DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 95-96 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimchy et al. (US 2002/0099310).
Kimchy et al. discloses a method for determining proximity to tissue of an ingestible device within a gastrointestinal tract of a body comprising: transmitting an illumination towards an environment external to a housing of the ingestible device and within the gastrointestinal tract ([0095]); detecting a reflectance from the environment within the gastrointestinal tract resulting from the illumination ([0095]), and storing a reflectance value in a data set, wherein the reflectance value is indicative of an amount of light in the reflectance ([0061]; [0082]; [0095]); identifying proximity of the ingestible device to tissue of gastrointestinal tract based on the reflectance value ([0054]; [0095]).
With respect to claim 96, Kimchy et al. discloses a higher reflectance value indicating proximity to tissue ([0054]).
Claim(s) 95-97 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimchy et al. (US 2003/0139661).
Kimchy et al. discloses a method for determining proximity to tissue of an ingestible device within a gastrointestinal tract of a body comprising: transmitting an illumination towards an environment external to a housing of the ingestible device and within the gastrointestinal tract ([0465-0467]); detecting a reflectance from the environment within the gastrointestinal tract resulting from the illumination ([0465-0467]), and storing a reflectance value in a data set, wherein the reflectance value is indicative of an amount of light in the reflectance ([0466]); identifying proximity of the ingestible device to tissue of gastrointestinal tract based on the reflectance value ([0466]).
With respect to claim 96, Kimchy et al. discloses a higher reflectance value indicating proximity to tissue ([0466]).
With respect to claim 97, Kimchy et al. discloses directional sensors ([0467]; Fig. 16B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 97 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimchy et al. (US 2002/0099310) in view of Kimchy et al. (US 2004/0054278).
Kimychy et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for the radial and axial position of the sensor. However, Kimychy et al. (‘278) teaches in the same field of endeavor it is well known to position sensors at various predetermined positions along the axis of the device ([0482]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kimchy et al. (‘310) as taught by Kimychy et al. (‘278) as a rearrangement of parts is well within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Conclusion
/PETER LUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797