the auxiliary light-emitting element according to the display mode of the display panel,
wherein the pixel driving circuit is electrically connected to a first light-emitting control signal line, and
the mode controlling module is electrically connected to a second light-emitting control signal line; and
further wherein the display panel further comprises a regulating module that is electrically connected to the first light-emitting control signal line and the second light-emitting control signal line,
wherein in the sharing mode, the regulating module is configured to:
generate, according to a first enable level outputted by the first light-emitting control signal line, a second enable level, and output the second enable level to the second light-emitting control signal; and
in the anti-peeping mode, the regulating module is configured to:
generate, according to a first enable level or a first disable level outputted by the first light-emitting control signal line, a second disable level, and
output the second disable level to the second light-emitting control signal.
8. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a first reset controlling module,
wherein the first reset controlling module is electrically connected between a reset signal line and the second light-emitting element.
6. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a first reset controlling module,
wherein the first reset controlling module is electrically connected between a reset signal line and the auxiliary light-emitting element.
9. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the second light-emitting element comprises two first auxiliary light-emitting sub-elements,
wherein the two first auxiliary light-emitting sub-elements are located at two sides of the first light-emitting element in a first direction, respectively, and
the first direction is parallel to a plane of the substrate.
7. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the auxiliary light-emitting element comprises two first auxiliary light-emitting sub-elements,
the two first auxiliary light-emitting sub-elements are located at two sides of the primary light-emitting element in a first direction, respectively, and
the first direction is parallel to a plane of the substrate.
10. The display panel according to claim 9, wherein
the second light-emitting element further comprises a second auxiliary light-emitting sub-element, and
the second auxiliary light-emitting sub-element is located at a side of the first light-emitting element in a second direction,
the second direction is parallel to the plane of the substrate and intersects with the first direction.
8. The display panel according to claim 7, wherein
the auxiliary light-emitting element further comprises a second auxiliary light-emitting sub-element, and
the second auxiliary light-emitting sub-element is located at a side of the primary light-emitting element in a second direction,
the second direction is parallel to the plane of the substrate and intersects with the first direction.
11. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the second light-emitting element comprises a strip-shaped light-emitting part having two ends,
in a direction parallel to a third direction and from either of the two ends of the strip-shaped light-emitting part to a center of the strip-shaped light-emitting part, a distance between the strip-shaped light-emitting part and the first light-emitting element decreases,
the third direction is perpendicular to a direction along which the strip-shaped light-emitting part and the first light-emitting element are arranged.
9. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the auxiliary light-emitting element comprises a strip-shaped light-emitting part having two ends,
in a direction parallel to a third direction and from either of the two ends of the strip-shaped light-emitting part to a center of the strip-shaped light-emitting part, a distance between the strip-shaped light-emitting part and the primary light-emitting element decreases,
the third direction is perpendicular to a direction along which the strip-shaped light-emitting part and the primary light-emitting element are arranged.
12. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
an edge of the second light-emitting element is adjacent to an edge of the first light-emitting element, and the two adjacent edges are straight-line edges.
10. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
an edge of the auxiliary light-emitting element is adjacent to an edge of the primary light-emitting element, and the two adjacent edges are straight-line edges.
13. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction from the first light- emitting element to the second light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element inclines in a direction towards a light-exiting plane of the display panel.
11. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction from the primary light-emitting element to the auxiliary light-emitting element, the auxiliary light-emitting element inclines in a direction towards a light-exiting plane of the display panel.
14. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the first light-emitting element is surrounded by the second light-emitting element.
12. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the primary light-emitting element is surrounded by the auxiliary light-emitting element.
15. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, a shape of an orthographic projection of the first light-emitting element is selected from a group consisting of a circle, an ellipse and a circle-like polygon.
13. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, a shape of an orthographic projection of the primary light-emitting element is selected from a group consisting of a circle, an ellipse and a circle-like polygon.
16. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
an edge of the first light-emitting element close to the second light-emitting element has a first convex-concave structure, and
an edge of the second light-emitting element close to the first light-emitting element has a second convex-concave structure, and
a concave part of the first convex-concave structure surrounds a convex part of the second convex-concave structure, and
a concave part of the second convex-concave structure surrounds a convex part of the first convex-concave structure.
14. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
an edge of the primary light-emitting element close to the auxiliary light-emitting element has a first convex-concave structure, and
an edge of the auxiliary light-emitting element close to the primary light-emitting element has a second convex-concave structure, and
a concave part of the first convex-concave structure surrounds a convex part of the second convex-concave structure, and
a concave part of the second convex-concave structure surrounds a convex part of the first convex-concave structure.
17. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, an orthographic projection of the first light-emitting element comprises a first edge extending in a first direction and a second edge extending in a second direction,
both the first direction and the second direction are parallel to the plane of the substrate, and the first direction intersects with the second direction; and
a distance A between the first edge and an edge of the first opening adjacent to the first edge in the second direction and a distance B between the second edge and an edge of the first opening adjacent to the second edge in the first direction satisfy B<A.
15. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, an orthographic projection of the primary light-emitting element comprises a first edge extending in a first direction and a second edge extending in a second direction,
both the first direction and the second direction are parallel to the plane of the substrate, and the first direction intersects with the second direction; and
a distance A between the first edge and an edge of the first opening adjacent to the first edge in the second direction and a distance B between the second edge and an edge of the first opening adjacent to the second edge in the first direction satisfy B<A.
18. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the light-emitting element comprises at least two first light-emitting elements, and
any two of the at least two first light-emitting elements are spaced apart by one of the second light-emitting elements.
16. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
the light-emitting element comprises at least two primary light-emitting elements, and
any two of the at least two primary light-emitting elements are spaced apart by one of the auxiliary light-emitting elements.
19. The display panel according to claim 18 further comprising
pixel driving circuits,
at least two first light-emitting elements are electrically connected to at least two of the pixel driving circuits in one-to-one correspondence; or
at least two first light-emitting elements are electrically connected to a same one of the at least one pixel driving circuit.
17. The display panel according to claim 16 further comprising
at least one pixel driving circuit,
at least two primary light-emitting elements are electrically connected to at least two of the at least one pixel driving circuit in one-to-one correspondence, or
at least two primary light-emitting elements are electrically connected to a same one of the at least one pixel driving circuit.
20. The display panel according to claim 18, wherein
the second light-emitting element has at least two notches that are in one-to-one correspondence with the at least two first light-emitting elements, and
at least part of the at least two first light-emitting elements is located within the corresponding at least two notches.
18. The display panel according to claim 16, wherein
the auxiliary light-emitting element has at least two notches that are in one-to-one correspondence with the at least two primary light-emitting elements, and
at least part of the at least two primary light-emitting elements is located within the corresponding at least two notches.
21. The display panel according to claim 18, wherein
the light-emitting element comprises at least one of a first light-emitting element or a second light-emitting element,
the first light-emitting element comprises two first light-emitting elements,
in the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element is of a zigzag structure and has a first auxiliary light-emitting part, a second auxiliary light-emitting part, and a third auxiliary light-emitting part that are connected sequentially, and the two first light- emitting elements located are at two sides of the second auxiliary light-emitting part;
the second light-emitting element comprises four first light-emitting elements,
in the second light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element is of a cross-shaped structure and has a center part and four branch parts each connected to the center part, and every two adjacent branch parts of the four branch parts are spaced by one of the four first light-emitting elements.
19. The display panel according to claim 16, wherein
the light-emitting element comprises at least one of a first light-emitting element or a second light-emitting element,
the first light-emitting element comprises two primary light-emitting elements,
in the first light-emitting element, the auxiliary light-emitting element is of a zigzag structure and has a first auxiliary light-emitting part, a second auxiliary light-emitting part, and a third auxiliary light-emitting part that are connected sequentially, and the two primary light-emitting elements located are at two sides of the second auxiliary light-emitting part;
the second light-emitting element comprises four primary light-emitting elements, wh
in the second light-emitting element, the auxiliary light-emitting element is of a cross-shaped structure and has a center part and four branch parts each connected to the center part, and every two adjacent branch parts of the four branch parts are spaced by one of the four primary light-emitting elements.
22. The display panel according to claim 21, wherein
the first light-emitting element comprises a red light-emitting element and a green light-emitting element, and
the second light-emitting element comprises a blue light-emitting element.
20. The display panel according to claim 19, wherein
the first light-emitting element comprises a red light-emitting element and a green light-emitting element, and
the second light-emitting element comprises a blue light-emitting element.
23. The display panel according to claim 1 further comprising
an auxiliary light-shielding that is located between the light-shielding layer and the light-emitting element,
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the light-shielding layer covers the auxiliary light-shielding layer.
21. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
an auxiliary light-shielding that is located between the light-shielding layer and the light-emitting element,
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the light-shielding layer covers the auxiliary light-shielding layer.
24. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a convex block located between the light-emitting element and the light-shielding layer,
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the light-shielding layer covers the convex block, and the convex block has a bottom surface close to the substrate and a side wall intersecting with the bottom surface; and
the display panel further comprises a reflection layer, and the reflection layer is provided at the side wall of the convex block.
22. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a convex block located between the light-emitting element and the light-shielding layer,
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the light-shielding layer covers the convex block, and the convex block has a bottom surface close to the substrate and a side wall intersecting with the bottom surface; and
the display panel further comprises a reflection layer, and the reflection layer is provided at the side wall of the convex block.
25. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
a length of the light-emitting element in a first direction is greater than a length of the light-emitting element in a second direction,
both the first direction and the second direction are parallel to a plane of the substrate, and
the first direction intersects with the second direction, and
a distance between two light-emitting elements adjacent in the first direction is smaller than a distance between two light-emitting elements adjacent in the second direction.
23. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
a length of the light-emitting element in a first direction is greater than a length of the light-emitting element in a second direction,
both the first direction and the second direction are parallel to a plane of the substrate, and
the first direction intersects with the second direction, and
a distance between two light-emitting elements adjacent in the first direction is smaller than a distance between two light-emitting elements adjacent in the second direction.
26. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display panel, an orthographic projection of the first light-emitting element is within the first opening.
24. The display panel according to claim 1, wherein
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display panel, an orthographic projection of the primary light-emitting element is within the first opening.
32. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a pixel define layer,
the pixel define layer comprises a second opening, and
the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element share the second opening.
25. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a pixel define layer,
the pixel define layer comprises a second opening, and
the primary light-emitting element and the auxiliary light-emitting element share the second opening.
33. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a filter layer that is located at a side of the light-emitting element facing away from the substrate,
the filter layer comprises a black matrix and a color resistor, and
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the color resistor covers the first light-emitting element, and
the light-shielding layer is reused as the black matrix.
26. The display panel according to claim 1, further comprising
a filter layer that is located at a side of the light-emitting element facing away from the substrate,
the filter layer comprises a black matrix and a color resistor, and
in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the color resistor covers the primary light-emitting element, and
the light-shielding layer is reused as the black matrix.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 8, 11, 13, 16, 20-22, 24, 25, and 27-31 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the Double Patenting rejections set forth in this Office action or upon the filing of at least one proper Terminal Disclaimer cumulatively listing every US Patent and US Application forming the basis of the Double Patenting rejections set forth in this Office action, and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. See MPEP §§ 804.02(II) and 804.02(IV).
Claims 34, 36, and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest:
a. In claim 4, where “when the display panel is in the sharing mode, the first light-emitting element emits light, and the second light-emitting element emits light; and when the display panel is in the anti-peeping mode, the first light-emitting element emits light, and the second light-emitting element does not emit light”, in combination with all the remaining limitations in the claim and all the limitations in claim 1.
b. In claim 7, where “in the sharing mode, the regulating module is configured to: generate, according to a first enable level outputted by the first light-emitting control signal line, a second enable level, and output the second enable level to the second light-emitting control signal; and in the anti-peeping mode, the regulating module is configured to: generate, according to a first enable level or a first disable level outputted by the first light-emitting control signal line, a second disable level, and output the second disable level to the second light-emitting control signal”, in combination with all the remaining limitations in the claim and all the limitations in claim 1.
c. In claim 8, where “the first reset controlling module is electrically connected between a reset signal line and the second light-emitting element”, in combination with all the remaining limitations in the claim and all the limitations in claim 1.
d. In claim 11, where “in a direction parallel to a third direction and from either of the two ends of the strip-shaped light-emitting part to a center of the strip-shaped light-emitting part, a distance between the strip-shaped light-emitting part and the first light-emitting element decreases”, in combination with all the remaining limitations in the claim and all the limitations in claim 1.
e. In claim 13, where “in a direction from the first light-emitting element to the second light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element inclines in a direction towards a light-exiting plane of the display panel”, in combination with all the limitations in claim 1.
f. In claim 16, where “a concave part of the first convex-concave structure surrounds a convex part of the second convex-concave structure, and a concave part of the second convex-concave structure surrounds a convex part of the first convex-concave structure”, in combination with all the remaining limitations in the claim and all the limitations in claim 1.
g. In claim 20, where “the second light-emitting element has at least two notches that are in one-to-one correspondence with the at least two first light-emitting elements, and at least part of the at least two first light-emitting elements is located within the corresponding at least two notches”, in combination with all the limitations in the claims from which it depends.
h. In claim 21, where “in the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element is of a zigzag structure and has a first auxiliary light-emitting part, a second auxiliary light-emitting part, and a third auxiliary light-emitting part that are connected sequentially, and the two first light-emitting elements located are at two sides of the second auxiliary light-emitting part”, in combination with all the remaining limitations in the claim and all the limitations in claim 1.
i. Claim 22 would be allowable based on its dependence from claim 21.
j. In claim 24, where “the display panel further comprises a reflection layer, and the reflection layer is provided at the side wall of the convex block”, in combination with all the remaining limitations in the claim and all the limitations in claim 1.
k. In claim 25, where “a distance between two light-emitting elements adjacent in the first direction is smaller than a distance between two light-emitting elements adjacent in the second direction”, in combination with all the remaining limitations in the claim and all the limitations in claim 1.
l. In claim 27, where “the first electrode comprises a first sub-electrode and a second sub-electrode that are spaced apart from each other, the first sub-electrode belongs to the first light-emitting element, and the second sub-electrode belongs to the second light-emitting element”, in combination with all the remaining limitations in the claim and all the limitations in claim 1.
m. Claims 28-31 would be allowable based on their dependence from claim 27.
n. In claim 34, where “one second light-emitting element is provided with the first light-emitting element in each of two directions of the one second light-emitting element; and another one second light-emitting element is provided with the first light-emitting element in each of four directions of the another one second light-emitting element”, in combination with all the limitations in claim 1.
o. In claim 36, where “the second light-emitting element has a notch, at least part of the first light-emitting element is located within the notch of a corresponding second light-emitting element”, in combination with all the limitations in claim 1.
p. In claim 37, where “a plurality of the first light-emitting elements share or surround the second light-emitting element”, in combination with all the limitations in claim 1.
Closing Remarks/Comments
/NATHAN DANIELSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622