Specification
2. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: omission of important information. Paragraph [0001] of the specification indicates related applications. One of these related applications has issued into U.S. Patent. The specification should be updated to reflect this information. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-3 objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “generating a final prediction sample of the subblock block using….” In claim 1 seems incorrect and should be changed to “generating a final prediction sample of the subblock
The limitation “wherein the threshold value is set using on a size of the current block” in claims 1-3 seems incorrect and should be changed to “wherein the threshold value is set using
The limitation “…derived using to an integer pixel position close to the subpixel position” in claims 1-3 seems incorrect and should be changed to “…derived using
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
4. A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-2 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,470,718. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
A. First Rejection:
8. Claims 1-3 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2018/0192072) hereinafter “Chen” in view of Ye et al. (2020/0221122) hereinafter “Ye” in further view of LEE et al. (2020/0267408) hereinafter “LEE”.
As per claim 1, Chen discloses a method of decoding an image, the method comprising:
dividing a current block to acquire a subblock of the current block (paragraph 0118, The window Ω is defined as any block within current block covering current pixel with size M×N where M and N are any positive integer. In one example, current block is divided into non-overlapped sub-blocks and the window Ω is defined as the sub-block which covers current pixel. In another example as shown in FIG. 11, the sub-block is defined as the smallest block for motion vector storage which covers current pixel; paragraphs 0122 and 0128);
determining whether to perform a subblock based BI-DIRECTIONAL OPTICAL FLOW (BIO) prediction on the subblock (paragraph 0032, the various techniques of this disclosure may be applied, alone or in any combination, to determine when and whether to perform BIO when predicting blocks of video data, e.g., during motion compensation. Paragraph 0102, BIO is applied only if prediction come not from the same time moment. In addition, BIO can be applied at sub-block level as taught in paragraph 0122);
deriving a first direction prediction sample and a second direction prediction sample of the subblock (paragraph 0049, V.sub.x and V.sub.y are derived at both encoder and decoder. In addition, BIO can be applied at sub-block level as taught in paragraph 0122);
deriving a BIO offset of the subblock (see paragraph 0048; in addition, BIO can be applied at sub-block level as taught in paragraph 0122); and
generating a final prediction sample of the subblock using the first direction prediction sample, the second direction prediction sample and the BIO offset (paragraphs 0048-0050, the final prediction of the block is calculated with equation (E), which includes V.sub.x and V.sub.y and BIO offset. In addition, BIO can be applied at sub-block level as taught in paragraph 0122); and
generating a reconstructed sample of the current block based on the final prediction sample and a residual sample (FIG. 15; paragraph 0163),
wherein the deriving a BIO offset comprises: deriving a gradient (gradient disclosed in paragraph 0043) using neighboring samples (paragraph 0128); deriving a motion refining vector (paragraph 0136-0137); and deriving the BIO offset based on the gradient and the motion refining vector (paragraph 0126-0128),
However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein whether to perform the subblock BIO prediction is determined based on a result of comparing a threshold value and a difference between the first direction prediction sample and the second direction prediction sample, wherein the threshold value is set using a size of the current block.
In the same field of endeavor, Ye discloses wherein whether to perform the subblock BIO prediction is determined based on a result of comparing a threshold value and a difference between the first direction prediction sample and the second direction prediction sample (paragraphs 0008 and 0114), wherein the threshold value is set using a size of the current block (the threshold used is based on a CU-level, interpreted as CU size or a sub-block-level, interpreted as sub-block size, as taught in paragraph 0127).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Chen, with those of Ye, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed both references describe Bi-Directional Optical Flow (BIO) prediction, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result, which is whether to perform BIO prediction or not.
However, Chen or Ye do not explicitly disclose wherein the gradient is, when a position of the neighboring sample is a subpixel position, derived using an integer pixel position close to the subpixel position.
In an analogous art, LEE discloses wherein the gradient is, when a position of the neighboring sample is a subpixel position, derived using an integer pixel position close to the subpixel position (0313-0314),
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen by using the gradient derivation method of LEE which increases the coding efficiency and improves resolution and quality (paragraphs 0002 and 0004 of LEE).
As per claim 2, the claim is related to an encoding method corresponding to the decoding method of claim 1; therefore, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 1 are applicable for claim 2 since Chen, Ye, and LEE teach encoding and decoding methods.
As per claim 3, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 2 are applicable for claim 3; in addition, Chen teaches transmitting the bitstream generated by an encoding method (paragraphs 0052-0053, FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an example video encoding and decoding system 10 that may utilize techniques for bi-directional optical flow and a communication medium to enable source device to transmit encoded video data).
B. Second Rejection:
9. Claims 1-3 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2018/0192072) hereinafter “Chen” in view of Chen et al. (2018/0241998) hereinafter “Chen_2” in further view of LEE et al. (2020/0267408).
As per claim 1, Chen discloses a method of decoding an image, the method comprising:
dividing a current block to acquire a subblock of the current block (paragraph 0118, The window Ω is defined as any block within current block covering current pixel with size M×N where M and N are any positive integer. In one example, current block is divided into non-overlapped sub-blocks and the window Ω is defined as the sub-block which covers current pixel. In another example as shown in FIG. 11, the sub-block is defined as the smallest block for motion vector storage which covers current pixel; paragraphs 0122 and 0128);
determining whether to perform a subblock based BI-DIRECTIONAL OPTICAL FLOW (BIO) prediction on the subblock (paragraph 0032, the various techniques of this disclosure may be applied, alone or in any combination, to determine when and whether to perform BIO when predicting blocks of video data, e.g., during motion compensation. Paragraph 0102, BIO is applied only if prediction come not from the same time moment. In addition, BIO can be applied at sub-block level as taught in paragraph 0122);
deriving a first direction prediction sample and a second direction prediction sample of the subblock (paragraph 0049, V.sub.x and V.sub.y are derived at both encoder and decoder. In addition, BIO can be applied at sub-block level as taught in paragraph 0122);
deriving a BIO offset of the subblock (see paragraph 0048; in addition, BIO can be applied at sub-block level as taught in paragraph 0122); and
generating a final prediction sample of the subblock using the first direction prediction sample, the second direction prediction sample and the BIO offset (paragraphs 0048-0050, the final prediction of the block is calculated with equation (E), which includes V.sub.x and V.sub.y and BIO offset. In addition, BIO can be applied at sub-block level as taught in paragraph 0122); and
generating a reconstructed sample of the current block based on the final prediction sample and a residual sample (FIG. 15; paragraph 0163),
wherein the deriving a BIO offset comprises: deriving a gradient (gradient disclosed in paragraph 0043) using neighboring samples (paragraph 0128); deriving a motion refining vector (paragraph 0136-0137); and deriving the BIO offset based on the gradient and the motion refining vector (paragraph 0126-0128),
However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein whether to perform the subblock BIO prediction is determined based on a result of comparing a threshold value and a difference between the first direction prediction sample and the second direction prediction sample, wherein the threshold value is set using a size of the current block.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen_2 discloses wherein whether to perform the subblock BIO prediction is determined based on a result of comparing a threshold value and a difference between the first direction prediction sample and the second direction prediction sample (paragraph 0077, After the Bilateral Template Matching MV refinement, if the MV is identical to the original one, the video coder does not need to perform another BIO. The comparison between the MV and the original one uses a threshold as taught in paragraph 0179), wherein the threshold value is set using a size of the current block (paragraph 0179, The thresholds for the MV difference can be different for different block size. For example, for blocks which are smaller than 64 pixel samples, the threshold may be set to ¼ pixel; for blocks that are smaller than 256 pixel samples and larger or equal to 64 pixel samples, the threshold may be set to ½ pixel; for the blocks of other sizes, the threshold may be set to 1 pixel. Note that the video coder may perform the MV difference examination on both X and Y components of both L0 and L1 MVs).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Chen, with those of Chen_2, because both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed both references describe Bi-Directional Optical Flow (BIO) prediction, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result, which is whether to perform BIO prediction or not.
However, Chen or Chen_2 do not explicitly disclose wherein the gradient is, when a position of the neighboring sample is a subpixel position, derived using an integer pixel position close to the subpixel position.
In an analogous art, LEE discloses wherein the gradient is, when a position of the neighboring sample is a subpixel position, derived using an integer pixel position close to the subpixel position (0313-0314),
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen by using the gradient derivation method of LEE which increases the coding efficiency and improves resolution and quality (paragraphs 0002 and 0004 of LEE).
As per claim 2, the claim is related to an encoding method corresponding to the decoding method of claim 1; therefore, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 1 are applicable for claim 2 since Chen, Chen_2, and LEE teach encoding and decoding methods.
As per claim 3, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 2 are applicable for claim 3; in addition, Chen teaches transmitting the bitstream generated by an encoding method (paragraphs 0052-0053, FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an example video encoding and decoding system 10 that may utilize techniques for bi-directional optical flow and a communication medium to enable source device to transmit encoded video data).
C. Third Rejection:
10. Claims 1-3 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2018/0192072) hereinafter “Chen” in view of Ye et al. (2020/0221122) hereinafter “Ye” in further view of Chen et al. (2018/0241998) hereinafter “Chen_2” in further view of LEE et al. (2020/0267408).
As per claim 1, Chen discloses a method of decoding an image, the method comprising:
dividing a current block to acquire a subblock of the current block (paragraph 0118, The window Ω is defined as any block within current block covering current pixel with size M×N where M and N are any positive integer. In one example, current block is divided into non-overlapped sub-blocks and the window Ω is defined as the sub-block which covers current pixel. In another example as shown in FIG. 11, the sub-block is defined as the smallest block for motion vector storage which covers current pixel; paragraphs 0122 and 0128);
determining whether to perform a subblock based BI-DIRECTIONAL OPTICAL FLOW (BIO) prediction on the subblock (paragraph 0032, the various techniques of this disclosure may be applied, alone or in any combination, to determine when and whether to perform BIO when predicting blocks of video data, e.g., during motion compensation. Paragraph 0102, BIO is applied only if prediction come not from the same time moment. In addition, BIO can be applied at sub-block level as taught in paragraph 0122);
deriving a first direction prediction sample and a second direction prediction sample of the subblock (paragraph 0049, V.sub.x and V.sub.y are derived at both encoder and decoder. In addition, BIO can be applied at sub-block level as taught in paragraph 0122);
deriving a BIO offset of the subblock (see paragraph 0048; in addition, BIO can be applied at sub-block level as taught in paragraph 0122); and
generating a final prediction sample of the subblock using the first direction prediction sample, the second direction prediction sample and the BIO offset (paragraphs 0048-0050, the final prediction of the block is calculated with equation (E), which includes V.sub.x and V.sub.y and BIO offset. In addition, BIO can be applied at sub-block level as taught in paragraph 0122); and
generating a reconstructed sample of the current block based on the final prediction sample and a residual sample (FIG. 15; paragraph 0163),
wherein the deriving a BIO offset comprises: deriving a gradient (gradient disclosed in paragraph 0043) using neighboring samples (paragraph 0128); deriving a motion refining vector (paragraph 0136-0137); and deriving the BIO offset based on the gradient and the motion refining vector (paragraph 0126-0128),
However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein whether to perform the subblock BIO prediction is determined based on a result of comparing a threshold value and a difference between the first direction prediction sample and the second direction prediction sample, wherein the threshold value is set using a size of the current block.
In the same field of endeavor, Ye discloses wherein whether to perform the subblock BIO prediction is determined based on a result of comparing a threshold value and a difference between the first direction prediction sample and the second direction prediction sample (paragraphs 0008 and 0114), wherein the threshold value is set using a size of the current block (the threshold used is based on a CU-level, interpreted as CU size or a sub-block-level, interpreted as sub-block size, as taught in paragraph 0127).
While Ye is teaching a threshold related to block size as taught in paragraph 0127, in the case it is not clear for Applicant that Ye is teaching a threshold value that is set using a size of the current block, Chen_2 clearly discloses a threshold value that is set using a size of the current block (paragraph 0179, The thresholds for the MV difference can be different for different block size. For example, for blocks which are smaller than 64 pixel samples, the threshold may be set to ¼ pixel; for blocks that are smaller than 256 pixel samples and larger or equal to 64 pixel samples, the threshold may be set to ½ pixel; for the blocks of other sizes, the threshold may be set to 1 pixel. Note that the video coder may perform the MV difference examination on both X and Y components of both L0 and L1 MVs),
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to combine the elements taught by Chen, with those of Chen_2 and Ye, because all references are drawn to the same field of endeavor, because indeed all references describe Bi-Directional Optical Flow (BIO) prediction, and because such a combination represents a mere combination of prior art elements, according to known methods, to yield a predictable result, which is whether to perform BIO prediction or not.
However, Chen, Ye, or Chen_2 do not explicitly disclose wherein the gradient is, when a position of the neighboring sample is a subpixel position, derived using an integer pixel position close to the subpixel position.
In an analogous art, LEE discloses wherein the gradient is, when a position of the neighboring sample is a subpixel position, derived using an integer pixel position close to the subpixel position (0313-0314),
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen by using the gradient derivation method of LEE which increases the coding efficiency and improves resolution and quality (paragraphs 0002 and 0004 of LEE).
As per claim 2, the claim is related to an encoding method corresponding to the decoding method of claim 1; therefore, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 1 are applicable for claim 2 since Chen, Ye, Chen_2, and LEE teach encoding and decoding methods.
As per claim 3, arguments analogous to those applied for claim 2 are applicable for claim 3; in addition, Chen teaches transmitting the bitstream generated by an encoding method (paragraphs 0052-0053, FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an example video encoding and decoding system 10 that may utilize techniques for bi-directional optical flow and a communication medium to enable source device to transmit encoded video data).
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (US-20150350671-A1, US-20180249172-A1, US-20200154127-A1, US-20210105490-A1, US-20130028530-A1, US-20190045218-A1, US-20110038414-A1, US-10375413-B2, WO-2017036399-A1)
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED JEBARI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482