DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims, in the reply filed on September 28, 2026 is acknowledged. Regarding the species election, applicant has failed to elect the species for A-F, as set forth in the restriction requirement mailed on July 24, 2026. After further consideration, the species elections have been withdrawn.
Claim 23 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-21 and 24 are under consideration in this office action.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a) is acknowledged. The application is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2018/079931, which claims benefit to EP24206126.5, filed October 11, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on October 10, 2025 and March 23, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-3, 5, 8-9, 13-16, 18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 use acronyms without first defining what they represent in the independent claims (hFGF23). While the claims can reference acronyms, the material presented by the acronym must be clearly set forth at the first use of the acronym.
Claims 2 and 5 employ different numbering schemes. Claim 2 uses roman numerals whereas claim 5 uses lowercase letters; consistent use of numbering of the subparts is required.
Claims 3 and 5, line 1 has “BM” enclosed in parentheses. These parentheses are not necessary and should be deleted.
In claim 13 line 2 there is a space missing between 10 and mM.
Claims 14 and 16 use quotation marks around the term “P” and claim 15 uses quotation marks around the term “LP”. Because the quotation marks serve no substantive purpose in defining the claimed subject matter, they should be deleted.
There are additional periods in claims 8-9, 14-16, 18, and 20 after “Chem”. See MPEP § 608.01(m) which states that “Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations”.
In claim 20, “Claim 18” is unnecessarily capitalized.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-17, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The use of the phrase “capable of” in claims 1-2, 8, and 10 is indefinite because this phrase is functional language that fails to provide an objective boundary for the structure claimed and it is unclear what the degree or condition of binding is required for the polypeptide to satisfy the limitation of “capable of”. The claim does not provide an objective standard by which one of ordinary skill in the art could determine whether a particular polypeptide is “capable of” binding the recited target. Notably, claim 19 is not included in this rejection for reciting “capable of” because the structures of claim 18, from which claim 19 depends, were demonstrated to bind to hFGF23 (Specification, Table 6, pg 99-102).
In claims 2 and 5, the BM of the polypeptide consists of an amino acid residue sequence selected from subpart i) and subpart ii), with subpart i) comprises multiple variants of SEQ ID NO: 2 and subpart ii) comprising a sequence at least 93% identical to the sequence of subpart i). The phrase “the sequence defined in i)” in subpart ii) is unclear because there are multiple possible sequences under i), and the sequence encompassed by i) that constitutes the sequence of ii) is ambiguous. Accordingly, the scope of the claim is unclear, and it cannot be ascertained with reasonable certainty which sequences fall within alternative ii).
Regarding claims 3, the term “optionally” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the recitation “optionally comprising 1, 2 or 3 substitution(s)” encompasses BM having sequences other than those recited in lines 3-10 of the claim, notwithstanding the preceding recitation that the BM is “selected from the group consisting of” specific amino acid sequences. “[S]elected from the group consisting of” defines a closed Markush group, but the optionally language appears to expand the scope beyond the sequences in line 3-10. Thus, the metes and bounds cannot be determined with reasonable clarity.
Regarding claims 10 and 13, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 13 recites the broad recitation of a KD value of less than 10 mM, and the claim also recites less than 10 mM, less than 9 mM, less than, 7 mM, etc., which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claim.
Claim 16 uses parentheses to enclose “L1”. The use of parentheses that encompass a limitation in the claim is found indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation within the parentheses is a part of the claimed invention or are just set forth as possible examples. It is ambiguous whether L1 is an alternative name or an alternative embodiment, and the scope of the claim is unclear.
Claims 4, 7, 11-12, 14-15, 17, 21, and 24 are included in this rejection for being dependent on a rejected base claim and for failing to cure the indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-8, 10-17, 21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
“[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ‘ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.’” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
Claim 1 is drawn to a hFGF23 antagonist polypeptide that binds an epitope of hFGF23. As such, this polypeptide is defined entirely by function.
Claims 2-8 and 10-17 are comprised of numerous hFGF23 antagonist polypeptides and variants thereof, and claims 21 and 24 are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition and kit, respectively, comprising the peptide of claim 2.
Claims 2-8, 10-17, 21, and 24 are broadly drawn to polypeptides comprising various combination of Xa-k amino acids, and are directed to more than 1500 different polypeptides. As such, the claims encompass a vast genus of antagonistic polypeptides comprising numerous amino acid combinations. Further, claims 2, 5, and 8 are drawn to additional antagonistic polypeptides that are 93% sequence identical to the substituted polypeptides. By virtue of the percent identity language, these claims encompass variants that do not require the specified amino acids of the parental polypeptide.
As detailed below, applicant’s disclosure is not sufficient to demonstrate possession of the entire claimed genus, and as such, applicant’s disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
According to the specification, the applicant has disclosed at least 250 species of antagonistic polypeptides that comprise specific polypeptides that bind to hFGF23 and inhibit its function (see Specification, Table 6, pg 99-102). Although applicant has disclosed a number of species within said genus of hFGF23 antagonistic polypeptides, the specification does not provide adequate written description for the entire claimed genus, because one skilled in the art would be unable to immediately envision, recognize, or distinguish most of the members comprised within the genus claimed, specifically which amino acid sequences from the recited parental amino acid sequence should be present to yield an domain that is capable of binding hFGF23 and inhibiting its function. While the prior art teaches some understanding of the structural basis of polypeptide recognition of an epitope, it is noted that the art is characterized by a high level of unpredictability, since the skilled artisan still cannot accurately and reliably predict the consequences of amino acid substitutions, insertions, and deletions in the antigen binding domain of the polypeptide.
Nosrati et al (instant PTO-892) teaches that staphylococcal protein A domain B is the basis of the affibody (abstract), as in the antagonist polypeptide variants derived from domain B of staphylococcal Protein A of the instant claims. Nosrati et al teaches how affibody point mutations affect binding of an anti-Fc immunoglobulin G affibody to Fc (abstract, Figure 1). Some single point mutations of the affibody caused extensive structural changes far from the mutation sites, whereas other mutations had effects limited to the mutation site; some substitutions significantly reduced binding affinity for Fc (pg 2-8; “Results”). Also see Feldwisch et al (instant PTO-892), which teaches that substituting a single amino acid residue (evaluated 13 point mutations) of an anti-HER3 affibody with an alanine substantially lowered binding signals (pg 2, column 1, para 2; pg 5, column 1, para 3; Figure 1), demonstrating that individual amino acids contribute to target recognition and substitution can have substantially different, and, sometimes, adverse effects on binding.
As demonstrated by Nosrati et al and Feldwisch et al, single-amino acid substitutions produce variable and sometimes extensive structural and binding-affinity changes. The functional properties of an affibody cannot necessarily be predicted merely from the fact that a variant retains the same underlying scaffold. Single-amino acid substitutions have been shown experimentally and computationally to produce variable and sometimes extensive structural and binding-affinity changes. Thus, the broad genus of substituted sequences claimed would not necessarily retain the characteristics of the specifically disclosed antagonistic polypeptide, as the art recognizes that the amino acid sequence defines the binding properties of the polypeptide/affibody and that even single amino acid changes to this region can completely modify the binding specificity of an affibody.
It is appreciated that Nosrati et al and Feldwisch et al are studying one specific affibody for Fc and HER3, respectively, and there is no evidence that the instant antagonistic polypeptides would react in the same way. However, this is part of the problem. It is entirely unclear from the specification which residues of Applicant’s polypeptides are tolerant or intolerant to change, and whether those tolerant positions are only tolerant to conservative mutations. The fact that some residues might tolerate mutation does not convey to the skilled artisan that Applicant knew which of the claimed residues were tolerant of such, i.e. does not convey that Applicant was in possession of those sequences that are mutated yet preserve the claimed function. The specification fails to convey possession of an invention commensurate in scope with what is now claimed and therefore fails to meet the written description requirement.
As specificity of the affibody/polypeptide stems from the interaction of amino acid sequences, sufficient information must be provided to show that the inventor had possession of the invention as claimed. MPEP §2163(II)(A)(3)(a) also discusses Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 927, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1894-95 (Fed. Cir. 2004), where a method of using a PGHS-2 inhibitor did not meet the written description as the inhibitor itself was not sufficiently described, clearly indicating that written description of the compound is still required in a method of using that compound. In this case, it is clear from the specification that the invention comprises new polypeptides, or at the least disclosure of new polypeptides that could not have been envisaged from the prior art, which indicates that the prior art was not in possession of all hFGF23 antagonistic polypeptides or those of SEQ ID NO: 3 and variants thereof.
In the instant case, the specification provides insufficient direction or guidance concerning the relationship between the structure of the possible polypeptide to demonstrate possession of the breadth of the genus of polypeptides encompassed by the instant claims, especially in view of the unpredictability of such an endeavor. The disclosure of these specific antagonist polypeptides would not convey to the artisan that applicant was in possession of the full genus of all polypeptides that possess the required functions nor does it allow the skilled artisan to envisage the specific structure of such polypeptides. Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features. See University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 69 USPQ2d 1886 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of the claimed genus, the specification must provide sufficient distinguishing identifying characteristics of the genus. The factors to be considered include disclosure of complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, methods of making the claimed product, or any combination thereof. In the instant case, the only factors present in the claims are a recitation of one generic, broad genus that encompassed a diverse and huge number of possible antibodies that bind the disclosed epitope. The specification does not provide a consistent structure for all of the possible polypeptides and fails to provide a representative number of species for the claimed genus.
Satisfactory disclosure of a "representative number" depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features of the elements possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one or even 250 species within the genus.
Regarding claim 1, a generic statement that defines a genus of substances by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. Reagents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (CAFC 1997). The recitation of a functional property alone, which must be shared by the members of the genus, is merely descriptive of what the members of the genus must be capable of doing, not of the substance and structure of the members. A polypeptide described only by functional characteristics, without any known or disclosed correlation between that function and the structure of the sequence, is not a sufficient identifying characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the biomolecule of interest. In re Bell, 991 F.2d 781, 26 U.S.P.Q.2d 1529 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In re Deuel, 51 F.3d 1552, 34 U.S.P.Q.2d 1210 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
With the exception of specifically disclosed polypeptides of specific amino acid sequences, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of all of the encompassed polypeptides, and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating it. The product itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481 at 1483. In Fiddes, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found to be unpatentable due to lack of written description for that broad class. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115).
Therefore, claims 1-8, 10-17, 21, and 24 do not meet the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 19, which is dependent on claim 18 drawn to a compound, is limited to compound “wherein the compound is a hFGF23 antagonist polypeptide derivative capable of binding hFGF23 according to SEQ ID NO: 1”. This functional limitation of claim 19 is not actually further limiting, because, according to the specification, the four structures of claim 18 (Chem 204, 206, 207, and 208) are antagonist polypeptide derivatives that bind to hFGF23 (see Figure 2, Table 6, specification pg 99-102). Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20090148467, published June 11, 2009 (“Friedman”; instant PTO-892).
Friedman teaches an antigen binding domain that recognizes all or a part of human FGF23 [0020], which reads on the epitope limitation of claim 1. This anti-FGF23 antigen binding domain is a peptide that may be a single chain Fv [0024] that suppresses the action of FGF23 [0012], which reads on the polypeptide and its function of claim 1.
Friedman anticipates claim 1.
Conclusion
Claims 9, 18, and 20 are objected to because of minor informalities.
Claim 9 is also objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 1-8, 10-17, 19, 21, and 24 are not allowed.
Jennifer Benavides
Examiner
Art Unit 1675
/JENNIFER A BENAVIDES/Examiner, Art Unit 1675